DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09 February 2026, with respect to Specifications and Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections of Specifications and Drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 09 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in using the same references and in further view of Fukase (US 2025/0183816 A1).
In summary, this application is not placed in a condition for an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-12, 14-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2021/0327788 A1) in view of Coppola (US 2022/0328427 A1) and Fukase (US 2025/0183816 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a power card (200: Figs. 2A-2C; or 500: Figs. 5A-5C) for use in a vehicle (abstract), the power card comprising:
a chip on chip structure (¶ [0033]: 200 has a chip-on-chip design), each having:
an N lead frame (206) having a body portion (232) and a terminal portion (226), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion;
a P lead frame (208) having a body portion (230) and a terminal portion (224), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion;
an O lead frame (204, see Figs. 2A-2C or 504, see Figs. 5A-5C and ¶ [0095]) having a body portion (228, see Figs. 2A-2C or 506, see Figs. 5A-5C) and a terminal portion (222, see Figs. 2A-2C or 508, see Figs. 5A-5C), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion;
a first power device (202A) being located on a first side (bottom side of 204/504 as shown in Fig. 2C and 5A) of the O lead frame between the body portion of the N lead frame and the body portion of the O lead frame;
a second power device (202B) being located on a second side (top side of 204/504 as shown in Fig. 2C/5A) of the O lead frame between the body portion of the O lead frame and the body portion of the P lead frame;
a plurality of signal terminals (260A&260B in Fig. 2F/ Fig .5C) electrically coupled to the first power device and the second power device (¶ [0060] ); and
a manifold (512) surrounding the body portion of the N lead frame, the body portion of the P lead frame, and the body portion of the O lead frame (Figs. 5B & 5C & ¶ [0100] shows 512 surrounding the body portions of the N lead frame, P lead frame, and the O lead frame), wherein:
the N lead frame and the P lead frame are offset from the O lead frame in a plane orthogonal (plane of the path of liquid 518; see Fig. 5C) to the O lead frame;
the manifold is fluidly coupled to an inlet (524, see ¶ [0111]) and an outlet (526);
the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid (¶ [0111], ¶ [0114]-[0115]) from the inlet and provide a fluid path (518) for the cooling liquid that is orthogonal to the O lead frame, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame (O, N, and P terminals extend in an orthogonal direction compared to the direction of 518); and
each chip on chip structure is immersed within the cooling liquid (as shown if Fig. 5C).
As mentioned above, Zhou teaches a power card having a power module in a form of a chip on chip structure and further teaches the power module (200) to be used with a plurality of other power modules in an inverter (¶ [0034]: “the power card 200 is used in conjunction with multiple other power cards (similar to power card 200) in an inverter”). However, Zhou does not teach the device having a plurality of power modules surrounded by the manifold and each power module immersed within the cooling liquid.
Coppola, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (100, see Fig. 2-5) having a plurality of power modules (102; ¶ [0034]: 102 are power modules having at least two power devices 112; see ¶ [0035]; also ¶ [0005]: modules are used as traction power inverter modules) surrounded by a manifold (104, see ¶ [0038]: 104 has inlet 126 and outlet 128 for circulation of cooling liquid CFL). Hence, Zhou in view of Coppola teach a plurality of power modules surrounded by the manifold, with each power module immersed within the cooling liquid.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Coppola into the device of Zhou to have a plurality of chip on chip structures surrounded by a manifold, with each power module immersed within the cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing an electric vehicle (10, see Coppola Fig. 1) that require traction power inverter module (TPIM) that contains a plurality of power cards (¶ [0005]: aka power modules) each having power devices (IGBT, MOSFET) that, in turn, requires heat to be removed from both sides of the devices (¶ [0005]). Hence, the ordinary artisan will be motivated to encapsulate the plurality of power cards for the additional purpose of provide direct-contact heat transfer between the cooling liquid and the individual power cards (¶ [0007]), increasing cooling capabilities, reducing the package volume by 20-25%, and reducing the mass by 20-25% and reducing the cost by 35-50% (¶ [0007]).
Zhou further teaches the power card wherein the O lead frame and the plurality of signal terminals extend from a first side wall (F, see Examiner Fig. 1) of the manifold, and the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from a second side wall (S) of the manifold that is opposite the first side wall.
Examiner Fig. 1. Annotated version of Zhou Fig. 5C.
However, Zhou does not teach: the plurality of signals terminals, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from the same side wall of the manifold.
Fukase, in the same field of invention, teaches a power module (Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of signal terminals (right 219), the N lead frame (217), the P lead frame (216), extend from the same side (right side) of the power module (21). Hence, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches: the plurality of signals terminals, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from the same side wall of the manifold.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Fukase into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola to rearrange the position of the plurality of signal terminals from the side of the manifold that has the O lead frame to the side of the manifold that has the N and P lead frames. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of connecting the power module to different types of sensors (21a-21d, see Fukase Fig. 2 and ¶ [0064] ), with the sensors further connected to a circuit (200, see Fig. 14 and ¶ [0174]) having a control unit (40), with the circuit requiring rearranging various positions of the signal terminals depending on the dimensional requirements of the device. The ordinary skilled artisan may be further motivated to connect the power module to these sensors in order to control the operation of the power devices (211-214, ¶ [0066], ¶ [0088] ), for the further purpose of protecting the power module from overheating (¶ [0004] ).
Furthermore, rearrangement of parts is not patentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI) (C).
Regarding claim 2, the power card of claim 1, wherein the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid for single-phase immersion cooling (Zhou ¶ [0098] teaches a single liquid used for cooling that does not require a phase change, i.e., from liquid to gas or solid and vice-versa; note: the instant application defines single phase immersion cooling as a single liquid flowing through the manifold in ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, the power card of claim 1, wherein the cooling liquid is a dielectric coolant (Zhou ¶ [0098]).
Regarding claim 5, the power card of claim 1, wherein
an electrical insulation material (Zhou Figs. 2A, 2C, 5A-5C: 210 ) is deposited on surfaces of the plurality of chip-on-chip structures in contact with the cooling liquid (Zhou ¶ [0091], ¶ [0105]); and
the cooling liquid is a non-dielectric coolant (Coppola ¶ [0041]: CFL can be water, glycol or both; non-dielectric coolant is defined as water-ethylene glycol in ¶ [0041] of the instant application).
Regarding claim 9, the power card of claim 1, wherein the power card contains three chip-on-chip structures (Coppola: Fig. 2 shows three 102)
Regarding claim 10, the power card of claim 1, wherein the manifold surrounds a lengthwise periphery (538: Zhou Fig. 5C and ¶ [0100]-[0101] show the N lead frame, P lead frame, and O lead frame extending lengthwise along 538 and also shows manifold 512 surrounding the bodies of said lead frames along 538) of the body portion of the N lead frame, the body portion of the P lead frame, and the body portion of the O lead frame.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches a power system (550: Figs. 5D) comprising,
a power card (200: Figs. 2A-2C; or 500: Figs. 5A-5C) comprising a chip-on-chip structure (¶ [0033]: 200 has a chip-on-chip design) and a manifold (512), the chip-on-chip structures comprising:
an N lead frame (206) having a body portion (232) and a terminal portion (226), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion;
a P lead frame (208) having a body portion (230) and a terminal portion (224), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion;
an O lead frame (204, see Figs. 2A-2C or 504, see Figs. 5A-5C and ¶ 0095) having a body portion (228, see Figs. 2A-2C or 506, see Figs. 5A-5C) and a terminal portion (222, see Figs. 2A-2C or 508, see Figs. 5A-5C), the terminal portion extending outward from the body portion, the O lead frame being located between the N lead frame and the P lead frame;
a first power device (202A) being located on a first side (bottom side of 204/504 as shown in Figs. 2C and 5A) of the O lead frame between the body portion of the N lead frame and the body portion of the O lead frame;
a second power device (202B) being located on a second side (top side of 204/504 as shown in Figs. 2C and 5A) of the O lead frame between the body portion of the O lead frame and the body portion of the P lead frame;
a plurality of signal terminals (260A&260B in Fig. 2F/ Fig .5C) electrically coupled to the first power device and the second power device (¶ [0060] ), wherein:
the manifold surrounds the body portion of the N lead frame, the body portion of the P lead frame, and the body portion of the O lead frame (Figs. 5B & 5C & ¶ [0100] shows 512 surrounding the body portions of the N lead frame, P lead frame, and the O lead frame),
the N lead frame and the P lead frame are offset from the O lead frame in a plane orthogonal (plane of the path of liquid 518; see Fig. 5C) to the O lead frame;
the manifold fluidly coupled to an inlet (524, see ¶ [0111]) and an outlet (526);
the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid (¶ [0111], ¶ [0114]-[0115]) from the inlet and provide a fluid path (518) for the cooling liquid that is orthogonal to the O lead frame, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame (O, N, and P terminals extend in an orthogonal direction compared to the direction of 518); and
each chip on chip structure is immersed within the cooling liquid (as shown if Fig. 5C),
a liquid cooler (530, see Fig. 5D) coupled to the inlet and the outlet configured to provide the cooling liquid to flow through the manifold and provide cooling to the power card (¶ 0114, ¶ 0111).
As mentioned above, Zhou teaches a power card having a power module in a form of a chip on chip structure and further teaches the power module (200) to be used with a plurality of other power modules in an inverter (¶ 0034: “the power card 200 is used in conjunction with multiple other power cards (similar to power card 200) in an inverter”).
However, Zhou does not teach the device having a plurality of power modules surrounded by the manifold, with each power module immersed within the cooling liquid.
Coppola, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (100, see Fig. 2-5) having a plurality of power modules (102; ¶ 0034: 102 are power modules having at least two power devices 112; see ¶ 0035; also ¶ 0005: modules are used as traction power inverter modules) surrounded by a manifold (104, see ¶ 0038: 104 has inlet 126 and outlet 128 for circulation of cooling liquid CFL). Hence, Zhou in view of Coppola teach a plurality of power modules surrounded by the manifold, with each power module immersed within the cooling liquid.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Coppola into the device of Zhou to have a plurality of chip on chip structures surrounded by a manifold, with each power module immersed within the cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of designing an electric vehicle (10, see Coppola Fig. 1) that require traction power inverter module (TPIM) that contains a plurality of power cards (¶ 0005: aka power modules) each having power devices (IGBT, MOSFET) that, in turn, requires heat to be removed from both sides of the devices (¶ 0005). Hence, the ordinary artisan will be motivated to encapsulate the plurality of power cards for the additional purpose of provide direct-contact heat transfer between the cooling liquid and the individual power cards (¶ 0007), increasing cooling capabilities, reducing the package volume by 20-25%, and reducing the mass by 20-25% and reducing the cost by 35-50% (¶ 0007).
Zhou further teaches the power card wherein the O lead frame and the plurality of signal terminals extend from a first side wall (F, see Examiner Fig. 1 in claim 1 rejection above) of the manifold, and the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from a second side wall (S) of the manifold that is opposite the first side wall.
However, Zhou does not teach: the plurality of signals terminals, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from the same side wall of the manifold.
Fukase, in the same field of invention, teaches a power module (Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of signal terminals (right 219), the N lead frame (217), the P lead frame (216), extend from the same side (right side) of the power module. Hence, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches: the plurality of signals terminals, the N lead frame, and the P lead frame extend from the same side wall of the manifold.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Fukase into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola to rearrange the position of the plurality of signal terminals from the side of the manifold that has the O lead frame to the side of the manifold that has the N and P lead frames. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of connecting the power module to different types of sensors (21a-21d, see Fukase Fig. 2 and ¶ [0064] ), with the sensors further connected to a circuit (200, see Fig. 14 and ¶ [0174]) having a control unit (40), with the circuit requiring rearranging various positions of the signal terminals depending on the dimensional requirements of the device. The ordinary skilled artisan may be further motivated to connect the power module to these sensors in order to control the operation of the power devices (211-214, ¶ [0066], ¶ [0088] ), for the further purpose of protecting the power module from overheating (¶ [0004] ).
Furthermore, rearrangement of parts is not patentable. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.). See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI) (C).
Regarding claim 12, the system of claim 11, wherein the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid for single-phase immersion cooling (Zhou ¶ [0098] teaches a single liquid used for cooling that does not require a phase change, i.e., from liquid to gas or solid and vice-versa; note: the instant application defines single phase immersion cooling as a single liquid flowing through the manifold in ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, the power card of claim 11, wherein the cooling liquid is a dielectric coolant (¶ [0098]).
Regarding claim 15, the power card of claim 11, wherein
an electrical insulation material (Zhou Figs. 2A, 2C, 5A-5C: 210 ) is deposited on surfaces of the plurality of chip-on-chip structures in contact with the cooling liquid (Zhou ¶ [0091], ¶ [0105]); and
the cooling liquid is a non-dielectric coolant (Coppola ¶ [0041]: CFL can be water, glycol or both; non-dielectric coolant is defined as water-ethylene glycol in ¶ [0041] of the instant application).
Regarding claim 19, the power card of claim 1, wherein the power card contains three chip-on-chip structures (Coppola: Fig. 2 shows three 102)
Regarding claim 20, the power system of claim 11, wherein the liquid cooler is coupled to a vehicle device (532, see Zhou Fig. 5D) and configured to provide the cooling liquid to the vehicle device (¶ [0115]).
Claims 3, 6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2021/0327788 A1) in view of Coppola (US 2022/0328427 A1) and Fukase (US 2025/0183816 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and in further view of Adebiyi (US 2023/0125822 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power card of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid for single-phase immersion cooling (see claim 2 rejection above). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: a cooling liquid for two-phase immersion cooling.
Adebiyi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device having a cooling liquid (120) for two-phase immersion cooling (¶ [0031]; also ¶ [0044]-[0045]: liquid may vaporize).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Adebiyi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to configure the manifold to receive a cooling liquid for two-phase immersion cooling in the device of claim 1 that comprises at least the manifold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the cooling efficiencies of integrated circuit devices whose power densities have increased due to miniaturization (Adebiyi ¶ [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power system of claim 3, and further teaches the surfaces of the power card are package components that are immersed in a cooling liquid (please see claims 1 and 3 rejections above). However, Zhou and Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the surfaces of the package components that are immersed in a cooling liquid contain porous media.
Adebiyi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (100) wherein the surfaces (surfaces of 260 coated with 350) of the package components (260) that are immersed in a cooling liquid (120) contain porous media (350, see ¶ [0053]: micro-porous coating).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Adebiyi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to add porous media to surfaces of a power card (see objections to specifications above), with the power card at least comprising a plurality of chip on chip structures each having an N lead frame, a P lead frame, an O lead frame, a first power device located on a first side of the O lead frame between a body portion of the N lead frame, a second power device located on a second side of the O lead frame between a body portion of the P lead frame; and the manifold surrounding the body portion of the N lead frame, the body portion of the P lead frame, and a body portion of the O lead frame of each chip on chip structure, with the manifold configured to receive a cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the porous material to provide capillarity for fluid travel of the cooling liquid in a two-phase cooling immersion system (Adebiyi: abstract) in order to improve the nucleation sites (Adebiyi ¶ [0053]; note: nucleation is required to change liquid to vapor state in a two-phase immersion cooling system, see ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power card of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the manifold is configured to receive a cooling liquid for single-phase immersion cooling (see claim 12 rejection above). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: a cooling liquid for two-phase immersion cooling.
Adebiyi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device having a cooling liquid (120) for two-phase immersion cooling (¶ [0031]; also ¶ [0044]-[0045]: liquid may vaporize).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Adebiyi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to configure the manifold to receive a cooling liquid for two-phase immersion cooling in the device of claim 11 that comprises at least the manifold. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving the cooling efficiencies of integrated circuit devices whose power densities have increased due to miniaturization (Adebiyi ¶ [0003]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou and Coppola and Fukase teaches the power system of claim 13, and further teaches the surfaces of the power card are package components that are immersed in a cooling liquid (please see claims 11 and 13 rejections above). However, Zhou and Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the surfaces of the package components that are immersed in a cooling liquid contain porous media.
Adebiyi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (100) wherein the surfaces (surfaces of 260 coated with 350) of the package components (260) that are immersed in a cooling liquid (120) contain porous media (350, see ¶ 0053: micro-porous coating).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Adebiyi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to add porous media to surfaces of a power card (see objections to specifications above), with the power card at least comprising a plurality of chip on chip structures each having an N lead frame, a P lead frame, an O lead frame, a first power device located on a first side of the O lead frame between a body portion of the N lead frame, a second power device located on a second side of the O lead frame between a body portion of the P lead frame; and the manifold surrounding the body portion of the N lead frame, the body portion of the P lead frame, and a body portion of the O lead frame of each chip on chip structure, with the manifold configured to receive a cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the porous material to provide capillarity for fluid travel of the cooling liquid in a two-phase cooling immersion system (Adebiyi: abstract) in order to improve the nucleation sites (Adebiyi ¶ [0053]; note: nucleation is required to change liquid to vapor state in a two-phase immersion cooling system, see ¶ [0045]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2021/0327788 A1) in view of Coppola (US 2022/0328427 A1) and Fukase (US 2025/0183816 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in further view of Kosugi (WO 2024/004026 A1; see NPL mailed on 08 October 2025 for English translation).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power card of claim 1, and further teaches the P lead frame, O lead frame and N lead frame are lead frames being encapsulated by a resin (110, see ¶ [0030]). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the lead frames contain at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness.
Kosugi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (Fig. 1) comprising of lead frames (30) that contain at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness (See English translation, Page 3, third paragraph: “lead frame 30 may have dimple-shaped unevenness formed thereof”).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kosugi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to form a P lead frame, an O lead frame, and an N lead frame with at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness in the device of claim 1 that comprises at least of the P lead frame, the O lead frame, and the N lead frame. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing the peeling of the resin from the lead frame due to thermal stress caused by the heat generated during the operation of the power card (Kosugi, Page 3, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase the power system of claim 11, further teaches the P lead frame, O lead frame and N lead frame are lead frames being encapsulated by a resin (110, see ¶ [0030]). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the lead frames contain at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness.
Kosugi, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (Fig. 1) comprising of lead frames (30) that contain at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness (See English translation, Page 3, third paragraph: “lead frame 30 may have dimple-shaped unevenness formed thereof”).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kosugi into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to form a P lead frame, an O lead frame, and an N lead frame with at least one of small pins, dimples, extrusions, or surface roughness in the device of claim 1 that comprises at least of the P lead frame, the O lead frame, and the N lead frame. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of suppressing the peeling of the resin from the lead frame due to thermal stress caused by the heat generated during the operation of the power card (Kosugi, Page 3, third paragraph).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2021/0327788 A1) in view of Coppola (US 2022/0328427 A1) and Fukase (US 2025/0183816 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in further view of Ishikawa (US 2019/0334448 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power card of claim 1, and further teaches the power card (500, see Zhou Fig. 5) being used as an inverter (Zhou ¶ [0035]) in a vehicle (Zhou Fig. 5 and ¶ [0003], ¶ [0114]-[0115]), with the manifold of the power card (512) receiving a cooling liquid (from a cooler 530). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the cooling liquid flows from the inlet to the outlet of the manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per minute and 12 liters per minute.
Ishikawa, in the same field of invention, teaches an inverter (10, see Figs. 1&4, ¶ [0017]) in a vehicle (¶ [0003], Fig. 1), with a manifold (31) of the inverter circulating a cooling liquid (¶ [0024]), wherein the cooling liquid flows from the inlet (21) to the outlet (23) of the manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per minute and 12 liters per minute (¶ [0024]: 8 liters per minute).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Ishikawa into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to adjust the flow rate of a cooling liquid that is flowing from an inlet to an outlet of a manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per between and 12 liters per minute in a power card at least comprising of the device of claim 1, wherein the manifold of the device of claim 1 is configured to receive the cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of optimizing the range of the flow rate of the cooling liquid to reduce the liquid pressure loss of 5 kilopascals or less (Ishikawa ¶ [0024]), ensuring sufficient circulation of the cooling liquid throughout the cooling system.
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase teaches the power card of claim 11, and further teaches the power card (500, see Zhou Fig. 5) being used as an inverter (Zhou ¶ 0035) in a vehicle (Zhou Fig. 5 and ¶ 0003, ¶ [0114]-[0115]), with the manifold of the power card (512) receiving a cooling liquid (from a cooler 530). However, Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase does not teach: wherein the cooling liquid flows from the inlet to the outlet of the manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per minute and 12 liters per minute.
Ishikawa, in the same field of invention, teaches an inverter (10, see Figs. 1&4, ¶ [0017]) in a vehicle (¶ [0003], Fig. 1), with a manifold (31) of the inverter circulating a cooling liquid (¶ [0024]), wherein the cooling liquid flows from the inlet (21) to the outlet (23) of the manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per minute and 12 liters per minute (¶ [0024]: 8 liters per minute).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Ishikawa into the device of Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase to adjust the flow rate of a cooling liquid that is flowing from an inlet to an outlet of a manifold at a flow rate between 8 liters per between and 12 liters per minute in a power card at least comprising of the device of claim 1, wherein the manifold of the device of claim 1 is configured to receive the cooling liquid. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhou in view of Coppola and Fukase in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of optimizing the range of the flow rate of the cooling liquid to reduce the liquid pressure loss of 5 kilopascals or less (Ishikawa ¶ [0024]), ensuring sufficient circulation of the cooling liquid throughout the cooling system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20210327793-A1 and US-20210327791-A1 teaches certain aspects of the claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899