DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masanori (JP 2015-56335, applicant supplied translation).
Regarding claim 1, Masanori teaches (FIG. 1, 5 – 7):
An electro-optical device comprising:
a substrate (10) having a rectangular shape in plan view (FIG. 1);
a display unit (region E) provided with a light-emitting element (62) at the substrate;
a plurality of first inspection terminals (24) provided, in plan view (FIG. 1), between the display unit and a second side that is on an opposite side of the rectangular shape from a first side, at the substrate, each of the plurality of first inspection terminals being covered with an insulating film (insulating layer 51 is provided as a blanket CVD process, then subsequently patterned to expose inspection terminals 24), the insulating film being configured to be opened, during inspection, with a hole to expose the first inspection terminal; and
a light shielding member (color filter 60 over inspection terminal 24 comprises all three RGB color layers and therefore acts as a light shielding member) provided that covers the plurality of first inspection terminals in plan view (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Masanori teaches:
The electro-optical device according to claim 1, wherein the light shielding member is provided that surrounds the display unit in plan view (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Masanori teaches (FIG. 5):
The electro-optical device according to claim 2, wherein in the light shielding member, a first color layer configured to color light emitted from a light-emitting element in a first color, a second color layer configured to color the light emitted from the light-emitting element in a second color, and a third color layer configured to color the light emitted from the light- emitting element in a third color are layered in this order (60B, 60G, 60R).
Regarding claim 7, Masanori teaches (FIG. 1):
The electro-optical device according to claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a plurality of second inspection terminals provided, in plan view, outside the display unit and between the display unit and a third side coupled to the first side of the rectangular shape, and a plurality of third inspection terminals provided, in plan view, outside the display unit and between the display unit and a fourth side that is on an opposite side of the rectangular shape from the third side, and the light shielding member is provided so as to cover the plurality of second inspection terminals and the plurality of third inspection terminals.
Regarding claim 8, Masanori teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the electro-optical device according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masanori as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Toya et al. (US 2015/0102376).
Regarding claim 4, Masanori teaches a stacked light blocking layer at the edge of the device, but fails to explicitly show:
The electro-optical device according to claim 3, wherein in plan view, an end portion of the first color layer forming the light shielding member is positioned on an outer side than an end portion of the second color layer forming the light shielding member and an end portion of the third color layer forming the light shielding member, the end portion of the second color layer forming the light shielding member is positioned on an outer side than the end portion of the third color layer forming the light shielding member, and the end portion of the third color layer forming the light shielding member is positioned on an outer side than the plurality of first inspection terminals.
However, Toya teaches a light shielding stacked structure having stepped stacks (FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light shield stack of Masanori with the structure of Toya for the further advantage of limiting the height difference for the subsequent sealing layer to improve sealant edge performance.
Regarding claim 5, Masanori teaches a stacked light blocking layer at the edge of the device, but fails to explicitly show:
The electro-optical device according to claim 4, wherein in plan view a first distance between the end portion of the third color layer forming the light shielding member and one first inspection terminal of the plurality of first inspection terminals is longer than a second distance between the end portion of the first color layer forming the light shielding member and the end portion of the second color layer forming the light shielding member, and a third distance between the end portion of the second color layer forming the light shielding member and the end portion of the third color layer forming the light shielding member.
However, Toya teaches a light shielding stacked structure having stepped stacks (FIG. 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light shield stack of Masanori with the structure of Toya for the further advantage of limiting the height difference for the subsequent sealing layer to improve sealant edge performance.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masanori as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuie (US 2014/0091704).
Regarding claim 6, Masanori teaches open area without light shielding structure at the edge of the device, but fails to expressly disclose:
The electro-optical device according to claim 1, wherein in plan view, the light shielding member is not provided at a corner region corresponding to an included angle between the second side and a third side coupled to the first side of the rectangular shape, the corner region being positioned outside a position where the plurality of first inspection terminals are provided, and the corner region includes an alignment mark.
However, Furuie teaches alignment marks for OLED structures with light shielding portions (22) that are open in areas where the alignment marks (A1, A2) are placed and which may be at the corners of the device (FIG. 1, 3, [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the exposed alignment marks of Furuie in the device of Masanori for the predictable benefit of enabling layer to layer and device to device alignment functionality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624