Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 03/13/2023 has been acknowledged.
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 are the independent claims.
Claims 18 have been cancelled.
This Final Office Action is in response to the “Amendments and Remarks” received on 12/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by US-20190177953-A1 to Takahashi et. al. (“Takahashi”) in view of US-20220259828-A1 to Zhang et. al. (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a control system for an agricultural implement, comprising (Takahashi Abstract):
a first electric pump (Takahashi Fig. 1, ref 101 “Main pump of variable displacement type”) fluidly and individually coupled to a first fluid cylinder (Takahashi Fig. 1 ref 3d “bucket cylinder”) through a first conduit (Takahashi Fig. 1 ref 105a “hydraulic fluid supply path” and [0056] “plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d of a closed center type (a plurality of first flow control valves) for controlling the boom cylinder 3a, the arm cylinder 3b, and the bucket cylinder 3d (a plurality of first actuators), a hydraulic fluid supply path 105a for introducing the hydraulic fluid of the main pump 101 to the plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d”), wherein the first electric pump is disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1), and the first fluid cylinder is configured to apply a force to a first ground-engaging tool of the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 2, ref 3d and [0054], [0058], & [0070] – [0071] and [0276]);
a second electric pump (Takahashi Fig. 1, ref 301 “Main pump of variable displacement type”) fluidly and individually coupled to a second fluid cylinder (Takahashi Fig. 1 ref 3h “blade cylinder”) through a second conduit separate from the first conduit, (Takahashi Fig. 1 & 1C ref 305 “hydraulic fluid supply path” and [0054] “hydraulic fluid supply paths 105, 205, and 305 for introducing the hydraulic fluids delivered from the main pumps 101, 201, and 301 to the plurality of actuators”) wherein the second electric pump is disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1), and the second fluid cylinder is configured to apply a force to a second ground-engaging tool of the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 2, ref 3h and [0054] & [0063] – [0069] and [0276]); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the first electric pump and the second electric pump, and the controller is configured to (Takahashi ref 90 “controller” and [0274]):
determine a first target fluid pressure inside the first fluid cylinder based on a first target force of the first fluid cylinder (Takahashi [0070]);
determine a second target fluid pressure inside the second fluid cylinder based on a second target force of the second fluid cylinder (Takahashi [0063] & [0068]);
control the first electric pump to adjust a first fluid pressure inside the first fluid cylinder such that a first difference between the first fluid pressure and the first target fluid pressure is less than a first threshold (Takahashi [0058], [0070] – [0072], & [0118]); and
control the second electric pump to adjust a second fluid pressure inside the second fluid cylinder such that a second difference between the second fluid pressure and the second target fluid pressure is less than a second threshold (Takahashi [0063], [0068] – [0069], & [0131] – [0132]).
Takahashi does not teach that the controller comprises a memory and a processor. However, Zhang teaches that the controller comprises a memory and a processor (Zhang [0060] “the EHA 200 can include a controller 282. The controller 282 can include one or more processors or microprocessors and may include data storage (e.g., memory, transitory computer-readable medium, non-transitory computer-readable medium, etc.).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the apparatus of Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhang such that the controller comprises a memory and a processor. Doing so would allow the controller to perform the operations described (Zhang [0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that at least one electric pump of the first electric pump or the second electric pump is configured to have an amount of fluid flowing in-between the at least one electric pump and corresponding fluid cylinder coupled to the at least one electric pump without connecting to an external fluid supply (Takahashi ref 105 & 305 “hydraulic fluid supply paths” and [0054] “hydraulic fluid supply paths 105, 205, and 305 for introducing the hydraulic fluids delivered from the main pumps 101, 201, and 301 to the plurality of actuators,” and [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 2. Takahashi further discloses that the external fluid supply is disposed on a work vehicle (Takahashi [0058] “unloading valve 115 which comes into an opened state to return the hydraulic fluid of the hydraulic fluid supply path 105a to a tank when the pressure P1 of the hydraulic fluid supply path 105a becomes equal to or higher …”).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that a fluid supply for at least one of the first electric pump and the second electric pump is disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1 and ref 30 “pilot pump”).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that the first electric pump and the second electric pump are hydraulic, or pneumatic, or a combination thereof (Takahashi [0092] “The main pumps 101 and 201 provide first and second pumps that supply hydraulic fluids to the plurality of first and second flow control valves …”).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that the control system comprises a first valve assembly and a second valve assembly (Takahashi [0364] & [0365] “plurality of first flow control valves … plurality of second flow control valves”), wherein the first electric pump is fluidly coupled to the first fluid cylinder via the first valve assembly, and the second electric pump is fluidly coupled to the second fluid cylinder via the second valve assembly (Takahashi Fig. 1 and [0056]).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 6. Takahashi further discloses that at least one of the first valve assembly or the second valve assembly is disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 6. Takahashi further discloses that the controller is configured to: control the first valve assembly to adjust the first fluid pressure inside the first fluid cylinder; and control the second valve assembly to adjust the second fluid pressure inside the second fluid cylinder (Takahashi [0056] and [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 1. Takahashi further discloses that the control system comprises a sensor communicatively coupled to the controller and configured to output a signal indicative of at least one property of the agricultural implement, at least one property of an agricultural field in which the agricultural implement is located, or a combination thereof (Takahashi ref 85 “pressure sensor” and [0277]), wherein the controller is configured to determine the first target force and the second target force based on the at least one property of the agricultural implement, the at least one property of the agricultural field, or the combination thereof (Takahashi [0143] & [0150]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi teaches a control system for an agricultural implement, comprising (Takahashi Abstract):
a plurality of electric pumps (Takahashi [0054] “main pumps 101, 201, and 301”) fluidly coupled to a plurality of fluid cylinders (Takahashi [0054] “a boom cylinder 3a, an arm cylinder 3b, … a bucket cylinder 3d, a swing cylinder 3e, … and a blade cylinder 3h”) via a plurality of valve assemblies (Takahashi [0364] & [0366] “plurality of first flow control valves … plurality of third flow control valves”) and through separate respective conduits (Takahashi [0054] “hydraulic fluid supply paths 105, 205, and 305 for introducing the hydraulic fluids delivered from the main pumps 101, 201, and 301 to the plurality of actuators”), wherein each electric pump of the plurality of electric pumps is fluidly and individually coupled to a respective fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders, (Takahashi Fig. 1 and 1C) wherein the plurality of electric pumps and the plurality of valve assemblies are disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1-2 and [0056]), and each fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders is configured to apply a force to a respective ground-engaging tool of the agricultural implement (Takahashi [0054], [0058], & [0063] – [0071] and [0276]);
and a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of electric pumps and the plurality of valve assemblies, and the controller is configured to (Takahashi ref 90 “controller” and [0274]):
determine a respective target fluid pressure for each fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders based on a respective target force of the fluid cylinder (Takahashi [0063], [0068], and [0070]);
and control the plurality of electric pumps, the plurality of valve assemblies, or a combination thereof, such that a respective difference between the respective target fluid pressure and a respective fluid pressure in each fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders is less than a respective threshold value (Takahashi [0058], [0063], [0068] - [0073], & [0118] [0059], & [0125]).
Takahashi does not teach that the controller comprises a memory and a processor. However, Zhang teaches that the controller comprises a memory and a processor (Zhang [0060] “the EHA 200 can include a controller 282. The controller 282 can include one or more processors or microprocessors and may include data storage (e.g., memory, transitory computer-readable medium, non-transitory computer-readable medium, etc.).”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the apparatus of Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhang such that the controller comprises a memory and a processor. Doing so would allow the controller to perform the operations described (Zhang [0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 10. Takahashi further discloses that at least one electric pump of the plurality of electric pump is configured to have an amount of fluid flowing in-between the at least one electric pump and respective fluid cylinders coupled to the at least one electric pump without connecting to an external fluid supply (Takahashi ref 105 & 205 “hydraulic fluid supply paths” and [0054] “hydraulic fluid supply paths 105, 205, and 305 for introducing the hydraulic fluids delivered from the main pumps 101, 201, and 301 to the plurality of actuators,” and [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 10. Takahashi further discloses that a fluid supply for at least one electric pump of the plurality of electric pumps is disposed on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1 and ref 30 “pilot pump”).
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 10. Takahashi further discloses that each electric pump of the plurality of electric pumps is individually coupled to a respective fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders via a respective valve assembly of the plurality of valve assemblies (Takahashi [0364] & [0365] “plurality of first flow control valves … plurality of second flow control valves” and Fig. 1 and [0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 10. Takahashi further discloses that the control system comprises a sensor communicatively coupled to the controller and configured to output a signal indicative of at least one property of the agricultural implement, at least one property of an agricultural field in which the agricultural implement is located, or a combination thereof (Takahashi ref 85 “pressure sensor” and [0277]), wherein the controller is configured to determine the respective target force based on the at least one property of the agricultural implement, the at least one property of the agricultural field, or the combination thereof (Takahashi [0143] & [0150]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Zhang, further in view of US-9989986-B2 to Foster et. al. (“Foster”).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi as modified by Zhang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention in claim 10. Takahashi as modified by Zhang does not teach that the plurality of fluid cylinders are hydraulic, or pneumatic, or a combination thereof. However, Foster teaches that the plurality of fluid cylinders are hydraulic, or pneumatic, or a combination thereof (Foster col 4 lines 25-26 “One or more actuators (e.g., pneumatic cylinders, hydraulic cylinders)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the apparatus of Takahashi as modified by Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Foster such that the plurality of fluid cylinders are hydraulic, or pneumatic, or a combination thereof. Doing so would allow for parts of the implement to be adjusted (Foster (13)).
Claim(s) 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of US-20140060403-A1 to Blunier et. al. (“Blunier”).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi teaches:
selecting a number of electric pumps based on a number of fluid cylinders on the agricultural implement, wherein the number of electric pumps and the number of fluid cylinders is two or more; (Takahashi Fig. 1, ref 101 “Main pump of variable displacement type”, ref 3a, 3b, 3d “plurality of first actuators” ref 301 “Main pump of variable displacement type”, ref 3h “blade cylinder”, and [0054] & [0063] – [0072], and [0276]);
disposing the electric pumps on the agricultural implement (Takahashi Fig. 1 and [0056]);
fluidly and individually coupling each electric pump of the electric pumps to a respective fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders on the agricultural implement via a separate respective conduit (Takahashi Fig. 1, ref 101 “Main pump of variable displacement type”, ref 3a, 3b, 3d “plurality of first actuators” ref 301 “Main pump of variable displacement type”, ref 3h “blade cylinder”, ref 105 and 305 “hydraulic fluid supply paths”, and [0054] & [0063] – [0072], and [0276]);
and communicatively coupling a controller to the electric pumps, wherein the controller is configured to (Takahashi ref 90 “controller”):
determine a respective target fluid pressure for each fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders based on a respective target force of the fluid cylinder to apply to a respective ground-engaging tool of the agricultural implement (Takahashi ref 3a, 3b, 3d “plurality of first actuators”, ref 3h “blade cylinder”, and [0054] & [0063] – [0072] and [0276]);
and control each of the electric pumps independently such that a respective difference between the respective target fluid pressure and a respective fluid pressure in each fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders is less than a respective threshold value (Takahashi [0058], [0063] – [0073], & [0118] [0059], & [0125]).
Takahashi does not teach a method for manufacturing an agricultural implement. However, Blunier teaches A method for manufacturing an agricultural implement, comprising (Blunier Claim 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the apparatus of Takahashi to incorporate the teachings of Bluneir such that a method for manufacturing an agricultural implement is disclosed because methods of operating or creating a system are commonly taught alongside the structural features of the device to show its intended use an to ensure the system achieves its designed functionality.
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi as modified by Blunier teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 16. Takahashi further discloses that the electric pumps are hydraulic, or pneumatic, or a combination thereof (Takahashi [0092] “The main pumps 101 and 201 provide first and second pumps that supply hydraulic fluids to the plurality of first and second flow control valves …”).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi as modified by Blunier teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 16. Takahashi further discloses that the method includes selecting the number of the electric pumps comprises selecting a particular electric pump, in which fluid flows in-between the particular electric pump and the respective fluid cylinder coupled to the particular electric pump without connecting to an external fluid supply (Takahashi ref 105 & 205 “hydraulic fluid supply paths” and [0054] “hydraulic fluid supply paths 105, 205, and 305 for introducing the hydraulic fluids delivered from the main pumps 101, 201, and 301 to the plurality of actuators,” and [0056]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi in view of Blunier and further in view of Foster.
Regarding claim 17, Takahashi as modified by Blunier teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 16. Takahashi as modified by Blunier does not teach that the method comprises disposing a fluid supply for at least one fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders on the agricultural implement. However, Foster discloses that the method, comprising: disposing a fluid supply for at least one fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders on the agricultural implement (Foster claim 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to further incorporate the teachings of Foster to Takahashi as modified by Blunier such that the method comprises disposing a fluid supply for at least one fluid cylinder of the fluid cylinders on the agricultural implement. Doing so would allow the cylinders to be powered (Foster claim 2).
Response to Arguments/Remarks
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/03/2025; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Office Note: Claim 18 has been cancelled, therefore any rejection or objection pertaining thereupon is now considered moot.
With respect to the claim objections, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b), applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered.
With respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103, applicants “Amendment and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant has amended the independent claim and these amendments have changed the scope of the original application and the Office has supplied new grounds for rejection attached below in the FINAL office action and therefore the prior arguments are considered moot. However, even though applicant has amended the scope of the claims and the Office has provided new mapping of cited prior art below, the Office is still using the same cited prior art, thus the Office will attempt to address all remarks that remain relevant.
Applicant remarks:
The applicant respectfully submits that Takahashi does not appear to disclose at least these recitations. In contrast, Takahashi discloses, "A plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d of a closed center type (a plurality of first flow control valves) for controlling the boom cylinder 3a, the arm cylinder 3b, and the bucket cylinder 3d (a plurality of first actuators), [and] a hydraulic fluid supply path 105a for introducing the hydraulic fluid of the main pump 101 to the plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d, a plurality of flow control valves 206a and 206b (a plurality of first flow control valves) of a closed center type for controlling the boom cylinder 3a and the arm cylinder 3b (a plurality of first actuators), a hydraulic fluid supply path 205a for introducing the hydraulic fluid of the main pump 201 to the plurality of flow control Takahashi, paragraph 56; see also FIGS. 1, 5, and 6. First, in valves 206a and 206b Takahashi, a single fluid supply path 105a appears to provide the hydraulic fluid from one main pump 101 to multiple cylinders 3a, 3b, 3d via the corresponding flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d. In Takahashi, a single fluid supply path 205a appears to provide the hydraulic fluid from one main pump 201 to multiple cylinders 3a, 3b via the corresponding flow control valves 206a and 206b. Moreover, in Takahashi, another main pump 301 appears to provide the hydraulic fluid to multiple cylinders 3h, 3e. Takahashi, FIGS. 1, 5. Although Takahashi appears to disclose that the main pump 201 is coupled to a single cylinder 3b in FIG. 5 of Takahashi, Takahashi fails to disclose a second pump individually and fluidly coupled to a respective cylinder. Thus, Takahashi does not appear to disclose a plurality of electric pumps fluidly and individually coupled to respective cylinders. Further, in the Office Action, the Examiner alleged that Takahashi discloses that the main pump 201 provides fluid to cylinders 3f and 3g. However, 3f and 3g are travelling motors, not cylinders.
Accordingly, Takahashi does not appear to disclose "a first electric pump fluidly and individually coupled to a first fluid cylinder through a first conduit, wherein the first electric pump is disposed on the agricultural implement, and the first fluid cylinder is configured to apply a force to a first ground-engaging tool of the agricultural implement; [and] a second electric pump fluidly and individually coupled to a second fluid cylinder through a second conduit separate from the first conduit", as recited by independent claim 1. For the same reason, Takahashi also does not appear to disclose "a plurality of electric pumps fluidly coupled to a plurality of fluid cylinders via a plurality of valve assemblies and through separate respective conduits, wherein each electric pump of the plurality of electric pumps is fluidly and individually coupled to a respective fluid cylinder of the plurality of fluid cylinders," as recited by independent claim 10. For at least these reasons, the applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of independent claims 1 and 10, and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102, and allowance of the same.
Office Response:
The office respectfully disagrees that Takahashi fails to disclose the amendments. Paragraph [0056] explicitly states “A plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d of a closed center type (a plurality of first flow control valves) for controlling the boom cylinder 3a, the arm cylinder 3b, and the bucket cylinder 3d (a plurality of first actuators), a hydraulic fluid supply path 105a for introducing the hydraulic fluid of the main pump 101 to the plurality of flow control valves 106a, 106b, and 106d”. Here, the first electric pump ref 101 is disclosed, the first fluid cylinder 3d is disclosed, and the first conduit ref 105a is disclosed. Like applicant states, Takahashi also discloses another main ref 301, a different fluid cylinder ref 3h, and the second conduit ref 305 (See above mapping for more details). Therefore, Takahashi does disclose a plurality (ref 101 and 301) of electric pumps fluidly and individually coupled to respective cylinders (ref 3d and 3h). Please see the new mappings of the same art.
Accordingly, the office believes that Takahashi does indeed disclose the amendments of claim 1 and claim 10. Please see the reasoning above and the new mapping.
Therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. It is the Office’s stance that all of applicant arguments have been considered and the rejections remain.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).a).
/J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666