DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17, Species V, Fig. 6E, claims 1-5 & 10-17 in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 & 10-17 are being examined in this Office Action. Claims 6-9 & 18-20 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Applicant is suggested/reminded to disclose relevant prior art(s) or other information that may be material to the patentability of the invention in a pending application. The prior art information must be submitted in the form of an Information Disclosure Statement (“IDS”) (see MPEP 609 & 2001 and 37 CFR 1.56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2005/0258336).
Re claim 1, Chen teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, [0021, 0030], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (2);
-a second die (1) coupled to the first die (2), wherein the second die (1) comprises a keep out zone (e.g., sensing area 20 or around surface 12) that at least partially overlaps the first die (2); and
-an underfill (gum material 23) between the first die (2) and the second die (1), wherein the underfill (23) is entirely outside the keep out zone (20), and wherein an edge of the underfill (23) facing the keep out zone (20) is non-vertical (e.g., curve side of 23 contacting with 122, Fig. 1).
Re claim 2, Chen teaches, Fig. 1, barrier (122) contacting the underfill (23), wherein the edge of the underfill (23) facing the keep out zone (20) is in direct contact with the barrier (122).
Re claims 4 & 5, Chen teaches, Fig. 2, wherein the barrier (122) is a ring shaped feature; wherein the ring shaped feature surrounds the keep out zone (20).
Re claim 13, Chen teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-2, [0021, 0030], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (2);
-a second die (1) coupled to the first die (2); and
-an underfill (gum material 23) between the first die (2) and the second die (1), wherein an edge of the underfill (23) within a footprint of the first die (2) and the second die (1) is non-vertical (e.g., curve side of 23 contacting with 122, Fig. 1).
Re claim 14, Chen teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the non-vertical edge is oriented to form an undercut (formed at contact between 23 & surface of 2).
Re claim 15, Chen teaches, Fig. 1, a barrier (122) adjacent to and contacting the edge of the underfill (23).
Re claim 17, Chen teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the edge of the underfill (23) faces a keep out zone (around 20).
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pelletier et al. (US 2019/0067037).
Re claim 1, Pelletier teaches, under BRI, Figs. 3A-C, 6A & 6B, [0032], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (200);
-a second die (100) coupled to the first die (200), wherein the second die (100) comprises a keep out zone (e.g., around area of 102) that at least partially overlaps the first die (200); and
-an underfill (150) between the first die (200) and the second die (100), wherein the underfill (150) is entirely outside the keep out zone (around 102), and wherein an edge of the underfill (150) facing the keep out zone (around 102) is non-vertical (e.g., curve surface of 150).
Re claim 2, Pelletier teaches, Fig. 3A, a barrier (154) contacting the underfill (150), wherein the edge of the underfill (150) facing the keep out zone (around 102) is in direct contact with the barrier (154).
Re claims 4 & 5, Pelletier teaches, Figs. 4B, 7A & 7B, wherein the barrier (154) is a ring shaped feature; wherein the ring shaped feature surrounds the keep out zone (around 102).
Re claim 13, Pelletier teaches, under BRI, Figs. 3A-C, 6A & 6B, [0032], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (200);
-a second die (100) coupled to the first die (200); and
-an underfill (150) between the first die (200) and the second die (100), wherein an edge of the underfill (150) within a footprint of the first die (200) and the second die (100) is non-vertical (e.g., curve surface of 150).
Re claim 14, Pelletier teaches, Fig. 3C, wherein the non-vertical edge (of 150) is oriented to form an undercut (consider without 154) (see also Fig. 6A).
Re claim 15, Pelletier teaches, Fig. 3A, a barrier (154) adjacent to and contacting the edge of the underfill (150).
Re claim 17, Pelletier teaches, Fig. 3A, wherein the edge of the underfill (150) faces a keep out zone (around 102).
5. Claims 1, 2, 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0238505, “Chen05”).
Re claim 1, Chen05 teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1H-1J, [0029-00331], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (300);
-a second die (consider 710A-B) coupled to the first die (300), wherein the second die (710A-B) comprises a keep out zone (e.g., in hole H, Fig. 1H) that at least partially overlaps the first die (300); and
-an underfill (800) between the first die (300) and the second die (710A-B), wherein the underfill (800) is entirely outside the keep out zone (in hole H), and wherein an edge of the underfill (800) facing the keep out zone (in hole H) is non-vertical (e.g., slant surface of 800, Fig. 1H).
Re claim 2, Chen05 teaches, Fig. 1J, [0037], a barrier (910) contacting the underfill (800), wherein the edge of the underfill facing the keep out zone (in hole H) is in direct contact with the barrier (910).
Re claim 13, Chen05 teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1H-J, [0029-0031], a multi-die module, comprising:
-a first die (300);
-a second die (consider 710A-B) coupled to the first die (300); and
-an underfill (800) between the first die (300) and the second die (710A-B), wherein an edge of the underfill (800) within a footprint of the first die (300) and the second die (710A-B) is non-vertical (e.g., slant surface of 800, Fig. 1H).
Re claim 15, Chen05 teaches, Fig. 1J, [0037], a barrier (910) adjacent to and contacting the edge of the underfill (800).
Re claim 17, Chen05 teaches, Fig. 1H, wherein the edge of the underfill (800) faces a keep out zone (in hole H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kumai et al. (JP 2003-246828 A, English translation attached).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 3, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the barrier comprises silicone.
Kumai teaches the barrier (45) comprises silicone (page 21, 1st par.).
As taught by Kumai, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the barrier comprising silicone as claimed, because silicone is known in the art for its flexibility & releasability. it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kumai in combination Chen due to above reason.
7. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yim et al. (US 2010/0078791).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claim 10, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the barrier has a width that is approximately 100 um or greater.
Yim teaches, Fig. 1A, the barrier (dam 280) has a width that is approximately 100 um or greater (e.g., 50-100 um, [0013]).
As taught by Yim, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the barrier having a width that is approximately 100 um or greater as claimed, because it aids in preventing the underfill from bleeding towards the pads. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Alter, 105 USPQ 233.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Yim in combination Chen due to above reason.
8. Claims 11, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Na et al. (US 2013/0279844).
The teachings of Chen have been discussed above.
Re claims 11 & 16, Chen teaches wherein the first die (chip 2) [0030] is an electrical integrated circuit (EIC).
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the second die is a photonics integrated circuit (PIC).
Na teaches, Fig. 1, the second die (105) is a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) [0021].
As taught by Na, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & utilize the above teaching into Chen to obtain the second die is a photonics integrated circuit (PIC) as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired PIC chips in a package having improved coupling efficiency & high emission efficiency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Na in combination Chen due to above reason.
Re claim 12, in combination cited above, Na teaches, Fig. 2, [0020], wherein a laser (115 including a laser) is provided in the keep out zone (e.g., around 115).
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 7/16/26