DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 07/08/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1, 4 and 11 have been amended. Claim 6 is canceled. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-13, and 15-20 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 07/08/2026 with respect to the rejections of claim 1
have been fully considered, considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 11 have been fully considered
and are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20190165060 A1 – hereinafter Choi) in view of Nishiyama et al. (US 20140151709 A1 – hereinafter Nishiyama), Choi et al. (US 20130161656 A1 – hereinafter Choi-656), Lin et al. (US 20170294488 A1 – hereinafter Lin), and Wu (US 20200243628 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi teaches
(Currently Amended) A display apparatus (100 – Fig. 1 – [0042] –
“foldable display device 100”) comprising:
a substrate (101 – Fig. 2A – [0053] – “substrate 101 including pixel circuit
areas, line areas arranged between the pixel circuit areas, and non-line areas which are arranged between the line areas and in which no line or transistor is arranged;
a pixel circuit (PC – fig 4) (choi (Fig. 2A annotated, see below – [0040] – “In the organic light emitting display panel 110, an organic light emitting element for displaying an image, a circuit for driving the organic light emitting element, lines, and other components may be disposed” – hereinafter ‘PC’) arranged in the pixel circuit areas (Fig. 2A annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PCA’) and comprising at least one thin film transistor (120 – Fig. 2A – [0084] – “thin film transistor 120”);
a plurality of lines ([0040] – “In the organic light emitting display panel 110, an organic light emitting element for displaying an image, a circuit for driving the organic light emitting element, lines, and other components may be disposed” – this describes a plurality of lines in the pixel circuit) arranged in the pixel circuit areas (PCA) and the line areas; and
a display element (130 – Fig. 2A – [0052] – “an organic light emitting element 130”) including a pixel electrode (131 – Fig. 2A – [0063] – “organic light emitting element 130 includes the anode electrode 131”) connected to the pixel circuit (PC),
wherein in a plan view an area of the pixel electrode is greater than an area in which the pixel circuit is arranged,
wherein the display element overlaps the pixel circuit in the plan view,
wherein an area of one of the non-line areas is about 10 percentages (%) to 25 % of an area of one of the pixel circuit areas in a plan view,
wherein the display apparatus includes a folding area and a non-folding area, and
an inorganic insulating layer defining a groove therein in each line area between adjacent pixel circuit areas both in the folding area and the non-folding area.
Choi does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Nishiyama teaches
wherein in a plan view an area of the pixel electrode (14a – Fig. 6 – [0050] – “pixel electrodes 14a and 14b”) is greater than an area in which the pixel circuit is arranged ([0042] – “area of each of the pixel electrodes may be an integer multiple of an area of each of the pixel circuits, the integer being equal to or greater than two”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel electrode area as taught by Nishiyama into Choi.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Nishiyama in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of a [0009] – “display panel pertaining to one aspect of the present invention can be manufactured in the above-mentioned manufacturing process, reduction in manufacturing yield can be suppressed.”
Choi and Nishiyama do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Choi-656 teaches
wherein the display element (PA – Fig. 3 – [0047] – “light emission areas PA” – this corresponds to a display element) overlaps the pixel circuit (PC – Fig. 3 – [0114] – “first electrode 221 that is electrically connected to the pixel circuit portion PC is included in the light emission area PA, and the pixel circuit portion PC overlaps with the first electrode 221”) in the plan view (Fig. 3 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the display element area as taught by Choi-656 into Choi and Nishiyama.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Choi-656 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0009] – “display panel pertaining to one aspect of the present invention can be manufactured in the above-mentioned manufacturing process, reduction in manufacturing yield can be suppressed.”
Choi, Nishiyama, and Choi-656 do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Lin teaches
pixel circuit areas (911, 921, 931 – Fig. 9A – {[0105] – “the control of OLED
stacks 911, 921 and 931”}, {[0053] – “The electrodes 265 and 267 may be configured to implement either an active matrix (with additional pixel-level circuitry not shown in this example) or a passive matrix control methodology of the respective OLEDs 257” – OLED stacks are considered pixel circuits, hereinafter ‘PCA’), line areas (Fig. 9A annotated, see below – {V29 and V49 - Fig. 9A – [0106] – “two column electrodes such as V29 and V49”}, {783-786 – Fig. 7 – [0092] – “row electrode 783 or 785 and column electrode 784 or 786 to form a passive matrix array”} – these are considered line areas, hereinafter ‘WA’) arranged between the pixel circuit areas (PCA), and non-line areas (Fig. 9A annotated, see below – 721-724 – Fig. 7 – [0092] – “The display pixels 711-714 also include transparent areas 721-724. It should be noted that, in the illustrated example, the transparent areas 721-724 surround the respective stacked RGB emitter 775-778. Each stacked RGB emitter 775-778 in respective display pixels 711-714 is interconnected with a row electrode, such as row electrode 783 or 785 and column electrode 784 or 786 to form a passive matrix array” – this describes an area free of wires or pixel circuit components, hereinafter ‘NWA’) which are arranged between the line areas (WA) and in which no line or transistor ([0067] – “Active matrix (AM) OLEDs include transistors” – Fig. 4A shows this) is arranged;
wherein an area of one of the non-line areas (NWA) is about 10 percentages (%) to 25 % of an area ([0061] – “the ratio of area occupied by the OLED stack 375 to transparent area 379 remains at approximately 20% to 80%” – the describes the transparent (non-line) area is approximately 20% of the OLED stack (pixel circuit) area) of one of the pixel circuit areas (911, 921, 931 – Fig. 9A – {[0105] – “the control of OLED stacks 911, 921 and 931”}, {[0053] – “The electrodes 265 and 267 may be configured to implement either an active matrix (with additional pixel-level circuitry not shown in this example) or a passive matrix control methodology of the respective OLEDs 257” – OLED stacks are considered pixel circuits) in a plan view (Fig. 9A shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel circuit area with line and non-line areas as taught by Lin into Choi, Nishiyama, and Choi-656.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lin in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0010] – “to improve upon the transmissivity of transparent OLED display devices for various applications, including for use as (or as part of) a lighting device.”
Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, and Lin do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 1.
However, in an analogous art, Wu teaches
wherein the display apparatus (100 – Fig. 3 – [0027] – “display panel 100”) includes a folding area (20 – Fig. 1 – [0026] – “a bending area 20”) and a non-folding area (30 – Fig. 1 – [0026] – “non-bending area 30”), and
an inorganic insulating layer (14 – Fig. 2 – [0033] – “the slot 2 is disposed in the bending area 20 to improve each inorganic film layer (such as the flexible substrate 11, the barrier layer 12, the buffer layer 13, the first gate insulating layer 14”) defining a groove (14 – Fig. 2 – [0033] – “the slot 2) therein in each line area ({22 – Fig. 2 – [0029] – “the second pixel region 31 located in the non-bending area 30 and the first pixel region 21 located in the bending region 20 are also connected with each other through the flexible connection region 22” – there are connections therefore there are lines in the area) between adjacent pixel circuit areas ({21 – Figs. 3 and 4 – [0029] – “the second pixel region 31 located in the non-bending area 30 and the first pixel region 21 located in the bending region 20 are also connected with each other through the flexible connection region 22”) both in the folding area (20) and the non-folding area (30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the inorganic insulating layer with line and non-line areas as taught by Wu into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, and Lin.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Wu in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0015] – “The display panel and the display device in the present invention, wherein each flexible connection region of the bending area has a slot, so that there is an inorganic layer slot between adjacent two rows of the pixel regions in the bending area, the two rows of the pixel regions are separated, and the slot is filled with an organic photoresist layer, which effectively alleviates the stress of the corresponding each inorganic layer or metal trace in the display panel especially the array substrate, and improves the bending effect to release the stress of the adjacent inorganic layer. At the same time, the light-emitting areas of the corresponding sub-pixels of the bending area and the non-bending area are set to be consistent, and the resolutions of the bending area and the non-bending area are effectively maintained, so that there is no difference in visual perception.”
Regarding claim 2, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu, teaches claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, and Wu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 2.
However, in an analogous art, Lin teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pixel circuit areas
(OLED – [0067] – “Active matrix (AM) OLEDs include transistors, interconnections and capacitors” – this is a pixel circuit area) and the line areas (WA) are alternately arranged in a first direction (Fig. 9A annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘x’) and a second direction (Fig. 9A annotated, see above – hereinafter ‘y’) intersecting with the first direction (x – Fig. 9A annotated shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel circuit area with line and non-line areas as taught by Lin into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, and Wu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lin in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu, teaches claim 1 from which claim 4 depends. Choi further teaches
(Currently Amended) The display apparatus of claim 1,
(Fig. 2A annotated, see below – hereinafter ‘PCA’) in the folding area (FA) is the same as an area of one of the pixel circuit areas (PCA) in the non-folding area (NFA – Fig. 2 shows the PCA in FA the same size as in NFA).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Huang et al. (US 20240379062 A1 – hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 5, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu, teaches claim 1 from which claim 5 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 5.
However, in an analogous art, Huang teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the pixel circuit areas (310 – Fig. 3 – [0134] – “circuit area 310 includes a third gate driving circuit (not shown in the figure), a second gate driving circuit GOA2 and a first gate driving circuit GOA1” – this is a pixel circuit area) includes two pixel circuits (GOA1 and Goa2 – Fig. 3 – [0134] – “second gate driving circuit GOA2 and a first gate driving circuit GOA1” – these are pixel circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the two pixel circuit structure as taught by Huang into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Huang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0003] – “active light emitting display devices and have advantages such as self-luminescence, wide viewing angle, high contrast ratio, low power consumption, very high response speed, lightness and thinness, flexibility, and low costs.”
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Park et al. (US 20200381507 A1 – hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 7, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu, teaches claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, in an analogous art, Park teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pixel electrode (191c – Fig. 3 – [0111] – “pixel electrode 191c”) at least partially overlaps the line areas (171a, 171b, 171c – Fig. 3 – [0078] – “plurality of data lines 171a, 171b, and 171c” – this is a line area) in the plan view.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the pixel electrode structure as taught by Park into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Park in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0029] – “a capacitance of a parasitic capacitor between the pixel electrode and the data line of the plurality of pixels of the display device may be reduced or a deviation may be reduced, thereby improving display quality.”
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Zhang et al. (US 20220123074 A1 – hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 8, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu teaches claim 1 from which claim 8 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lines ([0016] – “a plurality of pixel driving circuits, wherein the plurality of pixel driving circuits and the plurality of anodes are disposed in a one-one-to correspondence manner, each of the plurality of anodes is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of pixel driving circuit” – this infers a plurality of lines as they are necessary to connect the drive circuits) comprises a first line (131 – Fig. 8B – [0132] – “reset signal line 131 extending along the first direction”) extending in a first direction (First Direction – Fig. 8B – [0132] – “reset signal line 131 extending along the first direction”) and a second line (152 – Fig. 8D – [0135] – “first conductive layer 150 (that is, the first source-drain metal layer) includes a power wire 151, a data line 152”) extending in a second direction (Second Direction – Fig. 8D shows this”) intersecting with the first direction, the first line (131) is arranged in a same layer as a gate electrode (130 – Fig. 8B – [0113] – “first gate electrode layer 130” – Fig. 8B shows this) of the thin film transistor ([0025] – “gate electrode of a drive thin film transistor” – although not shown, it is specified that it exists in the device), and the second line (152) is arranged in a different layer from the first line (131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the first and second line structure as taught by Zhang into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0005] – “the display substrate can prevent an opening edge of a fine metal mask (FMM) from coming into contact with the spacer, and prevent the generation of foreign bodies such as particles, thereby improving the yield of the display substrate.”
Regarding claim 9, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu, teaches claim 8 from which claim 9 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, and Lin do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second line (152) is arranged farther from an upper surface of the substrate (110 – Fig. 18A – [0090] – “base substrate 110”) than the first line (131) in a thickness direction (Fig. 18A annotated, shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the first and second line structure as taught by Zhang into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, and Wu.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Zhang in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 8.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, Zhang, and Park.
Regarding claim 10, Choi, as modified by Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Zhang, teaches claim 8 from which claim 10 depends. Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Zhang do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 10.
However, in an analogous art, Park teaches
(Original) The display apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first line comprises
a scan line (151 – Fig. – [0072] – “First and second scan lines 151 and 152 … may extend to the first direction DR1), and the second line comprises a data line (171a – [0082] – “data lines 171a, 171b, and 171c may be arranged on a first side of the pixel circuit portions PX1, PX2 and PX3 and disposed adjacent to each other in the first direction DR1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the first and second line structure as taught by Park into Choi, Nishiyama, Choi-656, Lin, Wu, and Zhang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Park in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of a display device.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In reference to claim 11, the prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to one skilled in the art, the instant invention regarding an area of each of the non-line areas in the folding area is the same as an area of each of the non-line areas in the non-folding area in combination with the other recited limitations.
Claims 12-13 and 15-20 depend on claim 11 and are therefore allowable.
The closest prior art of record is Lin. Lin teaches an area of one of the non-line areas (Fig. 9A annotated, see below – 721-724 – Fig. 7 – [0092] – “The display pixels 711-714 also include transparent areas 721-724. It should be noted that, in the illustrated example, the transparent areas 721-724 surround the respective stacked RGB emitter 775-778. Each stacked RGB emitter 775-778 in respective display pixels 711-714 is interconnected with a row electrode, such as row electrode 783 or 785 and column electrode 784 or 786 to form a passive matrix array” – this describes an area free of wires or pixel circuit components, hereinafter ‘NWA’).
This specific structure of in the folding area is the same as an area of each of the non-line areas in the non-folding area is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record. The instant application states that the beneficial effect non-line area in the folding and non-folding area is [0004] – “As the area occupied by a display area in the display panel has been expanded, components should be arranged in a relatively narrow outer area. Thus, when a crack occurs due to the arrangement of the components, the reliability and display quality of a display apparatus may be degraded.”
than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US 11251381 B2, US 20230209952 A1, and US 20220302238 A1 are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the combination of limitations including "pixel circuit areas".
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897