Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 3/28/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0035666).
Regarding claim 1, Lim et al. discloses an electrostatic chuck assembly comprising: an electrostatic chuck (130) comprising a body and an electrostatic electrode (135) at least partially embedded within the body (figure 1); an electrostatic chuck power supply (152) electrically coupled to the electrostatic electrode (135) (figure 1, paragraph 27); a filter (155) interposed between the electrostatic chuck (130) and the electrostatic chuck power supply (152) and electrically coupled to the electrostatic chuck (130) and the electrostatic chuck power supply (152); and a current detector (160) electrically coupled between the electrostatic chuck power supply (152)
and the filter (155) (figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lim et al. discloses a heater (137) at least partially embedded in the body (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. discloses a current protection device (160) (figure 1 and paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 6, Lim et al. discloses a power management system (150) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Lim et al. discloses a plasma-enhanced deposition system comprising the electrostatic chuck (abstract & paragraphs 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0035666) in view of Parkhe et al. (USP 5,886,865).
Lim et al. discloses the claimed subject matter as set forth in the rejection above. Lim et al. is silent about its current detector detecting current leakage. Parkhe discloses an electrostatic chuck assembly comprising: an electrostatic chuck (110) comprising a body and an electrostatic electrode (112/114) at least partially embedded within the body (figure 1); an electrostatic chuck power supply (108) electrically coupled to the electrostatic electrode (112/114) (figure 1, col. 3, lines 54-56); a current detector (120) electrically coupled to the electrostatic chuck power supply (108) and a current detector (122: col. 4, lines 11-20) and a controller to detect current leakage between the electrostatic electrode and the current detector prior to a process cycle (figures 1-4 and abstract & col. 2 lines 24-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the current detector measure current leakage using a controller, as taught by Parkhe for the purpose of having the tool to alert the operator when it was time to clean the chuck thus have the advantage of detecting contamination of the chuck and prevent chuck failure ) col. 2 lines 24-42 and col. 6, line 66 through col. 7, line 5).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0035666) and as evidenced by Milesi et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0262297) and Chen (US Pub. No. 2008/0136442).
Lim et al. discloses the claimed subject matter as set forth in the rejection above. Lim et al. is silent about the type of isolator used. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the electrostatic chucks art to employ a digital isolator/signal isolator between control circuitry and chuck related components to improve noise, to enhance system safety and improve overall system reliability. This is evidenced by Milesi et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0262297) which recites using digital isolator/signal isolator for the purpose of “transferring information without a physical connection” (paragraph 3) and Chen (US Pub. No. 2008/0136442) which discloses “This genus of digital isolators shows dramatic improvements over traditional opto-isolators in terms of speed, power, edge symmetry and cost” (paragraph 50).
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 6/7/26