Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 10) in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vadlamani (US 20190198436).
Regarding claim 1, Vadlamani discloses a motherboard, comprising:
a first layer (the layer comprising the structures 206, Fig. 2I) with a first trace with a shape;
a layer comprising insulating material (the core substrate 221) over the first layer; and
a second layer with a second trace (another layer 206 on top of layer 221) with the shape over the layer, wherein the second trace is provided directly over the first trace (Fig. 2m), and wherein the first trace is electrically coupled to the second trace by one or more vias (207) through the layer.
Regarding claim 2, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Vadlamani further discloses the one or more vias (207) are at a first end of the shape (end of 206, Fig. 2m) and/or a second end of the shape.
Regarding claim 3, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Vadlamani further suggests a magnetic block (110, 210) embedded in the insulating layer between the first trace and the second trace.
Regarding claim 4, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4. Vadlamani further suggests the magnetic block is secured to the insulating layer by an adhesive or, wherein the magnetic block is press fitted to the insulating layer (the block 110 and/or 210 is fitted into the insulating layer of the substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Vadlamani further suggests the first trace and the second trace form an inductor (the inductor 250, Fig. 2m) that is integrated into the motherboard.
Regarding claim 6, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Vadlamani further suggests the inductor is part of a voltage regulator (paragraph 29) or part of a noise filtering circuit.
Regarding claim 9, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Vadlamani further discloses a second insulator (layer 201, Fig. 2e) over the second layer; and a third layer with a third trace (top layer 206) with the shape over the second insulating layer, wherein the third trace is provided directly over the first trace and the second trace (Fig. 2e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadlamani (US 20190198436), in view of Ji (US 12131861).
Regarding claim 7, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Vadlamani does not explicitly disclose the shape is an S-shape.
Ji suggests the inductor having component with S-shape (Fig. 36).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the component in order to make a component function as intended such as an inductor in this case.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vadlamani (US 20190198436), in view of Hill (US 20200020652).
Regarding claim 8, Vadlamani discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Vadlamani does not explicitly disclose the shape is a U-shape.
Hill suggests the inductor having component with U-shape (Fig. 1D).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention modify the shape of the component in order to make a component function as intended such as an inductor in this case.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the first trace and the second trace have a first width, and wherein an adjacent third trace has a second width, wherein the first width is greater than the second width. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shekhar (US 20200051884) discloses an inductor in a circuit board, Fig. 1.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847