The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action, not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. The restriction is incorporated by reference here and made final. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 1-3,5-17,19-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As the claims describe the “first material” as being part of “a pattern element”, the “lithography object” is limited to a - - mask- - and the claims should reflect this. (see the prepub of the instant application at [0015,0018]. Please replace “lithography element” with - - mask- - in the claims.
Claims 1-,3,5-13,16,17,19-20,23,25-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Shiyouki JP 2004289048.
Shiyouki JP 2004289048 (machine translation attached) teaches in example 1 (see figure 1), a substrate (1) with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer (2) , a 3 nm CrN buffer layer (3) and a 70nm TaBN absorber layer and a 15 nm TaBO low reflection layer, and the absorber layer was patterned using a chloride etch. To correct the black defect a 1 keV electron beam was used in the presence of XeF2 gas to remove the undesired portions. The white defect was corrected using a 1 keV electron beam to decomposed methylcyclopoentadiuoienyl platinum gas to deposit Pt. The remaining (CrN) buffer layer was removed by a dry etch using chlorine and oxygen [0022-0027]. Example 2 was similar, but used a 10 nm CrRu buffer layer [0028-0030].
The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
In the response of 9/28/2026, the applicant argues that the CrRu buffer layer is removed using a Cl/O2 etch, not the disclosed XeF2. The examiner agrees that the XeF2/electron beam etch is not used to entirely remove the CrRu buffer layer, but the claims clearly embraces partial removal (“at least partly”) using the first gas. So the claims embrace the removal of even minor amounts of the CrRu buffer layer. The instant application include the buffer layer as part of the “pattern element” as evidenced by the language in the prepub of the instant application at [0052]. The position of the examiner is that the claims embrace partial removal using the first gas and the subsequent full removal with other means.
Claims 1-3,5-17, 19-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Kishida et al. WO 2024085026.
Kishida et al. WO 2024085026 (machine translation attached) describes a substrate with a backside CrN layer, a reflective Mo/Si multilayer, a 3.5 nm Ru60Rh30Cr10 protective layer, a buffer layer (see table 3), a first absorber layer (see table 3) and an upper absorber layer (see table 3) and an etching/hard mask (see table 3, CrON, CrN/SiO2,). As the first absorption layer 42 in Examples 5 and 6 and Comparative Example 4, a PtRuB film was formed with the thickness shown in Table 1. The PtRuB film (first absorption layer 42) was formed by DC magnetron sputtering using a PtRuB target and introducing argon (Ar) gas at a gas flow rate of 25 sccm at a power of 1200 W.
These were patterned and then evaluated for repair. The repair evaluation used a 1 kV beam with XeF2 at a temperature of 0o C and H2O at a temperature of -42o C [0134-0169]. The protective film 3 preferably contains at least one selected from ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh) and iridium (Ir). It is more preferable that the protective film 3 contains at least one selected from ruthenium (Ru) and rhodium (Rh). The protective film 3 may further contain an additive element in addition to the above-mentioned elements. The additive element contained in the protective film 3 is preferably one or more elements selected from Tl, Hf, Ti, Zr, Mn, In, Ga, Cd, Bi, Ta, Pb, Ag, Al, V, Nb, Sn, Zn, Hg, Cr, Fe, Sb, W, Mo and Cu [0051]. The first absorption layer 42 contains a metal (M .sub.A1 ) and boron (B). The metal (M .sub.A1 ) is not particularly limited as long as it has a function of absorbing EUV light and/or a phase shift function, can be processed by etching or the like (preferably can be etched by dry etching with a chlorine (Cl)-based gas and/or a fluorine (F)-based gas), and has a high etching selectivity with respect to the multilayer reflective film 2 (or the protective film 3, if present). As the metal (M .sub.A1 ) having such a function, at least one metal selected from palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), tungsten (W), chromium (Cr), cobalt (Co), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), vanadium (V), nickel (Ni), hafnium (Hf), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), tellurium (Te), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), germanium (Ge), aluminum (Al), rhodium (Rh), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), niobium (Nb), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), yttrium (Y), and silicon (Si), an alloy containing two or more metals, or a compound thereof can be preferably used. The compound may contain oxygen (O), nitrogen (N) and/or carbon (C) in the above metal or alloy. The material of the first absorption layer 42 preferably contains boron (B) and at least one metal (M .sub.A1 ) selected from tantalum (Ta), chromium (Cr), platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru) and gold (Au). The metal (M A1 .sub.) contained in the material of the first absorption layer 42 can be a single metal or an alloy containing two or more metals. The first absorption layer 42 may contain N, O and/or H in addition to boron (B) and the metal (M .sub.A1 ). The material of the first absorption layer 42 can preferably be at least one selected from TaB, TaBN, TaBNO, PtRuB, PtRuBN, AuB, AuBN, AuRuB, AuBN, AuCrB, AuCrBN, AuTaB and AuTaBN. When the metal (M .sub.A1 ) contained in the first absorption layer 42 is the above-mentioned element, it is possible to obtain an absorber film 4 having predetermined optical characteristics with respect to EUV light, which is the exposure light. In the reflective mask blank 100 of this embodiment, the first absorption layer 42 preferably contains tantalum (Ta). By making the first absorption layer 42 contain tantalum (Ta), it is possible to more reliably obtain an absorber film 4 that is easy to etch. In the case where the absorber film 4 has a phase shift function, the material of the first absorption layer 42 may contain boron (B) and at least one metal (M .sub.A1 ) selected from platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru) and gold (Au). In order to increase the etching selectivity with the first absorption layer 42, the material of the protective film 3 may contain rhodium (Rh). Since Rh has a low refractive index, when the thickness of the protective film 3 changes, the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2 is likely to vary. Therefore, in order to suppress the variation of the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2, it is preferable that the damage to the protective film 3 is small. In this specification, the "damage to the protective film 3" includes not only the adverse effect on the surface of the protective film 3, but also the protective film 3 being unintentionally etched and thinned. By using the absorber film 4 of this embodiment, it is possible to reduce the damage caused to the multilayer reflection film 2 and/or the protective film 3 when the etching mask pattern 6a is removed by etching, and it is possible to suppress the variation of the effective reflection surface Zeff of the multilayer reflection film 2. Therefore, when the absorber film 4 has a phase shift function, the reflective mask blank 100 of this embodiment can be preferably applied [0060-0063]. The material of the second absorption layer 44 includes a metal (M .sub.A2 ). The metal (M .sub.A2 ), like the metal (M .sub.A1 ) of the first absorption layer 42, is not particularly limited as long as it has a function of absorbing EUV light and/or a phase shift function, can be processed by etching or the like (preferably can be etched by dry etching with a chlorine (Cl)-based gas and/or a fluorine (F)-based gas), and has a high etching selectivity with respect to the multilayer reflective film 2 (or the protective film 3, if present). As the metal (M .sub.A2 ) having such a function, at least one metal selected from palladium (Pd), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), gold (Au), iridium (Ir), tungsten (W), chromium (Cr), cobalt (Co), manganese (Mn), tin (Sn), tantalum (Ta), vanadium (V), nickel (Ni), hafnium (Hf), iron (Fe), copper (Cu), tellurium (Te), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), germanium (Ge), aluminum (Al), rhodium (Rh), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), niobium (Nb), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), yttrium (Y), and silicon (Si), an alloy containing two or more metals, or a compound thereof can be preferably used. When the material of the second absorption layer 44 includes a compound, the compound may include oxygen (O), nitrogen (N), carbon (C), and/or boron (B) in the above metal or alloy [0073]
Examples 5 and 6 and comparative example 4 meet claims 1-27. The exemplified mask is an EUV mask.
In the response of 9/28/2026, the applicant argues that the evaluation for repair does not remove the RuRhCr protective layer. The examiner pointed to the examples 5,6 and comparative example 4 which use PtRuB containing absorber materials. The absorber is clearly part of the pattern element. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-6,8-10,12,13,16-19 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa et al. 20180259841.
Nozawa et al. 20180259841 in example 1 teaches a photomask with an AlSiO etch stop layer, a MoSiN phase shift film, a CrOCN light shielding layer, a SiON hardmask, which was patterned. This halftone phase shift mask is useful with 193 nm ArF exposure sources and the mask pattern was evaluated and then repaired using an electron beam in the presence of XeF2 [0142-0158]. On the one hand, phase shift film 3 can be formed from a material containing a transition metal, silicon, and nitrogen. In this case, the transition metal includes any one or more metals from among molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), hafnium (Hf), nickel (Ni), vanadium (V), zirconium (Zr), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), zinc (Zn), niobium (Nb), and palladium (Pd), etc., and alloys thereof. The material for phase shift film 3 may include, in addition to the abovementioned elements, elements such as nitrogen (N), oxygen (0), carbon (C), hydrogen (H), and boron (B). Furthermore, materials for phase shift film 3 may include inert gases such as helium (He), argon (Ar), krypton (Kr), and xenon (Xe). Taking into consideration the detection of etching endpoints in EB defect repair, this phase shift film 3 preferably does not incorporate aluminum [0088]. The silicon containing material for forming light shielding film 4 may incorporate a transition metal or a metal element other than a transition metal. The pattern to be formed on light shielding film 4 is a light shielding band pattern in the outer periphery region as a rule. This is because the region has less cumulative irradiation of the ArF exposure light compared to the transfer pattern region and because a fine pattern is rarely arranged in this outer periphery region and low ArF resistance would cause substantially no problems. Furthermore, this is because having light shielding film 4 incorporate a transition metal greatly improves the light shielding performance compared to the case in which no transition metal is incorporated, making it possible to make the thickness of light shielding film 4 thinner. Transition metals to be incorporated in light shielding film 4 include any one metal such as molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), hafnium (Hf), nickel (Ni), vanadium (V), zirconium (Zr), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), niobium (Nb), and palladium (Pd), or alloys thereof [0096]. This hard mask film 5 is preferably formed from the abovementioned silicon containing material in a case where light shielding film 4 is formed from a chromium containing material. Here, in this case, because hard mask film 5 tends to have low adhesion to resist films of organic materials, the surface of hard mask film 5 is preferably subjected to HMDS (Hexamethyldisilazane) treatment to enhance surface adhesion. Note that in this case, hard mask film 5 is more preferably formed from SiO.sub.2, SiN, SiON, etc. Furthermore, for the case in which light shielding film 4 is formed from a chromium containing material, tantalum containing materials may be applied as the material for hard mask film 5. In this case, tantalum containing materials include, apart from tantalum metals, materials incorporating one or more elements selected from among nitrogen, oxygen, boron, and carbon in addition to tantalum. Examples thereof include Ta, TaN, TaO, TaON, TaBN, TaBO, TaBON, TaCN, TaCO, TaCON, TaBCN, and TaBOCN. Note that in this case, the silicon content of hard mask film 5 is preferably 5 atom % or less, more preferably 3 atom % or less, and even more preferably it does not substantially contain silicon. Furthermore, hard mask film 5 is preferably formed from the abovementioned chromium containing material in the case where light shielding film 4 is formed from a silicon containing material [0101-0102].
Nozawa et al. 20180259841 teaches DUV photomasks, but does not exemplify the correction of a photomask having a Ru containing layer.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify cited example by adding at least some Ru to the phase shift layer as taught at [0088] and/or the light shielding layer as taught at [0096] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful corrected DUV mask based upon the disclosure to add these element to these layers.
In the response of 9/28/2026, the applicant argues that the addition of Ru is not taught. The examiner disagrees pointing to the disclosure of Ru in the light shielding layer at [0096] and the phase shift layer at [0088] and the process clearly repairs black defects in photomasks by removing these layers. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-3,5-10,12,13,16,17,19-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434.
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 (machine translation attached) teaches in ethe examples a substrate coated with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a protective layer (18) as shown in figure 3. This was evaluated for repair resistance using exposure with an electron beams in a XeF2/H2O atmosphere. The repair evaluation used a 1 kV beams with XeF2 at a temperature of 0o C and H2O at a temperature of -42o C . A second set of substrates was then provided with a RuCr phase shift film, which was then patterned and then evaluated for reflectance.
[0109-0126]. In the reflective mask blank 110 of the present embodiment, it is preferable to use a material containing ruthenium (Ru) (Ru-based material) as the material of the absorber film 24. Ruthenium (Ru), chromium (Cr), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), aluminum (Al), silicon (Si), titanium (Ti), vanadium (V), germanium (Ge) as Ru-based materials. ), Niobium (Nb), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), hafnium (Hf), tungsten (W) and ruthenium (Re). Further, the Ru-based material containing Ru and at least one element among Al, Si, Ti, Nb, Mo, Sn, Te, Hf, W and Re can be dry-etched with a fluorine-based gas. As the fluorogas, CF .sub.4 , CHF .sub.3 , C .sub.2 F .sub.6 , C .sub.3 F .sub.6 , C .sub.4 F .sub.6 , C .sub.4 F .sub.8 , CH .sub.2 F .sub.2 , C .sub.3 F .sub.8 , SF .sub.6 and the like can be used. can. These etching gases may be used alone or in combination of two or more. These etching gases may contain an inert gas such as He and / or Ar, or an O .sub.2 gas, if necessary. [0070-0077]
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 does not exemplify the treatment of the photomask including the RuCr phase shift film.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process of inventive examples 2 and 3 by adding the RuCr phase shift film, patterning it and correcting the patterned film using the disclosed XeF2/H2O and electron beams treatment taught for correction with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful patterned and corrected EUV photomask
In the response of 9/28/2026, the applicant argues that Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 does not describe the repair using XeF2/H20. The examiner agrees that the process is not exemplified as there is no pattern on the protective layer in the test of its resistance to the XeF2/H2O/electron beam etch which is disclosed as useful for black defect repair. The obviousness rejection is based upon the correction of the patterned photomask which has a RuCr phase shift layer using the XeF2/H20/electron beam which is clearly taught, but not exemplified.. As discussed above the RuCr layer is a pattern element layer (absorbing/attenuating phase shift layer. The rejection stands.
Claims 1-3,5-10,12,13,16,17,19-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434, in view of Kormilov et al. 20200141972.
Kormilov et al. 20200141972 teaches gasses for locally etching (photo) masks [0048]. Moreover, a local EBID process can be used to correct the defect 460 if the defect 460 is a defect of lacking material. The second supply container 555 stores an etching gas, which makes it possible to perform an electron beam induced etching (EBIE) process. With the aid of an electron beam-induced etching process, a test structure deposited by use of an EBID process can be modified in such a way that said test structure has a predetermined contour. A test structure can be transferred by dragging a contamination of the sample 510 on the test structure by the measuring tip 100, 110. As a result of a cleaning process for the test structure 470, 480, the functionality of the latter can be substantially restored. To this end, the test structure at the site 470, 480 is cleaned by an electron beam 535 and, optionally, under the provision of the etching gas stored in the second supply container 555 [0145-0146]. If the defect 460 is a defect of excess material, the defect 460 can be removed from the mask 400 by carrying out a local EBIE process. An etching gas can comprise for example xenon difluoride (XeF.sub.2), chlorine (Cl.sub.2), oxygen (O.sub.2), ozone (O.sub.3), water vapor (H.sub.2O), hydrogen peroxide (H.sub.2O.sub.2), dinitrogen monoxide (N.sub.2O), nitrogen monoxide (NO), nitrogen dioxide (NO.sub.2), nitric acid (HNO.sub.3), ammonia (NH.sub.3) or sulfur hexafluoride (SF.sub.6). Further suitable etching gases are listed in the third section of this description [0149]. The etching gas may comprise: Xenon difluoride (XeF.sub.2), xenon dichloride (XeCl.sub.2), xenon tetrachloride (XeCl.sub.4), water vapor (H.sub.2O), heavy water (D.sub.2O), oxygen (O.sub.2), XNO, XONO.sub.2, X.sub.2O, XO.sub.2, X.sub.2O.sub.2, X.sub.2O.sub.4, X.sub.2O.sub.6, where X is a halide, ammonia (NH.sub.3) and/or nitrosyl chloride (NOCl). Further etching gases for etching one or more of the deposited test structures are specified in the applicant's U.S. patent application Ser. No. 13/103,281 [0047].
Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 does not exemplify or fairly teach the presence of heavy water in the etching atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the etch used in processes exemplified or rendered obvious by Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 by replacing the water with heavy water based upon their known equivalence as taught in Kormilov et al. 20200141972
The rejection stands for the reasons above as no further arguments were advanced by the applicant.
Claims 1-3,5-17,19-27 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170, in view of Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 and/or Kormilov et al. 20200141972
Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170 does not describe the exact conditions for the electron beams/fluoride gas etch used in the repair.
It would have been obvious to modify the disclosed process of Ikebe et al. WO 2022138170 by using cooled XeF2 and water taught by Fukusawa et al. WO 2022138434 as useful for photomask repair and/or the combination of XeF2 or XeCl2 with water, heavy water or other process gasses taught by Kormilov et al. 20200141972 as useful for photomask repair with a reasonable expectation of forming useful patterned and corrected mask.
The rejection stands for the reasons above as no further arguments were advanced by the applicant.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kosakai et al. JP 2020160187 (machine translation attached) teaches the correction of EUV photomasks where the cap layer is Ru, the absorber layer is TaN and the third layer is Al, Cr, Ru or the like. The embodiment where the third layer is Al is used in the examples [0050-0054]. The use of XeF to etch the TaN layer in the correction process is disclosed [0086].
Kominato et al. TW 201635008 (machine translation attached) teaches the electron beam correction of the black dot defects in a ruthenium oxynitride phase shift film using gasses XeF .sub.2 , XeF .sub.4 , XeF .sub.6 , XeOF .sub.2 may be applied .sub.) . , XeOF .sub.4 , XeO .sub.2 F .sub.2 , XeO .sub.3 F .sub.2 , XeO .sub.2 F .sub.4 , ClF .sub.3 , ClF, BrF .sub.5 , BrF, IF .sub.3 , IF .sub.5, etc., particularly preferably XeF .sub.2 (page 9) Here, as the metal element in the metal niobium oxynitride, a transition metal element is preferable. As a transition metal element contained in the phase shift film, molybdenum has been widely used so far. (Mo), but is not limited to this. Examples of the transition metal element contained in the phase shift film include tantalum (Ta), tungsten (W), titanium (Ti), chromium (Cr), hafnium (Hf), nickel (Ni), vanadium (V), and zirconium. a metal element of any one of (Zr), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), zinc (Zn), niobium (Nb), and palladium (Pd). Further, examples of the metal element other than the transition metal element include aluminum (Al), indium (In), tin (Sn), and gallium (Ga) (page 8)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 October 8, 2026