DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of February 5th 2026 has been considered.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 4 was cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are pending in the current application.
Claim 16 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malm (USPatPub. 2019/0203154 A1).
Regarding claim 1,2 and 7-15: Malm discloses a method for processing crude oil/used oil feedstock by filtering impurities out using filtering aid followed by degumming and bleaching the oil (see Malm abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0016]), but fails to disclose cooling the oil prior to the filtering step; However, given the fact filtering oil at room temperature is well known and conventional, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have lowered the temperature of the crude oil/fat to room temperature, as known and conventional, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
As to the polymers present in the oil and filtered out: Malm discloses filtering out impurities, such as phospholipids and metal ions (see Malm paragraphs [0005], [0015] and [0016]), but fails to disclose the type of impurities (i.e., polymers) recited in the claim 1; However, since the oil purifying process in Malm is similar to the claimed oil purifying process, the only difference appears to be the source of the oil. Since impurities in Malm and the polymer impurities recited in claim 1 are immiscible in oil, the claimed removal of the polymer impurities would flow naturally when processing oil comprising the claimed polymer impurities, as suggested in the prior art. As set forth in MPEP §2145, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding claims 3-6: Malm discloses removing polymers that are smaller than 50microns (see Malm examples 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 5th 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art references fail to render the claimed invention obvious, because Malm fails to disclose the removal of the claimed polymers. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As stated above, given the fact the oil purifying process in Malm is similar to the claimed oil purifying process, the only difference appears to be the source of the oil. Since impurities in Malm and the polymer impurities recited in claim 1 are immiscible in oil, the claimed removal of the polymer impurities would flow naturally when processing oil comprising the claimed polymer impurities, as suggested in the prior art. As set forth in MPEP §2145, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792