Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 12/17/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Mi et al. (US 2013/0240348).
Regarding claim 1, Mi et al. disclose heterostructure micropillars (820, 830, 840, 850)(fig. 8) on a substrate (810), each heterostructure micropillar comprising a stack of semiconductor layers separated by heterojunctions (GaN, InGaN)[0185], wherein sidewalls of the heterostructure micropillars (nanowires) are completely or substantially devoid of ion-induced defects [0185, nanowires are grown “growth methodology of the nanowires”] (the nanowires are not formed by RIE (reactive ion etching) as noted in paragraph [0036] of the current specification, and therefore the nanowires would be “completely or substantially devoid of ion-induced defects”).
Regarding claim 2, Mi et al. disclose some of the semiconductor layers comprise wide-bandgap semiconductor layers having a bandgap above about 3 eV (GaN)[0185].
Regarding claim 3, Mi et al. disclose the semiconductor layers include two or more group III-nitride semiconductors (GaN, InGaN)[0185].
Regarding claim 4, Mi et al. disclose the two or more group III-nitride semiconductors comprise gallium nitride and indium gallium nitride [0185].
Regarding claim 5, Mi et al. disclose each of the heterostructure micropillars comprises a range of bandgaps (any number would cover “a range”) and Mi discloses gallium nitride and indium gallium nitride[0185] which would anticipate “a range”.
Regarding claim 6, Mi et al. disclose the heterostructure micropillars include one or more multiple quantum wells (MQWs) (830)[0185].
Regarding claim 7, Mi et al. disclose each of the heterostructure micropillars includes from 3 of the semiconductor layers [0185].
Regarding claim 10, Mi et al. disclose each heterostructure micropillar is configured to emit visible light [0185 emits 440 nm wavelength(blue) ].
Regarding claim 11, Mi et al. disclose the substrate comprises a semiconductor (silicon) [0185].
Regarding claim 12, Mi et al. disclose the LED structure of claim 1 [0185].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et al. (US 2013/0240348) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Jain et al. (US 2018/0108806).
Mi et al. disclose the invention supra.
Mi et al. fails to disclose each heterostructure micropillar has maximum width or diameter in a range from about 1 mm to about 20 mm.
Jain et al. disclose each micropillar has maximum width or diameter of a few microns [0074]. The examiner submits “few microns” (i.e. two or more) would be inside 1 mm to about 20 mm. MPEP 2144.05 discloses “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” . The combination of Mi et al. and Jain et al. would disclose heterostructure micropillar.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (changing the diameter of the micropillar/nanowire), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (the relative dimensions of the of the micropillar/nanowire would be changed). MPEP 2144.04 IV A discloses “In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.”
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mi et al. (US 2013/0240348) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Jain et al. (US 2017/0236975).
Mi et al. disclose the invention supra.
Mi et al. fails to disclose from 100 to 600,000 heterostructure micropillars are arranged in an array on the substrate.
Jain disclose arrays of hundreds of nano wires [0023].
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (making an array of nanowires), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (an array would be formed).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817