DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arndt et al. (US 2020/0044625).
In regard to Claim 1:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, a high voltage noise reduction unit, the high voltage noise reduction unit comprising:
an input (4) that is configured to receive a high voltage input signal having a value of at least five hundred volts (¶ 0011);
a positive isolated supply unit (4 connected to 6) that is configured to receive the high voltage input signal (4) and to output a positive supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
a negative isolated supply unit (4 connected to 7) that is configured to receive the high voltage input signal (4) and to output a negative supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
a low pass filter (Figure 3: 12 of 2 in Figure 1, ¶ 0017) that is configured to filter the high voltage input signal (4) to provide a filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output, ¶ 0017); and
an amplifier (Figure 3: 13 of 2 in Figure 1) that is configured to receive the positive supply signal (6 at 8), to receive the negative supply signal (7 at 9), to receive the filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output), and amplify the filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output) to provide a high voltage output signal (¶ 0051).
In regard to Claim 2:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, the high voltage noise reduction unit according to claim 1, wherein each one of the amplifier (2), the positive isolated supply unit (6) and the negative isolated supply unit (7) are low voltage components that are subjected to low voltage differences that do not exceed 24 volts (¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to Claim 3:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 3, the high voltage noise reduction unit according to claim 1, wherein a voltage level of the filtered high voltage signal (12 output) equals a voltage level of the high voltage output signal (¶ 0055).
In regard to Claim 4:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 3, the high voltage noise reduction unit according to claim 1, wherein the low pass filter comprises a resistor and a capacitor (C5,R1; C6,R3; C7, R6).
In regard to Claim 8:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, a method for high voltage noise reduction unit, the method comprising:
receiving a high voltage input signal, by (i) an input of the high voltage noise reduction unit, (ii) a positive isolated supply unit (4 connected to 6), (iii) a negative isolated supply unit (4 connected to 7), and (iv) a low pass filter (Figure 3: 12, ¶ 0017);
wherein the high voltage input signal (4) has a value of at least five hundred volts (¶ 0011);
outputting, by the positive isolated supply unit (6), a positive supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
outputting, by the negative isolated supply unit (7), a negative supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
filtering, by the low pass filter (Figure 3: 12), the high voltage input signal to provide a filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output, ¶ 0017);
receiving, by an amplifier (Figure 3: 13), the positive supply signal (6 connected to 8), the negative supply signal (7 connected to 9) and the filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output); and
amplifying the filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output), by the amplifier (Figure 3: 13), to provide a high voltage output signal (¶ 0051).
In regard to Claim 9:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, the method according to claim 8, wherein each one of the amplifier (2), the positive isolated supply unit (6) and the negative isolated supply unit (7) are low voltage components that are subjected to low voltage differences that do not exceed 24 volts (¶ 0027-0028).
In regard to Claim 10:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, the method according to claim 8, wherein a voltage level of the filtered high voltage signal (12 output) equals a voltage level of the high voltage output signal (¶ 0055).
In regard to Claim 11:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 3, the method according to claim 8, wherein the low pass filter comprises a resistor and a capacitor (C5,R1; C6,R3; C7, R6).
In regard to Claim 15:
Arndt discloses, in Figure 1, a high voltage noise reduction unit, the high voltage noise reduction unit comprising:
an input (4) that is configured to receive a high voltage input signal having a value of at least five hundred volts (¶ 0011);
a positive isolated supply unit (4 connected to 6) that is configured to receive the high voltage input signal (4) and to output a positive supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
a negative isolated supply unit (4 connected to 7) that is configured to receive the high voltage input signal (4) and to output a negative supply signal that floats on is referenced solely to the high voltage input signal (4) and is electrically isolated from ground (¶ 0049);
a low pass filter (Figure 3: 12 of 2 in Figure 1, ¶ 0017) that is configured to filter the high voltage input signal (4) to provide a filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output, ¶ 0017); and
a buffer (Figure 3: 13) that is configured to receive the positive supply signal (6 connected to 8), to receive the negative supply signal(7 connected to 9), to receive the filtered high voltage signal (Figure 3: 12 output) and to output a high voltage output signal that equals the filtered high voltage signal (¶ 0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt et al. (US 2020/0044625).
In regard to Claim 5:
Arndt discloses the claimed invention as discussed with respect to Claims 1 and 4 above, except for wherein an impedance of the resistor is not lower than one megaohms. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have an impedance of the resistor that is not lower than one megaohms, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 716.02(b) III.
In regard to Claim 12:
Arndt discloses the claimed invention as discussed with respect to Claims 8 and 11 above, except for wherein an impedance of the resistor is not lower than one megaohms. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have an impedance of the resistor that is not lower than one megaohms, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 716.02(b) III.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 13-14, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to Claim 6:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the amplifier comprises: an inverting input; a noninverting input that is configured to receive filtered high voltage signal; a negative supply port that is configured to receive the negative supply signal; a positive supply port that is configured to receive the positive supply signal; and an output port that is in communication with the inverting input and is configured to output the high voltage output signal.
In regard to Claim 13:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the amplifier comprises an inverting input, a noninverting input, a negative supply port, a positive supply port and an output port that is in communication with the inverting input; wherein the method comprises: receiving the negative supply signal by the negative supply port; receiving the positive supply signal by the positive supply port; and outputting, by the output port, the high voltage output signal.
In regard to Claim 16:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the amplifier comprises a non-inverting input, an inverting input and an output, and wherein the non- inverting input is coupled to receive the filtered high voltage signal, and the inverting input is coupled to the output.
In regard to Claim 18:
None of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claims:
wherein the amplifier comprises a non- inverting input, an inverting input and an output, and wherein the non-inverting input is coupled to receive the filtered high voltage signal, and the inverting input is coupled to the output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2018/0088152) discloses a high side current sensing amplifier architecture is simplified and improved over prior art current sensing amplifier circuits by using chopping only, without requiring auto-zeroing, and by using a simpler (and faster) switched capacitor filter instead of an auto-zeroing integrator filter. Also, VIP (positive DC sense node) is merged with the VDDHV (power supply) node, such that the integrated circuit package requires only a single node (package pin) to accommodate both the VIP and VDDHV connections for the current sensing amplifier circuit, resulting in being able to use a smaller integrated circuit package.
Herman (US 2024/0364278) discloses a cascoded high-voltage amplifier is disclosed. The amplifier can include a chain of series-coupled low-voltage amplifiers, sometimes with a common gain, where an output of each low-voltage amplifier is coupled to an input of a next low-voltage amplifier, and inputs of adjacent low-voltage amplifiers are coupled via a feedforward connection, and optionally through an impedance component. In this way, a change in the input signal can level shift the entire chain of low-voltage amplifiers through the feedforward connections. The gain of the cascoded high-voltage amplifier can be a function of the number of low-voltage amplifiers, and a high-voltage output can be achieved without seeing high-voltage drops within the amplifier.
Rada et al. (US 2011/0148202) discloses power factor correction that includes selectively coupling bit reactive loads with a load having dynamic reactive properties to dynamically correct a power factor. Methods and apparatus for reducing distortion in a power delivery system include a means for determining distortion in a power line, forming a corrective signal according to the distortion and selectively sinking and sourcing current to the power line according to the corrective signal.
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843