DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-20, 23-25 are pending. Claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-20, 23-25 are under examination on the merits. Claims 1, 9 are amended. Claims 21-22 are cancelled. Claims 5-8, 13 are previously cancelled.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-20, 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/25/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-15, 17-18, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Molock et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0227287 A1, hereinafter “’287”) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. No.2012/0136148 A1, hereinafter “’148”).
Regarding claims 1-4,9-12,14-15: ‘629 teaches a photochromic composition comprising a polymerizable mixture (Page 1, [0008]) including more than one photochromic compound (Page 5, [0018]) such as photochromic compounds VII or X, wherein R1 and R2 are methyl group, B1 and B2 are represents a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group, R3 to R6 are hydrogen atom corresponding to the instant General Formula A) (Page 4, [0016], photochromic compounds VII or X), and photochromic compound XII or XIII, wherein R7 and R8 are methyl group, R9 to R12 are hydrogen atom, B3 and B4 are a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group, R13 and R14 are an electron-donating group corresponding to the instant General Formula B (Page 5, [0016], photochromic compound XII). ‘629 does not expressly teach the photochromic compound of General Formula C, wherein R15 and R16 are substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group, R17 to R20, represent hydrogen atoms or R17 and R19, each independently an electron-withdrawing group, and , R18 and R20 represent hydrogen atoms, B5 and B6 are hydrogen atom or a substituent, and one of R21 and R22 represents a hydron atom and the other represents an electron-donating.
However, ‘148 teaches photochromic compositions and articles that include at least a photochromic amount of one or more photochromic compounds (Page 1, [0002]) such as
3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-3-(4-(2-hydroxy)ethoxyphenyl)-6-methoxy-13,13-dimethy- 13H,13H-indeno[2',3':3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 28, [0207]) with benefit of providing to develop photochromic compounds that are subject to reduced migration or substantially no migration within a matrix, such as an organic matrix, in which they reside. It would also be desirable that such newly developed photochromic compounds provide a desirable level of photochromic properties (Page 1, [0007]).
In an analogous art of the photochromic composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photochromic composition by ‘287 so as to include the photochromic compound, wherein R15 and R16 are unsubstituted alkyl group, R17 to R20, represent hydrogen atoms, B5 and B6 are a substituent, and one of R21 and R22 represents a hydron atom and the other represents an electron-donating as taught by ’148, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing to develop photochromic compounds that are subject to reduced migration or substantially no migration within a matrix, such as an organic matrix, in which they reside. It would also be desirable that such newly developed photochromic compounds provide a desirable level of photochromic properties as suggested by ‘148 (Page 1, [0007]).
Regarding claim 17: ‘629 teaches a photochromic (Page 1, [0008]), further comprising a polymerizable compound (Page 6, [0025]; Page 6, [0027]; Page 8, [0052]).
Regarding claim 18: ‘629 teaches a photochromic article comprising a cured product obtained by curing the photochromic composition (Page 5, [0020]; Page 8, [0052]).
Regarding claim 23: The disclosure of ‘278 in view of ‘148 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘278 teaches the photochromic compound VII in the General formula A, B1 and B2 each independently represent a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group. ‘278 does not expressly teach the substituted phenyl group has one substituents selected from the group consisting of morpholino group in photochromic compound VII.
However, ‘287 teaches the photochromic compound III in the General formula A, B1 and B2 each independently represent a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group, wherein the substituted phenyl group has one substituents selected from the group consisting of methoxy group.
Therefore, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since it is held to be a prima facie case of obviousness since a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element (i.e. functional group) shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification wherein the side chains syntheses merely done by routine experimentation. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Regarding claim 24: The disclosure of ‘278 in view of ‘148 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘278 teaches the photochromic compound XIII in the General formula B, B3 and B4 each independently represent a substituted or unsubstituted phenyl group, and the substituted phenyl group has one substituents selected from the group consisting of morpholino group (Page 15, [0016], photochromic compound XIII).
Regarding claim 25: The disclosure of ‘278 in view of ‘148 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘148 teaches the photochromic compound in the General formula C, B5 and B6 each independently represent a substituted phenyl group having substituents selected from the group consisting of alkox group such as
3-(4-methoxyphenyl)-3-(4-(2-hydroxy)ethoxyphenyl)-6-methoxy-13,13-dimethy- 13H,13H-indeno[2',3':3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 28, [0207]).
9. Claims 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Molock et al. (US Pub. No.2006/0227287 A1, hereinafter “’287”) in view of Molock et al. (US Pub. No. 2006/0227287 A1, hereinafter “’287”) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. No.2012/0136148 A1, hereinafter “’148”) as applied to claim 1,and further in view of Barry Van Gemert (US Pat. No. 5,645,767, hereinafter “’767”).
Regarding claim 16: The disclosure of ‘278 in view of ‘148 is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘278 in view of ‘148 does not expressly teach a total content of the compound represented by General Formula B and the compound represented by General Formula C is more than a content of the compound represented by General Formula A on a mass basis.
However, ‘287 teaches the photochromic amount used depends often upon the thickness of the contact lens, the intensity of color desired upon irradiation thereof. Typically, the more photochromic material incorporated, the greater the color intensity is up to a certain limit. There is a point after which the addition of any more material will not have a noticeable effect. The concentration of photochromic compound in the polymerizable mixture is selected based on a number of considerations such as the photochromic efficiency of the photochromic compound, the solubility of the photochromic compound in the polymerizable mixture, the thickness of the lens, and the desired darkness of the lens when exposed to light. Preferred concentrations of the photochromic compound in the polymerizable mixture are from about 0.1 to about 15 weight %, more preferably from about 1% to about 10 weight %, based upon the weight of all components in the polymerizable mixture (Page 5, [0017]).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
It is submitted that generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. 5 Appeal2017-008153 Application 14/465,917 Cir. 1990) (indicating that in cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.
Regarding claims 19-20: The disclosure of ‘278 in view of ‘148 is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘278 in view of ‘148 does not expressly teach the photochromic article, further comprising: a substrate, a photochromic layer which is the cured product, wherein the photochromic article is a spectacle lens, a lens for goggles, a visor portion of a sun visor, a shield member of a helmet.
However, ‘767 teaches the photochromic composition comprising the organic photochromic naphthopyrans may be used alone, in combination with other naphthopyrans or in combination with one or more other appropriate complementary organic photochromic materials (Col. 12, lines 32-36). ‘278 teaches the photochromic article, further comprising: a substrate, a photochromic layer which is the cured product (Col. 13, lines 40-58). Further, ‘767 teaches the naphthopyran compounds represented by graphic formula I may be used in those applications in which organic photochromic substances may be employed, such as optical lenses, e.g., vision correcting ophthalmic lenses and plano lenses, face shields, goggles, visors, camera lenses, windows, automotive windshields, aircraft and automotive transparencies, e.g., T-roofs, sidelights and backlights, plastic films and sheets, textiles and coatings, e.g., coating compositions such as paints, and verification marks on security documents, e.g., documents such as banknotes, passports and drivers' licenses for which authentication or verification of authenticity may be desired (Col. 11, lines 32-45).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since choosing an appropriate photochromic coating from the selection of naphthopyran compounds based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-20, 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
05/23/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov