DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites (emphasis added), “wherein the first port is one of a plurality of first ports in the first connector and fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; the second port is one of a plurality of second ports in the second connector and fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage; and the conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) is configured to align each of the plurality of first ports with a respective one of the plurality of second ports at the interface (where two end faces meet shown in coupled state in fig. 5).”
Claim 1 already recites, “the first connector includes a first port fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage” and, “the second connector includes a second port fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage”. It is unclear how claim 7 is to be interpreted. Are the plurality of ports all fluidly coupled to the fluid passage, or only the ports from claim 1. Further clarification is required. Claim 8 depends upon claim 7 and therefore carries the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 13, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,217,328 B1 Oliver (herein “Oliver” cited on the attached PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, an optical system, comprising:
a first conduit (50) including a first optics line (56) and a first fluid passage (54) extending longitudinally along the first optics line (56);
a second conduit (70) including a second optics line (56’) and a second fluid passage (54’) extending longitudinally along the second optics line (56’); and
a conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) removably connecting the first conduit (50) to the second conduit (70) at an interface (where two end faces meet shown in coupled state in fig. 5) within the conduit coupler, the first optics line (56) optically coupled to the second optics line (56’) at the interface, and the first fluid passage (54) fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage (54’) at the interface (shown in fig. 5);
wherein the conduit coupler includes a first connector (distal end of 50) and a second connector (proximal end of 70) longitudinally adjacent the first connector, the first connector having a first face end (distal end face of 50) and the second connector having a second face end (proximal end face of 70), the first face end abutted against the second face end at the interface (shown in fig. 5);
wherein the first optics line (56) is mated with the first connector, an end of the first optics line is disposed at the first face end, and the first connector includes a first port fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage (54);
wherein the second optics line (56’) is mated with the second connector, an end of the second optics line is disposed at the second face end, and the second connector includes a second port fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage (54’);
wherein the first optics line is optically coupled to the second optics line at the interface by optically coupling the end of the first optics line to the end of the second optics line at the interface (shown in fig. 5);
wherein the first fluid passage is fluidly coupled to the second fluid passage sequentially through the first port and the second port (shown in fig. 5); and
wherein the first connector and the second connector are rotationally fixed within the conduit coupler (by pin holes 61/pins 60).
Regarding claim 2, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, the first optics line (56) comprises a plurality of first optical fibers (fibers are disclosed as a fiber bundle, thus, a plurality of optical fibers); the second optics line (56’) comprises a plurality of second optical fibers (fibers are disclosed as a fiber bundle, thus, a plurality of optical fibers); and each of the plurality of first optical fibers is optically coupled to a respective one of the plurality of second optical fibers at the interface (where two end faces meet shown in coupled state in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, the conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) is configured to align an end of each of the plurality of first optical fibers (56) to an end of the respective one of the plurality of second optical fibers (56’) at the interface (where two end faces meet shown in coupled state in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, wherein the first connector includes a first connector groove (pin holes 61 in distal face of 50);
wherein the second connector includes a second connector groove (pin holes 61 in proximal face of 71); and
wherein the conduit coupler further includes a key (pins 60) arranged in the first connector groove and the second connector groove.
Regarding claim 15, Oliver discloses in Figs. 1- 5, 8, and 9, an optical probe (40) comprising one of the first optics line (56) or the second optics line (56’); and a fluid source (24) fluidly coupled to the optical probe (40) through at least one of the first fluid passage (54) or the second fluid passage (54’).
Regarding claim 16, Oliver discloses in Fig. 5, a light source (57) optically coupled to the first optics line (56) or the second optics line (56’).
Regarding claim 18, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, an optical system, comprising:
a first conduit (50) including a first optics line (56) and a first fluid passage (54);
a second conduit (70) including a second optics line (56’) and a second fluid passage (54’); and
a conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) configured to optically couple the first optics line (56) to the second optics line (56’), the conduit coupler configured to fluidly couple the first fluid passage (54) to the second fluid passage (54’), and the conduit coupler including a first connector and a second connector (mated end faces of 50 and 70);
the first connector including a first bore and a first port radially outboard of the first bore, the first optics line received in the first bore, and the first port fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; and
the second connector including a second bore and a second port radially outboard of the second bore, the second optics line received in the second bore, and the second port fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage and aligned with the first port;
(Examiner notes: the claim does not provide a location of the “first bore” or “second bore” relative to the end face of the first connector or second connector. It does not even describe either connector or end face as circular. Therefore, the claimed phrase “radially outboard” is given a broad definition to mean separated in a radial direction (assuming a circular end face). As clearly seen in figs. 4, 8 and 9, the bore at 56 and the port at 54 are separated radially.)
wherein the first connector includes a first connector groove (pin holes 61 in distal face of 50);
wherein the second connector includes a second connector groove (pin holes 61 in proximal face of 71); and
wherein the conduit coupler further includes a key (pins 60) arranged in the first connector groove and the second connector groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10, 12, 19, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 6,217,328 B1 Oliver (herein “Oliver” cited on the attached PTO-892).
Regarding claim 4, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, the first optics line (56) further comprises a first optical sheath circumscribing and extending longitudinally along the plurality of first optical fibers, and the first optical sheath is between the plurality of first optical fibers and the first fluid passage; and the second optics line further comprising a second optical sheath circumscribing and extending longitudinally along the plurality of second optical fibers, and the second optical sheath is between the plurality of second optical fibers and the second fluid passage.
Regarding claim 10, Oliver is silent as to the first conduit is bonded to the first connector; and the second conduit is bonded to the second conduit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to effectively connect the conduits to the connectors, whether it be screwing, pinning, bonding, or any other known method. Bonding the pieces together would require only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Oliver is silent as to the conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) further includes a seal element engaged with and longitudinally between the first connector and the second connector. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to effectively seal the connectors, since fluid is involved, so as to prevent any leakage or damage. Sealing the pieces together would require only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Oliver is silent as to a longitudinal side of the first port is disposed at the first face end; a longitudinal side of the second port is disposed at the second face end; and the longitudinal side of the first port is laterally aligned with the longitudinal side of the second port and, wherein the first connector comprises a first sidewall extending longitudinally along the first optics line from the first face end; the second connector comprises a second sidewall extending longitudinally along the second optics line from the second face end; the first port extends within the first sidewall and longitudinally along the first optics line from the first face end; and the second port extends within the second sidewall and longitudinally along the second optics line from the second face end.
However, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to extend the sidewalls longitudinally and to adjust the shape of the end faces in a longitudinal and radial direction as needed to ensure the first conduit and the second conduit are properly aligned and create a secure fit, so as not to fall apart while in use.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by US 6,217,328 B1 Oliver (herein “Oliver” cited on the attached PTO-892) in view of US 5,548,674 A Rondeau (herein “Rondeau” cited on the attached PTO-892).
Regarding claim 14, Oliver is silent as to the conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) further includes an insert and a nut threaded onto the insert; the first optics line projects into the insert; the second optics line projects through an endwall of the nut and into the insert; and the insert includes an insert groove, and the key is further arranged in the insert groove.
However, McCartney discloses in Fig. 1, an example of a two-part connecting collar connecting two optical fiber connectors and further includes an insert and a nut threaded onto the insert (shown in Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a two-part connector as taught by McCartney instead of the one-part connector (67) of Oliver for ease of connection and disconnection while ensuring proper alignment.
Regarding claim 20, Oliver discloses in Figs. 4, 5, 8, and 9, an optical system, comprising:
a first conduit (50) including a first optics line (56) and a first fluid passage (54) extending longitudinally along and circumferentially about the first optics line (56);
a second conduit (70) including a second optics line (56’) and a second fluid passage (54’) extending longitudinally along and circumferentially about the second optics line (56’); and
and a conduit coupler, the first optics line extends to a first connector face end, the conduit coupler optically coupling the first optics line to the second optics line at an interface, the first connector face end longitudinally contacts the second connector face end at the interface, and the conduit coupler fluidly coupling the first fluid passage to the second fluid passage at the interface, and the first fluid passage fluidly coupled to the second fluid passage through a first port in the first connector face end and a second port in the second connector face end (shown in Fig. 5; see rejection of claim 1).
Oliver is silent as to the conduit coupler (including 67, distal end face of 50 labeled 52, proximal end face of 70 (end face of 70 shown in fig. 4)) further includes an insert and a nut threaded onto the insert; the first optics line projects into the insert; the second optics line projects through an endwall of the nut and into the insert; and the insert includes an insert groove, and the key is further arranged in the insert groove.
However, McCartney discloses in Fig. 1, an example of a two-part connecting collar connecting two optical fiber connectors and further includes an insert and a nut threaded onto the insert (shown in Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a two-part connector as taught by McCartney instead of the one-part connector (67) of Oliver for ease of connection and disconnection while ensuring proper alignment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, in addition to all of the accompanying features of the claim, and any intervening claims:
the first fluid passage circumscribes the first optics line; and the second fluid passage circumscribes the second optics line.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, in addition to all of the accompanying features of the claim, and any intervening claims:
the first conduit further includes a first fluid tube forming an outer periphery of the first fluid passage, the first optics line projects longitudinally out of the first fluid tube and into a first bore of the first connector, and the first fluid tube projects longitudinally into a first counterbore of the first connector; and the second conduit further includes a second fluid tube forming an outer periphery of the second fluid passage, the second optics line projects longitudinally out of the second fluid tube and into a second bore of the second connector, and the second fluid tube projects longitudinally into a second counterbore of the second connector.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, in addition to all of the accompanying features of the claim, and any intervening claims:
a light sensor optically coupled to one of the first optics line or the second optics line.
Conclusion
/MARY A EL-SHAMMAA/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874