DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (2023/0290694).
With respect to Claim 1, Yang et al discloses a test key structure (Figures 2A-3 ) comprising: a substrate (Figure 3, 80 ); a first metal pad (Figure 3, 62P ) disposed on the substrate (Figure 3, 80 ); a second metal pad (Figure 3, 64P) disposed in proximity to the first metal pad (Figure 3, 62P ) on the substrate (Figure 3, 80 ); a gap (Figure 2B ) between the first metal pad (Figure 2B, 62P) and the second metal pad (Figure 2B, 64P); a first contact (Figure 3, 62C2) disposed on the first metal pad (Figure 2B, 62P); and a second contact (Figure 3, 64C2) disposed on the second metal pad (Figure 2B, 64P) . See Figures 2A – 3 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 34-46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (2023/0290694).
Yang et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However Yang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the first contact is electrically connected to a first voltage and the second contact is electrically connected to a second voltage that is different from the first voltage (Claim 2), the composition of the pads (Claims 3-4) and the dimensions of the test key (Claims 5-6) .
With respect to Claim 2, and the limitation “wherein the first contact is electrically connected to a first voltage and the second contact is electrically connected to a second voltage that is different from the first voltage”, Yang et al disclose the use of a probe card to apply a voltage (paragraph 38). The Examiner takes Official Notice that the application of different voltages to test different circuits is well known in the art and would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, for its known benefit in testing different circuits.
With respect to Claims 3-4, Yang et al discloses the use of aluminum pads. See paragraph 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use aluminum to form the first and second metal pads, as the use of a known material for its known benefit is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claims 5-6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimensions, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimension “wherein the first metal pad and the second metal pad have a dimension of equal to or greater than 1 x 1 micron”, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimension “wherein the gap has a width of equal to or less than 0.2 micron”. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (2023/0290694) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Chao et al (US 2016/0064295).
Claim 7 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 1 and the Yang et al reference.
However, Yang et al does not disclose an array of metal pads and contacts as required by the present Claims.
Chao et al disclose test keys arrays comprising metal pads and contacts, and their benefit in testing multiple circuits. See Figures 2-4 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 8-9 , 19-23 and 28.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the test key of Yang et al, in an array form, for its known benefit in the art of testing multiple circuits as disclosed by Chao et al. Moreover, duplication of parts, forming an array of test keys, is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 8, Claim 8 is rejected for the reasons as discussed above with respect to Claim 2. With respect to the limitation “wherein the first contact is electrically connected to a first voltage and the second contact is electrically connected to a second voltage that is different from the first voltage”, Yang et al disclose the use of a probe card to apply a voltage (paragraph 38). The Examiner takes Official Notice that the application of different voltages is well known in the art, and would be within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, for its known benefit in testing different circuits.
With respect to Claim 9, the first and second contacts are arranged in a staggered manner. See Figures 3-4 and corresponding text, especially paragraph 24of Chao et al. Moreover, rearrangements of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 10, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the first contacts are electrically connected to a first interconnect line and the second contacts are electrically connected to a second interconnect line, wherein the first interconnect line and the second interconnect line are in different metal levels”. See paragraphs 25-28 and Claim 11 of Chao et al.
With respect to Claim 11, Yang et al discloses the use of aluminum pads. See paragraph 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use aluminum to form the first and second metal pads, as the use of a known material for its known benefit is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claims 12-13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimensions, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimension “wherein each of the array of metal pads has a dimension of equal to or greater than 1 x 1 micron”, as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed dimension “wherein the gap has a width of equal to or less than 0.2 micron”. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
AGG
January 27, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812