DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received 02/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the specification overcomes the objection to the drawings outlined in the previous Office Action. The objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 2, 4, 11, 12, 17, and 19 overcomes the objections outlined in the previous Office Action. The objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 20 overcomes the 112(b) rejection outlined in the previous Office Action. The rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-15, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Kusunoki et al. (US 20240381702 A1) does not teach or suggest “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern” and further that a skilled person would not interpret an “adhesive layer” more broadly than is described in the specification of Kusunoki, thus rendering the classification of “insulating layer 105”, [0107] as an “adhesive layer” unreasonable.
However, as presented in the previous Office Action, Kusunoki discloses “As the insulating layer 105, an inorganic insulating film or an organic insulating film can be used. For example, resins such as an acrylic resin and an epoxy resin, and inorganic insulating materials such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, silicon nitride, and aluminum oxide can be given”, [0202]. Kusunoki further discloses “For the adhesive layer 107, a variety of curable adhesives such as a photocurable adhesive like an ultraviolet curable adhesive, a reactive curable adhesive, a thermosetting adhesive, and an anaerobic adhesive can be used. Examples of these adhesives include an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin…”, [0206]. Thus while 105 is labeled as an insulating layer, it can nonetheless be formed of the same material as 107 which is an adhesive layer. As 105 and 107 can both be formed of epoxy resin for example, they necessarily share material properties. Therefore if 107 can function as an adhesive layer, then so too can 105. One skilled in the art would recognize that a given material is not limited to its primary functionality and that other material characteristics may be utilized simultaneously. In this case, using 105 as an insulating layer does not preclude the use of any other properties of 105, thus the rejection is maintained as 105 is an adhesive layer, and as seen in Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, 105 is disposed directly on “insulating layer 103”, ([0205]) and “conductive layer 104”, ([0107]).
In addition, Liu et al. (US 9,379,072 B2) teaches “In one embodiment, the adhesive layer 360 may comprise epoxy resin, inorganic materials (such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, metal oxide or a combination thereof), organic polymer materials (such as polyimide, butylcyclobutene (BCB), parylene, polynaphthalenes, fluorocarbons or acrylates) or other suitable insulating materials”, (col. 7, lines 38-44). Thus, Liu discloses epoxy resin as an adhesive layer and an insulating layer, further indicating that an epoxy resin material regardless of label, can serve as an adhesive layer.
Lastly, one skilled in the art would recognize an epoxy resin as an inherently adhesive material. Regardless of the primary functionality, as an epoxy resin material, insulating layer 105 would necessarily adhere to surrounding layers when formed as an initially uncured layer.
Thus, in view of the previously cited art, Kusunoki, the newly cited art, Liu, and the inherent properties of epoxy resin, the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 is maintained.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 recites "the first extension of the adhesive layer is provided on a side the conductive pattern". It appears this should instead be written as “the first extension of the adhesive layer is provided on a side of the conductive pattern” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Line 5 of claim 1 recites the phrase “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern”. The word “deposited” does not seem to be defined or elaborated on in the specification or the claims. The word “disposed” which would in this context otherwise be considered to be synonymous with “deposited”, appears several times in claim 1, indicating a distinction between “disposed” and “deposited”. For this reason, “deposited” will be interpretated as “disposed directly on” for the purposes of this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein a boundary between a third top surface and a fourth top surface is the same as a boundary between the first top surface and the second top surface" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Neither the first nor the second top surface have previously been introduced, further the third and fourth top surfaces do not appear to be present in the specification or the figures. However, the first top face and the second top face were introduced in claim 1, similarly, the third top face and the fourth top face were introduced in claim 3. Thus, as best understood by the examiner, the limitation will be interpretated as “wherein a boundary between face” for the purposes of examination.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, an image sensor ("an image sensor 1") comprising:
a substrate ("a second substrate 130") having a photoelectric conversion element ("photoelectric conversion element PD may be provided in the second substrate 130", [0073]) disposed therein;
a passivation layer ("a passivation layer 150") disposed on the substrate ("passivation layer 150 may be provided on the top face 130b of the second substrate 130", [0083]) and extending in a first direction (as seen in Fig. 4, 171 extends in the DR1 direction;
a conductive pattern ("a first conductive pattern 161") disposed on the passivation layer (" first conductive pattern 161 may be provided on the passivation layer 150", [93]); and
an adhesive layer ("an adhesive layer 171") deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern ("an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern", [0006]), wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area ("R_flat2") disposed on the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 5, R_flat2 is disposed on 150) and extending in the first direction (as seen in Fig. 5, R_flat2 extends in the DR1 direction); and
an inclined area ("an inclined area R_slope") connected to the first flat area (as seen in Fig. 5, R_slope is connected to R_flat2), wherein a first top face of the inclined area is bent from a second top face of the first flat area (as seen in Fig. 5, a first top face of R_slope is bent from a second top face of R_flat2),
wherein the first top face has a constant slope with respect to the second top face (see Fig. 5), and
wherein the first top face of R_slope has a constant slope with respect to the second top face (see Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noudo (US 11,387,265 B2) in view of Zhou et al. (US 11,296,249 B2) in view of Kusunoki et al. (US 20240381702 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 9,379,072 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 3 of Noudo discloses an image sensor (“pixel array section 10”, col. 6, line 39) comprising:
a substrate (“semiconductor substrate 141”, col. 8, line 12) having a photoelectric conversion element (“photoelectric conversion section 101”, col. 8, line 16) disposed therein (as seen in Fig. 3, 141 has 101 disposed therein);
a layer (“insulating film 151”, col. 8, line 11) disposed on the substrate (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 is disposed on 141) and extending in a first direction (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 extends in a horizontal direction).
Noudo fails to disclose “a passivation layer;
a conductive pattern disposed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a first top face of the inclined area is bent from a second top face of the first flat area, and
wherein the first top face has a constant slope with respect to the second top face.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 1 of Zhou teaches a passivation layer (“passivation layer 10 may be made of a transparent and insulating material”, col 12, lines 1-2, from Noudo: “An arrow in FIG. 3 represents this state, in which a solid line represents light transmitted through the photoelectric conversion section 101 of the pixel 100 and incident on the polarization section 130”, col. 11, lines 10-13, as seen in Fig. 3, the arrow passes through 151 indicating that 151 is transparent to, as 151 is transparent and insulating, 151 is therefore a passivation layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a passivation layer” as taught by Zhou in the system of Noudo for the purpose of passivating the layers beneath and preventing undesired oxidation after device manufacturing.
Noudo in combination with Zhou fails to disclose “a conductive pattern disposed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a first top face of the inclined area is bent from a second top face of the first flat area, and
wherein the first top face has a constant slope with respect to the second top face.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki teaches a conductive pattern (“conductive layer 104”, [0107], “the insulating layer 103 functions as an etching stopper when the conductive layer 104 is processed (etched)”, [0205], 104 is a discrete layer that has been etched and is therefore a conductive pattern) disposed on the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2B, 104 is disposed on 103 which is equivalent to 151 of Noudo); and
an adhesive layer (“an insulating layer 105”, [0107], “As the insulating layer 105, an inorganic insulating film or an organic insulating film can be used. For example, resins such as an acrylic resin and an epoxy resin, and inorganic insulating materials such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, silicon nitride, and aluminum oxide can be given”, [0202], “For the adhesive layer 107, a variety of curable adhesives such as a photocurable adhesive like an ultraviolet curable adhesive, a reactive curable adhesive, a thermosetting adhesive, and an anaerobic adhesive can be used. Examples of these adhesives include an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin…”, [0206], both 105 and the adhesive layer 107 can be made from the same material, thus 105 is also an adhesive layer, further, as Kusunoki does not explicitly state that 105 is both an insulating layer and an adhesive layer, a secondary reference will be utilized to teach this limitation below) deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern (as seen in Fig. 2B, 105 is disposed directly on 103 and 104), wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “FA1” is a first flat area), disposed on the passivation layer (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, FA1 is disposed on 103) and extending in the first direction (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, FA1 extends in the horizontal direction); and
an inclined area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “IA1” is an inclined area) connected to the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, IA1 is connected to FA1),
wherein a first top face of the inclined area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the face denoted “TF1” is a first top face of the inclined area) is bent from a second top face of the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the face denoted “TF2” is a second top face of the first flat area, further, TF1 is bent form TF2), and
wherein the first top face has a constant slope with respect to the second top face (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, TF1 has a constant slope with respect to TF2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a conductive pattern disposed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a first top face of the inclined area is bent from a second top face of the first flat area, and
wherein the first top face has a constant slope with respect to the second top face”
as taught by Kusunoki in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou for the purpose of forming a touch sensor (“a touch sensor is formed by the conductive layer 104 and the conductive layer 106 which are formed with the insulating layer 105 therebetween”, [0192]).
Noudo in combination with Zhou and Kusunoki fails to directly disclose “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern”.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 1A-1G of Liu teach an adhesive layer (“In one embodiment, the adhesive layer 360 may comprise epoxy resin, inorganic materials (such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, metal oxide or a combination thereof), organic polymer materials (such as polyimide, butylcyclobutene (BCB), parylene, polynaphthalenes, fluorocarbons or acrylates) or other suitable insulating materials”, col. 7, lines 38-44, thus 360 which can be an epoxy resin, is both an adhesive layer and an insulating material, where 360 of Liu is equivalent to 105 of Kusunoki) deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern (as previously discussed 105 of Kusunoki is disposed directly on 103 and 104 of Kusunoki).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern” as taught by Liu in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou and Kusunoki for the purpose of improving structural reliability by using an insulating layer that also serves to bond adjacent layers together.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 1, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the first top face has a slope of a first angle with respect to a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (the vertical direction is a second direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction, TF1 has a slope of a first angle with respect to the vertical direction), and
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees (as seen in Fig. 2B, the first angle of the slope of TF1 is greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 1, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the adhesive layer includes:
a first portion extending along the second top face of the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, “P1” is a first portion of 105 extending along TF2); and
a second portion extending along the first top face of the inclined area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, “P2” is a second portion of 105 along TF2), and
wherein a third top face of the second portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC3, the face denoted “TF3” is a third top face of P2, Fig. 2BC3 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability) has a constant slope with respect to a fourth top face of the first portion (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2BC3, the face denoted “TF4” is a fourth top face of P1, and TF3 has a constant slope with respect to TF4)
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 3, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the third top face has a slope of a second angle with respect to a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (the vertical direction is a second direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction, TF3 has a slope of a second angle with respect to the vertical direction), and
wherein the second angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees (as seen in Fig. 2BC3, the first angle of the slope of TF3 is greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 3, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the first top face has a slope of a first angle with respect to a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (the vertical direction is a second direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction, TF1 has a slope of a first angle with respect to the vertical direction), wherein the third top face has a slope of a second angle relative to the second direction (“TF3 has a slope of a second angle with respect to the vertical direction)”, wherein the first angle and the second angle are equal to each other (as seen in Fig. 2BC3, the first angle of the slope of TF1 is equal to the second angle of the slope of TF3), and
wherein a boundary between a third top surface and a fourth top surface is the same as a boundary between the first top surface and the second top surface (as seen in Fig. 2BC3, the boundary between TF3 and TF4 is the same as a boundary between TF1 and TF2).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 3, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the adhesive layer further includes a third portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC6, “P3” is a third portion of 105, Fig. 2BC6 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability) connected to the second portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC6, P3 is connected to P2) and directly contacting a top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC6, P3 is directly contacting a top face of 103), and
wherein the third top face has a constant slope with respect to a fifth top face of the third portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC6, the face denoted “TF5” is a fifth top face of P3, and TF3 has a constant slope with respect to TF5).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 3, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein a first thickness of the first portion based on the second top face (as seen in Fig. 2BC7, T1 is a first thickness of P1 based on TF2, 2BC7 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability) is equal to a second thickness of the second portion based on the first top face (as seen in Fig. 2BC7, T2 is a first thickness of P2 based on TF1, T1 is equal to T2).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 3, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the first top face intersects a top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC8, the face denoted “TFP” is a top face of 103 and TF1 intersects TFP, Fig. 2BC8 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 3 of Noudo discloses an image sensor (“pixel array section 10”, col. 6, line 39) comprising:
a substrate (“semiconductor substrate 141”, col. 8, line 12) having a photoelectric conversion element (“photoelectric conversion section 101”, col. 8, line 16) disposed therein (as seen in Fig. 3, 141 has 101 disposed therein);
a layer (“insulating film 151”, col. 8, line 11) disposed on the substrate (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 is disposed on 141) and extending in a first direction (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 extends in a horizontal direction).
Noudo fails to disclose “a passivation layer;
a conductive pattern formed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer formed along the conductive pattern and formed on the passivation layer,
wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area extending from the passivation layer in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and extending so as to have a first constant thickness; and
an inclined area, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern in the inclined area from the passivation layer in the second direction decreases from the first thickness as the conductive pattern in the inclined area extends away from the first flat area in the first direction.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 1 of Zhou teaches a passivation layer (“passivation layer 10 may be made of a transparent and insulating material”, col 12, lines 1-2, from Noudo: “An arrow in FIG. 3 represents this state, in which a solid line represents light transmitted through the photoelectric conversion section 101 of the pixel 100 and incident on the polarization section 130”, col. 11, lines 10-13, as seen in Fig. 3, the arrow passes through 151 indicating that 151 is transparent to, as 151 is transparent and insulating, 151 is therefore a passivation layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a passivation layer” as taught by Zhou in the system of Noudo for the purpose of passivating the layers beneath and preventing undesired oxidation after device manufacturing.
Noudo in combination with Zhou fails to disclose “a conductive pattern formed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer formed along the conductive pattern and formed on the passivation layer,
wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area extending from the passivation layer in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and extending so as to have a first constant thickness; and
an inclined area, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern in the inclined area from the passivation layer in the second direction decreases from the first thickness as the conductive pattern in the inclined area extends away from the first flat area in the first direction.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki teaches a conductive pattern (“conductive layer 104”, [0107], “the insulating layer 103 functions as an etching stopper when the conductive layer 104 is processed (etched)”, [0205], 104 is a discrete layer that has been etched and is therefore a conductive pattern) formed on the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2B, 104 is formed on 103 which is equivalent to 151 of Noudo); and
an adhesive layer (“an insulating layer 105”, [0107], “As the insulating layer 105, an inorganic insulating film or an organic insulating film can be used. For example, resins such as an acrylic resin and an epoxy resin, and inorganic insulating materials such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, silicon nitride, and aluminum oxide can be given”, [0202], “For the adhesive layer 107, a variety of curable adhesives such as a photocurable adhesive like an ultraviolet curable adhesive, a reactive curable adhesive, a thermosetting adhesive, and an anaerobic adhesive can be used. Examples of these adhesives include an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin…”, [0206], both 105 and the adhesive layer 107 can be made from the same material, thus 105 is also an adhesive layer, further, as Kusunoki does not explicitly state that 105 is both an insulating layer and an adhesive layer, a secondary reference will be utilized to teach this limitation below) formed along the conductive pattern (as seen in Fig. 2B, 105 is formed along 104) and formed on the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2B, 105 is formed on 103),
wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “FA1” is a first flat area) extending from the passivation layer in a second direction (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, 104 extends from 103 in the vertical direction) perpendicular to the first direction (the vertical direction is perpendicular to the horizontal direction) and extending so as to have a first constant thickness (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, 104 has a constant thickness in FA1); and
an inclined area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “IA1” is an inclined area), wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern in the inclined area from the passivation layer in the second direction decreases from the first thickness as the conductive pattern in the inclined area extends away from the first flat area in the first direction (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the thickness of 104 in IA1 from 103 decreases from the thickness of 104 in FA1 as 104 in IA1 extends away from FA1 in the horizontal direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a conductive pattern formed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer formed along the conductive pattern and formed on the passivation layer,
wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area extending from the passivation layer in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and extending so as to have a first constant thickness;
an inclined area, wherein a thickness of the conductive pattern in the inclined area from the passivation layer in the second direction decreases from the first thickness as the conductive pattern in the inclined area extends away from the first flat area in the first direction”
as taught by Kusunoki in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou for the purpose of forming a touch sensor (“a touch sensor is formed by the conductive layer 104 and the conductive layer 106 which are formed with the insulating layer 105 therebetween”, [0192]).
Noudo in combination with Zhou and Kusunoki fails to directly disclose “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern”.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 1A-1G of Liu teach an adhesive layer (“In one embodiment, the adhesive layer 360 may comprise epoxy resin, inorganic materials (such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, metal oxide or a combination thereof), organic polymer materials (such as polyimide, butylcyclobutene (BCB), parylene, polynaphthalenes, fluorocarbons or acrylates) or other suitable insulating materials”, col. 7, lines 38-44, thus 360 which can be an epoxy resin, is both an adhesive layer and an insulating material, where 360 of Liu is equivalent to 105 of Kusunoki) deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern (as previously discussed 105 of Kusunoki is disposed directly on 103 and 104 of Kusunoki).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern” as taught by Liu in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou and Kusunoki for the purpose of improving structural reliability by using an insulating layer that also serves to bond adjacent layers together.
Regarding claim 12 Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 9, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein a third top face of the inclined area (as seen in Fig. 2BC12, the face “TF3” is a third top face of IAL, Fig. 2BC12 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability) has a slope greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees with respect to the top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC8, the face denoted “TFP” is a top face of 103 and TF3 has a slope greater than 0 degree and smaller than 90 degrees with respect to TFP), and intersects the top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC8, TF3 intersects TFP).
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 9, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the adhesive layer includes:
a first extension extending in the first direction and along the top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC13, the region denoted “E1” is a first extension of 105 extending in the horizontal direction and along TFP, Fig. 2BC13 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability);
a bent portion disposed on the inclined area of the conductive pattern and extending along the conductive pattern (as seen in Fig. 2BC13, the region denoted “BP” is a bent portion of 105 disposed on IA1 and extending along 104), wherein the bent portion is bent from the first extension (as seen in Fig. 2BC13, BP is bent from E1); and
a second extension disposed on the first flat area of the conductive pattern and extending in the first direction (as seen in Fig. 2BC13, the region denoted “E2” is a second extension of 105 disposed on 104 and extending in the horizontal direction), wherein the bent portion has a constant slope relative to each of the first extension and the second extension (as seen in Fig. 2BC13, BP as a constant slope relative to each of E1 and E2).
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 13, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein a top face of the bent portion is flat (as seen in Fig. 2BC14, the top face of BP denoted “TFB” is flat, Fig. 2BC14 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 9, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein a top face of the inclined area is flat (as seen in Fig. 2BC15, the top face of IA1 denoted “TFI” is flat, Fig. 2BC15 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noudo (US 11,387,265 B2) in view of Zhou et al. (US 11,296,249 B2) in view of Kusunoki et al. (US 20240381702 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 9,379,072 B2) in view of Nakata et al. (US 8,866,205 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 9, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the inclined area of the conductive pattern includes:
a first portion (the right half of 104 in IA1 is a first portion) adjacent to the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the right half of104 in IA1 is adjacent to FA1); and
a second portion (the left half of 104 in IA1 is a second portion) adjacent to the first portion (the left half of 104 in IA1 is adjacent to the right half of 104 in IA1 by definition) and spaced apart from the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the left half of 104 in IA1 is spaced apart from FA1) while the first portion is interposed between the second portion and the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the right half of 104 in IA1 interposed between the right half of 104 in IA1 and FA1),
Noudo in combination with Zhou, Kusunoki, and Liu fails to disclose “wherein a first top face of the first portion is bent from a top face of the first flat area,
wherein a second top face of the second portion is bent from the first top face so as to be connected to the top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first top face has a first slope with respect to the top face of the first flat area, and
wherein the second top face has a second slope with respect to the top face of the passivation layer, wherein the second slope is different from the first slope.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 11 of Nakata teaches wherein a first top face of the first portion (“first side face 304a1”, col. 8, line 10, 304a1 of Nakata is equivalent to the top face of the right half of 104 in IA1 of Kusunoki, where “metal layer 317”, col. 8, line 8, and “interlayer insulation film 312”, col. 8, line 7, of Nakata are equivalent to 104 and 103 of Kusunoki respectively, and “first pattern 107”, col. 8, line 23, is formed from 317) is bent from a top face of the first flat area (as seen in Fig. 11, the face denoted “TFF” of Nakata is equivalent to a top face of FA1 of Kusunoki, and 304a1 is bent from TFF),
wherein a second top face of the second portion (“second side face 304a2”, col. 8, line 12, 304a2 of Nakata is equivalent to the top face of the left half of 104 in IA1 of Kusunoki) is bent from the first top face (as seen in Fig. 11, 304a2 I bent from 304a1) so as to be connected to the top face of the passivation layer (after substitution of 304a1 and 304a2 of Nakata for the top face of the right and left halves of 104 in IA1 of Kusunoki, 304a2 of Nakata is connected to 103 of Kusunoki, in Fig. 11 “third side face 304a3”, see Fig. 11, is equivalent to the top face of 103 of Kusunoki),
wherein the first top face has a first slope with respect to the top face of the first flat area (as seen in Fig. 11, 304a1 has a first slope with respect to TFF), and
wherein the second top face has a second slope with respect to the top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 11, 304a2 has a second slope with respect to 304a3), wherein the second slope is different from the first slope (as seen in Fig. 11, the second slope of 304a2 is different than the first slope of 304a1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “wherein a first top face of the first portion is bent from a top face of the first flat area,
wherein a second top face of the second portion is bent from the first top face so as to be connected to the top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first top face has a first slope with respect to the top face of the first flat area, and
wherein the second top face has a second slope with respect to the top face of the passivation layer, wherein the second slope is different from the first slope” as taught by Nakata in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou, Kusunoki, and Liu for the purpose of improving coatability and electrical connections (“the first side face 304a1 is downwardly tapered toward the bottom face of the recess 304a. The shape (tapered shape) suitable for forming the second pattern 304 with good coatability can ensure a good electrical connection between a metal layer 105, a first pattern 107, and the second pattern 304.”, col. 8, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, Figs. 1A-1G of Liu, and Fig. 11 of Nakata disclose the image sensor of claim 10, Fig. 11 of Nakata further discloses wherein the first top face has a slope of a first angle relative to the second direction (as seen in Fig. 11, 304a1 has a slope of a first angle relative to the vertical direction),
wherein the second top face has a slope of a second angle relative to the second direction (as seen in Fig. 11, 304a2 has a slope of a second angle relative to the vertical direction), and
wherein each of the first angle and the second angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees (as seen in Fig. 11, each of the first angle and the second angle are greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noudo (US 11,387,265 B2) in view of Zhou et al. (US 11,296,249 B2) in view of Hsu et al. (US 9,437,578 B2) in view of Kusunoki et al. (US 20240381702 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 9,379,072 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 3 of Noudo discloses an image sensor (“pixel array section 10”, col. 6, line 39) comprising:
a substrate (“semiconductor substrate 141”, col. 8, line 12);
a layer (“insulating film 151”, col. 8, line 11) disposed on the substrate (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 is disposed on 141) and extending in a first direction (as seen in Fig. 3, 151 extends in a horizontal direction).
Noudo fails to disclose “a passivation layer;
a trench extending through the passivation layer and extending through a portion of the substrate;
a conductive pattern extending along a profile of the trench and formed on the passivation layer;
a pad disposed in the trench and on the conductive pattern; and
an adhesive layer formed on the conductive pattern and the passivation layer, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to a top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees, and
wherein the top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is flat.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 1 of Zhou teaches a passivation layer (“passivation layer 10 may be made of a transparent and insulating material”, col 12, lines 1-2, from Noudo: “An arrow in FIG. 3 represents this state, in which a solid line represents light transmitted through the photoelectric conversion section 101 of the pixel 100 and incident on the polarization section 130”, col. 11, lines 10-13, as seen in Fig. 3, the arrow passes through 151 indicating that 151 is transparent to, as 151 is transparent and insulating, 151 is therefore a passivation layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a passivation layer” as taught by Zhou in the system of Noudo for the purpose of passivating the layers beneath and preventing undesired oxidation after device manufacturing.
Noudo in combination with Zhou fails to disclose “a trench extending through the passivation layer and extending through a portion of the substrate;
a conductive pattern extending along a profile of the trench and formed on the passivation layer;
a pad disposed in the trench and on the conductive pattern; and
an adhesive layer formed on the conductive pattern and the passivation layer, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to a top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees, and
wherein the top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is flat.”
However, in a device that is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, Figs. 12 and 13 of Hsu teaches a trench (“opening 148”, col. 6, line 2) extending through the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 12, 148 extends through “dielectric hard mask layer 144”, col. 5, lines 56-57, 144 of Hsu is equivalent to 151 of Noudo as “144 comprises an oxide such as silicon oxide”, col. 5, lines 60-61, silicon oxide is known in the art as a transparent and insulating material) and extending through a portion of the substrate (as seen in Fig. 12, 148 extends through a portion of “wafer 100”, col. 2, lines 47-48, where 100 of Hsu is equivalent to 141 of Noudo);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a trench extending through the passivation layer and extending through a portion of the substrate” as taught by Hsu in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou for the purpose of providing a structure to incorporate vertical connectivity pathways to increase device density.
Noudo in combination with Zhou and Hsu fails to disclose “a conductive pattern extending along a profile of the trench and formed on the passivation layer;
a pad disposed in the trench and on the conductive pattern; and
an adhesive layer formed on the conductive pattern and the passivation layer, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to a top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees, and
wherein the top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is flat.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki teaches a conductive pattern (“conductive layer 104”, [0107], “the insulating layer 103 functions as an etching stopper when the conductive layer 104 is processed (etched)”, [0205], 104 is a discrete layer that has been etched and is therefore a conductive pattern) formed on the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2B, 104 is formed on 103 which is equivalent to 151 of Noudo); and
an adhesive layer (“an insulating layer 105”, [0107], “As the insulating layer 105, an inorganic insulating film or an organic insulating film can be used. For example, resins such as an acrylic resin and an epoxy resin, and inorganic insulating materials such as silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, silicon nitride, and aluminum oxide can be given”, [0202], “For the adhesive layer 107, a variety of curable adhesives such as a photocurable adhesive like an ultraviolet curable adhesive, a reactive curable adhesive, a thermosetting adhesive, and an anaerobic adhesive can be used. Examples of these adhesives include an epoxy resin, an acrylic resin…”, [0206], both 105 and the adhesive layer 107 can be made from the same material, thus 105 is also an adhesive layer, further, as Kusunoki does not explicitly state that 105 is both an insulating layer and an adhesive layer, a secondary reference will be utilized to teach this limitation below) formed on the conductive pattern and the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2B, 105 is formed on 104 and 103), wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “FA1” is a first flat area), disposed on the passivation layer (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, FA1 is disposed on 103) and extending in the first direction (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, FA1 extends in the horizontal direction); and
an inclined area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, the area denoted “IA1” is an inclined area) connected to the first flat area (as seen in the enlarged Fig. 2B, IA1 is connected to FA1),
wherein a top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area (as seen in Fig. 2BC17, the face denoted “TFC” is a top face of 104 in IA1, Fig. 2BC17 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability) is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to a top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC17, the face denoted “TFP” is a top face of 103, TFC is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to TFP),
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees (as seen in Fig. 2BC17, the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees), and
wherein the top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is flat (as seen in Fig. 2BC17, TFC is flat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a conductive pattern formed on the passivation layer; and
an adhesive layer formed on the conductive pattern and the passivation layer, wherein the conductive pattern includes:
a first flat area disposed on the passivation layer and extending in the first direction; and
an inclined area connected to the first flat area,
wherein a top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is inclined at a first slope of a first angle relative to a top face of the passivation layer,
wherein the first angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees, and
wherein the top face of the conductive pattern in the inclined area is flat”
as taught by Kusunoki in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou and Hsu for the purpose of forming a touch sensor (“a touch sensor is formed by the conductive layer 104 and the conductive layer 106 which are formed with the insulating layer 105 therebetween”, [0192]).
Noudo in combination with Zhou, Hsu, and Kusunoki fails to directly disclose “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern”.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 1A-1G of Liu teach an adhesive layer (“In one embodiment, the adhesive layer 360 may comprise epoxy resin, inorganic materials (such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, metal oxide or a combination thereof), organic polymer materials (such as polyimide, butylcyclobutene (BCB), parylene, polynaphthalenes, fluorocarbons or acrylates) or other suitable insulating materials”, col. 7, lines 38-44, thus 360 which can be an epoxy resin, is both an adhesive layer and an insulating material, where 360 of Liu is equivalent to 105 of Kusunoki) deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern (as previously discussed 105 of Kusunoki is disposed directly on 103 and 104 of Kusunoki).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “an adhesive layer deposited on the passivation layer and the conductive pattern” as taught by Liu in the system of Noudo in combination with Zhou, Hsu, and Kusunoki for the purpose of improving structural reliability by using an insulating layer that also serves to bond adjacent layers together.
Fig. 13 of Hsu further teaches a conductive pattern (“conductive barrier layer 152”, col. 7, lines 11-12, 152 of Hsu is equivalent to 104 of Noudo) extending along a profile of the trench (as seen in Fig. 13, 152 extends along a profile of 148);
a pad (“conductive plug 156”, col. 7, line 7) disposed in the trench (as seen in Fig. 13, 156 is in 148) and on the conductive pattern (as seen in Fig. 13, 156 is disposed on 152).
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Figs. 12 and 13 of Hsu, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 17, Figs. 12 and 13 of Hsu further disclose wherein the adhesive layer non-overlaps the pad (as seen in Fig. 13, the top of 152 is fully exposed, furthermore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to non-overlap 152 of Hsu with 105 of Kusunoki to maintain electrical conductivity with 152).
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Figs. 12 and 13 of Hsu, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 17, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the adhesive layer includes:
a first extension extending along the top face of the passivation layer and in the first direction (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, the region denoted “E1” is a first extension of 105 extending along TFP and in the horizontal direction, Fig. 2BC19 is a version of the enlarged Fig. 2B with different annotations for readability); and
a bent portion disposed on the inclined area of the conductive pattern and extending along the conductive pattern (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, the region denoted “BP” is a bent portion of 105 disposed on IA1 and extending along 104), wherein the bent portion is bent from the first extension (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, BP is bent from E1); and
a second extension disposed on the first flat area of the conductive pattern and extending in the first direction (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, the region denoted “E2” is a second extension of 105 disposed on 104 and extending in the horizontal direction), wherein the second extension is connected to the bent portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, E2 is connected to BP),
wherein a top face of the bent portion (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, the face denoted “TFB” is a top face of BP) has a slope of a second angle with respect to the top face of the passivation layer (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, TFB has a slope of a second angle with respect to TFP), and
wherein the second angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, the slope of the second angle is greater than 0 degrees and smaller than 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 3 of Noudo in combination with Fig. 1 of Zhou, Figs. 12 and 13 of Hsu, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki, and Figs. 1A-1G of Liu disclose the image sensor of claim 19, Fig. 2B of Kusunoki further discloses wherein the bent portion and the first extension of the adhesive layer is provided on a side the conductive layer including the inclined area (as seen in Fig. 2BC19, E1 and BP are provided on an end of 104 including IA1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the image sensor as recited in the claims of the instant application.
Regarding claim 16, together the prior art of Noudo (US 11,387,265 B2) in combination with Zhou et al. (US 11,296,249 B2), Kusunoki et al. (US 20240381702 A1), and Liu et al. (US 9,379,072 B2) disclose a similar image sensor but fail to disclose the specific limitations recited in the instant invention e.g. the trench structure and the required arrangement of elements neighboring it.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN MICHAEL KUPP/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893