DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 1/7/2026. Claims 1-5, 8-12 & 14-20 are pending in this application. Claims 6, 7 & 13 are canceled. Claims 17-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-5, 8-12 & 14-16 are examined in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5, 9-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2010/0025700) in view of Ng et al. (US 2012/0162979) and Park et al. (US 2016/0133799).
Re claim 1, Jung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-4, [0034, 0035, 0037, 0044, 0047, 0054, 0057], a light emitting device comprising:
-a housing (130) including a plurality of walls (of 131) defining a cavity (131) having one side (top) thereof opened;
-a light emitter (112, 122’) disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band (blue LED 112), the light emitter including a first light emitting chip (122’) and a second light emitting chip (112) spaced apart from each other;
-a reflective region (reflective surfaces [0044]) disposed in the housing (130) and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter (112, 122’); and
-a wavelength conversion layer (114, 124’) disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter (114) and a second wavelength converter (124’) configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other (yellow vs red, [0057]),
wherein the first wavelength converter (114) has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation [0037] and the second wavelength converter (124’) has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter (124’) exhibits efficient excitation [0047], wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is different (red or UV) from the first excitation peak wavelength [0057],
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor (yellow phosphor 114),
wherein the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor (red phosphor 124’) [0057], and
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength conversion (114) contacts (via 130 or 140) the second wavelength converter (124’).
Jung teaches various locations of first/second wavelength converters (Figs. 1-4), but does not explicitly teach at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view.
Ng teaches, Fig. 5, abstract, [0029, 0031], at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter (541) directs contacts the second wavelength converter (542) and a region of the second wavelength converter (542) covers the region of the first wavelength converter (541) in plan view.
As taught by Ng, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired visible white light (abstract). Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ng in combination with Jung due to above reason.
Jung/Ng does not explicitly teach wherein the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge, and wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm.
Park teaches, abstract & [0096], teach wherein the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn (e.g., Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs), and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge (e.g., Si, Ti, Zr, Hf, Ge, Sn), and wherein the second excitation peak wavelength (fluoride phosphor) is between 440 nm and 470 nm (e.g., 420nm - 470 nm).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, and the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm as claimed, because it aids in achieving light emitting device having improved optical characteristics and reliability [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Jung/Ng due to above reason.
Re claim 2, Jung the first excitation peak wavelength (yellow) is less than the second excitation peak wavelength (red).
Re claim 3, in combination cited above, Park teaches the second excitation peak wavelength is about 450 nm [0096].
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Park teaches, Fig. 12, [0108], the first wavelength converter (150c) is configured to convert a primary light emitted from the light emitter (130) to a secondary light having a peak wavelength in a green wavelength band (based on green phosphor 156).
Re claim 5, Jung teaches the second wavelength converter (124’) is configured to convert a primary light (UV) emitted from the light emitter to a third light having a peak wavelength in a red wavelength band (red phosphor 124') [0057].
Re claim 9, Jung teaches, Fig. 4, [0057], light emitted from the light emitting device is a combination of light emitted from the first and second light emitting chips (112, 122’), light emitted from the first wavelength converter (114), and light emitted from the second wavelength converter (124’).
Re claim 10, in combination cited above, Jung/Ng/Park teaches the light emitted from the light emitting device has a color coordinate that is disposed in a triangle represented by R(x 0.677, y 0.3), G(x 0.151, y 0.737), and B(x 0.154, y 0.047) in the CIE xy coordinate system (e.g., based on similar teaching, the prior arts suggest all the structural limitations of the claim, the claimed property and/or functional limitation are presumed inherent per MPEP 2112 and/or 2114).
Re claim 11 & 16, Jung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-4, [0034, 0035, 0037, 0044, 0047, 0054, 0057], a light emitting device comprising:
-a housing (130) including a plurality of walls (of 131) defining a cavity (131) having one side (top) thereof opened;
-a light emitter (112, 122’) disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band (blue 112);
-a reflective region (reflective surfaces [0044]) disposed in the housing (130) and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter (112, 122’); and
-a wavelength conversion layer (114, 140, 124’) disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter (114) and a second wavelength converter (124’ or 140/124’) configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other (red vs yellow, [0057]),
wherein the first wavelength converter (114) has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter (114) exhibits efficient excitation [0037] and the second wavelength converter (124’) has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter (124’) exhibits efficient excitation [0047], where the second excitation peak wavelength different from the first excitation peak wavelength [0057],
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor (114) and the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor (124’) [0057],
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength converter (114) contacts (via 130 or 140) the second wavelength converter (124’), and
wherein the light emitting device is configured to emit light having a color coordinate that is disposed in a triangle represented by R(x 0.677, y 0.3), G(x 0.151, y 0.737) and B(x 0.154, y 0.047) in the CIE xy coordinate system (e.g., based on similar teaching, the prior art suggests all the structural limitations of the claim, the claimed property and/or functional limitation are presumed inherent per MPEP 2112 and/or 2114).
Jung teaches various locations of first/second wavelength converters (Figs. 1-4), but does not explicitly teach at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view.
Ng teaches, Fig. 5, abstract, [0029, 0031], at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter (541) directs contacts the second wavelength converter (542) and a region of the second wavelength converter (542) covers the region of the first wavelength converter (541) in plan view.
As taught by Ng, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view as claimed, because it aids in achieving a desired visible white light (abstract). Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ng in combination with Jung due to above reason.
Jung/Ng does not explicitly teach wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm, and wherein the second wavelength converter comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge.
Park teaches, abstract & [0096], teach wherein the second excitation peak wavelength (fluoride phosphor) is between 440 nm and 470 nm (e.g., 420 nm – 470 nm), and wherein the second wavelength converter comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn (e.g., Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs), and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge (e.g., Si, Ti, Zr, Hf, Ge, Sn).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm and the second wavelength converter comprising a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+ as claimed, because it aids in achieving light emitting device having improved optical characteristics and reliability [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Jung/Ng due to above reason.
Re claim 12, Jung teaches, Fig. 4, the second wavelength converter (124’ or 140, 124’) is disposed on the light emitter, and the first excitation peak wavelength (yellow) is less than the second excitation peak wavelength (red).
Re claim 14, Jung teaches the second wavelength converter (140, 124’) has a region (at 124’) directly contacting the light emitter (112,122’) (Fig. 4).
Re claim 15, Jung teaches, Fig. 4, [0057], light emitted from the light emitting device is a combination of light emitted from the first and second light emitting chips (112, 122’), light emitted from the first wavelength converter (114), and light emitted from the second wavelength converter (124’).
4. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as modified by Ng/Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tasaki et al. (US 2015/0361270 A1).
The teachings of Jung/Ng/Park have been discussed above.
Re claim 8, Jung/Ng/Park does not teach the housing has a white color and comprises an opaque silicone resin including a mixture of phenyl silicone resin and a methyl silicon resin.
Tasaki discloses a white reflective film (abstract) which has a white color and comprises an opaque silicone resin including a mixture of a phenyl silicone resin and a methyl silicone resin [0123-0127].
As taught by Tasaki, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the housing has a white color and comprises an opaque silicone resin including a mixture of phenyl silicone resin and a methyl silicon resin as claimed, because it aids in achieving a white reflective film having excellent hardness and reflectance, the reflectance not being likely to lower with time.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Tasaki in combination with Jung/Ng/Park due to above reason.
5. Claims 1, 11 and 16 are, alternatively, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2010/0025700) in view of Masuda et al. (US 2007/0052342) and Park et al. (US 2016/0133799).
Re claim 1, Jung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-4, [0034, 0035, 0037, 0044, 0047, 0054, 0057], a light emitting device comprising:
-a housing (130) including a plurality of walls (of 131) defining a cavity (131) having one side (top) thereof opened;
-a light emitter (112, 122’) disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band (blue LED 112), the light emitter including a first light emitting chip (122’) and a second light emitting chip (112) spaced apart from each other;
-a reflective region (reflective surfaces [0044]) disposed in the housing (130) and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter (112, 122’); and
-a wavelength conversion layer (114, 124’) disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter (114) and a second wavelength converter (124’) configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other (yellow vs red, [0057]),
wherein the first wavelength converter (114) has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation [0037] and the second wavelength converter (124’) has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter (124’) exhibits efficient excitation [0047], wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is different (red or UV) from the first excitation peak wavelength [0057],
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor (yellow phosphor 114),
wherein the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor (red phosphor 124’) [0057], and
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength conversion (114) contacts (via 130 or 140) the second wavelength converter (124’).
Jung teaches various locations of first/second wavelength converters (Figs. 1-4), but does not explicitly teach at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view.
Masuda teaches, Fig. 3, [0095], at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter (upper conversion portion includes 22) directs contacts the second wavelength converter (lower conversion portion includes 21) and a region of the second wavelength converter (upper conversion) covers the region of the first wavelength converter (lower conversion) in plan view.
As taught by Masuda, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first/second wavelength converters as claimed, because it aids in achieving high efficiency and high color rendering property [0016]. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Masuda in combination with Jung due to above reason.
Jung/Masuda does not explicitly teach wherein the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge, and wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm.
Park teaches, abstract & [0096], teach wherein the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn (e.g., Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs), and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge (e.g., Si, Ti, Zr, Hf, Ge, Sn), and wherein the second excitation peak wavelength (fluoride phosphor) is between 440 nm and 470 nm (e.g., 420nm - 470 nm).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, and the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm as claimed, because it aids in achieving light emitting device having improved optical characteristics and reliability [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Jung/Masuda due to above reason.
Re claim 11 & 16, Jung teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-4, [0034, 0035, 0037, 0044, 0047, 0054, 0057], a light emitting device comprising:
-a housing (130) including a plurality of walls (of 131) defining a cavity (131) having one side (top) thereof opened;
-a light emitter (112, 122’) disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band (blue 112);
-a reflective region (reflective surfaces [0044]) disposed in the housing (130) and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter (112, 122’); and
-a wavelength conversion layer (114, 140, 124’) disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter (114) and a second wavelength converter (124’ or 140/124’) configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other (red vs yellow, [0057]),
wherein the first wavelength converter (114) has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter (114) exhibits efficient excitation [0037] and the second wavelength converter (124’) has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter (124’) exhibits efficient excitation [0047], where the second excitation peak wavelength different from the first excitation peak wavelength [0057],
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor (114) and the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor (124’) [0057],
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength converter (114) contacts (via 130 or 140) the second wavelength converter (124’), and
wherein the light emitting device is configured to emit light having a color coordinate that is disposed in a triangle represented by R(x 0.677, y 0.3), G(x 0.151, y 0.737) and B(x 0.154, y 0.047) in the CIE xy coordinate system (e.g., based on similar teaching, the prior art suggests all the structural limitations of the claim, the claimed property and/or functional limitation are presumed inherent per MPEP 2112 and/or 2114).
Jung teaches various locations of first/second wavelength converters (Figs. 1-4), but does not explicitly teach at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter directs contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in plan view.
Masuda teaches, Fig. 3, [0095], at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter (upper conversion portion includes 22) directs contacts the second wavelength converter (lower conversion portion includes 21) and a region of the second wavelength converter (upper conversion) covers the region of the first wavelength converter (lower conversion) in plan view.
As taught by Masuda, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain first/second wavelength converters as claimed, because it aids in achieving high efficiency and high color rendering property [0016]. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Masuda in combination with Jung due to above reason.
Jung/Masuda does not explicitly teach wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm, and wherein the second wavelength converter comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge.
Park teaches, abstract & [0096], teach wherein the second excitation peak wavelength (fluoride phosphor) is between 440 nm and 470 nm (e.g., 420 nm – 470 nm), and wherein the second wavelength converter comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn (e.g., Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs), and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge (e.g., Si, Ti, Zr, Hf, Ge, Sn).
As taught by Park, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm and the second wavelength converter comprising a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+ as claimed, because it aids in achieving light emitting device having improved optical characteristics and reliability [0005].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Park in combination with Jung/Masuda due to above reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-12 & 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,611,020 in view of Park et al. (US 2016/0133799). Because the current claims and claims of Patent No., both claim same/similar limitations such as housing with cavity, light emitter (light emitting part) in the cavity including first/second emitting chips, reflective region in the housing, wavelength conversion layer (wavelength converter) including first wavelength convert (first phosphor layer), second wavelength converter (second phosphor layer), fluoride-based red phosphor, and first/second wavelength converters, second wavelength converter covers (disposed on) first wavelength converter, etc. Park teaches direct contact between first/second wavelength converters, excitation efficiency in a wavelength between 420 nm to 470 nm [0096] & fluoride based red phosphor (abstract, Fig. 5).
Current Application
1. A light emitting device comprising:
a housing including a plurality of walls defining a cavity having one side thereof opened;
a light emitter disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band, the light emitter including a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip spaced apart from each other;
a reflective region disposed in the housing and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter; and
a wavelength conversion layer disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter and a second wavelength converter configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other,
wherein the first wavelength converter has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation and the second wavelength converter has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation, wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is different from the first excitation peak wavelength,
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor, wherein the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor that is a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge,
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength converter directly contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in a plane view, and
wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm.
11. A light emitting device comprising:
a housing including a plurality of walls defining a cavity having one side thereof opened;
a light emitter disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band;
a reflective region disposed in the housing and configured to reflect light emitted from the light emitter; and
a wavelength conversion layer disposed on the light emitter and including a first wavelength converter and a second wavelength converter configured to emit light having different peak wavelengths from each other,
wherein the first wavelength converter has a first excitation peak wavelength at which the first wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation and the second wavelength converter has a second excitation peak wavelength at which the second wavelength converter exhibits efficient excitation, wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is different from the first excitation peak wavelength,
wherein the first wavelength converter includes a first phosphor and the second wavelength converter includes a second phosphor,
wherein at least a region of the first wavelength converter directly contacts the second wavelength converter and a region of the second wavelength converter covers the region of the first wavelength converter in a plan view,
wherein the light emitting device is configured to emit light having a color coordinate that is disposed in a triangle represented by R(x 0.677, y 0.3), G(x 0.151, y 0.737) and B(x 0.154, y 0.047) in the CIE xy coordinate system, and
wherein the second excitation peak wavelength is between 440 nm and 470 nm.
6. The light emitting device of claim 11, wherein the second wavelength converter comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge.
11,611,020
1. A light emitting element comprising:
a housing including a plurality of walls defining a cavity having one side thereof opened;
a light emitting part disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band, the light emitting part including a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip spaced apart from each other; and a wavelength converter disposed on the light emitting part and including a first phosphor layer having a first thickness and a second phosphor layer having a second thickness greater than the first thickness and directly contacting the first phosphor layer, the first phosphor layer includes a first phosphor mixed in the first phosphor layer and is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a green wavelength band, and the second phosphor layer includes a second phosphor and is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a red wavelength band, wherein the first thickness and the second thickness are each measured from a top surface of the light emitting part in a direction normal to the top surface of the light emitting part, and wherein the second phosphor comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge.
6. The light emitting element comprising of claim 1, wherein the second phosphor layer is disposed on the first phosphor layer.
8. A light emitting element comprising:
a housing including a plurality of walls defining a cavity having one side thereof opened; a light emitting part disposed in the cavity and configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a blue wavelength band, the light emitting part including a first light emitting diode chip and a second light emitting diode chip spaced apart from each other; a lead portion formed in the housing and configured to supply external electric power to the light emitting part; and a wavelength converter disposed on the light emitting part and including a first phosphor layer having a first thickness and a second phosphor layer having a second thickness greater than the first thickness and directly contacting each other, the first phosphor layer includes a first phosphor mixed in the first phosphor layer and is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a green wavelength band, and the second phosphor layer includes a second phosphor and is configured to emit light having a peak wavelength in a red wavelength band, wherein: the first thickness and the second thickness are each measured from a top surface of the light emitting part in a direction normal to the top surface of the light emitting part; the second phosphor comprises a fluoride-based red phosphor; and at least one of the plurality of walls extends vertically with respect to a bottom surface of the housing.
13. The light emitting element comprising of claim 8, wherein the second phosphor layer is disposed on the first phosphor layer.
9. The light emitting element comprising of claim 8, wherein the fluoride-based red phosphor is represented by A2MF6:Mn4+, wherein A is one of Li, Na, K, Ba, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Se, and Zn, and M is one of Ti, Si, Zr, Sn, and Ge.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims are amended with newly added features, interpretation and rejection under Jung, Ng & Park are also changed to meet the currently amended claims. As discussed above, Ng teaches, Fig. 5, at least the at least a region of the first wavelength converter (541) directs contacts the second wavelength converter (542) and a region of the second wavelength converter (542) covers the region of the first wavelength converter (541) in plan view. Similar to Jung, Park teaches various positions of first/second wavelength converting materials over LEDs (Figs. 5, 7-9). Jung, Ng & Park all teach LED structure having wavelength conversions, hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the teachings of Jung, Ng & Park to arrive the claimed invention.
Double Patenting rejection, based on the currently pending set of claims, is maintained. Details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 5/12/26