Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 4, 11-12, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUBOTA (US 20220037406 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-8, Fig. 7A is reproduced below for reference) discloses a display device, comprising:
a window (window W) comprising a top surface (top surface TS), a bottom portion (bottom portion BS) opposed to the top surface, and a side portion (side portion SS) connecting the top surface (top surface TS) to the bottom portion (bottom portion BS) and the window (window W) comprising a transmission region (transmission region TA) and a light-blocking region (light-blocking region BM);
a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer BM) disposed below the window (window W) and overlapping the light-blocking region (light-blocking layer BM) in a plan view;
a light source (light source 122) spaced apart from the bottom portion (bottom portion BS) in a direction in a plan view, and the side portion (side portion SS) facing the light source (light source 122) in a plan view; and
a display panel (display DP) disposed below the window (window W), wherein the display panel (display DP) comprises a light sensing device (optical sensor 113) and comprises a display region overlapping the transmission region (display DP has a display area corresponding to transmission region TA) in a plan view.
KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-7) does not disclose wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface parallel to the top surface; and a second bottom surface which is connected to the first bottom surface and the side portion and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface. However, AKIRA discloses a light guide (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4, Fig. 4 is reproduced for reference),
wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) parallel to the top surface (top surface 3c); and a second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) which is connected to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the side portion (side surface S1) and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b), wherein an angle between the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is greater than or equal to or about 165° and is smaller than or equal to about 175°, and the angle between the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface is defined on a side of the bottom portion opposed to the top surface (page 10, paragraph 2 and page 15, paragraph 7; e.g., α and β are set as α=β=15°, then Ω=165°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from AKIRA to the display device of KUBOTA. The combination/motivation would be to obtain an effective light coupling to the light guide and a uniform illumination.
Regarding claim 4, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-8) discloses the display device further comprising: an optical layer (e.g., Fig. 7; optical layer 512 or Fig. 8; optical layer 142) disposed between the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) of the window (window W) and the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer BM), wherein the optical layer (e.g., Fig. 7; optical layer 512 or Fig. 8; optical layer 142) overlaps an entire region of the light-blocking and transmission regions (transmission regions TA) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 11, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, AKIRA (e.g., Figs. 4 and 2) discloses the display device further comprising: a reflection part (reflecting part 5a) facing the side portion (side portion S1) of the window, wherein the light source (light source 2) is disposed between the reflection part (reflecting part 5a) and the side portion (side portion S1) of the window.
Regarding claim 12, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, AKIRA (e.g., Figs. 4 and 2) discloses a first optical portion (optical element 5b; page 11, paragraphs 2-3) which is attached to a portion of the bottom portion (bottom surface 5a) and has a first inclined surface inclined with respect to the bottom portion (page 11, paragraphs 2-3); and a second optical portion (optical element 4b) which is attached to the side portion (side portion s1) and has a second inclined surface inclined with respect to the side portion (page 11, paragraphs 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-8, Fig. 7A is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device, comprising:
a window (window W) comprising a top surface (top surface TS), a bottom portion (bottom portion BP) opposed to the top surface, and a side portion (side portion SS) connecting the top surface (top surface TS) to the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) and the window (window W) comprising a transmission region (transmission region TA) and a light-blocking region (light-blocking region BM);
a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer BM) disposed below the window (window W) and overlapping the light-blocking region (light-blocking layer BM) in a plan view;
a light source (light source 122) spaced apart from the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) in a direction in a plan view; and
a display panel (display DP) disposed below the window (window W), wherein the display panel (display DP) comprises a light sensing device (optical sensor 113) and comprises a display region overlapping the transmission region (display DP has a display area corresponding to transmission region TA) in a plan view.
KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-7) does not disclose wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface parallel to the top surface; and a second bottom surface which is connected to the first bottom surface and the side portion and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface. However, AKIRA (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4, Fig. 2 is reproduced below for reference) discloses a light guide,
wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and opposed to parallel to the top surface (top surface 3a); and a second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) and opposed to the top surface and connected to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the side portion (side portion s1), and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b), wherein an angle between the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is greater than or equal to or about 165° and is smaller than or equal to about 175° (page 10, paragraph 2 and page 15, paragraph 7; e.g., α and β are set as α=β=15°, then Ω=165°), wherein the side portion (side portion s1) comprises: a first side surface (surface s1-1) which is connected to the bottom portion (bottom portion 5a) and is extended toward the top surface; a second side surface (surface s1-2) which is extended from the first side surface (surface s1-1) in a direction parallel to the top surface; and a third side surface (surface s1-3) which is extended from the second side surface (surface s1-2) toward the top surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from AKIRA to the display device of KUBOTA. The combination/motivation would be to obtain an effective light coupling to the light guide and a uniform illumination.
Regarding claim 17, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 16, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses the display device further comprising: an additional light-blocking layer disposed on the second side surface (e.g., Figs. 7-9; light-blocking structure of light source 122).
Regarding claim 19, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-7, Fig. 7A is reproduced for reference) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a window (window W) comprising a top surface (top surface TS), a bottom portion (bottom portion BP) opposed to the top surface, and a side portion (side portion SS) connecting the top surface (top surface TS) to the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) and the window (window W) comprising a transmission region (transmission region TA) and a light-blocking region (light-blocking region BM);
a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer BM) disposed below the window (window W) and overlapping the light-blocking region (light-blocking layer BM) in a plan view;
a light source (light source 122) spaced apart from the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) in a direction in a plan view; and
a display panel (display DP) disposed below the window (window W), wherein the display panel (display DP) comprises a light sensing device (optical sensor 113) and comprises a display region overlapping the transmission region (display DP has a display area corresponding to transmission region TA) in a plan view.
KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-7) does not disclose wherein the bottom portion as claimed. However, AKIRA (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4, Fig. 4 is reproduced for reference) discloses a light guide, wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) parallel to the top surface (top surface 3c); and a second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) which is connected to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the side portion (side portion s1) and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b), and an angle between the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is greater than or equal to about 165° and is smaller than or equal to about 175°, and the angle between the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface is defined on a side of the bottom portion opposed to the top surface (page 10, paragraph 2 and page 15, paragraph 7; e.g., α and β are set as α=β=15°, then Ω=165°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from AKIRA to the display device of KUBOTA. The combination/motivation would be to obtain an effective light coupling to the light guide and a uniform illumination.
Regarding claim 20, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 19, KUBOTA (e.g., Figs. 2-9) discloses further comprising: an optical layer (e.g., Fig. 7; optical layer 512 or Fig. 8; optical layer 142) disposed between the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) of the window (window W) and the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer BM), wherein the optical layer (e.g., Fig. 7; optical layer 512 or Fig. 8; optical layer 142) overlaps an entire region of the light-blocking and transmission regions (transmission regions TA) in a plan view.
6. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KUBOTA (US 20220037406 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1) and further in view of Cho (US 20170372114 A1).
Regarding claim 5, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein a refractive index of the optical layer is lower than a refractive index of the window. However, Cho (e.g., Figs. 11-19) discloses a display device, further comprising an optical layer (optical bonding layer 163), wherein a refractive index of the optical layer is lower than a refractive index of the window (refractive index of optical bonding layer 163 and window 161; [0064] and [0116]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Cho to the display device of KUBOTA in view of AKIRA so that the window acts as a light guide and the sensing light is transmitted through the window under total internal reflection.
Regarding claim 6, KUBOTA in view of AKIRA and further in view of Cho discloses the display device of claim 5, Cho (e.g., Figs. 11-19) discloses wherein in case that the refractive index of the window is about 1.5, the refractive index of the optical layer is greater than or equal to about 1.3 and is smaller than or equal to about 1.4 (refractive index, optical layer 163 and window 161; [0064] and [0116]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Cho to the display device of KUBOTA in view of Ye so that the window acts as a light guide and the sensing light is transmitted through the window under total internal reflection.
7. Claims 1, 7-8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Smith (US 20190138154 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith (e.g., Figs. 8 and 11 are reproduced below for reference) discloses a display device, comprising:
a window (window W) comprising a top surface (top surface TS), a bottom portion (bottom portion BP) facing the top surface, and a side portion (e.g., Fig. 11, side portion 450/460; Fig. 8, side portion 450/440) connecting the top surface (top surface TS) to the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) and the window (window W) comprising a transmission region (transmission region TA) and a light-blocking region (light-blocking region BA);
a light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 423) disposed below the window (window W) and overlapping the light-blocking region (light-blocking layer 423) in a plan view;
a light source (light source 430) spaced apart from the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) in a direction in a plan view; and
a display panel (display 470) disposed below the window (window W), wherein the display panel (display 470) comprises a light sensing device (e.g., Fig. 3, optical sensor 305b, and Fig. 9, optical sensor 480) and comprises a display region overlapping the transmission region (display 470 has a display area corresponding to transmission region TA) in a plan view.
Smith does not disclose wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface parallel to the top surface; and a second bottom surface which is connected to the first bottom surface and the side portion and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface. However, , AKIRA (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4) discloses a light guide, wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) parallel to the top surface (top surface 3c); and a second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) which is connected to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the side portion (side surface S1) and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b), wherein an angle between the first bottom surface (bottom surface 3b) and the second bottom surface (bottom surface 5a) is greater than or equal to or about 165° and is smaller than or equal to about 175°, and the angle between the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface is defined on a side of the bottom portion opposed to the top surface (page 10, paragraph 2 and page 15, paragraph 7; e.g., α and β are set as α=β=15°, then Ω=165°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from AKIRA to the display device of KUBOTA. The combination/motivation would be to obtain an effective light coupling to the light guide and a uniform illumination.
Regarding claim 7, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, Smith (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses wherein the side portion comprises: a first side surface (side surface SP-1) connected to the bottom portion (bottom portion BP); and a second side surface (side surface SP-2) which is connected to the top surface (top surface TS) and the first side surface (side surface SP-1) and is inclined with respect to the first side surface (side surface SP-1), and the light source (light source 430) faces the first side surface (side surface SP-1).
Regarding claim 8, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 7, Smith (e.g., Fig. 8) discloses wherein the second side surface (side surface SP-2) overlaps the light source in a plan view (light source 430).
Regarding claim 10, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, Smith (e.g., Fig. 11 or Fig. 8) discloses the display device further comprising: an additional light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 423-2) disposed on the second side surface (side surface SP-2).
Regarding claim 12, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 12, Smith (e.g., Fig. 11) discloses the display device further comprising: a first optical portion (optical element 450-1) which is attached to a portion of the bottom portion (bottom portion BP) and has a first inclined surface (reflective surface SP-1) inclined with respect to the bottom portion (bottom portion BP); and a second optical portion (optical element 450-2) which is attached to the side portion (side portion 460) and has a second inclined surface (reflective surface SP-2) inclined with respect to the side portion (side portion 460).
Regarding claim 15, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 12, Smith (e.g., Fig. 11) discloses wherein the light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 423) is disposed between the first optical portion (optical element 450-1) and the window (window W).
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Smith (US 20190138154 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1) and further in view of Charters (US 20060188196 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, Smith (e.g., Figs. 4B) discloses the display device, wherein the side portion comprises the first side surface (SP-1) and the second side surface (SP-2), but does not disclose wherein an angle between the first side surface (SP-1) and the second side surface (SP-2) is greater than or equal to about 165° and is smaller than about 180°.
However, Charters (e.g., Fig. 10) discloses a light guide and a light coupling device, wherein an angle between the first side surface (surface 102) and the second side surface (surface 1008) is greater than or equal to about 165° and is smaller than about 180° ([0132]; 137°). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Charters to the display device of Smith. The combination/motivation would be to obtain an effective light coupling to the light guide and a uniform illumination.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Smith (US 20190138154 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1) and further in view of Ouderkirk (US 20180003892 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 12, Smith (e.g., Fig. 4B) discloses further comprising an additional light-blocking layer (light-blocking layer 423-2) disposed on the second inclined surface (surface SP-2), but does not disclose an adhesive member attaching each of the first optical portion and second optical portion to the window. However, Ouderkirk (e.g., Figs. 1B, 8, and 10) discloses an adhesive member ([0028] and [0047]; optical adhesive 860) attaching each of the first optical portion (optical element 130) and second optical portion (optical element 140) to the window. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Ouderkirk to the display device of Smith to improve transmission efficiency.
9. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Smith (US 20190138154 A1) in view of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1) and further in view of Harbach (US 20100073584 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Smith in view of AKIRA discloses the display device of claim 1, Smith (e.g., Figs. 11-12 and 8) discloses wherein the light source emits infrared light., but does not disclose wherein the light-blocking layer transmits infrared light and reflects visible light. However, Harbach discloses an infrared light source and a light-blocking layer transmits infrared light and reflects visible light (Fig. 2 and [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the infrared light filter as taught from Harbach to the light coupling element (e.g., coupling optics 440) of light source of Smith to reduce unwanted light signal for optical sensing.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display including an optical sensor. The closet prior arts, KUBOTA (US 20220037406 A1), AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1), Ye (US 20140029305 A1), Smith (US 20190138154 A1), Cho (US 20170372114 A1), Charters (US 20060188196 A1), Liu (US 20240135741 A1), Ouderkirk (US 20180003892 A1), and Harbach (US 20100073584 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a display device, comprising: a window comprising a top surface, a bottom portion facing the top surface, and a side portion connecting the top surface to the bottom portion and the window comprising a transmission region and a light-blocking region; a light-blocking layer disposed below the window and overlapping the light-blocking region in a plan view; a light source spaced apart from the bottom portion in a direction in a plan view; and a display panel disposed below the window, wherein the display panel comprises a light sensing device and comprises a display region overlapping the transmission region in a plan view, wherein the bottom portion comprises: a first bottom surface parallel to the top surface; and a second bottom surface which is connected to the first bottom surface and the side portion and is inclined with respect to the first bottom surface, wherein an angle between the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface is greater than or equal to about 165° and is smaller than or equal to about 175°, and the angle between the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface is defined on a side of the bottom portion opposed to the top surface, but fail to teach wherein an angle between the first inclined surface and the bottom portion is greater than or equal to about 165° and is equal to or smaller than about 175°, and an angle between the second inclined surface and the side portion is greater than or equal to about 165° and is smaller than about 180°.
Response to Arguments
11. Regarding claims 1, 16, and 19, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of AKIRA (WO 2011080997 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623