DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furutani et al. (US 20240203891 A1, hereinafter Furutani)
With regards to claim 1, Furutani discloses a package comprising:
a first layer of glass (top layer of glass insulating layer 21) having a first side (side away from layers 10) and a second side opposite the first side; (side towards layer 10)
a second layer of glass (glass layer 21 directly under first glass layer) having a first side(side away from layers 10) and a second side opposite the first side, (side towards layer 10) wherein the second side of the first layer of glass is physically coupled with the first side of the second layer of glass; (See FIG. 1)
a first opening (leftmost opening having conductive layer 23 and 113) through the first layer of glass, wherein a size of the first opening at a first cross-section at the first side of the first layer of glass is less than a size of the first opening at a second cross-section at the second side of the first layer of glass; (see FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the topmost glass 21 having conductive layer 113 is less than the opening at the bottom of the topmost glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23)
a second opening (leftmost opening containing conductive layer 23 in glass layer 21 below topmost glass layer 21) through the second layer of glass, wherein a size of the second opening at a third cross-section at the first side of the second layer of glass is greater than a size of a fourth cross-section of the second opening at the second side of the second layer of glass; (See FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the second glass 21 having conductive layer 23 is less than the opening at the bottom of second glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23) and
wherein the first opening includes a first electrically conductive material and the second opening includes a second electrically conductive material that are directly conductively coupled. (See FIG. 1, where the conductive layers 113 and 23 are electrically coupled)
With regards to claim 2, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first electrically conductive material or the second conductive material includes a selected one or more of: copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), or gold (Au). (Paragraph [0055]: “…the via conductors (23, 33), can be formed using any metal such as copper or nickel.”)
With regards to claim 3, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first electrically conductive material fills the first opening and the second electrically conductive material fills the second opening. (See FIG. 1, showing the filling)
With regards to claim 4, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, further comprising a material (material 112) in the first opening, wherein the material is at least partially surrounded by the first electrically conductive material. (See FIG. 1)
With regards to claim 6, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first electrically conductive material and the second conductive material are direct bonded to each other. (See FIG. 1)
With regards to claim 7, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first layer of glass is direct bonded to the second layer of glass. (see FIG. 1)
With regards to claim 8, Furutani discloses the package of claim 1, wherein the first cross-section or the second cross-section is a selected one or more of: a circle, a polygon, or an irregular shape. (See FIG. 1, showing the irregular shape)
With regards to claim 9, Furutani discloses a system (FIG. 1) comprising:
an electrical component; (wiring substrate comprising first build up part 10)
a package coupled with the electrical component, the package comprising:
a first layer of glass (top layer of glass insulating layer 21) having a first side (side away from layers 10) and a second side opposite the first side; (side towards layer 10)
a second layer of glass (glass layer 21 directly under first glass layer) having a first side(side away from layers 10) and a second side opposite the first side, (side towards layer 10) wherein the second side of the first layer of glass is physically coupled with the first side of the second layer of glass; (See FIG. 1)
a first via (leftmost opening having conductive layer 23 and 113) through the first layer of glass, wherein a size of the first opening at a first cross-section at the first side of the first layer of glass is less than a size of the first opening at a second cross-section at the second side of the first layer of glass; (see FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the topmost glass 21 having conductive layer 113 is less than the opening at the bottom of the topmost glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23)
a second opening (leftmost opening containing conductive layer 23 in glass layer 21 below topmost glass layer 21) through the second layer of glass, wherein a size of the second opening at a third cross-section at the first side of the second layer of glass is greater than a size of a fourth cross-section of the second opening at the second side of the second layer of glass; (See FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the second glass 21 having conductive layer 23 is less than the opening at the bottom of second glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23) and
a first via (leftmost opening having conductive layer 23 and 113) that includes an electrically conductive material, wherein the first via extends from the second side of the first layer of glass to the first side of the first layer of glass; (see FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the topmost glass 21 having conductive layer 113 is less than the opening at the bottom of the topmost glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23)
a second via (leftmost opening containing conductive layer 23 in glass layer 21 below topmost glass layer 21) that includes the electrically conductive material, wherein the second via extends from the first side of the second layer of glass to the second side of the second layer of glass, wherein the first via and the second via are conductively coupled with each other; (See FIG. 1, where the opening at the top the second glass 21 having conductive layer 23 is less than the opening at the bottom of second glass layer 21 having conductive layer 23) and
wherein the first via tapers from the second side of the first layer of glass to the first side of the first layer of glass, and wherein the second via tapers from the first side of the second layer of glass to the second side of the second layer of glass. (see FIG. 1, showing the tapers)
With regards to claim 10, Furutani discloses the system of claim 9, wherein an area of a first cross-section of the first via at the first side of the first layer of glass is less than an area of a second cross- section of the first via at the second side of the first layer of glass, wherein an area of a third cross-section of the second via at the first side of the second layer of glass is greater than an area of a fourth cross-section of the second via at the second side of the second layer of glass. (See FIG. 1, showing the size of the cross-sections)
With regards to claim 11, Furutani discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the electrically conductive material includes a selected one or more of copper or aluminum. (Paragraph [0055]: “…the via conductors (23, 33), can be formed using any metal such as copper or nickel.”)
With regards to claim 13, Furutani discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the first via and the second via are direct bonded to each other. (see FIG. 1)
With regards to claim 14, Furutani discloses the system of claim 9, further comprising:
a third layer of glass (third glass 21 directly below the second glass 21) having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, wherein the third layer of glass includes a third via filled with the electrically conductive material, (conductive material 21)
wherein the third via extends from the first side of the third layer of glass to the second side of the third layer of glass; (See FIG. 1)
wherein the first side of the third layer of glass is directly coupled with the second side of the second layer of glass; (See FIG. 1) and
wherein the third via is directly conductively coupled with the second via. (See FIG. 1, showing the coupling)
With regards to claim 15, Furutani discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the first via is direct bonded to the second via, wherein the second via is direct bonded to the third via, wherein the first layer of glass is direct bonded to the second layer of glass, and wherein the second layer of glass is direct bonded to the third layer of glass. (See FIG. 1, showing the direct bonding)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KIM et al. (US 20200118959 A1) – angled vias in a dielectric layer
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812