DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitation “the crack stiffener is selectively provided in the edge region” has no written description in the specification of the instant application regarding the phrase “selectively provided”. It is recommended that this limitation be amended to “the crack stiffener is
Claims 1, 11, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the crack stiffener is selectively provided in the edge region”, specifically the phrase “selectively provided” in unclear and indefinite as to what selectively means in this context. It is recommended that this limitation be amended to “the crack stiffener is
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kweon et al (US Publication 20190318994).
Regarding claim 1, Kweon teaches a package comprising:
a lower substrate (Fig. 8, 820);
a lower chip provided on the lower substrate (Fig. 8, 860);
posts provided on an edge of the lower substrate and outside of the lower chip (Fig. 8, 840);
an upper substrate provided on the posts and the lower chip, the upper substrate having a cavity on a bottom surface of the upper substrate (Fig. 8, cavity substrate 880 and cavities 906); and
a crack stiffener provided at an edge of the cavity (cavity layer 900, para 29),
wherein the cavity has a center region on the lower chip and an edge region outside the center region (Fig. 8, center of cavity above center of 860 and edges of cavity above and outside of 860 projection),
wherein the crack stiffener is selectively provided in the edge region to reduce formation of a crack in the edge region of the upper substrate (Fig. 8, cavity layer 900 at edge of cavity above 860, para 29), and
wherein the crack stiffener comprises an inclined surface inclined in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface and a side surface of the lower chip (Fig. 8, cavity layer 900 with incline in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface of 860).
Regarding claim 2, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 2 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener has a thickness that is the same as a depth of the cavity (Fig. 8, cavity 906 defined by 900 of 880 where 900 is as thick as the cavity in 880, para 39).
Regarding claim 3, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 2 upon which claim 3 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener has a tetragonal shape (Fig 1-3, 130 including 135 and 137 depicted as rectangular prism).
Regarding claim 4, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 3 upon which claim 4 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener comprises: linear stiffeners corresponding to sides of the tetragonal shape; and corner stiffeners provided at vertices of the tetragonal shape and connecting the linear stiffeners to each other (Fig. 2 and 3, linear and corner portions of shape defined by 130, 135, and 137).
Regarding claim 5, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which claim 5 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein each of the linear stiffeners have a width that is greater than the depth of the cavity (Fig. 1-3, shape defined by 130, 135, and 137).
Regarding claim 6, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which claim 6 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein each of the linear stiffeners have a width that is less than half of a width of the cavity (Fig. 1-3, shape defined by 130, 135, and 137).
Regarding claim 7, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 4 upon which claim 7 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the linear stiffeners have a width of about 10 µm to about 5 mm (Fig. 1A-D, 19, para 36).
Regarding claim 8, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 8 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener comprises a resin (para 29).
Regarding claim 9, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 9 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener further comprises an epoxy (para 29).
Regarding claim 10, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 1 upon which claim 10 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener has a triangular sectional shape (Fig. 8, triangular shape of 900 at edge of cavity).
Regarding claim 16, Kweon teaches a method of fabricating a package, the method comprising:
forming posts on an edge of a lower substrate (Fig. 8, 840);
mounting a lower chip on a center of the lower substrate and between the posts (Fig. 8, 860 between 840s);
forming a cavity on a bottom surface of an upper substrate, the cavity having a center region on the lower chip and an edge region outside the center region (Fig. 8, center of cavity above center of 860 and edges of cavity above and outside of 860 projection);
forming a crack stiffener at an edge of the cavity (cavity layer 900, para 29); and
providing the upper substrate on the lower chip (Fig. 8, 880),
wherein the crack stiffener is selectively provided in the edge region to reduce formation of a crack in the edge region of the upper substrate (Fig. 8, center of cavity above center of 860 and edges of cavity above and outside of 860 projection), and
wherein the crack stiffener comprises an inclined surface inclined in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface and a side surface of the lower chip (Fig. 8, cavity layer 900 with incline in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface of 860).
Regarding claim 17, Kweon teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 17 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener has a width that is greater than a depth of the cavity and less than half of a width of the cavity (Fig. 1-3, shape defined by 130, 135, and 137 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kweon et al (US Publication 20190318994) in view of Kumar et al ( US Patent 9947642).
Regarding claim 11, Kweon teaches a package comprising:
a lower substrate (Fig. 8, 820);
a lower chip provided on the lower substrate (Fig. 8, 860);
posts provided on the lower substrate and outside the lower chip (Fig. 8, 840);
an upper substrate provided on the posts and the lower chip, the upper substrate having a cavity positioned over the lower chip, the cavity having a center region on the lower chip and an edge region outside the center region (Fig. 8, cavity substrate 880 and cavities 906 centered over chip 860);
a crack stiffener provided at the edge region of the cavity below the upper chip,
wherein the crack stiffener is selectively provided in the edge region to reduce formation of a crack in the edge region of the upper substrate (Fig. 8, cavity layer 900 at edge of cavity above 860, para 29), and
wherein the crack stiffener comprises an inclined surface inclined in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface and a side surface of the lower chip (Fig. 8, cavity layer 900 with incline in a direction intersecting directions parallel an upper surface of 860).
Kweon does not specifically teach:
an upper chip provided on the upper substrate and positioned over the cavity.
Kumar teaches an upper chip provided on the upper substrate (Fig. 2, upper chip 211 on substrate 202) and positioned over the cavity (Fig. 2, cavity centered over chip 211);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Kweon to include an upper chip provided on the upper substrate as taught by Kweon in order to improve the operability and applicability of the device.
Regarding claim 12, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim X depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the lower chip comprises an application processor chip (para 40).
Kweon does not specifically teach:
wherein the upper chip comprises a memory chip.
Kumar teaches wherein the upper chip comprises a memory chip (column 5, lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Kweon to include an upper chip comprising a memory chip as taught by Kweon in order to improve the operability and applicability of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim X depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener comprises: linear stiffeners; and corner stiffeners provided between the linear stiffeners (Fig. 2 and 3, linear and corner portions of shape defined by 130, 135, and 137).
Regarding claim 14, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 upon which claim X depends.
Kweon teaches wherein each of the linear stiffeners have a width that is greater than a depth of the cavity and less than half of a width of the cavity (Fig. 1-3, shape defined by 130, 135, and 137 ).
Regarding claim 15, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 15 depends.
Kweon teaches wherein the crack stiffener has a triangular sectional shape (Fig. 8, triangular shape of 900 at edge of cavity).
Regarding claim 18, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 upon which claim 18 depends.
Kweon does not specifically teach forming spacers on the lower chip; wherein the upper substrate is provided on the lower substrate, the lower chip, the posts, and the spacers.
Kumar teaches forming spacers on the lower chip; wherein the upper substrate is provided on the lower substrate, the lower chip, the posts, and the spacers (Fig. 2, 270).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Kweon to include spacers as taught by Kweon in order to improve the structural integrity and mechanical robustness of the device.
Regarding claim 19, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18 upon which claim 19 depends.
Kweon as modified teaches wherein the crack stiffener is provided outside the spacers (cavity layer 900, para 29).
Regarding claim 20, Kweon as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18 upon which claim 20 depends.
Kweon does not specifically teach further comprising mounting an upper chip on the upper substrate and over the cavity.
Kumar teaches further comprising mounting an upper chip on the upper substrate and over the cavity (Fig. 2, upper chip 211 on substrate 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Kweon to include an upper chip provided on the upper substrate as taught by Kweon in order to improve the operability and applicability of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 14, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Kweon and Kumar are newly cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818