DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to RCE, amendment and response filed on 12/16/25. Claims 1, 7 and 18-19 were amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
101: The Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The Applicant essentially argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection.
The Examiner disagrees.
The Applicant’s arguments are moot because of amendments that are substantive. Per example, claim 1 recites additional elements (e.g.: “building, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item”) that necessitates reconsideration of the claims.
As such, an updated rejection is provided that addresses the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. (Step 1) The claims recite a process (claims 1-18). For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 1 is addressed. (Step 2A, prong 1) Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represent organizing human activity, as a method of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, as are all a form of commercial or legal interaction and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
providing, via one or more processors of a virtual environment server, a virtual environment;
identifying, via one or more processors of an insurance server, a digital wallet of non- fungible tokens (NFTs) configured to store non-fungible tokens that correspond to the insured items associated with the individual;
detecting, via one or more processors of a user device, that an insured item has been purchased;
in response to the detecting, via the one or more processors of the user device, automatically generating a request to add a non-fungible token corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet;
detecting, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the request to add the non-fungible token corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet;
building, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item;
updating, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the digital wallet to include the non-fungible token, wherein the update to the digital wallet triggers a smart contract associated with the digital wallet to update an insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet, and wherein the non-fungible token references a link to the built model.
(Step 2A prong 2) The additional elements are as follows:
providing, via one or more processors of a virtual environment server, a virtual environment. This is no more than “apply it” as “providing … a virtual environment” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
[identifying], via one or more processors of an insurance server, [a] digital [wallet] of non- fungible [tokens] (NFTs) configured to store non-fungible [tokens]”. This is no more than “apply it” as “one or more processors of an insurance server”, “digital [wallet] of non-fungible [tokens] configured to store non-fungible [tokens]” are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“[detecting], via one or more processors of a user device, […]”. This is no more than “apply it” as “one or more processors of a user device” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“[in response to …], automatically [generating]”. This is no more than “apply it” as “automatically” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“building, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item”. “building … a model of the insured item …” is no more than “apply it” because the claim fails to recite the details of how the “model of the insured item” is built “based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1).
“[updating …] triggers a smart contract associated with [the] digital [wallet …, and wherein the] non-fungible [token] references a link to the built model”. This is no more than “apply it” as “triggers a smart contract” and “non-fungible [token] references a link to the built model” are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
(Step 2B) The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, over a generic computer network with generic computing elements, and generic hardware.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. (Step 1) The claims recite an apparatus (claim 17) and another apparatus (claim 18). For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 18 (from claims 17 and 18) is addressed. (Step 2A, prong 1) Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represent organizing human activity, as a method of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, as are all a form of commercial or legal interaction and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
A computer system configured to update an inventory of insured items associated with an individual, the computer system comprising:
a virtual environment server including: (i) one or more processors of the virtual environment server, and (ii) one or more memories of the virtual environment server coupled to the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, wherein the one or more memories of the virtual environment server include computer- executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, cause the one or more processors of the virtual environment server to provide a virtual environment;
one or more processors of an insurance server;
one or more memories of the insurance server coupled to the one or more processors of the insurance server; the one or more memories of the insurance server including computer-executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the insurance server, cause the one or more processors of the insurance server to:
identify a digital wallet of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) configured to store non-fungible tokens that correspond to the insured items associated with the individual;
in response to a detection by one or more processors of a user device that an insured item has been purchased, receive, from the one or more processors of the user device, an automatically generated request to add a non-fungible token corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet;
build a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item;
update the digital wallet to include the non-fungible token, wherein the update to the digital wallet triggers a smart contract associated with the digital wallet to update an insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet, and wherein the non-fungible token references a link to the built model
(Step 2A prong 2) The additional elements are as follows:
“A computer system configured to […], the computer system comprising”, “a virtual environment server including: (i) one or more processors of the virtual environment server, and (ii) one or more memories of the virtual environment server coupled to the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, wherein the one or more memories of the virtual environment server include computer- executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, cause the one or more processors of the virtual environment server to provide a virtual environment”, “one or more processors of an insurance server”, “one or more memories of the insurance server coupled to the one or more processors of the insurance server; the one or more memories of the insurance server including computer-executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the insurance server, cause the one or more processors of the insurance server to”. This is no more than “apply it” as the additional elements are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
[identify a] digital [wallet] of non- fungible [tokens] (NFTs) configured to store non-fungible [tokens]”. This is no more than “apply it” as the “digital [wallet] of non-fungible [tokens] configured to store non-fungible [tokens]” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“[in response to a detection] by one or more processors of a user device, [receive …] an automatically [generated …]”. This is no more than “apply it” as “one or more processors of a user device” and “automatically” are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“build a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item”. “build a model of the insured item …” is no more than “apply it” because the claim fails to recite the details of how the “model of the insured item” is built “based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1).
“[update …] triggers a smart contract associated with [the] digital [wallet …, and wherein the] non-fungible [token] references a link to the built model”. This is no more than “apply it” as “triggers a smart contract” and “non-fungible [token] references a link to the built model” are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
(Step 2B) The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, over a generic computer network with generic computing elements, and generic hardware.
Analysis of dependent claim 12, recited “displaying, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, a virtual representation of the insured items of the non-fungible tokens of the digital wallet”, additional details which further narrow the abstract idea and additional elements of:
“displaying, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, a virtual representation of [the insured items of the] non-fungible [tokens of the] digital [wallet]”. This is no more than “apply it” as “displaying … a virtual representation” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, over a generic computer network with generic computing elements, and generic hardware.
Analysis of dependent claim 14, recited “wherein the insured items comprise one or more virtual insured items corresponding to the virtual environment, and wherein the displaying the virtual representation further comprises presenting (i) the one or more virtual insured items, and (ii) the model of the insured item in the virtual environment”, additional details which further narrow the abstract idea and additional elements of:
“the displaying the virtual representation further comprises presenting […] virtual [insured items …] in the virtual environment”. This is no more than “apply it” as “the displaying … comprises presenting … in the virtual environment” is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of managing insurance policy updates for an insured asset, over a generic computer network with generic computing elements, and generic hardware.
Analysis of dependent claims 2-9, 10-11, 13, 15-16 and 19-20 recited additional details which only further narrow the abstract idea and do not add any additional features, alone or in combination, that would provide a practical application or provide significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230055064 A1 (Dalmia) in view of US 20230351347 A1 (Damrow).
As to claim 1,
Dalmia teaches,
providing, via one or more processors of a virtual environment server, a virtual environment (para. 80, 90, 99);
identifying, via one or more processors of an insurance server, a digital wallet of non- fungible tokens (NFTs) configured to store NFTs that correspond to the insured items associated with the individual (FIG. 8, item 422, 423, 424, para. 119 “provides input/output functionalities associated with a traditional mobile wallet … provides user I/O functionalities to manage non-fungible tokens (NFTs). For example, the cross-channel application may enable a user to purchase NFTs, store NFTs, trade NFTs”, FIG. 7, item 406-2, para. 116 “an Insurance NFT 406-2);
detecting, via one or more processors of a user device, that an insured item has been purchased (FIG. 3, item 254, para. 100 “An insurance action 254 can be executed to insure an NFT, for example, via an insurance NFT 222 by tagging the insurance NFT 222 and underlying asset NFT”);
in response to the detecting, via the one or more processors of the user device, (FIG. 3, item 254, para. 100) automatically generating a request to add a NFT corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet (para. 48, 101 “a smart contract associated with an NFT can specify one or more attributes associated with an NFT action. For example, a smart contract may indicate that each party is to designate a digital wallet or other means for exchanging funds (either physical or virtual currency) to complete a transaction”);
detecting, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the request to add the NFT corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet (para. 48, 101);
updating, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the digital wallet to include the NFT, wherein the update to the digital wallet triggers a smart contract associated with the digital wallet to update an insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet (), and [wherein the NFT references a link to the built model].
Dalmia does not teach,
building, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item;
[updating …], wherein the NFT references a link to the built model.
however, Damrow teaches,
building, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item (para. 38 “The metadata I/O controller 110 can process a set of images to create a 3D digital twin object file representing a physical object”, para. 71 “insuring the objects …);
[updating …], wherein the NFT references a link to the built model (para. 33 “3D digital objects to be represented in a form compatible with and connected to a distributed ledger, such that it can be transformed into a NFT within an application or online”, para. 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow because 3D modeling of insured objects improves insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT “[t]hrough the creation of digital twins in the form of NFTs, users can interact with these objects in improved ways, opening up new possibilities for exploration, education, and appreciation of cultural heritage and history”, para. 90.
As to claims 17 and 18,
Dalmia teaches,
identify a digital wallet of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) configured to store NFTs that correspond to the insured items associated with the individual (FIG. 8, item 422, 423, 424, para. 119 “provides input/output functionalities associated with a traditional mobile wallet … provides user I/O functionalities to manage non-fungible tokens (NFTs). For example, the cross-channel application may enable a user to purchase NFTs, store NFTs, trade NFTs”, FIG. 7, item 406-2, para. 116 “an Insurance NFT 406-2”);
in response to a detection by one or more processors of a user device that an insured item has been purchased (FIG. 3, item 254, para. 100 “An insurance action 254 can be executed to insure an NFT, for example, via an insurance NFT 222 by tagging the insurance NFT 222 and underlying asset NFT”), receive, from the one or more processors of the user device, an automatically generated request to add a NFT corresponding to the insured item to the digital wallet (para. 48, 101 “a smart contract associated with an NFT can specify one or more attributes associated with an NFT action. For example, a smart contract may indicate that each party is to designate a digital wallet or other means for exchanging funds (either physical or virtual currency) to complete a transaction”);
update the digital wallet to include the NFT (para. 110 “the cross-channel application may enable a user to purchase NFTs, store NFTs, trade NFTs, para. 48 ” The cross-channel application may enable traditional digital wallet and/or cryptowallet functionalities such as making payments in traditional currency and/or cryptocurrency and/or managing NFT assets”), wherein the update to the digital wallet triggers a smart contract associated with the digital wallet to update an insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet (para. 101, para. 66 “The insurance NFT can include and/or represent an insurance policy”, para. 349 “a smart contract associated with an asset NFT and/or an insurance NFT can define one or more attributes of the insurance NFT and/or facilitate execution of actions associated with the insurance NFT”), and [wherein the NFT references a link to the built model].
Dalmia does not teach,
build a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item,
[update the digital wallet …], wherein the NFT references a link to the built model.
however, Damrow teaches,
build a model of the insured item based upon imagery data of the item, or color data of the item (para. 38 “The metadata I/O controller 110 can process a set of images to create a 3D digital twin object file representing a physical object”, para. 71 “insuring the objects …”),
[update the digital wallet …], wherein the NFT references a link to the built model (para. 33 “3D digital objects to be represented in a form compatible with and connected to a distributed ledger, such that it can be transformed into a NFT within an application or online”, para. 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow because 3D modeling of insured objects improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT “[t]hrough the creation of digital twins in the form of NFTs, users can interact with these objects in improved ways, opening up new possibilities for exploration, education, and appreciation of cultural heritage and history”, para. 90.
additionally, with respect to claim 17,
Dalmia teaches,
A computer system configured to update an inventory of insured items associated with an individual, the computer system (FIG. 35, para. 413-416) comprising:
a virtual environment server including one or more processors configured to provide a virtual environment (para. 80, 90, 99);
an insurance server including one or more processors configured to (FIG. 35, para. 413-416).
additionally, with respect to claim 18,
Dalmia teaches,
A computer system configured to update an inventory of insured items associated with an individual, the computer system (FIG. 35, para. 413-416) comprising:
a virtual environment server (para. 80, 90, 99) including: (i) one or more processors of the virtual environment server (para. 80, 90, 99), and (ii) one or more memories of the virtual environment server coupled to the one or more processors of the virtual environment server (para. 80, 90, 99), wherein the one or more memories of the virtual environment server include computer-executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, cause the one or more processors of the virtual environment server to provide a virtual environment (para. 80, 90, 99);
one or more processors of an insurance server (FIG. 35, para. 413-416);
one or more memories of the insurance server coupled to the one or more processors of the insurance server (FIG. 35, para. 413-416);
the one or more memories of the insurance server including computer-executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the insurance server, cause the one or more processors of the insurance server (FIG. 35, para. 413-416) to.
As to claim 2, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the update to the insurance policy comprises an update to a list of insured items covered by the insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet (FIG. 7, item 406-2, para. 116 “NFT's may represent characters with the gaming system. For example, each character may be a game piece within a game or a collectible within a game… Example NFTs 406 in FIG. 5 include … an insurance NFT”).
As to claim 3, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Dalmia also teaches,
generating, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the smart contract, wherein the smart contract (para. 66, 349) is configured to: (i) determine, based upon a type of the insured item, an insurance policy that the insured item corresponds to (para. 66 “The insurance NFT can include and/or represent an insurance policy”), and (ii) add the insured item to the list of insured items of the insurance policy (para. 349 “a smart contract associated with an asset NFT and/or an insurance NFT can define one or more attributes of the insurance NFT and/or facilitate execution of actions associated with the insurance NFT”).
As to claim 4, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the update to the insurance policy comprises an update to an insurance premium of the insurance policy based upon the updated digital wallet (para. 100, para. 48 ” The cross-channel application may enable traditional digital wallet and/or cryptowallet functionalities such as … managing NFT assets”).
As to claim 5, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1,
Dalmia also teaches,
generating, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the smart contract, wherein the smart contract is configured to trigger upon detecting an indication that the digital wallet has been updated (para. 118 “A smart contract may define the terms of agreement of the action and execution of code snippets associated therewith. For example, a smart contract may specify that the acquiring party identify a digital wallet from which currency (e.g., cryptocurrency or real currency) will be transferred to the providing party”).
As to claim 6, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Dalmia also teaches,
analyzing, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, a distributed ledger to determine NFTs corresponding to additional insured items associated with the individual (para. 352 “an owner of an asset NFT can acquire an insurance NFT to protect the asset NFT by accessing an NFT portal system of a computing and/or gaming environment”),
presenting, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, representations of the additional insured items to the individual (para. 352 “such an owner of an asset NFT can access such an NFT portal system to locate an insurer entity that will underwrite an insurance policy and link an insurance NFT to the asset NFT to protect the asset NFT”),
receiving, via the one or more processors of the insurance server and from the user device associated with the individual, a selection of one or more of the additional insured items associated with the individual to be added to the digital wallet (para. 352 “the owner of the asset NFT (insured entity) and/or the insurer entity can employ a decentralized finance (DeFi) application, a cryptocurrency application, and/or a blockchain platform (e.g., a digital ledger platform) of such a computing and/or gaming environment to: execute the insurance policy”),
adding, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the selected one or more additional insured items to the digital wallet (para. 352 “execute the insurance policy”, para. 119 “the cross-channel application may enable a user to … store NFTs”).
As to claim 12, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Dalmia also teaches,
displaying, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, a virtual representation of the insured items of the NFTs of the digital wallet (FIG. 7, item 406-2, para. 116 “an insurance NFT”).
As to claim 13, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1 and 12.
wherein displaying the virtual representation of the insured items of the NFTs further comprises displaying insurance premiums, insurance coverage amounts, and/or insurance deductibles for the insured items of the NFTs of the digital wallet (para. 116, para. 349 “terms defining the one or more insurance premium …”).
As to claim 14, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the insured items comprise one or more virtual insured items corresponding to a virtual environment, and wherein the displaying the virtual representation further comprises presenting (i) the one or more virtual insured items, and (ii) the model of the insured item (para. 415) in the virtual environment (para. 116 “NFT's may represent characters with the gaming system… an insurance NFT”).
As to claim 15, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 12.
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the insured items comprise: (i) one or more virtual insured items corresponding to a virtual environment, and (ii) one or more physical insured items (para. 58, 116), and wherein the displaying the virtual representation of the insured items further comprises (para.116),
displaying, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, a list of the one or more physical insured items (para. 116, para. 58 “a real, physical gaming environment”),
presenting, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server, the one or more virtual insured items in the virtual environment (para. 116, 58).
As to claim 16, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 12
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the insured items comprise: (i) one or more virtual insured items corresponding to a virtual environment, and (ii) one or more physical insured items (para. 58, 116), and wherein the displaying the virtual representation of the insured items further comprises (para. 116),
receiving, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment server and from the individual, a selection of viewing either the one or more virtual insured items, or the one or more physical insured items (para. 116)
depending upon the selection, via the one or more processors, either: displaying, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment, a list of the one or more physical insured items; or presenting, via the one or more processors of the virtual environment, the one or more virtual insured items in the virtual environment (para. 116).
As to claim 19, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 18.
Dalmia also teaches,
the user device: (i) including a display, and (ii) configured to allow a user to interact with the virtual environment, and wherein the one or more memories of the virtual environment server including computer-executable instructions stored therein that, when executed by the one or more processors of the virtual environment server further cause the one or more processors of the virtual environment server (FIG. 3, item 254, para. 100, FIG. 35, para. 413-416) to
display a virtual representation of the insured items of the NFTs (para. 116).
As to claim 20, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 18.
Dalmia also teaches,
wherein the insured items comprise one or more physical insured items (para. 58).
Claims 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalmia in view of Damrow in further view of US 20170228825 A1 (Dhaliwal).
As to claim 7, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Dalmia teaches,
adding the identified items to the digital wallet (para. 48, 101).
combination of Dalmia and Damrow do not teach,
receiving, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, smart home data from one or more smart home devices associated with the individual;
analyzing, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the smart home data to identify items that correspond to an NFT associated with insurance coverage.
however, Dhaliwal teaches,
receiving, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, smart home data from one or more smart home devices associated with the individual (para. 76 “ obtaining by the processor at least one of: (a) real-time audio data from at least one audio sensor at the location; and (b) real-time video data from at least one video sensor at the location”);
analyzing, via the one or more processors of the insurance server, the smart home data to identify items that correspond to an NFT associated with insurance coverage (“analyzing, by the processor, … the obtained video data to determine whether the insured object identified in the insurance claim was at the location at the particular time”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow with smart home sensor based insurance analysis of Dhaliwal because smart home sensor based insurance analysis improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT by automating insurable asset determination for a dwelling associated with a homeowners insurance.
As to claim 10, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
combination of Dalmia and Damrow do not teach,
wherein the insured items are insured as part of a homeowners insurance policy.
however, Dhaliwal teaches,
wherein the insured items are insured as part of a homeowners insurance policy (para. 4 “insured items of value in an insured location (e.g., in an insured home”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow with smart home sensor based insurance analysis of Dhaliwal because smart home sensor based insurance analysis improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT by automating insurable asset determination for a dwelling associated with a homeowners insurance.
As to claim 11, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
combination of Dalmia and Damrow do not teach,
wherein the insured items comprise: electronic items, furniture, and/or kitchen appliances.
however, Dhaliwal teaches,
wherein the insured items comprise: electronic items, furniture, and/or kitchen appliances (para. 66 “insurance on assets that have financial and/or sentimental value. These assets may be, for example, …, antiques”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow with smart home sensor based insurance analysis of Dhaliwal because smart home sensor based insurance analysis improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT by automating insurable asset determination for a dwelling associated with a homeowners insurance.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalmia in view of Damrow in further view of US 20220229883 A1 (Khande).
As to claim 8, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
combination of Dalmia and Damrow do not teach, however Khande teaches,
automatically receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication that an NFT has been newly minted (para. 215, 216 “a validated NFT can be minted”),
determining, via the one or more processors, that the newly minted NFT corresponds to an insured item (para. 216 “a new NFT can be purchased representing an insurance policy on the collectible NFT”),
determining, via the one or more processors, that the insured item is associated with the individual (para. 215 “To protect the buyer, the insurance policy provided will be issued to the buyer of the NFT”),
in response to the determinations that the newly minted NFT corresponds to the insured item, and that the insured item is associated with the individual, adding, via the one or more processors the item to the digital wallet (para. 216 “a new NFT can be purchased representing an insurance policy on the collectible NFT”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow with the minting of the NFTs of Khande because minting NFTs improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT by generating a customized NFT based on insurance policy.
As to claim 9, combination of Dalmia and Damrow teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Dalmia does not explicitly teach, however Khande teaches,
automatically receiving, via the one or more processors, an indication that an NFT has been newly minted (para. 215, 216),
determining, via the one or more processors, that the newly minted NFT is associated with the individual; and in response to determining that the newly minted NFT corresponds to the individual (para. 215, 216),
prompting, via the one or more processors, the individual to purchase insurance for an item associated with the NFT (para. 215, 216).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to insuring gaming asset(s) via an NFT of Dalmia with 3D modeling of insured objects of Damrow with the minting of the NFTs of Khande because minting NFTs improves insuring asset(s) via an NFT by generating a customized NFT based on insurance policy.
Conclusion
/BROCK E TURK/Examiner, Art Unit 3692 /DAVID P SHARVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692