DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 07/01/2026.
Claims 2 and 10 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-16 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a process weakness acquisition unit, configured to obtain”, “an experimental result acquisition unit, configured to obtain”, “defect analysis unit, configured to obtain”, “a severity analysis unit, configured to analyze”, “a labeling unit, configured to label”, and “a training unit, configured to perform” in claims 9 and 11-16.
Response to Arguments
Previous rejections under 35 USC 101 have been withdrawn in view of amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the inversely proportional relationship has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See rejections in view of Rathsack et al. (US 20090144691 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20180300434 A1) in view of Bankes et al. (US 6389380 B1) and Rathsack et al. (US 20090144691 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Hu teaches a method for establishing a weak pattern severity model, comprising:
obtaining a plurality of weak patterns (e.g. in paragraph 23, “Pattern Centric Process Control extends beyond drift and variance monitoring to include hotspot or weak pattern identification and tracking as well… hotspots and weak patterns”);
performing a plurality of experiments on each of the weak patterns with a plurality of parameter setting values of at least one process parameter to obtain a plurality of experimental results (e.g. in paragraphs 105-106, 130, 134, and 178-179, “the intended pattern is labeled as good, weak, or bad based on the degree of deviation between the intended pattern and the printed instances of the intended pattern… ranking decomposed circuit layout patterns … scoring or ranking intended circuit layout patterns using information from electrical test and failure analysis… patterns in the design layout at the translated coordinates or regions are assigned a value indicating that a defect (electrical or functional defect, in this case) occurred on or near that pattern… a large-scale assessment may be performed of the behavior of these OPC weak patterns in each of the different focus and exposure settings to identify, for example, the best process window for each of these patterns”);
obtaining a plurality of defects according to the experimental results corresponding to the parameter setting values (e.g. in paragraphs 24, 134, and 178 “Pattern Centric Process Control (PCPC) technique described herein may be broad-based, taking into account…Defect Detection and Measurement… patterns in the design layout at the translated coordinates or regions are assigned a value indicating that a defect (electrical or functional defect, in this case) occurred on or near that pattern… a large-scale assessment may be performed of the behavior of these OPC weak patterns in each of the different focus and exposure settings to identify, for example, the best process window for each of these patterns”);
analyzing a severity level of each of the weak patterns according to the defects and the parameter setting values (e.g. in paragraphs 105-106, 134, 178-179, and 188, “a constituent pattern may be assigned a fabrication risk assessment on a low risk, medium risk, or high risk scale… based on the degree of deviation between the intended pattern and the printed instances of the intended pattern… instead of, and/or using low, medium, high risk fabrication risk assessments, the intended pattern is assigned a numeric score on a suitable numeric range… patterns in the design layout at the translated coordinates or regions are assigned a value indicating that a defect (electrical or functional defect, in this case) occurred on or near that pattern… a large-scale assessment may be performed of the behavior of these OPC weak patterns in each of the different focus and exposure settings… when using the 0-100 scale, the likelihood of failure may be determined by dividing the detected number of defects by the total number of instances of the pattern in the layout”);
labeling the severity levels on the weak patterns (e.g.in paragraphs 105-106, 188, and 207, “the intended pattern is labeled as good, weak, or bad based on the degree of deviation between the intended pattern and the printed instances of the intended pattern… instead of, and/or using low, medium, high risk fabrication risk assessments, the intended pattern is assigned a numeric score on a suitable numeric range… when using the 0-100 scale, the likelihood of failure may be determined by dividing the detected number of defects by the total number of instances of the pattern in the layout… intended circuit layout patterns are ranked based on their discrete fabrication risk assessments”);
performing machine learning to train a weak pattern severity model (e.g. in paragraphs 23, 37, 45, 113, 188, and 200-201, “weak pattern… the Analytical and Output Engine 164 also sends pattern ranking information from the Pattern Decomposition and Ranking Database 163 back to the predictive sources 170 in order for the models, algorithms, and other parameters in those sources to be fine-tuned [i.e. train] by taking advantage of continuously up-to-date information in the Pattern Decomposition and Ranking Database… risk assessment predicted through the use of a model built from empirical data for other intended circuit layout patterns is then assigned to the intended circuit layout pattern… the predicting is performed using machine learning”)
predicting a plurality of predicting severity levels of a plurality of found weak patterns of a layout of a semiconductor device via the weak pattern severity model (e.g. in paragraphs 45, 106 110, 178, 188, and 207, “the Analytical and Output Engine 164 also sends pattern ranking information from the Pattern Decomposition and Ranking Database 163 back to the predictive sources 170 in order for the models, algorithms… using low, medium, high risk fabrication risk assessments, the intended pattern is assigned a numeric score on a suitable numeric range… OPC weak patterns… when using the 0-100 scale, the likelihood of failure may be determined by dividing the detected number of defects by the total number of instances of the pattern in the layout… intended circuit layout patterns are ranked based on their discrete fabrication risk assessments… predict degree of weakness”); and
adjusting the found weak patterns of the layout of the semiconductor device according to the predicted severity levels (e.g. in abstract and paragraphs 28 and 151-153, “plurality of intended circuit layout patterns is ranked based on their fabrication risk assessments… At least a portion of ranking information is outputted to facilitate influence or control over the semiconductor fabrication process… these patterns are ranked to determine which ones are most sensitive to failure (i.e., weak patterns or hotspots). Feed-forward applications…may then be more effectively directed to the most suspect patterns… the criticality or risk of fabrication failure of the patterns of a chip's physical layout are assessed… If the issue with the pattern is due to a design marginality, then revisions may need to be made to the design layout patterns that are printed on the reticle (i.e., mask revision), such as changes to OPC decoration or changes to the physical layout itself”),
but does not specifically teach the parameter setting values covering a range from a minimum set value to a maximum set value and wherein the severity levels are inversely to proportional deviation degrees of the parameter setting values.
However, Bankes teaches parameter setting values covering a range from a minimum set value to a maximum set value (e.g. in column 1 lines 43-46, column 2 lines 31-34, column 17 line 60 – column 18 line 2, column 16 lines 16-18, and column 27 lines 23-27, “perform several iterations of an experiment… in order to find the inputs which give the most desirable output… causes a series of experiments to be run wherein a random number is generated for each input (each random number being within the range of possible values for the particular variable… constraints include high (maximum) and low (minimum) values for numerical dimensions”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hu to include the teachings of Bankes because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of determining inputs that give a most desirable output,
but does not specifically teach wherein the severity levels are inversely proportional to deviation degrees of the parameter setting values.
However, Rathsack teaches severity levels being inversely proportional to deviation degrees of parameter setting values (e.g. in paragraphs 88-89 and claim 8, “a first set of calibration data is shown that illustrates a relationship between the hot-spot data and Image Parameter (IP) data. In the illustrated graph, the hot-spot data is shown as the total number of hot-spots [i.e. severity level] and the IP data is shown as low IP values, threshold IP values, and maximum IP values [i.e. deviation degrees of parameter setting values]” for each “hot-spot pattern” and figures 4a and 4d showing inversely proportional; and/or in paragraph 113, “When a first (most accurate) creation threshold limit is met, the hot-spot and/or defect data being examined can be identified as having the highest level of confidence and/or the lowest risk factor associated therewith. When another (less accurate) creation threshold limit is met, the hot-spot and/or defect data being examined can be identified as having a lower level of confidence and/or a higher risk factor associated therewith. When one or more creation threshold limits are not met, the hot-spot and/or defect data being examined can be identified as unverified hot-spot and/or defect data having a low level of confidence and/or a high risk factor associated therewith”, i.e. inversely proportional). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Rathsack because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of accounting for relevant relationships.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the weak patterns are obtained through a design rule checker (e.g. Hu, in paragraph 49, “features of interest thus identified are then subjected to a die-to-database (D2DB) defect detection 193 that checks for the presence of any of a number of defect types such as, but not limited to, full or partial line breaks, full or partial line bridges, line end pullbacks, extra or extraneous pattern, and missing pattern”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the weak patterns are obtained by a predictive classification model (e.g. Hu, in paragraphs 23 and 71-72, “weak pattern identification… various sources of information include predictive sources—such as statistical, computational, simulation, and machine learning [i.e. predictive model] methods… each source of information used to rank or determine fabrication risk assessments [i.e. classification] for the intended circuit layout patterns is associated with a corresponding reliability and a corresponding coverage”).
Claims 9 and 11-12 are device claims corresponding to method claims 1 and 3-4, and are rejected under the same reasons set forth and the combination further teaches units for performing the method (e.g. Hu, in paragraph 50, “one or more processors, as hardware such as programmable logic devices and/or Application Specific Integrated Circuits designed to perform certain functions or a combination thereof”).
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20180300434 A1) in view of Bankes et al. (US 6389380 B1) and Rathsack et al. (US 20090144691 A1) and further in view of Gleason et al. (US 20030228051 A1).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the defects correspond to some of the weak patterns (e.g. Hu, in paragraphs 23 and 188, “weak pattern… number of times a defect was observed, by a given predictive or empirical source, for the pattern”), but does not specifically teach through a quadtree algorithm. However, Gleason teaches defects through a quadtree algorithm (e.g. in paragraph 34, “defect… a quadtree partitioning scheme is used”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Gleason because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of facilitating defect boundary mapping.
Claim 13 is the device claim corresponding to method claim 5 and is rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20180300434 A1) in view of Bankes et al. (US 6389380 B1) and Rathsack et al. (US 20090144691 A1) and further in view of He et al. (US 20160291458 A1).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the at least one process parameter is a lithography exposure (e.g. Hu, in paragraphs 177 and 179, “lithography… exposure”), but does not specifically teach energy. However, He teaches energy (e.g. in paragraphs 37-38, “In the photolithography process, Dose (exposure energy) and Focus error are the two main conditions affecting the lithography process”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of He because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of incorporating relevant parameters.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the at least one process parameter is a lithography exposure (e.g. Hu, in paragraphs 177 and 179, “lithography… exposure”), but does not specifically teach focal length. However, He teaches focal length (e.g. in paragraphs 37-38, “In the photolithography process, Dose (exposure energy) and Focus error are the two main conditions affecting the lithography process… focal length”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of He because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of incorporating relevant parameters.
Claims 14-15 are the device claims corresponding to method claims 6-7 and are rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20180300434 A1) in view of Bankes et al. (US 6389380 B1) and Rathsack et al. (US 20090144691 A1) and further in view of He et al. (US 20160291458 A1) and Firth et al. (US 20030115005 A1).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination further teaches wherein the at least one process parameter is a lithography exposure and an exposure focus (e.g. Hu, in paragraphs 177 and 179, “lithography… focus and exposure”),
but does not specifically teach energy and focal length, and the parameter setting values of the lithography exposure energy and the parameter setting values of the exposure focal length form a parameter variation matrix.
However, He teaches energy and focal length (e.g. in paragraphs 37-38, “In the photolithography process, Dose (exposure energy) and Focus error are the two main conditions affecting the lithography process… focal length”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of He because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of incorporating relevant parameters,
but does not specifically teach the parameter setting values of the lithography exposure energy and the parameter setting values of the exposure focal length form a parameter variation matrix.
However, Firth teaches parameter setting values of exposure and parameter setting values of focus form a parameter variation matrix (e.g. in paragraphs 26 and 38, “other matrices” and variation matrix in Equation 8 including exposure and focus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the combination to include the teachings of Firth because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the benefit of facilitating performing relevant calculations.
Claim 16 is the device claim corresponding to method claim 8 and is rejected under the same reasons set forth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example,
Park et al. (US 20170148689 A1) teaches “a defect test is performed on weak patterns and weak points of the object pattern formed on the wafer” (e.g. in paragraph 61).
/W.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2144 07/25/2026
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144