DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/05/2025. Claims 1-11 are currently pending with claim 1 being amended.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims submitted on 11/05/2025 overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous Office action except for those set forth in the claim objection section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see communications, filed 11/05/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the Examiner apologizes for the confusion regarding the date of the Fujii reference. For the purpose of clarity and compact prosecution, the new rejection has been made in view of a human assisted machine translation of the original Japanese action (JP 2021-213621), which was made publicly available on January, 4, 2022, to which the previous reference (US 20240341216 A1) claims priority. Based on this, it is clear that it was well known for a user to enter information and set information for regions of a field and that may have included the status i.e. whether or not the region has been completed so as to prevent damaging work which has been done or whether or not the region may be travelled autonomously or if manual control is required to traverse the region.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, “a vehicle-position acquiring portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 1, “a field-contour setting portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 1, “a region setting portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 1, “a start-position setting portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 2, “a region setting portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 2, “a route setting portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0050) as “a processor, a microprocessor or the like” which reads and executes instructions stored in “a main storage device such as a ROM and a RAM”.
Regarding claim 8, “a display portion” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “portion”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0048) as “a liquid crystal display, an organic electroluminescence (EL) display or the like”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboshima et al. (US 20230380327 A1), hereinafter Kuboshima in view of Fujii et al. (JP2021-213621), hereinafter Fujii and O’Donnell et al. (US 20200103906 A1), hereinafter O’Donnell.
Regarding claim 1, Kuboshima teaches:
Claim 1 (currently amended): A crop harvesting system comprising:
a work vehicle with a control device including (Paragraphs 0020-0021, “An agricultural machine according to an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes the agricultural work assistance apparatus, a traveling vehicle body to travel, a connector to connect a working device for agricultural work to the traveling vehicle body, and a position detector to detect a position of the traveling vehicle body.
In an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the agricultural machine may further include an automatic operation controller to perform an automatic traveling-and-working mode in which the automatic operation controller causes the working device to perform agricultural work while causing the traveling vehicle body to travel by automatic operation.” And Paragraph 0072, “The controller 60 includes electric circuit(s) and/or the like including a CPU and one or more memories. The controller 60 is configured or programmed to control operation of each element of the agricultural machine 1. The controller 60 includes an automatic operation controller 61 that controls operations of the traveling vehicle body 3 (FIG. 24) of the agricultural machine 1 and the working device 2.”) a vehicle-position acquiring portion having a satellite based position system, which acquires position information indicating a position of the work vehicle; (Paragraph 0084, "The positioning device 40 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes a receiver 41 and an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 42. The receiver 41 receives satellite signal(s) (position(s) of positioning satellite(s), transmission time(s), correction information, and/or the like) transmitted from a satellite positioning system (positioning satellite(s)) such as D-GPS, GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, or Michibiki. The positioning device 40 detects the current position (for example, latitude and longitude) based on the satellite signals received by the receiver 41. That is, the positioning device 40 is a position detector to detect the position of the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1. The inertial measurement unit 42 includes an acceleration sensor, a gyroscope sensor, and/or the like. The inertial measurement unit 42 detects the roll angle, the pitch angle, the yaw angle, and/or the like of the traveling vehicle body 3. The warning generator 63 includes a buzzer, a speaker, a warning lamp, and/or the like provided in or on the traveling vehicle body 3. The warning generator 63 issues a warning to people around the traveling vehicle body 3 via sound or light.")
a terminal in communication with the work vehicle; (Paragraphs 0085-0086, “The agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 includes, for example, a portable tablet terminal device or the like. The agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 is provided, for example, inside the cabin 9 of the agricultural machine 1 and is removably attached to the agricultural machine 1. That is, the agricultural machine 1 includes the agricultural work assistance apparatus 50.
The agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 includes a controller 51, a display operation interface 52, a memory 53, and a communicator 54. The controller 51 includes a CPU and one or more memories, and controls elements of the agricultural work assistance apparatus 50. The controller 51 includes an agricultural field register 51a, an area definer 51b, a route creator 51c, a path calculator 51d, a remaining amount calculator 51e, a supply point setter 51f, and a notifier 51g. Each of these elements includes software program(s), but may include hardware.”)
the work vehicle providing pieces of the position information (Paragraph 0094, “FIG. 5A illustrates a method of registering an agricultural field. For example, the user (operator of the agricultural machine 1) selects the new key B4 on the agricultural field registration screen D2 in FIG. 4, and causes the agricultural machine 1 to go around the agricultural field by manual operation. In so doing, the agricultural field register 51a (FIG. 1) acquires, at predetermined intervals using the communicator 54, the position Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 detected by the positioning device 40 and continually records data of the position Pv. The controller 51 also causes such positions Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 to be displayed on the map MP1 continually. In FIGS. 4 and 5A, only some of such positions Pv of the traveling vehicle body 3 are displayed for convenience.”) to a field-contour setting portion which sets a contour of a field; (Paragraph 0096, "Next, the agricultural field register 51a defines the travel path K1 as a contour (outer shape) H1 of the agricultural field and registers (stores) an agricultural field map MP2 (data representing the contour of the agricultural field) indicated by the contour H1 in the memory 53. In so doing, the agricultural field register 51a also registers agricultural field identification information such as an agricultural field name and/or an agricultural field number in the memory 53 such that the agricultural field identification information is associated with the agricultural field map MP2. For example, the agricultural field identification information may be assigned by the agricultural field register 51a, may be input by the user operating the display operation interface 52, or may be stored in the memory 53 in advance. A plurality of the agricultural field maps MP2 and the like can be registered in the memory 53. After the agricultural field register 51a registers the agricultural field map MP2, the controller 51 causes the agricultural field map MP2 (the contour H1 of the agricultural field) to be displayed on the map MP1.")
… and
the work vehicle in communication with the terminal having a start-position setting portion which sets a corner … to an automated- travel start position on the basis of the position information, (Paragraph 0120, "The route creator 51c sets a starting point Ps at the end of one of the endmost strait route portion L1a located at opposite sides of the central area C1 (the upper end of the rightmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C) that is not connected to any turn route portions L1b, and sets a goal point Pg at the end of the other of the endmost strait route portions L1a in the central area C1 (at the lower end of the leftmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C). The route creator 51c then causes the memory 53 to store data indicating the points Ps and Pg." Also see Figure 14B which demonstrates the points Ps and Pg.)
wherein the control device initiates the display of a travel route for automated travel, the travel route to automated travel including the automated-travel start position for the work vehicle, (Paragraph 0012, “In an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the agricultural work assistance apparatus may further include a path calculator to calculate a predicted work path of the working device based on a working width of the working device and the travel route, the predicted work path being the predicted work portion. The display may display the predicted work path together with the agricultural field and the travel route.” Please also see Figure 12 which demonstrates the “travel control screen”) and the control device controls the work vehicle to drive automatically along the travel route. (Paragraph 0080, “The traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 can be manually steered by manual operation of the steering handle 30 and automatically steered by the automatic operation controller 61. The transmission 5 and/or the brake 6 are driven according to the manner in which an accelerator member and/or a brake member (both of which are not illustrated) included in the manual operator 62 is/are manually operated, so that the traveling vehicle body 3 can travel and/or stop. Further, the traveling vehicle body 3 can automatically travel and stop according to the manner in which the transmission 5 and the brake 6 are controlled by the automatic operation controller 61.” As well as Paragraph 0091, “The agricultural field key B1 is a key used to register an agricultural field in which the agricultural machine 1 is to perform agricultural work. The automatic operation key B2 is a key used to perform settings and prediction related to an automatic traveling-and-working mode of the agricultural machine 1. The automatic traveling-and-working mode is a mode of causing the working device 2 to perform agricultural work (ground work) while causing the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 to travel by automatic operation. The automatic operation of the agricultural machine 1 refers to automatically changing the travel speed of the traveling vehicle body 3 and automatically steering the traveling vehicle body 3.” And Paragraph 0149, “The automatic operation controller 61 calculates the actual vehicle speed of the traveling vehicle body 3 based on changes in position of the traveling vehicle body 3 while the automatic operation controller 61 is causing the traveling vehicle body 3 to travel automatically based on the travel route L1. The automatic operation controller 61 then controls the driving of the transmission 5, the brake 6, and the prime mover 4 so that the actual vehicle speed matches the vehicle speed associated with a corresponding one of the straight route portions L1a, the turn route portions L1b, and the go-around route portion L1c.”)
Kuboshima does not specifically teach setting a region as unworked and a region as worked or selecting as the starting point a corner of the area to be worked which is ahead of and closest to the vehicle. However, Fujii, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… the work vehicle in communication with the terminal having a region setting portion which sets an unworked region inside the contour on the basis of the pieces of position information; (Paragraphs 0192-0193, “ln the example shown in figure 19, the work area of the field 70 other than the outermost periphery 69 and the permission area79 can be set as a permission area in which remotely controlled travel is permitted only when agricultural work has not yet been performed. The work vehicle 100 shown in Figure 19 performs predetermined agricultural work while traveling back and forth within the work area of the field 70. The illustrated work area includes a worked area 73 where agricultural work has already been
completed, and an unworked area 78 where agricultural work has not yet been performed. If the work vehicle 100 tramples over the worked area 73, the effectiveness of the agricultural work that has already boon performed will be diminished Therefore, in the example of FIG. 19, the control device 180 disables remote control to drive the work vehicle 100 in the
already worked area 73. In the unworked area 78, remote control driving of the work vehicle 100 is possible. Whether the work vehicle 100 is located in the already worked area 73 or the unworked area 78 is determined by This can be identified based on log data of the travel and agricultural work of the work vehicle 100. In this example, remotely controlled travel of the work vehicle 100 can prevent the work vehicle 100 from trampling on the already worked area 73. As in this example, the control device 180 may permit remotely controlled travel of
the work vehicle 100 when the state of the field 70 meets a i:><edetermin.ed condition (for example, no agricultural work has yet been performed, etc.).
As described above, the management device 600 in this embodiment generates a target route for the work vehicle 100 on roads and fields on a map in accordance with a work plan created in advance or instructions from the user. The control device 180 of the work vehicle 100 defines the area defined by the target route as an automated driving area and causes the work vehicle 100 to drive within the automated driving area. The control device 180 may set an area that is the same as the automated driving area or a portion of it as a permitted area for remotely controlled driving, and may set areas outside the automated driving area as prohibited areas. Such settings can prevent the work vehicle 100 from being remotely controlled unnecessarily entering areas where automated driving is not planned.”) …
However, O’Donnell, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… closest to a position of the work vehicle among a plurality of the corners of the unworked region (Paragraph 0046, "At block 408, the controller 350 defines a start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250. In the example of a rectangular boundary 102, 202, there are often four possible start points (the four corners). The controller 350 may choose the start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250 automatically or may provide optional start points for the operator to select from manually. In at least one example, the controller 350 chooses the start point based on the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300. In at least one example, the controller 350 uses the closest lane of the two longest edges 105, 107, 205, 207 of the boundary 102, 202, and chooses the start point to be the end of that edge that is closest to the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to monitor the progress of the vehicle as work is being completed and control the vehicle based on whether or not an area has been worked or remains unworked as taught by Fujii and to determine the starting position of the task path based on it being closest to the current vehicle location as taught by O’Donnell. This would allow a user to remotely monitor the progress of the work quickly and easily while also increasing the efficiency of the system by ensuring that the vehicle does not make unnecessary turns or travel to reach a specific corner before beginning the task as well as preventing damage to the completed work.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 2 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, further comprising:
the region setting portion which sets, for the unworked region, a route setting portion which sets the travel route for automated travel including the automated-travel start position. (Paragraph 0119, "That is, the straight route portions L1a are work route portions on which ground work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 is caused to travel in automatic operation. The central area C1 in which the straight route portions L1a are created is a work area in which ground work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 is caused to travel straight back and forth in automatic operation. Note that the work route portions are not limited to those in the form of a straight line such as the straight route portions L1a, and may be curved route portions. It is only necessary that one or more work route portions in the form of a straight line and/or one or more work route portions in the form of a curve be created in the work area.")
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 5 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein the start-position setting portion sets the automated-travel start position when a predetermined input signal is received. (Paragraph 0106, "The “route creation 1” screen D6 displays the selected agricultural field map MP2 (the contour H1 of the agricultural field), the agricultural machine symbol X1, a message indicating an input operation procedure, an automatic-work-in-headland key B43, a work type key B44, the next key B9, and the back key B8. The automatic-work-in-headland key B43 is a key used to select whether or not to perform work with the working device 2 while causing the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 to travel by automatic operation in headland(s) set in the agricultural field map MP2 as described later.")
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 6 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein the start-position setting portion sets, to the automated-travel start position, (Paragraph 0120, "The route creator 51c sets a starting point Ps at the end of one of the endmost strait route portion L1a located at opposite sides of the central area C1 (the upper end of the rightmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C) that is not connected to any turn route portions L1b, and sets a goal point Pg at the end of the other of the endmost strait route portions L1a in the central area C1 (at the lower end of the leftmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C). The route creator 51c then causes the memory 53 to store data indicating the points Ps and Pg." Also see Figure 14B which demonstrates the points Ps and Pg.) …
Kuboshima does not specifically discuss selecting as the starting point a corner of the area to be worked which is ahead of and closest to the vehicle. However, O’Donnell, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… a corner that exists in an advancing direction of the work vehicle and is closest to the position of the work vehicle among the plurality of corners of the unworked region. (Paragraph 0046, "At block 408, the controller 350 defines a start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250. In the example of a rectangular boundary 102, 202, there are often four possible start points (the four corners). The controller 350 may choose the start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250 automatically or may provide optional start points for the operator to select from manually. In at least one example, the controller 350 chooses the start point based on the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300. In at least one example, the controller 350 uses the closest lane of the two longest edges 105, 107, 205, 207 of the boundary 102, 202, and chooses the start point to be the end of that edge that is closest to the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to determine the starting position of the task path based on it being ahead of the vehicle as well as closest to the vehicle as taught by O’Donnell. This would increase the efficiency of the system by ensuring that the vehicle does not make unnecessary turns and travel to reach a specific corner before beginning to task.
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 7 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein the start-position setting portion sets, to the automated-travel start position, (Paragraph 0120, "The route creator 51c sets a starting point Ps at the end of one of the endmost strait route portion L1a located at opposite sides of the central area C1 (the upper end of the rightmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C) that is not connected to any turn route portions L1b, and sets a goal point Pg at the end of the other of the endmost strait route portions L1a in the central area C1 (at the lower end of the leftmost straight route portion L1a in FIG. 11C). The route creator 51c then causes the memory 53 to store data indicating the points Ps and Pg." Also see Figure 14B which demonstrates the points Ps and Pg.) …
Kuboshima does not specifically discuss selecting as the starting point a corner of the area to be worked where the vehicle will be to the right of the region and which is closest to the vehicle. However, O’Donnell, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… a corner where the unworked region is disposed on a left side of the work vehicle (Paragraph 0019, "The illustrated site plan 100 indicates two possible start points 146, 148, however other examples may indicate any number of possible start points suitable for the construction site. In at least one example, a single start point 146 is provided, but other optional start points 148 may be presented when prompted. The start points 146, 148 may be determined based on the paths 130, the path orientation 132, the location of the autonomous construction vehicle, the heading of the autonomous construction vehicle, one or more obstacles at the worksite, or the like. The start point 146 indicates where in the work area. 110 the autonomous construction vehicle will begin traversing the path 130 to perform the work in the work area 110. In at least one example, the autonomous construction vehicle will automatically traverse the path 130 of the site plan 100 until it reaches one or more stop points 150, 152. Stop points 150, 152 may be automatically predefined, may be manually predefined, or may be manually or automatically defined in real time. For example, if autonomous control is to be stopped after completion of the work area, then stop point 150 may be automatically predefined based on start point 146, since the autonomous construction vehicle will have traversed the enter work area 110 via the path 130 by stop point 150. In other examples, an obstacle or other circumstance 154 may cause a stop point 152 to be predefined or defined in real time. For example, if a user wants to make adjustments, avoid an obstacle, take a break, traverse a section manually, etc. the user may provide manual input to stop autonomous mode at stop point 152." Also see Figure 1 which demonstrates the start points and travel directions of 146 and 148 where the area to be worked lies to the left of the direction of travel.) and is closest to the position of the work vehicle among the plurality of corners of the unworked region. (Paragraph 0046, "At block 408, the controller 350 defines a start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250. In the example of a rectangular boundary 102, 202, there are often four possible start points (the four corners). The controller 350 may choose the start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250 automatically or may provide optional start points for the operator to select from manually. In at least one example, the controller 350 chooses the start point based on the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300. In at least one example, the controller 350 uses the closest lane of the two longest edges 105, 107, 205, 207 of the boundary 102, 202, and chooses the start point to be the end of that edge that is closest to the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to determine the starting position of the task path based on it being closest to the vehicle as well as allowing the vehicle to be positioned to the right of the region to be worked as taught by O’Donnell. This would increase the efficiency of the system by ensuring that the vehicle does not make unnecessary turns and travel to reach a specific corner before beginning to task as well as that any equipment located on the left side of the vehicle may be accessible to the region where it will be needed.
Regarding claim 8, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 8 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a display portion (Paragraph 0087, "The display operation interface 52 includes a touchscreen, and displays various kinds of information on a screen. By performing predetermined operations on a display screen of the display operation interface 52, it is possible to make various inputs. The display operation interface 52 is a display and an input. The agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 may be provided with an independent display and an independent interface (input), instead of the display operation interface 52.")
Kuboshima does not specifically teach displaying an unworked region to the user. However, Fujii, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… which displays information including the unworked region. (Paragraphs 0192-0193, “ln the example shown in figure 19, the work area of the field 70 other than the outermost periphery 69 and the permission area79 can be set as a permission area in which remotely controlled travel is permitted only when agricultural work has not yet been performed. The work vehicle 100 shown in Figure 19 performs predetermined agricultural work while traveling back and forth within the work area of the field 70. The illustrated work area includes a worked area 73 where agricultural work has already been
completed, and an unworked area 78 where agricultural work has not yet been performed. If the work vehicle 100 tramples over the worked area 73, the effectiveness of the agricultural work that has already boon performed will be diminished Therefore, in the example of FIG. 19, the control device 180 disables remote control to drive the work vehicle 100 in the
already worked area 73. In the unworked area 78, remote control driving of the work vehicle 100 is possible. Whether the work vehicle 100 is located in the already worked area 73 or the unworked area 78 is determined by This can be identified based on log data of the travel and agricultural work of the work vehicle 100. In this example, remotely controlled travel of the work vehicle 100 can prevent the work vehicle 100 from trampling on the already worked area 73. As in this example, the control device 180 may permit remotely controlled travel of
the work vehicle 100 when the state of the field 70 meets a i:><edetermin.ed condition (for example, no agricultural work has yet been performed, etc.).
As described above, the management device 600 in this embodiment generates a target route for the work vehicle 100 on roads and fields on a map in accordance with a work plan created in advance or instructions from the user. The control device 180 of the work vehicle 100 defines the area defined by the target route as an automated driving area and causes the work vehicle 100 to drive within the automated driving area. The control device 180 may set an area that is the same as the automated driving area or a portion of it as a permitted area for remotely controlled driving, and may set areas outside the automated driving area as prohibited areas. Such settings can prevent the work vehicle 100 from being remotely controlled unnecessarily entering areas where automated driving is not planned.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to monitor the progress of the vehicle as work is being completed as taught by Fujii. This would allow a user to remotely monitor the progress of the work quickly and easily and prevent the system from damaging completed work.
Regarding claim 9, where all the limitations of claim 8 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 9 (previously presented): The system according to claim 8, wherein the display portion highlights (Paragraph 0159, "The predicted work paths J1 are displayed in an emphasized manner compared to the predicted non-work portions V1. In the present example, the predicted work paths J1 and the predicted non-work portions V1 are indicated with different hatchings. However, when the display operation interface 52 supports color display, the predicted work paths J1 and the predicted non-work portions V1 may be filled with different colors, or densities of the colors may be different from each other. (The same applies to the actual work paths J2 and actual non-work portions V2 described later.)") …
Kuboshima does not specifically teach emphasizing the closest corner to the vehicle. However, O’Donnell, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicle control, teaches:
… the corner closest to the position of the work vehicle among the plurality of corners of the unworked region. (Paragraph 0046, "At block 408, the controller 350 defines a start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250. In the example of a rectangular boundary 102, 202, there are often four possible start points (the four corners). The controller 350 may choose the start point 146, 148, 246, 247, 248, 250 automatically or may provide optional start points for the operator to select from manually. In at least one example, the controller 350 chooses the start point based on the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300. In at least one example, the controller 350 uses the closest lane of the two longest edges 105, 107, 205, 207 of the boundary 102, 202, and chooses the start point to be the end of that edge that is closest to the current position of the autonomous control vehicle 300.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control display system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to specifically emphasize the closest corner to the vehicle as taught by O’Donnell. This would allow the operator to visually check to proposed start position and quickly make adjustments to the control plan.
Regarding claim 10, where all the limitations of claim 8 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 10 (previously presented): The system according to claim 8, wherein the display portion displays a row direction in the unworked region. (Paragraph 0109, "The plurality of setting items on the “route creation 2” screen D7 include estimated work distance, a headland count (the number of headlands), working direction, overlap-on-headland, and overlap-in-central-portion. It is possible to input values of the items except for the estimated work distance. The headland count is the number of headland(s) extending within and along the contour H1 of the registered agricultural field (the agricultural field map MP2). The working direction is a direction in which work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 is caused to travel straight back and forth in a central portion inward of the headland(s) of the agricultural field. Upon input of a predetermined numerical value (such as “1” or “2”, for example) in the numerical value input field of the working direction, a vertical direction or a horizontal direction on the “route creation 2” screen D7 that corresponds to the numerical value is set. The overlap-on-headland is an overlap of the working width of the working device 2 with a headland. The overlap-in-central-portion is an overlap between working widths when work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 is caused to straight back and forth in the central portion of the agricultural field.")
Regarding claim 11, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 11 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein
the work vehicle (Paragraphs 0020-0021, “An agricultural machine according to an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes the agricultural work assistance apparatus, a traveling vehicle body to travel, a connector to connect a working device for agricultural work to the traveling vehicle body, and a position detector to detect a position of the traveling vehicle body.
In an aspect of a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the agricultural machine may further include an automatic operation controller to perform an automatic traveling-and-working mode in which the automatic operation controller causes the working device to perform agricultural work while causing the traveling vehicle body to travel by automatic operation.” And Paragraph 0072, “The controller 60 includes electric circuit(s) and/or the like including a CPU and one or more memories. The controller 60 is configured or programmed to control operation of each element of the agricultural machine 1. The controller 60 includes an automatic operation controller 61 that controls operations of the traveling vehicle body 3 (FIG. 24) of the agricultural machine 1 and the working device 2.”) is capable of manual travel and automated travel. ( Paragraphs 0065-0068, "FIG. 24 is a general side view of an agricultural machine 1. The agricultural machine 1 of the present preferred embodiment is a tractor. Note that the agricultural machine 1 is not limited to a tractor, and may be another agricultural machine such as a rice transplanter or a combine, a working vehicle that performs agricultural work other than a tractor, or the like.
The agricultural machine 1 includes a traveling vehicle body 3, a prime mover 4, a transmission 5, and a traveling device 7. The traveling device 7 includes front wheels 7F and rear wheels 7R. The front wheels 7F may be in the form of tires or crawlers. The rear wheels 7R may also be in the form of tires or crawlers. The prime mover 4 includes a diesel engine, an electric motor, and/or the like. The transmission 5 can change a propelling force of the traveling device 7 by changing speed stages, and can also switch between forward traveling and backward traveling of the traveling device 7. A driving force from the prime mover 4 is transmitted to the traveling device 7 by the transmission 5 and drives the traveling device 7, so that the traveling vehicle body 3 travels forward or backward. The left side in FIG. 24 is the front of the traveling vehicle body 3, and the right side in FIG. 24 is the rear of the traveling vehicle body 3.
The traveling vehicle body 3 is provided with a cabin 9. An operator's seat 10 is provided inside the cabin 9. A lifting device 8 including a three-point linkage and/or the like is provided at a rear portion of the traveling vehicle body 3. The lifting device 8 is provided with connectors 8g and 8h to which a working device 2 for agricultural work is connectable. The working device 2 is connected to the connectors 8g and 8h, so that the working device 2 and the traveling vehicle body 3 are coupled to each other and the traveling vehicle body 3 can tow the working device 2.
The working device 2 performs ground work on an agricultural field. Examples of the working device 2 include a tiller (rotary tiller) that performs tillage of an agricultural field, a stubble cultivator that performs stubble cultivation, a harrow (drive harrow) that performs puddling, a spreader that spreads fertilizer, agricultural chemicals, or the like, a seeder that performs seeding, a transplanter that transplants seedlings, a harvester that performs harvesting, and the like." as well as Paragraph 0143, "The user manually operates the agricultural machine 1 to move to the starting point Ps while looking at the travel control screen D8, and then performs a predetermined operation using the mode switch 65 (FIG. 1) to place the agricultural machine 1 in the automatic traveling-and-working mode. With this, the automatic operation controller 61 (FIG. 1) is brought into the automatic traveling-and-working mode, and causes the working device 2 to perform ground work while causing the traveling vehicle body 3 to travel by automatic operation based on the travel route L1 received (acquired) from the agricultural work assistance apparatus 50 and the position of the traveling vehicle body 3 detected by the positioning device 40.")
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuboshima in view of Fujii and O’Donnell and in further view of Barboi et al. (US 20240219925 A1), hereinafter Barboi.
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima does not specifically teach setting a determination line inside the contour of the field and setting the automated travel starting position as the vehicle enters beyond that line. However, Barboi, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous control, teaches:
Claim 3 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein the region setting portion sets an automated-travel determining line inside the contour; (Paragraph 0035, "The path geometry includes boundaries 302-304, which are paths that bound work areas 306-308. A path that bounds an area where the autonomous work vehicle is not to traverse while working (e.g., a structure within a field) defines an obstacle 310. Another type of path includes fills 312-314, which are patterns generated within boundaries 302-304 to cover some or all of area within boundaries 302-304 by the work vehicle, while avoiding obstacles 310. The fills 312-314 are drawn with dotted lines in FIG. 3. The fills 312-314 may be generated automatically given some generation parameters, such as the size of the work implement (e.g., cutting head, snow thrower, sweeper), width and turn radius of the autonomous work vehicle, and one of a plurality of different patterns. For example, fills 312, 314 use a back-and-forth pattern while fill 313 uses a concentric (spiral-like) pattern that starts by traversing a first path at or near the boundary 303, and reducing the size of the path by an offset for each traversal. The autonomous work vehicle typically runs fills 312-314 with the work implement turned on, e.g., mower blades rotating, whereas for some other paths inside and outside the work areas, the work implement may be turned off.") and
the start-position setting portion sets the automated-travel start position when the work vehicle travels inside the automated-travel determining line. (Paragraph 0038, "In the next section, a number of operational modes of an autonomous work vehicle according to an example embodiment are described. The first operational mode is termed “Autorun,” and aspects of this mode are shown in FIGS. 4-5. As seen in FIG. 4, Autorun will plan and run a path 400, 401 that positions the autonomous work vehicle 402 at the start point 404 of a mowing fill 401, given that the autonomous work vehicle 402 is within a field 408. This feature prevents the operator from having to align the autonomous work vehicle 402 to the start point 404 of a fill 401. The operator need only drive the autonomous work vehicle 402 to an arbitrary point near the boundary of the field 408 in which the fill path 401 has been generated, press “Run,” (e.g., either on the autonomous work vehicle 402 or via an application on a mobile device) and the autonomous work vehicle 402 will start its job. Note that the arrow on the autonomous work vehicle 402 indicates a direction of forward motion of the autonomous work vehicle 402. The autonomous work vehicle 402 may also be able to backup and/or rotate in place in some embodiments." and Paragraph 0044, "In response to the Autoload command, the robot 602 queries 608 the ROC 604 with its current position. The ROC 604 searches 609 through all paths within some distance (e.g., 1 mile) of the robot 602, and returns 610 the best match. If the nearest paths are fields, the robot's position is checked 611 against these fields to determine if the robot is within any of the boundaries. If it is, this field data 612 is returned, along with other appropriate data such as fill path, boundary data, and obstacle data. If the robot is within multiple fields, the most recently run fill path for the field may be returned with field data 612. If the robot is not within any fields, the closest path is returned with field data 612, e.g., a transit path. The robot loads 613 the returned path and operates 614 there. If a fill path of the field is loaded 613, the robot 602 may start work, whereas if a transit path is loaded 613, the robot 602 may follow the transit path until a field is entered, upon which a field path may then be loaded (not shown) and a traversal path may optionally be generated." Also please see Figures 6 and 7 which demonstrate the operation of the autonomous system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to indicate boundaries within the work area defining when the system may shift to autonomous navigation and when the system may begin to plan the autonomous travel as taught by Barboi. This would allow for easier operation of the system on the part of the user leading to more efficient workflow.
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Kuboshima further teaches:
Claim 4 (previously presented): The system according to claim 1, wherein the region setting portion … and sets a worked region inside the contour on the basis of a plurality of pieces of the position information; and
when the worked region extends to an inside of the automated-travel determining line, the start-position setting portion sets the automated-travel start position. (Paragraphs 0112-0119, "FIGS. 11A to 11D illustrate a method of defining the areas C1 and E1 and the travel route L1. Upon selection of the route creation key B13 in the procedure described above, the area definer 51b first defines the central area C1 and the headland area E1, based on the contour H1 of the agricultural field, the working width of the working device 2, the input number of headlands, and/or the input overlap-on-headland. Specifically, for example, the area definer 51b calculates the contour C1 by displacing the contour H1 of the agricultural field inward by a width W4 (which is obtained by subtracting the overlap-on-headland W2 from the working width W1 of the working device 2) one or more times corresponding to the number of headlands, and defines, as the central area C1, an area (central portion) enclosed by the contour C1, as illustrated in FIG. 11A.
As another example, the area definer 51b may calculate a contour by displacing the contour H1 of the agricultural field inward by the working width of the working device 2 (or the total width of the working device 2) one or more times corresponding to the number of headlands, and define an area (central portion) enclosed by the contour C1 as the central area. Additionally or alternatively, the number of headlands, the overlap-on-headland, and/or the overlap-in-central-portion may be preset fixed value(s), the fixed value may be stored in the memory 53, and the area definer 51b may read the fixed value from the memory 53 as necessary.
After setting the central area C1 located inward of the contour H1 of the agricultural field as described above, the area definer 51b defines an area in the form of a frame (outer frame portion) located outward of the central area C1 as the headland area E1. The area definer 51b then causes the memory 53 to store data of, for example, the positions and/or the like indicating the areas C1 and E1.
The route creator 51c creates the travel route L1 based on the defined areas C1 and E1, the working width of the working device 2, the inputted working direction, the inputted overlap-on-headland, and/or the inputted overlap-in-central-portion. Specifically, the route creator 51c first creates a plurality of unit work sections C2 in the central area C1 from one of opposite edges (the right edge in the drawings such as FIG. 11B) of the central area C1 each extending parallel to the working direction (vertical direction in FIG. 11B) such that the unit work sections each have a width equal to the working width W of the working device 2 (see FIG. 11B). In so doing, the unit work section C2 created first by the route creator 51c has the working width W1 overlapping the headland area E1 by the overlap-on-headland W2. The unit work section C2 created second or later by the route creator 51c has the working width W1 overlapping the previous unit work section C2 by the overlap-in-central-portion W3.
Next, the route creator 51c creates a straight route portion L1a along which the traveling vehicle body 3 travels straight, for each unit work section C2 as illustrated in FIG. 11C. In so doing, the route creator 51c creates the straight route portion L1a that is a straight line connecting opposite ends of the unit work section C2 in a longitudinal direction on a widthwise (right-left direction in FIG. 11C) centerline of the unit work section C2. Note that in the unit work section C2 that is created last (the leftmost unit work section C2 in the central area C1 in FIG. 11B), if the straight route portion L1a created in the unit work section C2 is located outside the central area C1, the route creator 51c may exclude the straight route portion L1a from the travel route L1.
Next, the route creator 51c creates a route portion L1b connecting adjacent straight route portions L1a to each other in the headland area E1. The route portion L1b is a turn route portion along which the traveling vehicle body 3 turns from one of two adjacent straight route portions L1a to the other. Note that although FIG. 11C and the like illustrate turn route portions L1b having a simple semi-circular shape, this shape is intended for convenience of description, such as for ease of displaying the turn route portions L1b on the display screen D7 (and the display screen D8 described later) on the display operation interface 52 or for easy visual recognition of the travel route L1 on the display screen. When the traveling vehicle body 3 actually travels based on one of the straight route portions L1a and then turns toward the other of the straight route portions L1a, the traveling vehicle body 3 makes a turn while traveling forward or rearward, forming a path of a more complex shape than the turn route portion L1b. The route creator 51c may create the turn route portions L1b in the form different from a semicircle. The same applies to other turn route portions described later and turn portions included in other routes.
The controller 60 (FIG. 1) of the agricultural machine 1 causes the lifting device 8 (FIG. 2) to lower the working device 2 and causes the working device 2 to perform ground work while causing the traveling vehicle body 3 to travel based on the straight route portion(s) L1a. The controller 60 causes the lifting device 8 to raise the working device 2 and stops the ground work performed by the working device 2 while causing the traveling vehicle body 3 to travel based on the turn route portion(s) L1b.
That is, the straight route portions L1a are work route portions on which ground work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 of the agricultural machine 1 is caused to travel in automatic operation. The central area C1 in which the straight route portions L1a are created is a work area in which ground work is performed by the working device 2 while the traveling vehicle body 3 is caused to travel straight back and forth in automatic operation. Note that the work route portions are not limited to those in the form of a straight line such as the straight route portions L1a, and may be curved route portions. It is only necessary that one or more work route portions in the form of a straight line and/or one or more work route portions in the form of a curve be created in the work area.")
Kuboshima does not specifically teach setting a determination line inside the contour of the field. However, Barboi, in the same field of endeavor of autonomous control, teaches:
… sets an automated-travel determining line inside the contour (Paragraph 0035, "The path geometry includes boundaries 302-304, which are paths that bound work areas 306-308. A path that bounds an area where the autonomous work vehicle is not to traverse while working (e.g., a structure within a field) defines an obstacle 310. Another type of path includes fills 312-314, which are patterns generated within boundaries 302-304 to cover some or all of area within boundaries 302-304 by the work vehicle, while avoiding obstacles 310. The fills 312-314 are drawn with dotted lines in FIG. 3. The fills 312-314 may be generated automatically given some generation parameters, such as the size of the work implement (e.g., cutting head, snow thrower, sweeper), width and turn radius of the autonomous work vehicle, and one of a plurality of different patterns. For example, fills 312, 314 use a back-and-forth pattern while fill 313 uses a concentric (spiral-like) pattern that starts by traversing a first path at or near the boundary 303, and reducing the size of the path by an offset for each traversal. The autonomous work vehicle typically runs fills 312-314 with the work implement turned on, e.g., mower blades rotating, whereas for some other paths inside and outside the work areas, the work implement may be turned off." Please see paragraphs 0038 and 0044 as well.) …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the autonomous vehicle control system as taught by Kuboshima with the ability to indicate boundaries within the work area defining when the system may shift to autonomous navigation and when the system may begin to plan the autonomous travel as taught by Barboi. This would allow for easier operation of the system on the part of the user leading to more efficient workflow.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657