DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “…determining whether the first voltage is less than a first voltage threshold OR the second voltage is less than a second voltage threshold…” and the claim also recites “…in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold AND the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The broad limitation requires either the first or the second voltage to be less than threshold, while the narrow limitation requires BOTH to be below a threshold which was not previously required or determined. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 – 3, 11- 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 20130134908) in view Wu (US 20180072180).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama a method for charging control of a hybrid electric vehicle (shown in figure 1),
wherein the hybrid electric vehicle comprises a charging port (shown in figure 1 hybrid vehicle item 100 with a charging port item 250 defined in paragraph [0057] defined as a connecting portion),
an On-Board Charger (OBC) (shown in figure 1 item 200 defined as charging device),
a power battery (shown in figure 1 electrical storage device item 110),
a DC-DC converter (DC) (shown in figure 1 DCDC converter item 170), and
a storage battery (shown in figure 1 auxiliary battery item 180);
a first end of the OBC is connected with the charging port (shown in figure 1 wherein the first end of charger item 200 is connected to charging port item 250);
a second end of the OBC is connected with a first end of the power battery and a first end of the DC (shown in figure 1 wherein the first end of OBC charging device item 200 is connected to a first end of power (main or electrical storage device) battery item 110 and the end of DCDC converter 170); and
a second end of the DC is connected with the storage battery (shown in figure 1 wherein the second end of DCDC converter 170 is connected to storage (auxiliary) battery 170); and
the method comprises: receiving a charging instruction (paragraph [0061] teaches wherein a charging instruction, interpreted as a charging command is provided to carry out charging);
acquiring a first voltage of the power battery and a second voltage of the storage battery in response to receiving the charging instruction (paragraph [0054] a first and second detected voltages VB1 and VB2 are determined. Figure 7 shows an operation during charging, after a charging instruction has been received, wherein step 310 receives the voltage of the battery);
determining whether the first voltage is less than a first voltage threshold or the second voltage is less than a second voltage threshold (figure 8 S120 and S130, determines whether the second voltage, included with a State of Charge (SOC2) determination of the second battery is less than a threshold, shown as a “NO” determination);
in response to that the charging duration of the storage battery reaches a duration threshold, connecting the OBC to the power battery and charging the power battery through the OBC (paragraph [0074] and figure 4 teaches wherein the when the storage (auxiliary) battery reaches a threshold, the power (main, electric storage) battery is charged. Paragraph [0056] and figure 1 shows wherein contactors, charging relay item 240, is operated to facilitate charging between the charger item 200 and the power (main battery) 110).
Sugiyama does not explicitly teach wherein in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold, disconnecting the OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC for a charging duration.
Wu teaches wherein in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold (paragraph [0040] teaches wherein the first (traction) battery 124 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold) and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold (paragraph [0037] teaches wherein the second (auxiliary) battery 130 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold), disconnecting the OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC for a charging duration (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Sugiyama Figure 1 shows a plug in hybrid vehicle with a power (main) battery and a storage (auxiliary battery).
Wu figure 3 shows a vehicle charging system for charging the power (traction) battery and storage (aux) battery.
Regarding claim 2, Sugiyama teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the hybrid electric vehicle further comprises a precharge circuit; a first end of the precharge circuit is connected with the OBC and the DC; and a second end of the precharge circuit is connected with the power battery; the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit.
Wu teaches wherein the hybrid electric vehicle further comprises a precharge circuit (shown in figure 3 item 306 defined in paragraph [0022] as a pre-charger contactor 306);
a first end of the precharge circuit is connected with the OBC and the DC (figure 3 shows wherein the first end of the pre-charge circuit item 306 is connected to the OBC charger 132 and the DCDC charger 128); and
a second end of the precharge circuit is connected with the power battery (shown in figure 3 wherein the second end of pre-charge circuit 306 is connected to power (traction) battery 124);
the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128. Paragraph [0022] teaches wherein the pre-charger contactor selectively connects and disconnects the OBC charger 132 from the power (traction) battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Regarding claim 3, Sugiyama teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the precharge circuit comprises a first switch, a second switch, and a precharge resistor; the second switch and the precharge resistor are connected in series; and the second switch and the precharge resistor connected in series are connected in parallel with the first switch; the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery by opening the first switch and the second switch; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge resistor by closing the second switch and keeping the first switch open.
Wu teaches wherein the precharge circuit comprises a first switch (shown in figure 1 item 304), a second switch (figure 1 item 306), and a precharge resistor (shown in figure 1 a resistor connected to switch 306);
the second switch and the precharge resistor are connected in series (figure 1 switch item 306 connected in series with precharge resistor); and
the second switch and the precharge resistor connected in series are connected in parallel with the first switch (shown in figure 1 switch 306 connected in series with resistor and in parallel with first switch 304);
the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery by opening the first switch and the second switch; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge resistor by closing the second switch and keeping the first switch open (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128. Paragraph [0022] teaches wherein the pre-charger contactor selectively connects and disconnects the OBC charger 132 from the power (traction) battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Regarding claim 11, Sugiyama teaches a device for charging control of a hybrid electric vehicle,
comprising: a processor (shown in figure 1 PCU 120, HV-ECU 300 includes a CPU and charging ECU 220); and
a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the computer program is executable by the processor to perform operations (paragraph [0100] teaches wherein a program is prestored in the HV-ECU, which is known in the art to include a memory);
comprising: receiving a charging instruction; acquiring a first voltage of a power battery and a second voltage of a storage battery in response to receiving the charging instruction (paragraph [0061] teaches wherein a charging instruction, interpreted as a charging command is provided to carry out charging);
determining whether the first voltage is less than a first voltage threshold or the second voltage is less than a second voltage threshold(figure 8 S120 and S130, determines whether the second voltage, included with a State of Charge (SOC2) determination of the second battery is less than a threshold, shown as a “NO” determination);
in response to that the charging duration of the storage battery reaches a duration threshold, connecting the OBC to the power battery and charging the power battery through the OBC (paragraph [0074] and figure 4 teaches wherein the when the storage (auxiliary) battery reaches a threshold, the power (main, electric storage) battery is charged. Paragraph [0056] and figure 1 shows wherein contactors, charging relay item 240, is operated to facilitate charging between the charger item 200 and the power (main battery) 110).
Sugiyama does not explicitly teach in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold, disconnecting an OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and a DC for a charging duration.
Wu teaches in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold (paragraph [0040] teaches wherein the first (traction) battery 124 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold) and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold (paragraph [0037] teaches wherein the second (auxiliary) battery 130 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold), disconnecting an OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and a DC for a charging duration (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Regarding claim 12, Sugiyama teaches the device according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the hybrid electric vehicle further comprises a precharge circuit; a first end of the precharge circuit is connected with the OBC and the DC; and a second end of the precharge circuit is connected with the power battery; and the operations further comprise: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit; and connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit.
Wu teaches wherein the hybrid electric vehicle further comprises a precharge circuit (shown in figure 3 item 306 defined in paragraph [0022] as a pre-charger contactor 306);
a first end of the precharge circuit is connected with the OBC and the DC (figure 3 shows wherein the first end of the pre-charge circuit item 306 is connected to the OBC charger 132 and the DCDC charger 128); and
a second end of the precharge circuit is connected with the power battery (shown in figure 3 wherein the second end of pre-charge circuit 306 is connected to power (traction) battery 124);
the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128. Paragraph [0022] teaches wherein the pre-charger contactor selectively connects and disconnects the OBC charger 132 from the power (traction) battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Regarding claim 13, Sugiyama teaches the device according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the precharge circuit comprises a first switch, a second switch, and a precharge resistor; the second switch and the precharge resistor are connected in series; and the second switch and the precharge resistor connected in series are connected in parallel with the first switch; and the operations further comprise: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery by opening the first switch and the second switch; and connecting the OBC to the power battery and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharging resistor by closing the second switch and keeping the first switch open.
Wu teaches wherein the precharge circuit comprises a first switch (shown in figure 1 item 304), a second switch (figure 1 item 306), and a precharge resistor (shown in figure 1 a resistor connected to switch 306);
the second switch and the precharge resistor are connected in series (figure 1 switch item 306 connected in series with precharge resistor); and
the second switch and the precharge resistor connected in series are connected in parallel with the first switch (shown in figure 1 switch 306 connected in series with resistor and in parallel with first switch 304);
the disconnecting the OBC from the power battery through the precharge circuit comprises: disconnecting the OBC from the power battery by opening the first switch and the second switch; and the connecting the OBC to the power battery through the precharge circuit, and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge circuit comprises: connecting the OBC to the power battery and precharging the power battery through the OBC and the precharge resistor by closing the second switch and keeping the first switch open (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128. Paragraph [0022] teaches wherein the pre-charger contactor selectively connects and disconnects the OBC charger 132 from the power (traction) battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Regarding claim 20, Sugiyama teaches a vehicle (shown in figure 1),
comprising a device for charging control of the vehicle (shown in figure 1 item 200 a charging device, charging ECU 220 and HV-ECU 300),
the device comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising: receiving a charging instruction (paragraph [0061] teaches wherein a charging instruction, interpreted as a charging command is provided to carry out charging);
acquiring a first voltage of a power battery and a second voltage of a storage battery in response to receiving the charging instruction (paragraph [0054] a first and second detected voltages VB1 and VB2 are determined. Figure 7 shows an operation during charging, after a charging instruction has been received, wherein step 310 receives the voltage of the battery);
determining whether the first voltage is less than a first voltage threshold or the second voltage is less than a second voltage threshold (figure 8 S120 and S130, determines whether the second voltage, included with a State of Charge (SOC2) determination of the second battery is less than a threshold, shown as a “NO” determination);
in response to that the charging duration of the storage battery reaches a duration threshold, connecting the OBC to the power battery and charging the power battery through the OBC(paragraph [0074] and figure 4 teaches wherein the when the storage (auxiliary) battery reaches a threshold, the power (main, electric storage) battery is charged. Paragraph [0056] and figure 1 shows wherein contactors, charging relay item 240, is operated to facilitate charging between the charger item 200 and the power (main battery) 110).
Sugiyama does not explicitly teach wherein in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold, disconnecting the OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC for a charging duration.
Wu teaches wherein in response to determining that the first voltage is less than the first voltage threshold (paragraph [0040] teaches wherein the first (traction) battery 124 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold) and the second voltage is less than the second voltage threshold (paragraph [0037] teaches wherein the second (auxiliary) battery 130 is monitored and determined that the voltage is less than a threshold), disconnecting the OBC from the power battery and charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC for a charging duration (figure 3 and paragraph [0041] teaches wherein when the voltage of the battery is determined to be less than a threshold, ie the battery charge is less than the full charge threshold, the contactors open and disconnects the power (traction) battery 124 from the OBC charger item 132. When the traction battery is cutoff, the storage (auxiliary) battery 130 is charged through the OBC charger 132 and DCDC converter 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Sugiyama reference with the charging system of the Wu reference so that the auxiliary battery may be efficiently charged within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Wu reference in paragraph [0003] wherein charging the auxiliary battery efficiently is taught.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Sugiyama (US 20130134908) (Sugiyama) in view Wu (US 20180072180) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Sugiyama (US 20140028256) (Sugiyama ‘256)
Regarding claim 4, Sugiyama in view of Wu teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant voltage mode, and charging the storage battery by the DC in the constant voltage mode.
Sugiyama ‘256 teaches wherein the charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant voltage mode, and charging the storage battery by the DC in the constant voltage mode (defined in paragraph [0040] wherein DCDC converter 60 has an output side to power line 155p to provide charge to storage (auxiliary) battery 70. Paragraph [0070] teaches wherein the DCDC converter outputs a constant voltage, thus the storage (auxiliary) battery is charged by a constant voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sugiyama in view of Wu references with the charging system of the Sugiyama ‘256 reference so that excessive power loss is minimized and charging is more efficient.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sugiyama ‘256 reference in paragraph [0005] wherein minimizing power loss and efficient charging is taught.
Regarding claim 14, Sugiyama in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: controlling the OBC to enter a constant voltage mode, and charging the storage battery by the DC in the constant voltage mode.
Sugiyama ‘256 teaches wherein the charging the storage battery through the OBC and the DC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant voltage mode, and charging the storage battery by the DC in the constant voltage mode (defined in paragraph [0040] wherein DCDC converter 60 has an output side to power line 155p to provide charge to storage (auxiliary) battery 70. Paragraph [0070] teaches wherein the DCDC converter outputs a constant voltage, thus the storage (auxiliary) battery is charged by a constant voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sugiyama in view of Wu references with the charging system of the Sugiyama ‘256 reference so that excessive power loss is minimized and charging is more efficient.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sugiyama ‘256 reference in paragraph [0005] wherein minimizing power loss and efficient charging is taught.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama (US 20130134908) in view Wu (US 20180072180) and in further view of Oishi (US 20200185936).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama in view of Wu teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the charging the power battery through the OBC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant current mode and charging the power battery in the constant current mode.
Oishi wherein the charging the power battery through the OBC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant current mode and charging the power battery in the constant current mode (paragraph [0139] teaches wherein the power supply system provides a constant current control to charge the batteries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sugiyama in view of Wu references with the charging system of the Oishi reference so that the quick charging may be enabled
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Oishi reference in paragraph [0004] wherein quick charging is taught.
Regarding claim 17, Sugiyama in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise: controlling the OBC to enter a constant current mode and charging the power battery in the constant current mode.
Oishi wherein the charging the power battery through the OBC comprises: controlling the OBC to enter a constant current mode and charging the power battery in the constant current mode (paragraph [0139] teaches wherein the power supply system provides a constant current control to charge the batteries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Sugiyama in view of Wu references with the charging system of the Oishi reference so that the quick charging may be enabled
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Oishi reference in paragraph [0004] wherein quick charging is taught.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8-10, 15-16, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20140159478 A1 Power Supply System For Vehicle Ang; Wanleng
Us 20130297129 A1 Hybrid Vehicle Ang; Wanleng Et Al.
Us 20120016547 A1 Charging/Discharging Aridome; Koji Et Al.
Us 20220089143 A1 On-Board Generator Bryan; Seth Anthony Et Al.
Us 9178379 B2 Charger For Electric Vehicle Choi; Seung Woo
Us 20150097527 A1 Plug-In Vehicle Dedona; Matthew Roger Et Al.
Us 20120169281 A1 Vehicle Charging System Itagaki; Kenji Et Al.
Us 20100259219 A1 Secondary Cell Charge Method Kurimoto; Yasuhide Et Al.
Us 20160311426 A1 Motor Controller For Hybrid Vehicle Sato; Ryoji
Us 20220024438 A1 Electrified Vehicle Control Vuylsteke; Gabrielle Et Al.
Us 20190366852 A1 Electrified Vehicle Measurement Error Zhang; Yuan Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859