DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 3/20/2023. Claims 1-18 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,5-8,10,11,15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuchi et al, (Fukuchi),(USNO.2021/0242689)
As for claim 1, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a driving circuit (via ref’s charge/discharge control circuit) of a switch array (within ref’s output circuit & cell balance circuit) for controlling one of a plurality of battery modules coupled in series, wherein: each battery module comprises a plurality of batteries coupled in series; a) the driving circuit (via ref’s charge/discharge control circuit) is configured to generate corresponding driving signals to b) control corresponding switches in the switch array, such that one battery that is selected to be balanced, is coupled between positive and negative poles of a DC bus voltage; and a reference ground of the driving circuit is configured as the negative pole of the c) DC bus voltage (par.[0011,0017-0019,0031,0040]).
As for claim 5, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 reference ground of the battery module is inconsistent with the negative pole of the DC bus voltage.
As for claim 6, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 of the sub-driving circuits further comprises: a voltage generating unit configured to be controlled by an enable signal to generate a) a driving voltage; and b) a driving control circuit configured to receive the driving voltage to generate the driving control signal
As for claim 7, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 an output terminal of the voltage generating unit is coupled to a first power end of the path switch, and a second power end of the path switch is coupled to an output port of the sub-driving circuit.
As for claim 8, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 path switch is turned on, the driving voltage is transmitted to an output port of the sub-driving circuit through the path switch, in order to charge an internal capacitor (via FET) of the battery switch group or the direction switch coupled with the output port to turn on the battery switch group or the direction switch
As for claim 10, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 voltage generating unit generates the driving voltage when the enable signal is
active, such that the driving control circuit activates driving control signal to control
the path switch to be turned on; and b) the voltage generating unit does not generate the driving voltage when the enable signal is inactive, such that the driving control circuit generates an inactive driving control signal to control the path switch to be turned off.
As for claim 11, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 battery switch groups are configured to selectively couple the batteries in the battery module between a first bus and a second bus, wherein each battery switch group comprises two battery switches to block a bidirectional current when being turned off
As for claim 15, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 each of the battery switch and the direction switch comprises an N-type MOSFET, and the path switch comprises a P-type MOSFET
As for claim 18, Fukuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 control circuit, comprising the driving circuit of claim 1, and further comprising a switching converter configured to receive an input voltage to perform power conversion to generate the DC bus voltage at an output terminal of the switching converter thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuchi in view of Bolz et al, (Bolz), (USNO.2008/0278969).
As for claim 2, Fukuchi discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a switch array comprises (N+1) battery switch groups and four direction switches
Bolz discloses and shows in Fig. 5 the switch array (within DC/AC converter) comprises (N+1) battery switch groups and four direction switches (par.[0051-0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Fukuchi by using a switch array comprises (N+1) battery switch groups and four direction switches for advantages such as providing the ability to restrict the input (par.[0058]) , as taught by Bolz.
As for claim 3, Fukuchi in combination with Bolz disclose a reference ground of each sub-driving circuit is the same as the reference ground of the driving circuit
As for claim 4, Fukuchi in combination with Bolz discloses and shows in Fig. 1 all the sub-driving circuits are integrated in a chip, and the chip comprises N+5 pins, and each pin is coupled between the path switch and the battery switch group or the direction switch
As for claim 13, Fukuchi in combination with Bolz disclose the four direction switches are divided into two groups; a) each group of direction switches comprises two direction switches; b) a first group of direction switches is configured to selectively couple a first bus or c) a second bus to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage; and a second group of direction switches is configured to selectively couple the first bus d) or the second bus to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuchi in view of Bolz and further in view of Kakebayashi et al, (Kakebayashi), (USNO.2010/0141188)
As for claim 9, Fukuchi in combination with Bolz discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a path switch comprises an anti-parallel diode coupled in parallel with the path switch, and when the battery switch group or the direction switch needs to be turned off, an internal capacitor of the battery switch group or the direction switch is discharged through the anti-parallel diode to turn off the battery switch group or the direction switch
Kakebayashi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 a path switch comprises an anti-parallel diode (via ref’s flywheel diode) coupled in parallel with the path switch, and when the battery switch group or the direction switch needs to be turned off, an internal capacitor (via ref’s capacitor coupled in parallel to battery) of the battery switch group or the direction switch is discharged through the anti-parallel diode to turn off the battery switch group or the direction switch (par.[0029])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Fukuchi by using a path switch comprises an anti-parallel diode coupled in parallel with the path switch, and when the battery switch group or the direction switch needs to be turned off, an internal capacitor of the battery switch group or the direction switch is discharged through the anti-parallel diode to turn off the battery switch group or the direction switch for advantages such as providing the ability to prevent excessive current and damage (par.[0028]) , as taught by Kakebayashi.
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuchi in view of Bolz and further in view of Kikuchi et al, (Kikuchi), (USNO.2012/0025769)
As for claim 16 , Fukuchi in view of Bolz discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose an odd-numbered battery in the battery module is selected to be balanced, the a) enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to two battery switch groups coupled with the anode and the cathode of the battery are controlled to be active, such that the anode of the battery is coupled to the first bus, and the cathode the battery is coupled to the second bus; and the enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to the direction switch b) coupled with the first bus in the first group of direction switches and the direction switch coupled with the second bus in the second group of direction switches are controlled to be active, such that the first bus is coupled to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage, and the second bus is coupled to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage.
Kikuchi discloses and shows in Fig. 1 an odd-numbered battery in the battery module is selected to be balanced, the a) enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to two battery switch groups coupled with the anode and the cathode of the battery are controlled to be active, such that the anode of the battery is coupled to the first bus, and the cathode the battery is coupled to the second bus; and the enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to the direction switch b) coupled with the first bus in the first group of direction switches and the direction switch coupled with the second bus in the second group of direction switches are controlled to be active, such that the first bus is coupled to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage, and the second bus is coupled to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage (par.[0322,0345-0348])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the combined teachings of Fukuchi and Bolz by using an odd-numbered battery in the battery module is selected to be balanced, the a) enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to two battery switch groups coupled with the anode and the cathode of the battery are controlled to be active, such that the anode of the battery is coupled to the first bus, and the cathode the battery is coupled to the second bus; and the enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to the direction switch b) coupled with the first bus in the first group of direction switches and the direction switch coupled with the second bus in the second group of direction switches are controlled to be active, such that the first bus is coupled to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage, and the second bus is coupled to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage for advantages such as providing the ability to enhance battery reliability (par.[0013]), as taught by Kikuchi.
As for claim 17, Fukuchi in view of Bolz and Kikuchi discloses and shows an even-numbered battery in the battery module is selected to be balanced, the enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to two battery switch groups coupled with the anode and the cathode of the battery are controlled to be active, such that the anode of the battery is coupled to the second bus, and the cathode of the battery is coupled to the first bus; and the enable signals of the sub-driving circuits corresponding to the direction switch b) coupled to the second bus in the first group of direction switches and the direction switch coupled to the first bus in the second group of direction switches are controlled to be active, such that the second bus is coupled to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage, and the first bus is coupled to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage.
As for claim 12, Fukuchi in view of Bolz and Kikuchi an anode of each odd-numbered battery is coupled to the first bus through a corresponding battery switch group, and a cathode of each odd-numbered battery is coupled to the second bus through a corresponding battery switch group; and b) an anode of each even-numbered battery is coupled to the second bus through a corresponding battery switch group, and a cathode of each even-numbered battery is coupled to the first bus through a corresponding battery switch group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 14: two direction switches in the first group of direction switches have the same two direction switches in the first group of direction switches have the same a)
direction; first power ends of the two direction switches in the first group of direction switches b) are both coupled to the positive pole of the DC bus voltage;
second power ends of the two direction switches in the first group of direction
c) switches are respectively coupled to the first bus and the second bus;
two direction switches in the second group of direction switches have the same
d) direction; first power ends of the two direction switches in the second group of direction e) switches are respectively coupled to the first and second buses; and
f) second power ends of the two direction switches in the second group of direction
switches are both coupled to the negative pole of the DC bus voltage, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859