DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 5-9 (as numbered by the Applicant) of the Remarks, filed March 30th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20260084493).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, lines 3-5 recite, “a first flow path through which the refrigerant discharged from the condenser flows into the receiver dryer; a second flow path through which the refrigerant discharged from the evaporator flows into the accumulator” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the first and second flow paths of claim 8 relate (e.g., included in or in addition to) to the previously claimed plurality of flow paths of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the first flow path and the second flow path to be included in the plurality of flow paths of claim 1. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify the relation of the first and second flow paths to the plurality of flow paths.
Claim 10, lines 3-6 recite, “the support body comprises a first insertion groove and a second insertion groove such that the first flow path is fixedly inserted into the first insertion groove and the second flow path is fixedly inserted into the second insertion groove” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the first and second insertion grooves of claim 10 relate (e.g., included in or in addition to) to the previously claimed insertion grooves of claim 1 from which claim 10 depends. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the first insertion groove and the second insertion groove to be included in the insertion grooves of claim 1. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to clarify the relation of the first and second insertion groove to the insertion grooves.
Claims 9-10 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calderone (US 20190039440), hereinafter Calderone in view of Cho et al. (KR 20190068125), hereinafter Cho, Busch et al. (US 20230141829), hereinafter Busch, and Hayashi et al. (US 20260084493), hereinafter Hayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Calderone discloses a refrigerant circulation apparatus (Fig. 2), comprising:
a refrigerant circulation component (Fig. 2, entire assembly 200) including a compressor (Fig. 2, compressor 204), a condenser (Fig. 2, condenser 206), an expander (Fig. 2, thermal expansion valve 220), and an evaporator (Fig. 2, evaporator 222) forming a refrigerant cycle through circulation of a refrigerant (Pg. 5, paragraph 54, In particular, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 242, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the compressor 204 to the receiver-drier 210. Moreover, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 248, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the liquid-cooled condenser 206 to the compressor 204. Also, the manifold 202 contains a9 fluid point 244, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the receiver-drier 210 to the compressor 204. Additionally, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 254, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from a refrigerant charge source to the TXV 220 and the evaporator 222. Furthermore, the port 236 is included in the high pressure fluid routes and enables fluid communication from the compressor 204 to the liquid-cooled condenser 206); and
a support body (Fig. 2, manifold 202) having the compressor fixed to a first side (Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The manifold 202 includes a first side and a second side on opposite sides of the manifold. For example, the first side can include a first major surface and the second side can include a second major surface. The first side faces or is exposed to the compressor 204, the ports 224, the sensor 232, the EXV motor 234, and the port 236), the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator are sequentially positioned on a second side of the support body along the refrigerant cycle of the refrigerant (Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The second side faces or is exposed to the liquid-cooled condenser 206, the coolant container 208, the receiver-drier 210, the fluid handlers 212, the hose connector block 214, the hoses 216, the hoses 218, the TXV 220, the evaporator 222, the chiller 226, the ports 228, and the ports 230), and a plurality of flow paths are formed in the support body so that the refrigerant flows between the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator (Pg. 5, paragraph 54, As shown in FIG. 5, the manifold 202 contains high pressure fluid routes and low pressure fluid routes, which routes are suitable shaped channels or passages with the manifold 202. In particular, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 242, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the compressor 204 to the receiver-drier 210. Moreover, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 248, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the liquid-cooled condenser 206 to the compressor 204. Also, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 244, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the receiver-drier 210 to the compressor 204. Additionally, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 254, which is included in the high pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from a refrigerant charge source to the TXV 220 and the evaporator 222. Furthermore, the port 236 is included in the high pressure fluid routes and enables fluid communication from the compressor 204 to the liquid-cooled condenser 206);
wherein the first side of the support body is formed to match an outer shape of the compressor (The recitation, “wherein the first side of the support body is formed to match an outer shape of the compressor” is not a patentably distinct limitation of the claims as it has been held that the configuration of the claimed support body was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed support body was significant MPEP 2144.04, Section IV, Paragraph B), and the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator are positioned on the second side of the support body (Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The second side faces or is exposed to the liquid-cooled condenser 206, the coolant container 208, the receiver-drier 210, the fluid handlers 212, the hose connector block 214, the hoses 216, the hoses 218, the TXV 220, the evaporator 222, the chiller 226, the ports 228, and the ports 230); and
an opening forming in the support body, the opening being positioned to align with the condenser and the evaporator, wherein the opening is positioned to avoid interference with flow paths formed in the support body (Fig. 5, opening 238; Pg. 3, paragraph 40, As illustrated best in FIG. 5, in a region of the manifold 202 that does not include fluid channels, a portion of the manifold 202 removed or not included so as to define an opening 238 therethrough, with the opening 238 extending between the first side and the second side. This enables the manifold to use less material, while still providing a coupling structure, thereby providing an advantage of a lower weight and use of less material. The compressor 204 may face the opening 238, which may include covering the opening 238. The manifold 202 defines the slot 240, which may be used for chassis mounting, such as via mating, interlocking, adhering, brazing, or other ways),
wherein the support body is formed from an elastic material to absorb vibration transmitted from the compressor (Pg. 2-3, paragraph 32, The manifold 102 may be made of a same or single material, such as plastic, metal, rubber, or others, or a combination of materials, such as a plastic and a metal or others; Pg. 3, paragraph 35, The manifold 202 is similar to or the same as the manifold 102, and can include the above-described features and characteristics; Further, the manifold 202 of Calderone has the same structure as the claimed support body and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
However, Calderone does not disclose wherein the second side of the support body is provided with a partition wall part dividing the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator, the partition wall part extending along an outer shape of the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator.
Cho teaches wherein the second side of the support body is provided with a partition wall part (Fig. 1, partition unit 140) dividing the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator (Fig. 1 of Cho depicts partition unit 140 to divide the condenser 20, expansion valve 30, evaporator 40), the partition wall part extending along an outer shape of the condenser, the expander, and the evaporator (Fig 1 of Cho depicts the partition unit 140 extending along an outer shape of the condenser 20, expansion valve30, evaporator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerant circulation apparatus Calderone of claim 1 to include a partition wall part as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to shield the system components from undesired heat transfer (Cho, Paragraph 85).
Further, Calderone as modified does not disclose the opening to be a plurality of slit holes formed in the support body, the plurality of slit holes being positioned to align with the condenser and the evaporator, positioned in a straight line and extending to a constant length along an axial direction of the compressor in the support body,
wherein the plurality of slit holes facilitate self-deformation of the support body to attenuate vibration transmitted from the compressor.
Busch teaches the use of a plurality of openings in a support body to reduce weight, the openings being dimensioned to avoid fluid ports and positioned in a straight line and extending to a constant length along an axial direction of the compressor in the support body (Fig. 3, recesses 26; Pg. 2, paragraph 40, The holding element 14 shown on FIG. 3 comprises several recesses 26 for weight reduction. A lower recess 31 is here dimensioned in such a way that a fluid port 32 of the condenser 11 and the evaporator 13 can be fluidically connected directly with the expansion device 12. The fluid ports 32 can thus engage through the lower recess 31, and thereby be coupled directly to the expansion -device 1; Further, Fig. 3 of Busch depicts recesses 26 to be positioned in a straight line and extending to a constant length along an axial direction of the compressor in the support body as a straight line can be drawn from end to end of the recesses 26 of Busch and the length of the recesses are constant as they are permanently formed in the holding element 14 with not perceived ability to change their length and further extend in a plurality of directions, including along an axial direction of the compressor),
wherein the plurality of slit holes facilitate self-deformation of the support body to attenuate vibration transmitted from the compressor (Recesses 26 of Busch have the same structure as the claimed plurality of slit holes and are capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body of the refrigerant circulation apparatus of Calderone as modified wherein the opening is a plurality of openings formed in the support body, the plurality of openings being positioned to align with the condenser and the evaporator, positioned in a straight line and extending to a constant length along an axial direction of the compressor in the support body, wherein the plurality of slit holes facilitate self-deformation of the support body to attenuate vibration transmitted from the compressor as taught by Busch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve the weight reduction of the refrigerant circulation apparatus (Busch, Pg. 2, paragraph 40). Moreover, regarding the shape of the openings being slit holes, the courts have held that a change in shape alone, without demonstration of the criticality of a specific limitation, may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. “In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), [t]he court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.” MPEP § 2144.04-IV-B.
Further, Calderone as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of flow paths are formed separately from the support body from a rigid material, and
the support body comprises insertion grooves into which the plurality of flow paths are fixedly inserted.
Hayashi teaches wherein the plurality of flow paths are formed separately from the support body (Fig. 3, first channel module 51, second channel module 52, support member 12; Pg. 3, paragraph 37, In this manner, the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 can be firmly fixed to the support member 12, which can prevent the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 from dropping from the support member 12 and therefore the refrigerant unit 10. Note that the fixing member or the flange is formed of a heat insulating member so that heat transfer from the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 to the fixing member or the support member 12 can be prevented), and
the support body comprises insertion grooves into which the plurality of flow paths are fixedly inserted (Fig. 3, space 165; Pg. 3, paragraph 35-37; The first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 are fixed to the first heat exchanger 30 and the second heat exchangers 41, 42. The first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 are arranged in the space 165 of the frame portion 16 when the first heat exchanger 30 and the second heat exchangers 41, 42 are fixed to the second fixing surface. Note that in the space 165, the first channel module 51 is disposed on the lower side in the vertical direction, and the second channel module 52 is disposed on the upper side in the vertical direction. Note that the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 are fixed not only to the first heat exchanger 30 and the second heat exchangers 41, 42, but also fixed in various forms. For example, at least part of the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 may be fixed to the frame portion 16 with a fixing member such as a bracket. Alternatively, flanges may be formed on the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52, and by fastening the flanges, the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 may be directly fixed to the frame portion 16. In this manner, the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 can be firmly fixed to the support member 12, which can prevent the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 from dropping from the support member 12 and therefore the refrigerant unit 10. Note that the fixing member or the flange is formed of a heat insulating member so that heat transfer from the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 to the fixing member or the support member 12 can be prevented).
Calderone as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of flow paths are formed separately from the support body from a rigid material, and the support body comprises insertion grooves into which the plurality of flow paths are fixedly inserted, however Hayashi teaches that it is a known method in the art of vehicle refrigerant circulations units to include wherein the plurality of flow paths are formed separately from the support body, and the support body comprises insertion grooves into which the plurality of flow paths are fixedly inserted. This is strong evidence that modifying Calderone as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. improving system maintainability by providing removable components). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Calderone as modified by Hayashi and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of improving system maintainability by providing removable components.
Moreover, Calderone as modified discloses the claimed invention except for the plurality of flow paths being formed of a rigid material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form plurality of flow paths from a rigid material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use or purpose MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calderone as modified by Cho, Busch, and Hayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent No. 10,427,500), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Calderone as modified discloses the refrigerant circulation apparatus of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the refrigerant circulation component further includes a receiver dryer (Calderone, Fig. 2, receiver-drier 210) on the second side of the support body (Calderone, Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The second side faces or is exposed to the liquid-cooled condenser 206, the coolant container 208, the receiver-drier 210, the fluid handlers 212, the hose connector block 214, the hoses 216, the hoses 218, the TXV 220, the evaporator 222, the chiller 226, the ports 228, and the ports 230).
However, Calderone as modified does not disclose an accumulator on the second side of the support body.
Kim teaches an accumulator (Fig. 2, accumulator 145) on the second side of the support body (Fig. 2 of Kim depicts the accumulator 145 to be grouped with the condenser 120, evaporator 130, and expansion valve 140 which is considered herein to be equivalent to being on the second side of the support body since that is the location of the corresponding condenser 206, evaporator 222, and thermal expansion valve 220 in Calderone; Further, the connections of the accumulator 145 will remain the same when modified as described herein as taught by Kim; Col. 9, lines 15-19, The accumulator 145 is connected with the evaporator 130 through the expansion valve 140, and may supply only a gaseous refrigerant among the evaporated refrigerants to the compressor 110 while passing through the evaporator 130; Col. 9, lines 26-27, Herein, the accumulator 145 may be connected with the compressor 110 through a fifth connection pipe 165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerant circulation apparatus of Calderone as modified to include an accumulator on the second side of the support body as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for only a gas refrigerant to be supplied to the compressor thereby improving efficiency and durability of the compressor (Kim, Col. 9, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 7, Calderone as modified discloses the refrigerant circulation apparatus of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the compressor is provided on the first side of the support body (Calderone, Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The manifold 202 includes a first side and a second side on opposite sides of the manifold. For example, the first side can include a first major surface and the second side can include a second major surface. The first side faces or is exposed to the compressor 204, the ports 224, the sensor 232, the EXV motor 234, and the port 236), and the condenser, the receiver dryer, the expander, the evaporator, and the accumulator are sequentially arranged along the refrigerant cycle of the refrigerant in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction from a center on the second side of the support body (Calderone, Fig. 2; Pg. 3, paragraph 39, The second side faces or is exposed to the liquid-cooled condenser 206, the coolant container 208, the receiver-drier 210, the fluid handlers 212, the hose connector block 214, the hoses 216, the hoses 218, the TXV 220, the evaporator 222, the chiller 226, the ports 228, and the ports 230; Further, the accumulator 145 of Kim is disposed to be in fluid communication with the evaporator and the compressor and will maintain the same configuration when modified as described herein; Moreover, it has been held Claims to a refrigerant circulation apparatus which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the system components were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the system components would not have modified the operation of the device MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Paragraph C). Additionally, the limitations of claim 7 are a result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 8, Calderone as modified discloses the refrigerant circulation apparatus of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the support body includes: an inlet (Calderone, Fig. 5, port 236) through which the refrigerant discharged from the compressor flows into the condenser (Calderone, Fig 5; Pg. 5, paragraph 54, Furthermore, the port 236 is included in the high pressure fluid routes and enables fluid communication from the compressor 204 to the liquid-cooled condenser 206); a first flow path through which the refrigerant discharged from the condenser flows into the receiver dryer (Calderone, Pg. 4, paragraph 48, Note that the receiver-driver 210 may function as a reservoir a fluid, whether a liquid or a gas, such as a refrigerant, as received from the liquid-cooled condenser 206; Further, the reactions of paragraph 48 of Calderone are an implicit teaching of a flow path from the condenser to the receiver dryer); a second flow path through which the refrigerant discharged from the evaporator flows into the accumulator (Kim, Col. 9, lines 15-19, The accumulator 145 is connected with the evaporator 130 through the expansion valve 140, and may supply only a gaseous refrigerant among the evaporated refrigerants to the compressor 110 while passing through the evaporator 130); and an outlet through which the refrigerant discharged from the accumulator is circulated to the compressor (Kim, Col. 9, lines 26-27, Herein, the accumulator 145 may be connected with the compressor 110 through a fifth connection pipe 165). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are a result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 10, Calderone as modified discloses the refrigerant circulation apparatus of claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above), wherein the first flow path and the second flow path are formed separately from the support body, and the support body comprises a first insertion groove and a second insertion groove such that the first flow path is fixedly inserted into the first insertion groove and the second flow path is fixedly inserted into the second insertion groove (Fig. 3, first channel module 51, second channel module 52, support member 12, space 165; Pg. 3, paragraph 35, The first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 are fixed to the first heat exchanger 30 and the second heat exchangers 41, 42. The first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 are arranged in the space 165 of the frame portion 16 when the first heat exchanger 30 and the second heat exchangers 41, 42 are fixed to the second fixing surface. Note that in the space 165, the first channel module 51 is disposed on the lower side in the vertical direction, and the second channel module 52 is disposed on the upper side in the vertical direction; Pg. 3, paragraph 37, In this manner, the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 can be firmly fixed to the support member 12, which can prevent the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 from dropping from the support member 12 and therefore the refrigerant unit 10. Note that the fixing member or the flange is formed of a heat insulating member so that heat transfer from the first channel module 51 and the second channel module 52 to the fixing member or the support member 12 can be prevented; Further, the teachings of Hayashi which discuss placing the first channel module 51 on a lower side of the space 165 and placing the second channel module 152 on a upper side of the space 165 at least imply first and second insertion grooves as the modules are fixed to two separate portions of the space 165 since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Additionally, the limitations of claim 10 are a result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calderone as modified by Cho, Busch, Hayashi, and Kim as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (WO 2023132487), hereinafter Kwak.
Regarding claim 9, Calderone as modified discloses the refrigerant circulation apparatus of claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above),
a compressor outlet (Calderone, Fig. 5, port 236) and a compressor inlet (Calderone, Pg. 5, paragraph 55, Moreover, the manifold 202 contains a fluid point 252, which is included in the low pressure fluid routes, that enables fluid communication from the TXV 220 and the evaporator 222 to the compressor 204; Further, the reactions of paragraph 55 of Calderone are implicit teachings of a compressor inlet).
However, Calderone does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet of the compressor and the inlet of the support body are connected so that the refrigerant flows through a first pipe, and the inlet of the compressor and the outlet of the support body are connected so that the refrigerant flows through a second pipe.
Kwak teaches wherein the outlet of the compressor and the inlet of the support body are connected so that the refrigerant flows through a first pipe, and the inlet of the compressor and the outlet of the support body are connected so that the refrigerant flows through a second pipe (See annotated Fig. 2 of Kwak below, compressor 311 is depicted to be in fluid communication with manifold 200 via first pipe A and second pipe B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerant circulation apparatus of Calderone as modified to include first and second pipes as taught by Kwak. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for desired fluid dynamics between the compressor and the manifold to improve overall system efficiencies.
Annotated Fig. 2 of Kwak
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 April 22nd, 2026