DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/31/25.
Claims 8-9, are rejoined and fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgandi (EP2036471; ids 10/12/23).
Morgandi teaches a method of operating a milk frothing device (par. 0013), the device including at least one processor (par. 0025; controller) operatively associated with one (par. 0025 ref. 32 switch) or more actuators (par. 0026; door sensor), wherein the method is performed by the at least one processor and includes the steps of:
determining a number of the actuators (par. 0025 ref. 32 switch) activated by way of contact with an underside of a vessel (par. 0025);
determining a presence or an orientation of the vessel based on the number of the activated actuators (par. 0025 ref. 32; one) and
controlling an operation mode of the milk frothing device based on the determined presence or orientation of the vessel (par. 0025 allow or prevent operation dependent on positioning).
Though silent to calculating, since the claimed method only requires one actuator and since Morgandi teaches a same actuator by way of contact with an underside of a vessel and since the actuator increases safety by preventing operation of the steam being dispensed and possibility of the user getting burnt as further taught (par. 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to calculate, i.e. one relative the teachings of Morgandi for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of controlling an operation mode of the milk frothing device based on the determined presence or orientation of the vessel as taught by Morgandi (par. 0025 allow or prevent operation dependent on positioning).
Claims 2-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgandi (EP2036471) in view of Preston et al. (WO2012151629).
Morgandi teaches a method of operating a milk frothing device (par. 0013), the device including at least one processor (par. 0025; controller) operatively associated with one (par. 0025 ref. 32 switch) or more actuators for automatic preparation and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of automatic and repeatable froth preparation as desired by Morgandi (par. 0009) and taught by Preston.
More specifically, Preston teaches an automated device for producing milk froth in drinks comprising a microswitch for providing the control system with signals for controlling the steam of the frothing device (pg. 23 lines 4-5, 20-21).
With respect to claim 2, since Morgandi teaches controlling specific to preset cycles (par. 0019) which interrupts dispensing of the steam when optimal frothing of the milk under the action of steam is achieved (par. 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide with respect to the operation mode of the milk frothing device of Morgandi (par. 0019), an auto temperature mode and an auto time-out mode as taught by Preston (25 lines 7-8) for its art recognized purpose of automated frothing as determined by a desired froth texture (pg. 26 lines 6-10) as taught by Preston and the art recognized advantage of Morgandi of preparing milk froth in an automatic and repeatable manner without requiring particular skills on the part of the user due to interrupting dispensing of the steam when optimal frothing of the milk under the action of steam is achieved (par. 0019).
With respect to claim 3, Morgandi teaches the device enters the auto mode when two or more of the actuators are activated (par. 0026; additional sensor), and the method further includes the step of displaying, on a user interface of the device, an indication of the device (par. 0019 signal).
Since both teach sensors for actuating steam delivery and since the actuator increases safety by preventing operation of the steam being dispensed and possibility of the user getting burnt as further taught by Morgandi (par. 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide with respect to the operation mode of the milk frothing device of Morgandi (par. 0019), an auto temperature mode as taught by Preston (25 lines 7-8) when two or more actuators are activated, for its art recognized purpose of automated frothing as determined by a desired froth texture (pg. 26 lines 6-10) as taught by Preston and the art recognized advantage of Morgandi of preparing milk froth in an automatic and repeatable manner without requiring particular skills on the part of the user due to interrupting dispensing of the steam when optimal frothing of the milk under the action of steam is achieved (par. 0019).
Since both teach providing the user with operation signals (par. 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide the user interface for displaying information specific to operation to the user as taught by Preston (pg. 24 line 33-pg. 25 lines 1-3) such as in the instant case mode information, for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of providing frothing operation information to a user as desired by both and indication to the user visually as taught by Preston (pg. 25 lines 26-27).
Claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide selecting one or more parameters relating to steam and air profiles and enabling a steaming operation of the device based on the one or more parameters selected as taught by Preston (pg. 26 lines 5-10) with respect to the operation mode of the milk frothing device of Morgandi (par. 0019). For its art recognized purpose of automated frothing as determined by a desired froth texture (pg. 26 lines 6-10) since rate of air flow is a controlling factor of froth texture which is more “airy” or more dense as taught by Preston (pg. 26 lines 6-10)
Claim 5, since both teach a same steam wand. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further include a step of detecting an absence or a presence of back-pressure in a steam wand of the device as taught by Preston (pg. 24 lines 8-10) since such is an indication of potential damage and achieving the art recognized advantage of preventing damage and enabling the controller to stop steam function and alert a user of the problem (pg. 26 lines 14-18).
Claim 6, since both teach a same steam wand. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further disable operation based on a detected presence of back-pressure, and wherein the method further includes the step of displaying, on the user interface of the device, an indication that the steam wand is blocked as taught by Preston and achieving the art recognized advantage of preventing damage and enabling the controller to stop steam function and alert a user of the problem (pg. 26 lines 14-18).
Claim 7, since Preston teaches detection of the steam wand being partially or fully blocked. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to continue steaming operation based on a detected absence of back-pressure, i.e. no blockage, and the steaming operation continues until a safety time-out limit is reached, such as in the instant case of a partial or full blockage as taught and disabling the steaming operation upon the safety time-out limit being reached such as in the instant of a fully blocked and enable the controller to stop steam function and alert the user (pg. 26 lines 14-19).
With respect to claim 8, Morgandi teaches disabling the steaming operation of the device when a target temperature is reached (par. 0019).
Claim 9, Morgandi teaches, an indication that the device has completed the steaming operation (pg. 0019 signal to user). Since both teach providing the user with operation signals (par. 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide the user interface for displaying information specific to operation to the user as taught by Preston (pg. 24 line 33-pg. 25 lines 1-3) such as in the instant case completion of a steaming operation, for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of providing frothing operation information to a user as desired by both and indication to the user visually as taught by Preston (pg. 25 lines 26-27).
Claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide the user interface for displaying information specific to operation to the user as taught by Preston (pg. 24 line 33-pg. 25 lines 1-3) such as in the instant case an auto time out mode, for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of providing frothing operation information to a user as desired by both and indication to the user visually as taught by Preston (pg. 25 lines 26-27).
Claim 11, since Morgandi teaches controlling specific to preset cycles (par. 0019) which interrupts dispensing of the steam when optimal frothing of the milk under the action of steam is achieved (par. 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide with respect to the operation mode of the milk frothing device of Morgandi (par. 0019), enabling a countdown to determine a duration of a steaming operation of the device as taught by Preston (25 lines 7-8), enabling the steaming operation of the device and running a stored profile of steam and/or air characteristics of a steam wand of the device (pg. 26 lines 5-10), wherein the countdown is based on one or more parameters including temperature and time remaining (pg. 25 lines 7-8) as further taught by Preston. For its art recognized purpose of automated frothing as determined by a desired froth texture (pg. 26 lines 6-10) as taught by Preston and the art recognized advantage of Morgandi of preparing milk froth in an automatic and repeatable manner without requiring particular skills on the part of the user due to interrupting dispensing of the steam when optimal frothing of the milk under the action of steam is achieved (par. 0019).
Claim 12, since both teach a same steam wand. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further include a step of detecting an absence or a presence of back-pressure in a steam wand of the device as taught by Preston (pg. 24 lines 8-10) since such is an indication of potential damage and achieving the art recognized advantage of preventing damage and enabling the controller to stop steam function and alert a user of the problem (pg. 26 lines 14-18).
Claim 13, since both teach a same steam wand. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further disable operation based on a detected presence of back-pressure, and wherein the method further includes the step of displaying, on the user interface of the device, an indication that the steam wand is blocked as taught by Preston and achieving the art recognized advantage of preventing damage and enabling the controller to stop steam function and alert a user of the problem (pg. 26 lines 14-18).
Claim 14, since Preston teaches detection of the steam wand being partially or fully blocked. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to continue steaming operation based on a detected absence of back-pressure, i.e. no blockage, and the steaming operation continues until a safety time-out limit is reached, such as in the instant case of a partial or full blockage as taught and disabling the steaming operation upon the safety time-out limit being reached such as in the instant of a fully blocked and enable the controller to stop steam function and alert the user (pg. 26 lines 14-19).
Claim 15, Morgandi teaches, an indication that the device has completed the steaming operation (pg. 0019 signal to user). Since both teach providing the user with operation signals (par. 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further provide the user interface for displaying information specific to operation to the user as taught by Preston (pg. 24 line 33-pg. 25 lines 1-3) such as in the instant case completion of a steaming operation, for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of providing frothing operation information to a user as desired by both and indication to the user visually as taught by Preston (pg. 25 lines 26-27).
Conclusion
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792