Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-13 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “the p-type intermediate region extends laterally from under the source region toward the drain region by a second distance greater than the first distance to a PN junction under the gate electrode” however the specification shows in Fig. 2G the intermediate region 244 being separated from the n-type region 212 by a separate part of the back gate region so that it doesn’t extend laterally all the way to a pn junction as claimed. Examiner noted that for the purpose of examination that the claims will be interpreted so that the terms body regions and intermediated regions may be considered to include surrounding portions of the substrate with similar doping type.
Regarding claim 22, the claim recites “the body region forming a first PN junction with the source region that intersects the top surface“, “the body region extends laterally from the intersection of the first PN junction with the top surface toward the drain region by a first distance to a second PN junction with the drift region” and “the intermediate region extends laterally from under intersection toward the drain region by a second distance greater than the first distance to the second PN junction” however the specification shows in Fig. 2G the body region 246 being separated from the top surface and from n-type region 212 so that it is not forming a first PN junction with the source region that intersects the top surface or extending laterally from the intersection of the first PN junction with the top surface to a second PN junction with the drift region. Furthermore Fig, 2G shows the intermediate region 244 being separated from the n-type region 212 by a separate part of the back gate region so that it doesn’t extend laterally to a pn junction as claimed. Furthermore there is no written description of these features
Regarding claims 9-13, 21 and 23-29, the claims are dependent on and require all the limitations of claim 8 or 22 and are therefore rejected for the same reason as claim 8 or 22.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the p-type intermediate region extends laterally from under the source region toward the drain region by a second distance greater than the first distance to a PN junction under the gate electrode” of claim 8 and the “the body region forming a first PN junction with the source region that intersects the top surface“, “the body region extends laterally from the intersection of the first PN junction with the top surface toward the drain region by a first distance to a second PN junction with the drift region” and “the intermediate region extends laterally from under intersection toward the drain region by a second distance greater than the first distance to the second PN junction” of claim 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumennik et. Al. ) US 20030025155 A1hereinafter Rumennik).
Regarding claim 8, Rumennik teaches in Fig. 3 with associated text a transistor, comprising:
a p-type substrate 16 having a top surface and a p-buried layer (PBk and PBk’) (Fig. 3);
an n-type source region 14 and an n-type drain region 19 in the substrate and a gate electrode 12 positioned between the source region and the drain 5region;
an n-type drain drift region 17 between the PBL and the drain region and extending under a first portion of the gate electrode (Fig. 3);
a p-type body region 15 between the PBL and the source region and extending under a second portion of the gate electrode (Fig. 3); and
10a p-type intermediate region (region 65 not shown that is between PB2’ and PBk’ for example PB3’ paragraph [0050], Fig. 3) and between the PBL and the p-type body region (Fig. 3), wherein:
the p-type body region extends laterally from under the source region toward the drain region by a first distance Fig. 3);
15the p-type intermediate region extends laterally from under the source region toward the drain region by a second distance.
Rumennik does not specify in the embodiment of Fig. 3 that the p-type intermediate region extends a second distance that is greater than the first distance to a PN junction under the gate electrode.
Rumennik discloses in an embodiment in Fig. 14 with associated text a similar device wherein a p-type intermediate region 88 extends laterally from under a source 14 toward a drain 19 by a second distance of a PN junction (junction between pburied layer 88 and N-type material in opening 81 (Fig. 14, [0057])) under the gate electrode greater than a first distance that a p-type body region 15 extends laterally from under the source toward the drain by (Fig. 14) so that by using a p-type intermediate region similar to that of the embodiment of Fig. 14 for at least the p-type intermediate region of the embodiment of Fig. 3 the second distance would be greater than the first distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to us a p-type intermediate region similar to that of the embodiment of Fig. 14 in the embodiment of Fig. 3 because according to Rumennik such a structure permits the design of short IGFET channel lengths (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Rumennik teaches the p-type body region has a first peak horizontal dopant concentration (15 includes at least a portion of PB2’ and so has a first peak horizontal dopant concentration) at a first depth below the top surface (see figure below), and the p-type intermediate region has a second peak horizontal dopant concentration at a 5second depth (see figure below) greater than the first depth below the top surface;
the n-type drift region has a third horizontal peak dopant concentration (peak at N2) at a third depth below the top surface that is less than the first depth (see figure below); and the n-type drift region has a fourth horizontal peak dopant 10concentration (peak between PB2 and intermediate layer for example N3 not shown Fig. 3) at a fourth depth between the first and second depths (see Figure below).
Regarding claim 10, Rumennik teaches the first horizontal peak dopant concentration is greater than the second horizontal peak dopant concentration (see figure above).
Regarding claim 11, Rumennik teaches an isolation 15structure 40 between the gate electrode and the drain region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Rumennik teaches a portion of the n-type drain drift region is located between the p-type intermediate region and the gate electrode (since the p-type intermediate region extends into the drain drift region Fig. 14 a portion of the n-type drift region is located between the p-type intermediate region and the gate electrode).
Regarding claim 13, Rumennik teaches a portion of the n-type drain drift 20region having the fourth horizontal peak concentration is located vertically between the top surface and a portion of the intermediate region having the second horizontal peak concentration (see figure above).
Regarding claim 21, Rumennik teaches a lateral distance from the source region to the PN junction has a local maximum distance under the gate electrode (See annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 22, Rumennik teaches in Fig. 3 with associated text transistor, comprising: a semiconductor substrate 16 having a top surface and a buried layer (BL) having a first conductivity type (p-type) (PBk and PBk’) (Fig. 3); a source region 14 and a drain region 19 in the substrate and a gate electrode 12 positioned over the top surface between the source region and the drain region, the source and drain regions having an opposite second conductivity type (n-type) (Fig. 3); a body region (15 and portion of 16 adjacent thereto) having the first conductivity type, the body region located between the BL and the source region and extending from the source region toward the drain region, the body region forming a first PN junction with the source region that intersects the top surface (Fig. 3); a drift region 17 having the second conductivity type, the drift region located between the BL and the drain region and extending from the drain region toward the body region (Fig. 3); and an intermediate region (region 65 not shown that is between PB2’ and PBk’ for example PB3’ paragraph [0050], Fig. 3) between the BL and the body region, the intermediate region having the first conductivity type (Fig. 3), wherein: the body region extends laterally from the intersection of the first PN junction with the top surface toward the drain region by a first distance to a second PN junction with the drift region (Fig. 3 and see annotated Fig. above); and the intermediate region extends laterally from under intersection toward the drain region by a second distance.
Rumennik does not specify in the embodiment of Fig. 3 that the intermediate region extends a second distance that is greater than the first distance to the second PN junction.
Rumennik discloses in an embodiment in Fig. 14 with associated text a similar device wherein a p-type intermediate region 88 extends laterally from under a source 14 toward a drain 19 by a second distance of a PN junction (junction between pburied layer 88 and N-type material in opening 81 (Fig. 14, [0057])) under the gate electrode greater than a first distance that a p-type body region 15 extends laterally from under the source toward the drain by (Fig. 14) so that by using a p-type intermediate region similar to that of the embodiment of Fig. 14 for at least the p-type intermediate region of the embodiment of Fig. 3 the second distance would be greater than the first distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to us a p-type intermediate region similar to that of the embodiment of Fig. 14 in the embodiment of Fig. 3 because according to Rumennik such a structure permits the design of short IGFET channel lengths (paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 23, Rumennik teaches the body region has a first peak horizontal dopant concentration (15 includes at least a portion of PB2’ and so has a first peak horizontal dopant concentration) at a first depth below the top surface, and the intermediate region has a second peak horizontal dopant concentration (see figure above) at a second depth greater than the first depth below the top surface; the drift region has a third horizontal peak dopant concentration (see Figure above) at a third depth below the top surface that is less than the first depth; and the drift region has a fourth horizontal peak dopant concentration at a fourth depth between the first and second depths (see Figure above)..
Regarding claim 24, Rumennik teaches the first horizontal peak dopant concentration is greater than the second horizontal peak dopant concentration (see Figure above).
Regarding claim 25, Rumennik teaches an isolation structure 40 between the gate electrode and the drain region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Rumennik teaches a portion of the drift region is located between the intermediate region and the gate electrode (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 27, Rumennik teaches a portion of the drift region having the fourth horizontal peak dopant concentration is located vertically between the top surface and a portion of the intermediate region having the second horizontal peak dopant concentration (see figure above).
Regarding claim 28, Rumennik teaches the first conductivity type is p-type and the second conductivity type is n-type (Figs. 3 and 14).
Regarding claim 29, Rumennik teaches a lateral distance from the first PN junction to the second PN junction has a local maximum distance under the gate electrode (See annotated figure below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the arguments on pages 5-6 Rumennick teaches a p-type intermediate region 88 extends laterally from under a source 14 toward a drain 19 by a second distance of a PN junction (junction between p-buried layer 88 and N-type material in opening 81 (Fig. 14, [0057])) under the gate electrode greater than a first distance that a p-type body region 15 extends laterally from under the source toward the drain by (Fig. 14) as discussed in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Denison (US 20040108549 A1) teaches a device in Fig. 1 that is relevant to the claims having body 4, intermediate 16 and buried 17 regions.
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897