DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 11-14, in the reply filed on April 15, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be a significant burden on the Office to search and examine each of the identified inventions. This is not found persuasive because the inventions required a different field of search, and prior art applicable to one invention may not be applicable to the other invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) (WO 2021/0195881 A1; see U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0043821 A1 for English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Chen teaches a negative electrode plate comprising a negative electrode current collector 101 (strength enhancement layer) (see paragraph 38). A first negative electrode framework layer 102 with a higher porosity is provided on a surface of the current collector 101 (see paragraph 39). A second negative electrode framework layer 103 with a lower porosity is provided on a surface of the first negative electrode framework layer 102 (see paragraph 40). A first negative electrode framework layer 102 and a second negative electrode framework layer 103 may be provided on each surface on both sides of the current collector 101 (see paragraph 55). The first electrode framework layers 102 may comprise a copper foam with a porosity of 70%. The second electrode framework layers 103 may comprise a copper foam with a porosity of 30% (see paragraph 124). Thus, a first electrode framework layer 102 on one side of the current collector 101 may constitute “a second foam metal layer” as claimed, and a second electrode framework layer 103 on the opposite side of the current collector 101 may constitute “a first foam metal layer” as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches that the negative electrode current collector may comprise a metal foil (sheet-like metal layer) (see paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 3, it is well known in the art to utilize perforated current collecting foil in order to reduce the weight of inactive battery cell components and further to improve an adhesion of adjoining layers.
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches that the porosity of the first negative electrode framework layer ranges from approximately 55% to approximately 90% (see paragraph 45). The porosity of the second negative electrode framework layer ranges from approximately 10% to approximately 50% (see paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches that the first negative electrode framework layer may have a thickness of 45 μm (see paragraph 124).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches that the negative electrode current collector 101 may comprise a nickel foil or a copper foil (see paragraph 38).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, Chen teaches that the negative electrode plate may be utilized in a lithium-ion battery which is widely used in consumer electronics and electric vehicles (see paragraph 3).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, it is well known in the art to group a plurality of individual battery cells into a battery module, wherein multiple battery modules may be included in a single battery pack on the basis of a required output or capacity.
Conclusion
/STEPHAN J ESSEX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727