DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 05/06/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 11-13, 15, 19-20 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/06/2026 regarding claims rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits “Chen does not disclose in the 3D space, preserving the relative positions of the selectable virtual objects 132 and 134.” “"the selectable virtual objects 132, 134" in Chen upon re-projection, are not "a cluster of multiple virtual objects" recited in amended claim 1, which is "display[ed]" "in the second region of the environment according to the mapping, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance while preserving one or more of the spatial relationships indicating the relative positions of the multiple virtual objects."” (Remarks, Page 9)
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Applicant should refer to Fig. 2E, 208 a-e on surface 220 and Fig. 2G, 208 a-e on surface 218 show two different view regions. They concurrently displayed and preserved relative positions between objects. Williams in combine with Chen teaches the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance.
Applicant submits “Page 4 of the Non-Final Office Action also cites another embodiment described in paragraph [0049] of Chen, e.g., "the selected virtual object 208," which "is a condensed email thread." However, in this embodiment, the selected virtual object 208 is a single object and email objects in the condensed email thread are not "concurrently displayed." As such, this embodiment” (Remarks, Page 9-10,)
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Applicant should refer to Fig. 2E, 208 a-e on surface 220 and Fig. 2G, 208 a-e on surface 218 show two different view regions. They concurrently displayed and preserved relative positions between objects.
Applicant submits “these surfaces 220 and 218 are not the original surface 212. Moreover, Chen is silent with respect to the positions of the objects when moving back to the original surface 212.” (Remarks, Page 10.).
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Applicant should refer to Fig. 2E, 208 a-e on surface 220 and Fig. 2G, 208 a-e on surface 218 show two different view regions. Applicant can simply name one of the surfaces the original surface because a user can move the objects around on different surfaces.
In addition, Examiner likes to point out that the moving of one object while preserve the inter-objects distance are well known in Microsoft Windows system with extend dual monitors. It is as simple as select->move, then select all-> drag and drop. Examiner has captured the below screen shot on Windows 11 computer with dual monitors. Examiner also verified the exact same feature in Windows 7 and 10 computers. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are merely described a well-known feature of Microsoft Windows.
Below, one icon is moved to the right, the position relationship is kept when moving the cluster of the icons between the first monitor and the second monitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Pub 2019/0340821) in view of Williams et al. (US Pub 2023/0244354 A1) and Microsoft Windows 7/10.
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising:
at a device including a display, one or more processors, and a non-transitory memory (Fig. 6):
displaying a cluster of multiple virtual objects in a first viewing arrangement having a two-dimensional appearance in a first region of an environment that is bounded, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in a first spatial arrangement in the bounded first region as a cluster with spatial relationships indicating relative positions of the multiple virtual objects in the cluster (Fig. 1, Fig. 2D to 2G, ¶0025, “In the example of FIG. 1, the selectable virtual objects 132, 134 are shown initially projected on a virtual interface 120, which appears floating in space in front of the user 104.” ¶0049, “Responsive to receipt of a data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper selects an expanded presentation format for the re-projection in which the items of the collection are spread out across the designated surface so as to permit a user to individually view, select, manipulate, and otherwise interact with the individual items of the collection of content. If, for example, the selected virtual object 208 is a condensed email thread, the virtual content surface re-mapper may receive a data type identifier “email thread” and a number of emails (e.g., five emails) in the thread. The virtual content surface re-mapper determines that the identifier “email stack” is associated with a rectangular content box for each email and selects a presentation format with five rectangles to be spread out across the designated surface according to an arrangement based on user attributes and/or surface.” Fig. 2E, 208 a-e on surface 220 and Fig. 2G, 208 a-e on surface 218 show two different view regions.);
obtaining a first user input corresponding to a request to change to a second viewing arrangement in a second region of the environment (Fig. 2A to 2G, ¶0024, ¶0026, “the virtual content surface re-mapper 122 performs coordinate remapping of user-selected virtual objects 132, 134 and communicates with the AR/VR application 114 and/or a graphics engine (not shown) to move (re-project) the user-selected virtual objects 132, 134 in three-dimensional coordinate space to place the objects on a user-selected virtual or physical surface that is external to the AR/VR application 114. For example, the user 104 may wish to move selected virtual content items to a different physical or virtual surface where the selected objects can be more easily previewed, reached, or displayed in greater detail (e.g., shown larger, shown to include content initially hidden, re-arranged in a desired way).”); and
in response to the first user input, determining a mapping between the first spatial arrangement and a second spatial arrangement based on the spatial relationships (Fig. 2C to 2G, ¶0027, “The virtual content surface re-mapper 122 is shown to include a surface identifier 124 and a content arranger 128 and projection mapping tool 126. Responsive to the user 104 selection of one or more virtual objects 132, 134 via inputs provided to the UI content interaction tool 116, the surface identifier 124 identifies available surfaces onto which the selected virtual objects 132, 134 may be re-projected.” ¶0043, “At the conclusion of this movement, the selected virtual object 208 (e.g., a collection of content) is projected near to the controller 204, as shown.” ¶0044, “one or more of the identified potential projection surfaces (e.g., the surfaces 218, 220) are virtual surfaces external to the application that generates the virtual interface 212 and its associated virtual objects described with respect to FIGS. 2A-2C.” ¶0046, “the virtual content surface re-mapper determines an arrangement for the selected virtual objects. In various implementations, this determination is based on a variety of inputs including, without limitation, inputs from the application that created the virtual objects (e.g., the email application) and/or other applications. For example, the application that created the virtual objects may provide the virtual content surface re-mapper with information such as the total number of selected virtual content items, shape data or other information for determining a mapping of each of the selected virtual objects in three-dimensional space, and/or the type of data (e.g., whether the selected virtual objects are text files, photos, audio).” ¶0047, “the virtual content surface re-mapper content determines a presentation format for the re-projection of each of the selected virtual objects based on a data type identifier received from the application that owns (generates) the selected virtual objects (e.g., the virtual object 208). For example, the data type identifier may indicate a type of content represented by the virtual object and/or further indicate whether each of the virtual objects include text data, audio data, imagery, etc. Based on the data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper determines a general shape and layout for each individual one of the selected virtual objects on the designated surface 220” ¶0049-0050, ¶0054, ¶0057-0058, ¶0061); and
displaying the cluster of multiple virtual objects in the second region of the environment according to the mapping (Fig.2E and 2G, ¶0033),
wherein the objects in the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in the second viewing arrangement while preserving one or more the spatial relationships indicating the relative positions of the multiple virtual objects (Fig. 2E to Fig. 2G, ¶0058, “selected positions for individual virtual objects 208 a, 208 b, 208 c, 208 d, and 208 e included within the collection represented by the virtual object 208.” ¶0060, “the user has provided input via the controller 204 to select each of the virtual objects 208 a-208 e from the surface 220 (e.g., where 208 a-208 e are subobjects in the collection represented by the virtual object 208 in FIG. 2A, 2B, 2C, and 2E). The system 200 has condensed the virtual objects 208 a-208 e into a stack shown near to the controller 204. Again, the system presents highlights around the identified projection surfaces (e.g., the surfaces 218 and 220). The user tilts the controller 204 to highlight the surface 218 with the virtual projection beam 216 and provides further input to transmit a surface selection instruction selecting the surface 218.” ¶0061, “the system 200 projects the selected virtual objects 208 a, 208 b, 208 c, 208 d, and 208 e according to the determined arrangement onto the surface 218 that the user has selected via the surface selection instruction.” Fig. 2E, 208 a-e on surface 220 and Fig. 2G, 208 a-e on surface 218 show two different view regions.).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance. However, such feature is obvious in augmented reality desktop application.
Williams teaches the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance (Williams, Fig. 9A to Fig. 9E, ¶0128, “The screen 902 also displays 2D elements 904, 906, 908 that are graphics (e.g., object images) for viewing by the user. The screen 902 further displays a cursor 910, which is controllable by the user via a user input device.” ¶0129-0130, “the graphics may be an object 950 that is rendered based on the 3D model. In some embodiments, the object 950 may be a 3D version of the 2D object 906 selected by the user.” ¶0131, “after the 3D model is obtained, the user may position the object 950 (e.g., in one or more directions) and/or rotate the object 950 (e.g., about one or more axes) based on the 3D model. For example, as shown in FIGS. 9C-9D, the user may use the cursor 910 to select the object 950 and move the object 950 to a certain location with respect to the environment as viewed through the screen 902.” ¶0133, “FIG. 9E illustrates an example of a page that includes 2D elements 960, 962. In the illustrated example, the page is a web page, and the 2D elements 960, 962 are content presented in the web page. The 2D elements 960, 962 are associated with respective 3D models, such that a user can retrieve such models by selecting the corresponding 2D elements 960, 962. When one of the 2D elements 960, 962 is selected by the user, the processing unit 130 obtains the corresponding 3D model, and provides graphics based on the 3D model. In some embodiments, the graphics may be a 3D version of the selected 2D element for display by the screen 902. For example, the graphics may be an object rendered based on the 3D model. The processing unit 130 may also receive input from the user indicating a desired position to place the object (the 3D version of the selected 2D element). The desired position may indicate a location with respect to a coordinate system of the screen 902, and/or whether to place the object in front of, or behind, another object (e.g., a virtual object or a real object) as presented through the screen 902.”).
Chen and Williams are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to head-worn image display devices. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with the features of “the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance” as taught by Williams. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to select a 2D element (e.g., an image, a graphic, etc.) displayed in a page to access a 3D model, and the accessed 3D model may then be placed by a user on or near a real-world or virtual object as perceived by the user via the spatial computing environment (Williams, ¶0012).
In addition, Microsoft Windows also discloses displaying a cluster of multiple virtual objects in a first viewing arrangement having a two-dimensional appearance in a first region of an environment that is bounded (Windows icons are in a window), wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in a first spatial arrangement in the bounded first region as a cluster with spatial relationships indicating relative positions of the multiple virtual objects in the cluster (each icon in a window is spatial apart); obtaining a first user input corresponding to a request to change to a second viewing arrangement in a second region of the environment (a user selects a few icons and moves to a different location.); and in response to the first user input, determining a mapping between the first spatial arrangement and a second spatial arrangement based on the spatial relationships (the icons are moved to a second location without change of spatial arrangement). and displaying the cluster of multiple virtual objects in the second viewing arrangement in the second region of the environment according to the mapping (same spatial arrangement in the second location), wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed as the cluster in the second viewing arrangement
Examiner has captured the drag and drop operation on Windows 11 computer with dual monitors. Examiner also verified the exact same feature in Windows 7 and 10 computers.
Once one icon is moved to the right, the system can keep the position relationship when moving the cluster of the icons between the first monitor and the second monitor.
The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first viewing arrangement comprises a bounded viewing arrangement (Chen, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A)
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first region of the environment comprises a first two-dimensional virtual surface enclosed by a boundary (Chen, Fig. 1, Fig. 2A).
As to claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first region of the environment further comprises a second two-dimensional virtual surface substantially parallel to the first two- dimensional virtual surface (Chen, Fig. 2A, item 210, 212 and 222 are substantially parallel. Also see Fig.2B, item 210, 208, 212.).
As to claim 5, claim 4 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses displaying the multiple virtual objects on at least one of the first two-dimensional virtual surface or the second two- dimensional virtual surface (Chen, Fig. 2A, item 210, 212 and 222 are substantially parallel. Also see Fig.2B, item 210, 208, 212.).
As to claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the multiple virtual objects correspond to content items having a first characteristic (Chen, ¶0037, “A column 214 of rectangular virtual objects 206, 208 includes condensed information (e.g., subject line, sender, timestamp information) for each of several emails in a mailbox currently-selected from the navigation pane.”).
As to claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the multiple virtual objects comprises: a first subset of virtual objects corresponding to content items having a first characteristic; and a second subset of virtual objects corresponding to content items having a second characteristic different from the first characteristic (Chen, ¶0047, “the virtual content surface re-mapper content determines a presentation format for the re-projection of each of the selected virtual objects based on a data type identifier received from the application that owns (generates) the selected virtual objects (e.g., the virtual object 208). For example, the data type identifier may indicate a type of content represented by the virtual object and/or further indicate whether each of the virtual objects include text data, audio data, imagery, etc. Based on the data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper determines a general shape and layout for each individual one of the selected virtual objects on the designated surface 220. For example, a text file data type identifier may be pre-associated with a first defined object shape for the re-projection, while an image file may be pre-associated with a second defined object shape for the re-projection.”).
As to claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses displaying the first subset of virtual objects in a first area of the first region; and displaying the second subset of virtual objects in a second area of the first region (Chen, ¶0046, “the application that created the virtual objects may provide the virtual content surface re-mapper with information such as the total number of selected virtual content items, shape data or other information for determining a mapping of each of the selected virtual objects in three-dimensional space, and/or the type of data (e.g., whether the selected virtual objects are text files, photos, audio).” ¶0047, “the virtual content surface re-mapper content determines a presentation format for the re-projection of each of the selected virtual objects based on a data type identifier received from the application that owns (generates) the selected virtual objects (e.g., the virtual object 208). For example, the data type identifier may indicate a type of content represented by the virtual object and/or further indicate whether each of the virtual objects include text data, audio data, imagery, etc. Based on the data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper determines a general shape and layout for each individual one of the selected virtual objects on the designated surface 220. For example, a text file data type identifier may be pre-associated with a first defined object shape for the re-projection, while an image file may be pre-associated with a second defined object shape for the re-projection.” ¶0049-0050).
As to claim 9, claim 7 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first characteristic is a first media type; and the second characteristic is a second media type different from the first media type (Chen, ¶0047, “the virtual content surface re-mapper content determines a presentation format for the re-projection of each of the selected virtual objects based on a data type identifier received from the application that owns (generates) the selected virtual objects (e.g., the virtual object 208). For example, the data type identifier may indicate a type of content represented by the virtual object and/or further indicate whether each of the virtual objects include text data, audio data, imagery, etc. Based on the data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper determines a general shape and layout for each individual one of the selected virtual objects on the designated surface 220. For example, a text file data type identifier may be pre-associated with a first defined object shape for the re-projection, while an image file may be pre-associated with a second defined object shape for the re-projection.” ¶0049-0050).
As to claim 10, claim 7 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first characteristic is an association with a first application; and the second characteristic is an association with a second application different from the first application (Chen, ¶0046, “the virtual content surface re-mapper determines an arrangement for the selected virtual objects. In various implementations, this determination is based on a variety of inputs including, without limitation, inputs from the application that created the virtual objects (e.g., the email application) and/or other applications.”¶0048, ¶0049, “the virtual surface content re-mapper receives a data type identifier indicating that a selected virtual object includes a collection of content (e.g., that the selected virtual object 208 is a directory icon representing multiple files, a photo album including multiple photos, a playlist of audio or video data, an email thread, news stack, etc.) and also indicating the type of content in the collection. Responsive to receipt of a data type identifier, the virtual content surface re-mapper selects an expanded presentation format for the re-projection in which the items of the collection are spread out across the designated surface so as to permit a user to individually view, select, manipulate, and otherwise interact with the individual items of the collection of content.”).
As to claim 11, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first user input comprises a gesture input (Chen, ¶0024, “the UI content interaction tool 116 receives imagery from a camera and uses gesture-recognition software to decipher hand gestures signifying user interactions with various virtual objects, such as gestures signifying touching, tapping, pinching, and dragging to select one or more of the virtual objects 132, 134.”).
As to claim 12, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the first user input comprises an audio input (Chen, ¶0024, “the UI content interaction tool 116 may detect user inputs from one or more cameras, depth sensors, microphones, or heat sensors mounted on or otherwise in communication with the processing device 102.” ¶0077, “Applications 612 may receive input from various input devices such as a microphone 634” ¶0078, “an audio interface (e.g., the microphone 634, an audio amplifier and speaker and/or audio jack)” user input from microphones suggests an audio input.).
As to claim 13, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses receiving the first user input from a user input device (Chen, ¶0002, ¶0024).
As to claim 14, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses obtaining a confirmation input before determining the mapping between the first spatial arrangement and the second spatial arrangement (Chen, ¶0003, “present a surface selection prompt to a user. Responsive to receipt of a surface selection instruction received in response to the surface selection prompt, the virtual content surface re-mapper projects the one or more selected virtual objects onto a plane corresponding to a surface designated by the surface selection instruction.” ¶0030, “In some implementations, the surface identifier 124 presents a prompt that enables the user 104 to view the identified potential projection surface(s) recognized by the surface identifier 124 and/or selects a designated surface from the collection of identified potential projection surface(s).” ¶0073, ¶0082).
As to claim 15, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the cluster of multiple virtual objects includes a first object displayed at a first location in the first region and a second object displayed at a second location in the first region, and the method further includes: moving the first object in the second viewing arrangement without moving the second object in the second viewing arrangement; and in response to a second user input, returning from the second viewing arrangement to the first viewing arrangement, including displaying the first object in the cluster at a different location from the first location in the first region while displaying the second object at the second location in the first region (Chen, ¶0020, “selectively move virtual objects between different surfaces (such as virtual surfaces or real-world surfaces). With this functionality, a user can self-create multiple different virtual workspaces in a room and place content on each different workspace to view in isolation of other projected virtual content. This control over the selection of surfaces to receive projected content facilitates a more natural emotional connection to virtual content by allowing virtual objects to behave in a realistic way with other virtual objects and/or real-world surroundings. For example, a user may select a collection of documents (e.g., photos) from a virtual interface and spread those documents out across a real-world table or virtual surface external to the application to view them as if they were indeed actual physical documents.” Fig. 2E to Fig. 2G, object 208s can be moved between surface 220 and 218. See ¶0058-0061.). Examiner likes to point out that the moving of one object while preserve the inter-objects distance are well known in Microsoft Windows system with extend dual monitors (OFFICAL NOTICE). Examiner has captured the drag and drop operation on Windows 11 computer with dual monitors. Examiner also verified the exact same feature in Windows 7 and 10 computers.
Once one icon is moved to the right, the system can keep the position relationship when moving the cluster of the icons between the first monitor and the second monitor.
As to claim 16, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the second region of the environment is associated with a physical element in the environment (Chen, ¶0020, “a user may select a collection of documents (e.g., photos) from a virtual interface and spread those documents out across a real-world table or virtual surface external to the application to view them as if they were indeed actual physical documents.”).
As to claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses the second region of the environment is associated with a surface of the physical element in the environment (Chen, ¶0044, “one or more of the potential projection surfaces (e.g., the surfaces 218, 220) are real-world surfaces visible through projection optics of the system 200. For example, the surface 218 may be the user's coffee table or kitchen table and the surface 220 may be the user's wall, refrigerator, etc.”).
As to claim 18, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Chen and Williams discloses determining a display size of a virtual object as a function of a size of the physical element (Chen, ¶0051, “determine information, such as physical attributes of the user and/or physical attributes of the selected surface (if the selected surface is a physical surface) including without limitation size, user height, user and surface location (e.g., separation of the surface and the user relative to one another), surface orientation, etc.”. ¶0054, “the virtual content surface re-mapper selects positions for the virtual objects based on the orientation (e.g., vertical or horizonal) of the designated surface 220 and/or a size or aspect ratio of the designated surface 220.”. ¶0056, “the selected virtual objects are photographs, the virtual surface content re-mapper may select a realistic size for presenting each photograph (e.g., 3×4 inches or 5×7 inches). Alternatively, the virtual surface content re-mapper may select a size for presenting each photograph that appears realistic relative to the size of the designated surface and/or the user. For example, the re-projected virtual content items may appear to have a size relative to the selected surface that is similar to a ratio of the corresponding real-world object and surface size.” ¶0065).
As to claim 19, the combination of Chen and Williams discloses a device comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory memory; and one or more programs stored in the non-transitory memory, which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: display a cluster of multiple virtual objects in a first viewing arrangement having two-dimensional appearance in a first region of an environment that is bounded, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in a first spatial arrangement in the bounded first region with spatial relationships indicating relative positions of the multiple virtual objects in the cluster; obtain a first user input corresponding to a request to change to a second viewing arrangement in a second region of the environment; and in response to the first user input, determine a mapping between the first spatial arrangement and a second spatial arrangement based on the spatial relationships; and display the cluster of multiple virtual objects in the second region of the environment according to the mapping, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed as in the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance as the cluster while preserving one or more of the spatial relationships indicating the relative positions of the multiple virtual objects (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 20, the combination of Chen and Williams discloses a non-transitory memory storing one or more programs, which, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to: display a cluster of multiple virtual objects in a first viewing arrangement having a two- dimensional appearance in a first region of an environment that is bounded, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in a first spatial arrangement in the bounded first region with spatial relationships indicating relative positions of the multiple virtual objects in the cluster; obtain a first user input corresponding to a request to change to a second viewing arrangement in a second region of the environment; and in response to the first user input, determine a mapping between the first spatial arrangement and a second spatial arrangement based on the spatial relationships and display the cluster of multiple virtual objects in the second region of the environment according to the mapping, wherein the multiple virtual objects are arranged and concurrently displayed in the second viewing arrangement having a three-dimensional appearance while preserving one or more of the spatial relationships indicating the relative positions of the multiple virtual objects. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613