DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0108452 A1~hereinafter “Park”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 below) a display apparatus comprising: a substrate (10); a pixel circuit (212) disposed on the substrate; a planarization insulating layer (19) which is disposed on the pixel circuit and including a first structure (OP3) in which an opening or a groove (see fig. 6) is defined (see at least fig. 6 below); a bank layer (20) which is disposed on the planarization insulating layer (19) and in which a first opening (PO1) overlapping the first structure is defined (see at least fig. 6 below); and an intermediate layer (121; [0038]) disposed in at least a portion of the first structure (OP3) and the first opening (OP1; see fig. 6 below), wherein the first opening (OP1) is defined between portions of the bank layer (20) next to each other; and a maximum width of the first opening (OP1) is greater than a maximum width of the first structure (OP3).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first structure (OP3) and the first opening (OP1 or C8) are spaced apart from the pixel circuit in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the planarization insulating layer (19) comprises: a first planarization insulating layer (16); and a second planarization insulating layer (19) on the first planarization insulating layer (see fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a first groove is defined in the second planarization insulating layer (19) in the first structure (see at least fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a second opening (OP2 or C5) is defined in the second planarization insulating layer (19) in the first structure.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a second groove (see at least fig. 6) overlapping the second opening (C5 or OP2) is defined in the first planarization insulating layer (16) in the first structure.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a third opening (C1) overlapping the second opening (C5 or OP2) is defined in the first planarization insulating layer (19) in the first structure.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a first electrode (120) connected to the intermediate layer (121) and including at least a portion disposed between the second planarization insulating layer (19) and the bank layer (20); and a contact metal (114) connecting the first electrode (120) to the pixel circuit (212) and including at least a portion disposed between the first planarization insulating layer (16) and the second planarization insulating layer (19), wherein the first structure (OP3) and the first opening (OP1) are spaced apart from the contact metal in a plan view (see at least fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the planarization insulating layer further comprises a third planarization insulating layer ([0044]; i.e. item 19 may include many layers) on the second planarization insulating layer.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a fourth opening (as evident by at least [0044]) is defined in the third planarization insulating layer in the first structure.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a display apparatus comprising: a substrate (10); a pixel circuit (212) disposed on the substrate; a planarization insulating layer (19) disposed on the pixel circuit; a bank layer (20) disposed on the planarization insulating layer; and an intermediate layer (121) disposed in a first space disposed in the planarization insulating layer and the bank layer, wherein a first opening (OP1) defined in the bank layer, and the first opening (OP1) is defined between portions of the bank layer next to each other (see at least fig. 6 above); and a maximum width of the first opening (OP1) is greater than a maximum width of the first structure (OP3).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first space is spaced apart from the pixel circuit in a plan view.
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the planarization insulating layer comprises: a first planarization insulating layer (19); and a second planarization insulating layer (19) on the first planarization insulating layer (see at least fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first space comprises: a first groove overlapping the first opening (OP1) and defined in the second planarization insulating layer (19).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first space comprises: the first opening (C8 or OP1) defined in the bank layer (20); and a second opening (C5 or OP2) overlapping the first opening and defined in the second planarization insulating layer (19).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first space further comprises a second groove (see fig. 6) overlapping the second opening (C5 or OP2) and defined in the first planarization insulating layer (19).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the first space further comprises a third opening (C1) overlapping the second opening (C5 or OP2) and defined in the first planarization insulating layer (19).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) the planarization insulating layer further comprises a third planarization insulating layer ([0044]; i.e. item 19 may include many layers) on the second planarization insulating layer.
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a fourth opening (as evident by at least [0044]) is defined in the third planarization insulating layer in the first structure.
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses (in at least fig. 6 above) a first electrode (120) connected to the intermediate layer (121) and including at least a portion disposed between the second planarization insulating layer (19) and the bank layer (20); and a contact metal (114) connecting the first electrode to the pixel circuit and including at least a portion disposed between the first planarization insulating layer (19; i.e. lower portion) and the second planarization insulating layer (19; i.e. upper portion), wherein the first space is spaced apart from the contact metal in a plan view (see at least fig. 6 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Park’s reference fails to disclose the newly amended limitation “a maximum width of the first opening is greater than a maximum width of the first structure” as cited in claims 1 and 11.
In response to that argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the fig. 6, Park clearly discloses “a maximum width of the first opening (OP1) is greater than a maximum width of the first structure (OP3).” Also, as can be noted, the Examiner interpretation is consistent with the Applicant “first structure” and “first opening.” Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875