DETAILED ACTION
Status
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1, 3, and 14 are currently amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 18 and 19 are newly added. Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending review in this action. The previous objection regarding the Drawings is withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to the Drawings. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 14. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claim 1, however the previously cited prior art is upheld as reading on the independent claim. Updated rejections necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment are detailed below. A new grounds of rejection is detailed below to address newly added Claims 18 and 19.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/11/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/02/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a pressure relief apparatus, used in a battery cell (secondary battery, 100), comprising: a pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below) comprising a pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figures 1 and 2d, p.6, lines 10-12 and p.7, lines 1-4). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is configured to be opened to relieve a pressure inside the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) when an internal pressure of the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) reaches a threshold (Figure 1, p.10, lines 12-16). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) on one side in a first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) and a third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), respectively, on both sides in a second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and that the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) is perpendicular to the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses a score groove (vent, 210d) arranged on the pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) defines the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 2d, p.9 lines 1-6 and p.11, lines 4-7). Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) comprises a first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), a second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), and a first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends in the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) is connected to the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) through the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below).
Lee is silent to a depth of each of the first groove, the first arc-shaped groove, and the second arc-shaped groove. However, the examiner notes that the term “a depth” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is necessarily a depth of the first groove which is greater than a depth of the first arc-shaped groove and greater than a depth of the second arc-shaped groove. For example, the skilled artisan may select for a depth of the first groove a total depth which of the first groove, and for a depth of each of the first arc-shaped groove and the second arc-shaped groove, the skilled artisan may select a depth which is equal to ½ of the total depth of the first groove. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
Regarding Claim 3, The examiner notes that the instant specification describes that the first arc-shaped groove (2421) and the second arc-shaped groove (2422) are tangent to the first groove (2423), such that no sharp corner is formed at a connection position of the first arc-shaped groove (2421) and the first groove (2423) or at a connection position of the second arc-shaped groove (2422) and the first groove (2423) (Figure 5, [0013, 0096-0097]).
In view of the description provided in the instant specification (especially looking at instant Figure 5), the skilled artisan would appreciate that each of the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) of Lee would be considered tangent to the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) of Lee. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 3 are met.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) further comprises a first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends in the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) is connected to the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) through the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that an end of the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) is connected to an end of the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) through the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below).
The examiner notes that the instant claim does not require that the end of the first arc-shaped groove away from the second opening side is directly connected to an end of the second arc-shaped groove away from the third opening side. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 4 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) further comprises a second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) and a third groove (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the third groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 5 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
Regarding Claim 6, The examiner notes that the instant specification describes that the second groove (2424) is tangent to first arc-shaped groove (2421), and third groove (2425) is tangent to second arc-shaped groove (2422), such that no sharp corner is formed at a connection position of the second groove (2424) and the first arc-shaped groove (2421) or at a connection position of the third groove (2425) and the second arc-shaped groove (2422) (Figure 6, [0018, 00105-00106]).
In view of the description provided in the instant specification (especially looking at instant Figure 6), the skilled artisan would appreciate that in the score groove (vent, 210d) of Lee, the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) is tangent to the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the third groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) is tangent to the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 6 are met.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee further discloses that both the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the third groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) extend in the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 7 are met.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee further discloses that in the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d above), the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d above) are symmetrically distributed on the pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 8 are met.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee further discloses that the pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d above) comprises: an accommodating space (space wherein electrode assembly, 30, resides) for accommodating an electrode assembly (30) of the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) (Figures 1 and 2d, p.6, lines 10-12). Lee further discloses a wall (cylindrical can, 20) that defines the accommodating space (space wherein electrode assembly, 30, resides), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) is arranged on both an inner surface and an outer surface of the wall (cylindrical can, 20) (Figures 1 and 2d, p.6, lines 10-12, p.9, lines 5-8, and p.11, lines 7-8). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 9 are met.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee further discloses a battery cell (secondary battery, 100), comprising the pressure relief apparatus according to Claim 1 (Figure 1, p.6, lines 10-12). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 15 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0004446 A1).
In Regards to Claim 10 (Dependent Upon Claim 9):
Lee discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 9 as set forth above. Lee further discloses that the wall (cylindrical can, 20) comprises a peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) is arranged on an inner surface and an outer surface of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 2d, p.5, line 20). Lee further discloses that the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) is a hollow structure with an upper end which is open in an extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d below) thereof, wherein a cap assembly (40) is coupled to the upper end of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) to accommodate the electrode assembly (30) and an electrolyte (Figures 1 and 2d, p.2, lines 10-14, and p.6, lines 10-17). Lee further discloses that the wall (cylindrical can, 20) includes a lower plate formed with the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) which seals the lower portion of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 1, p.6, lines 12-16).
Lee is deficient in disclosing that the peripheral wall is open in both ends in an extension direction.
Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a wall (upper can, 210), wherein the wall (upper can, 210) is a hollow structure with both ends open in an extension direction (up and down page in Figure 1) thereof (Figures 3 and 5, [0023, 0046-0048]). Kim further discloses that the open ends of the wall (upper can, 210) are closed by attaching a cap assembly (100) and a lower sealing member (220) to an upper open end and a lower open end, respectively (Figure 3, [0046, 0048]). Kim further discloses that an electrode assembly (300) and an electrolytic solution are accommodated within the space formed by the wall (upper can, 210), the cap assembly (100), and the lower sealing member (220) (Figure 3, [0023, 0047-0048]). Kim further discloses that by attaching the cap assembly (100) and the lower sealing member (220) to the wall (upper can, 210), the electrolytic solution accommodated with the electrode assembly (300) may be prevented from leaking out (Figure 3, [0051]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the peripheral wall of Lee to have the lower plate be formed separately from the peripheral wall such that the peripheral wall is hollow and open on both ends in the extension direction, as it is known in the art that a lower sealing member may be formed independently from a peripheral wall and attached thereto in order to accommodate an electrode assembly in a sealing manner, as taught by Kim. Upon such a modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the lower plate is attached to the peripheral wall of Lee, the electrolyte and electrode assembly accommodated therein is sealed such that no electrolyte leakage may occur, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, an object being integral or separable is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 V).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the peripheral wall is indeed a hollow structure with both ends open in an extension direction. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 10 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
In Regards to Claim 11 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Lee as modified by Kim discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 10 as set forth above. As shown in Figure 2d, Lee discloses that the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is a cylinder (Fig. 2d, p.6, lines 10-16). Lee further discloses that the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is identical to the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that an included angle between the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above) is 0 degrees. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 11 are met.
In Regards to Claim 12 (Dependent Upon Claim 10):
Lee as modified by Kim discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 10 as set forth above. Lee further discloses that the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is identical to the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is consistent with the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above). Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 12 are met.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Nobeoka et al. (JPH 10106524 A) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 07/16/2024) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025).
In Regards to Claim 13 (Dependent Upon Claim 9):
Lee discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 9 as set forth above.
Lee is deficient in disclosing that the wall is provided with a score group, and the score group comprises two score grooves arranged at an interval in the first direction, the first opening side of the pressure relief portion defined by one of the score grooves in the score group and the first opening side of the pressure relief portion defined by the other score groove are arranged back to back.
Nobeoka discloses a battery cell (lithium ion secondary battery, 70) comprising a pressure relief portion (explosion-proof valve, 86) formed on a wall (lid, 72) of the battery cell (lithium ion secondary battery, 70) (Figure 3, [0045-0046]). Nobeoka further discloses that the pressure relief portion (explosion-proof valve, 86) is provided with a first opening side (see annotated Figure 4c below) on one side in a first direction (see annotated Figure 4c below) (Figure 4c, [0046]). Nobeoka further discloses that a score groove (groove) defines the pressure relief portion (explosion-proof valve, 86), and two score grooves (groove) may be arranged at an interval in the first direction (see annotated Figure 4c below) to form a score group (Figure 4c, [0034, 0037, 0046]). Nobeoka further discloses that the two score grooves (groove) in the score group may be arranged such that the first opening sides (see annotated Figure 4c below) of the respective score grooves (groove) are in a back to back configuration (Figure 4c, [0034, 0037]). Nobeoka further discloses that such a configuration for a pressure relief portion (explosion-proof valve, 86) allows excess gas to be safely and reliably released from the battery cell (lithium ion secondary battery, 70) in a high pressure situation [0046].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to implement the score groove of Lee in the configuration taught by Nobeoka, such that the first opening sides of two score grooves are arranged back to back at an interval in the first direction to form a score group, as such a configuration is known in the art as a suitable configuration for a pressure relief portion in a battery cell, as taught by Nobeoka. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a pressure relief portion which is configured to safely and reliably release excess gas from the battery cell in a high pressure situation, as taught by Nobeoka. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 13 are met.
Annotated Figure 4 (Nobeoka JPH 10106524A)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025) as modified by Nobeoka et al. (JPH 10106524 A) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 07/16/2024) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025), applied to Claim 13 above, further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0004446 A1) and Song et al. (US 2019/0165407 A1) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 12/11/2024).
In Regards to Claim 14 (Dependent Upon Claim13):
Lee as modified by Nobeoka discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 13 as set forth above. Lee further discloses that the wall (cylindrical can, 20) comprises a peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) is arranged on the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 2d, p.5, line 20). Lee further discloses that the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) is a hollow structure with an upper end open in an extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d below) thereof, wherein a cap assembly (40) is coupled to the upper portion of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) to accommodate the electrode assembly (30) and an electrolyte (Figures 1 and 2d, p.2, lines 10-14, and p.6, lines 10-17). Lee further discloses that the wall (cylindrical can, 20) includes a lower plate formed with the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) which seals the lower portion of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 1, p.6, lines 12-16).
As shown in Figure 2d, Lee discloses that the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is a cylinder (Fig. 2d, p.6, lines 10-16). Lee further discloses that the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) is identical to the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above). As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that an included angle between the extension direction (second direction, see annotated Figure 2d above) of the peripheral wall (see annotated Figure 2d above) and the second direction (annotated Figure 2d above) is 0 degrees.
Lee is deficient in disclosing 1) that the peripheral wall is a hollow structure with both ends open in the extension direction thereof, and 2) that a plurality of the score groups are arranged on the peripheral wall at intervals in a circumferential direction thereof.
Regarding 1), Kim discloses a secondary battery comprising a wall (upper can, 210), wherein the wall (upper can, 210) is a hollow structure with both ends open in an extension direction (up and down page in Figure 1) thereof (Figures 3 and 5, [0023, 0046-0048]). Kim further discloses that the open ends of the wall (upper can, 210) are closed by attaching a cap assembly (100) and a lower sealing member (220) to an upper open end and a lower open end, respectively (Figure 3, [0046, 0048]). Kim further discloses that an electrode assembly (300) and an electrolytic solution are accommodated within the space formed by the wall (upper can, 210), the cap assembly (100), and the lower sealing member (220) (Figure 3, [0023, 0047-0048]). Kim further discloses that by attaching the cap assembly (100) and the lower sealing member (220) to the wall (upper can, 210), the electrolytic solution accommodated with the electrode assembly (300) may be prevented from leaking out (Figure 3, [0051]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the peripheral wall of Lee to have the lower plate be formed separately from the peripheral wall such that the peripheral wall is hollow and open on both ends in the extension direction, as it is known in the art that a lower sealing member may be formed independently from a peripheral wall and attached thereto in order to accommodate an electrode assembly in a sealing manner, as taught by Kim. Upon such a modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that when the lower plate is attached to the peripheral wall of Lee, the electrolyte and electrode assembly accommodated therein is sealed such that no electrolyte leakage may occur, as taught by Kim. Furthermore, an object being integral or separable is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular configuration of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 V). Upon the above modification, the limitation of Claim 14 requiring that the peripheral wall is a hollow structure with both ends open in the extension direction thereof, is met.
Regarding 2), Song discloses a battery cell (secondary battery, 200) comprising a peripheral wall (can member, 210) and a pressure relief portion (shape memory alloy member, 230) formed on the peripheral wall (can member, 210) (Figure 2, [0038-0040]). Song further discloses that the pressure relief portion (shape memory alloy member, 230) may comprise a score group (see annotated Figure 2 below) consisting of two score grooves (see annotated Figure 2 below) arranged at an interval (Figure 2). Song further discloses that a plurality of score groups (see annotated Figure 2 below) may be arranged on the peripheral wall (can member, 210) at intervals (Figure 2). Song further discloses that the pressure relief portion (shape memory alloy member, 230) may be formed along the peripheral wall (can member, 210) in a vertical direction or a circumferential (horizontal) direction (Figures 2 and 4, [0061-0063]). Song further discloses that when a pressure relief portion (shape memory alloy member, 230) is included on the peripheral wall (can member, 210), gas may be discharged from the battery cell (secondary battery, 200) and the risk of explosion is reduced (Figure 2, [0038-0039]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to further modify the pressure relief apparatus of modified Lee to include a plurality of the score groups at intervals in a circumferential direction on the peripheral wall of Lee, as such a configuration is known in the art as suitable for a pressure relief portion in a battery cell, as taught by Song. By doing so, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a pressure relief portion wherein gas may be sufficiently discharged from the battery cell, thus reducing the risk of an explosion, as taught by Song. Furthermore, the selection of a known configuration based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07). Upon making the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 14 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
Annotated Figure 2 (Song US 2019/0165407 A1)
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025), as applied to Claim 15 above, and further in view of Rief et al. (US 2015/0044519 A1).
In Regards to Claim 16 (Dependent Upon Claim 15):
Lee discloses the battery cell of Claim 15 as set forth above.
Lee is deficient in disclosing a battery comprising the battery cell according to Claim 15; and a box body configured to accommodate the battery cell.
Rief discloses a battery (battery pack, 10) comprising a plurality of battery cells (20) and a box body (cell retainer assembly, 30) which is configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells (20) (Figure 1B, [0007, 0025, 0027]). Rief further discloses that battery (battery pack, 10) may be used within an electrical device (outdoor power equipment device) (Figure 1B, [0007]). Rief further discloses that the plurality of battery cells (20) are arranged together in order to achieve desired output characteristics [0003, 0026].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to utilize a plurality of the battery cells of Lee in a battery, wherein the plurality of battery cells are accommodated within a box body, and wherein the battery is used within an electrical device, as such an arrangement is known in the art as a suitable application for battery cells, as taught by Rief. By doing so, the skilled artisan would appreciate that such a configuration is useful for scaling the output capacity for use within an electric device which requires a certain battery capacity, as taught by Rief. Furthermore, it has been held that merely scaling up a prior art process capable of being scaled up, does not alone hold patentable weight (MPEP 2144.04 IV A). Upon the above modification, all of the limitations of Claim 16 are met.
In Regards to Claim 17 (Dependent Upon Claim 16):
Lee as modified by Rief discloses the battery of Claim 16 as set forth above. Upon the modification detailed above in the rejection of Claim 16, the skilled artisan would appreciate that modified Lee discloses an electrical device, comprising the battery according to Claim 16. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 17 are met.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) (citations made to English machine translation attached to the previous office action, Non-Final Rejection dated 11/06/2025), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Aizawa et al. (US 7,754,373 B2) (disclosed by Applicant on IDS dated 12/11/2024).
In Regards to Claim 18 (Dependent Upon Claim 1):
Lee discloses the pressure relief apparatus of Claim 1 as set forth above. Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) further comprises a second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) and a third groove (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the third groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that a projection of one end of each of the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) and the third groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), onto a plane formed by the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) and the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) is substantially U-shaped with a flat termination (Figure 2d).
Lee is deficient in disclosing that a projection of one end of the second groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped, and that projection of one end of the third groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped.
Aizawa discloses a pressure relief apparatus (opening vent, 2) used in a battery cell, wherein the pressure relief apparatus (opening vent, 2) comprises a groove (20) (Figure 6, p.14, Col. 3, lines 25-32, and p.15, Col. 5, lines 45-53). Aizawa further discloses that the groove (20) may be formed in a U-shape or a V-shape (Figure 6, p.13, Col.2, lines 45-51, and p.15, Col. 5, lines 45-53). Aizawa further discloses that either a U-shape or a V-shape is suitable to provide a groove (20) which allows the internal pressure of the battery cell to be released in the case of an abnormal increase of internal pressure within the battery cell (Figure 6, p.13, Col.2, lines 45-51).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the shape one end of each of the second groove and the third groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, a V-shape, as it is known in the art that a groove having V-shape is a recognized equivalent to a groove having a U-shape for pressure relief purposes in a battery, as taught by Aizawa. By making such a modification, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a groove which allows the internal pressure of the battery cell to be released in the case of an abnormal increase of internal pressure within the battery cell, as taught by Aizawa. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a projection of one end of the second groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped, and that projection of one end of the third groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 18 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
In Regards to Claim 19:
Lee discloses a pressure relief apparatus, used in a battery cell (secondary battery, 100), comprising: a pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below) comprising a pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figures 1 and 2d, p.6, lines 10-12 and p.7, lines 1-4). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is configured to be opened to relieve a pressure inside the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) when an internal pressure of the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) reaches a threshold (Figure 1, p.10, lines 12-16). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) on one side in a first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) and a third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), respectively, on both sides in a second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and that the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) is perpendicular to the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses a score groove (vent, 210d) arranged on the pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) defines the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 2d, p.9 lines 1-6 and p.11, lines 4-7). Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) comprises a first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), a second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), a first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), and a second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from one end of the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) to a direction away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that a projection of one end of each of the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) and the second groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) away from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) in the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), onto a plane formed by the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) and the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) is substantially U-shaped with a flat termination (Figure 2d).
Lee is deficient in disclosing that a projection of one end of the first groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped, and that projection of one end of the second groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped.
Aizawa discloses a pressure relief apparatus (opening vent, 2) used in a battery cell, wherein the pressure relief apparatus (opening vent, 2) comprises a groove (20) (Figure 6, p.14, Col. 3, lines 25-32, and p.15, Col. 5, lines 45-53). Aizawa further discloses that the groove (20) may be formed in a U-shape or a V-shape (Figure 6, p.13, Col.2, lines 45-51, and p.15, Col. 5, lines 45-53). Aizawa further discloses that either a U-shape or a V-shape is suitable to provide a groove (20) which allows the internal pressure of the battery cell to be released in the case of an abnormal increase of internal pressure within the battery cell (Figure 6, p.13, Col.2, lines 45-51).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to select for the shape one end of each of the first groove and the second groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, a V-shape, as it is known in the art that a groove having V-shape is a recognized equivalent to a groove having a U-shape for pressure relief purposes in a battery, as taught by Aizawa. By making such a modification, the skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing a groove which allows the internal pressure of the battery cell to be released in the case of an abnormal increase of internal pressure within the battery cell, as taught by Aizawa. Furthermore, it has been held that mere changes in shape of an object is a matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence the particular shape of the claimed object is significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV).
Upon the above modification, the skilled artisan would appreciate that a projection of one end of the first groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped, and that projection of one end of the second groove away from the first opening side in the first direction, onto a plane formed by the first direction and the second direction is V-shaped. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 19 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A), Kim et al. (US 2015/0004446 A1), Nobeoka et al. (JPH 10106524 A), Song et al. (US 2019/0165407 A1), and Rief et al. (US 2015/0044519 A1) fails to meet all of the limitations of Independent Claim 1 as currently amended. Specifically, the newly added limitation requiring that the first groove extends in the second direction, the first arc-shaped groove is connected to the second arc-shaped groove through the first groove, and a depth of first groove is greater than a depth of first arc-shaped groove and greater than a depth of second arc-shaped groove.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above in the rejection of Claim 1, Lee discloses a pressure relief apparatus, used in a battery cell (secondary battery, 100), comprising: a pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below) comprising a pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figures 1 and 2d, p.6, lines 10-12 and p.7, lines 1-4). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is configured to be opened to relieve a pressure inside the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) when an internal pressure of the battery cell (secondary battery, 100) reaches a threshold (Figure 1, p.10, lines 12-16). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) on one side in a first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) is provided with a second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) and a third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), respectively, on both sides in a second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and that the first direction (see annotated Figure 2d below) is perpendicular to the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses a score groove (vent, 210d) arranged on the pressure relief body (see annotated Figure 2d below), wherein the score groove (vent, 210d) defines the pressure relief portion (see annotated Figure 2d below) (Figure 2d, p.9 lines 1-6 and p.11, lines 4-7). Lee further discloses that the score groove (vent, 210d) comprises a first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), a second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), and a first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below), the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the second opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends from the first opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below) to the third opening side (see annotated Figure 2d below). Lee further discloses that the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) extends in the second direction (see annotated Figure 2d below), and the first arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) is connected to the second arc-shaped groove (see annotated Figure 2d below) through the first groove (see annotated Figure 2d below).
Lee is silent to a depth of each of the first groove, the first arc-shaped groove, and the second arc-shaped groove. However, the examiner notes that the term “a depth” as written is a broad limitation and is subject to the broadest reasonable interpretation during the review of prior art. As such, the skilled artisan would appreciate that there is necessarily a depth of the first groove which is greater than a depth of the first arc-shaped groove and greater than a depth of the second arc-shaped groove. For example, the skilled artisan may select for a depth of the first groove a total depth which of the first groove, and for a depth of each of the first arc-shaped groove and the second arc-shaped groove, the skilled artisan may select a depth which is equal to ½ of the total depth of the first groove. Thus, all of the limitations of Claim 1 are met.
Annotated Figure 2d (Lee KR 20090105547 A)
The examiner notes that newly added Claims 18 and 19 are rejected (see above) under a new grounds of rejection in view of Lee et al. (KR 20090105547 A) and Aizawa et al. (US 7,754,373 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.E.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724