DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
RE: the rejection of claim(s) 10 and 16 under 35 USC 112(b), Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and resolve the issues of indefiniteness in these claims. Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 10 and 16 has been withdrawn.
RE: the rejection of claim(s) 19 under 35 USC 112(d), Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered and resolve the prior issues under 35 USC 112(d). Accordingly, the rejection of claim(s) 19 has been withdrawn.
RE: the rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 8-17 under 35 USC 102 and the rejection of claims 4-7, 18-19 under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments and/or amendments have been fully considered but are moot as further search and consideration have prompted the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 13 and 19 include “said first and second connecting channel connecting the first cooling channel in a fluidic manner to the second cooling channel.” (which includes a period in the middle of the claim). This is believed to be a typographical error of “said first and second connecting channel connecting the first cooling channel in a fluidic manner to the second cooling channel,” (which ends in a comma). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200273777A1 (“Jain”) in view of V. Di Pietro, et al., "Thermal Management of Power Components and Electric Systems using Channels Embedded in Metallic Parts by Friction Stir Channelling," PCIM Europe digital days 2021; Intl Exhibition and Conference for Power Electronics, Intelligent Motion, Renewable Energy and Energy Management, Online, 2021 (“Di Pietro” – previously cited), further in view of US 20200113083 A1 (“Schon”), further in view of US20170358556A1 (“Bitz”).
RE: Claim 1, Jain discloses A method for producing an apparatus for cooling a semiconductor arrangement (metal channel layer 250a in FIG. 2A, [0063]; metal channel layer is on packaged assembly, [0033]; the packaged assembly includes an integrated circuit with exposed silicon, [0034]), the method comprising:
producing in a metal body (250a in FIG. 2A; 250a is a metal channel layer, [0063]) a first cooling channel at a first depth from a surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows first cooling channel 255a is produced at first depth from a surface of the metal body);
producing a first connecting channel and a second connecting channel extending from the first cooling channel to the surface of the metal body substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel and to the surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows a first connecting channel 255a and a second connecting channel 255a extending from the first cooling channel 255a to the surface of the metal body substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel 255a and to the surface of the metal body); and
producing in the metal body a second cooling channel at a second depth from the surface of the metal body smaller than the first depth (Annotated FIG. 2A shows a second cooling channel 255a is produced in 250a at a second depth from the surface of the metal body smaller than the first depth);
wherein the first connecting channel and the second connecting channel form a fluidic connection between the first cooling channel and the second cooling channel (there are multiple flow paths of the cooling liquid through the plurality of channels 255a, [0063]), and
producing a supply channel (264a, [0063]) extending from the second cooling channel to the surface of the metal body;
filling the cooling channel structure via the supply channel with a heat transfer fluid (The schematic illustration 200 a also shows the position of an inlet 264 a for cooling liquid intake and the position of an outlet 268 a for liquid outtake. Since the inlet 264 a and the outlet 268 a are shown in FIG. 2A as positioned diagonally across the schematic illustration 200 a, there can be multiple flow paths of the cooling liquid through the plurality of channels 255 a, [0063]).
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
producing the first cooling channel with a first FSC (Friction Stir Channeling) method;
producing the first connecting channel and the second connecting channel with the first FSC method;
producing the second cooling channel with a second FSC method;
producing the supply channel using the second FSC method;
closing the supply channel,
wherein the first and second cooling channels and the first and second connecting channels form a closed cooling channel structure.
However, Jain discloses a top seal 160 can be aluminum, [0054].
Jain further discloses a metal channel layer can be aluminum, [0043].
Jain shows in FIG. 1A an inlet 164 is formed in a top surface of the top seal 160.
In the same field of endeavor, Di Pietro discloses:
TWI Ltd has recently invented a new sub-surface machining technique called CoreFlow™. This new solid-state process is a derivative from friction stir welding that allows for sub-surface networks of channels to be machined within monolithic metallic parts in a single step. CoreFlow™ has been recently developed as an alternative and efficient manufacturing process for thermal management systems. These include applications such as cold plates for dissipating heat produced by electronic components (e.g. IGBTs, LEDs, CPUs/GPUs) or electric systems (e.g. motors, batteries, power supplies), pg. 1138, abstract.
Di Pietro further discloses: Derived from friction stir welding (FSW), friction stir channelling (FSC) is an innovative solid-state process that integrates sub-surface networks within metal structural elements, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” second paragraph under the title “Introduction.”
TWI has invented and patented a variant of FSC, i.e., friction stir channeling to form a CoreFlow™ channel, see FIG. 2 and pg. 1138, last two lines of lefthand column, and remaining part of paragraph in righthand column.
Di Pietro further discloses: As the tool assembly traverses along a pre-defined path, the process of extracting the material leads to the formation of a closed channel within the workpiece, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” righthand column, upper paragraph.
FIGs. 1-2 on pp. 1138-1139 each show a channel is produced with a friction stir channeling method.
Di Pietro further discloses Aluminium AA6082-T6 and AA1050-H14 plates with a thickness from 5 to 50 mm have been successfully processed, pg. 1140, righthand column, paragraph immediately under “Manufactured demonstrators”;
Di Pietro further discloses Fig. 16 shows a sequence of thermal images of a demonstrator plate in AA6082-T6 with a starting temperature of 120 °C, which was rapidly reduced to 40 °C by pumping chilled water through the CoreFlow™ channel, pg. 1142, lefthand column, paragraph immediately below the heading “Thermal performance demonstrators.”
Di Pietro further discloses CoreFlow™ has overcome challenges by machining the cooling channels in a single step (Fig. 17-b). By creating a channel below the surface of a structure, CoreFlow™ provides an integrated method to dissipate heat from a part without having to add pipework or other complex and costly solutions, pg. 1142, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, second paragraph above FIG. 17.
Di Pietro further discloses This creates a simpler, more efficient manufacturing method, using approximately 20% less raw material, producing almost 80% less waste pp. 1142-1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, last paragraph on pg. 1142 to first paragraph on pg. 1143.
Di Pietro further discloses By machining and re-sealing the cooling channels in a single step, CoreFlow™ consolidates multiple manufacturing operations, inherently offering an advantage compared to traditional technologies, pg. 1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” lefthand column, last paragraph in the section.
FIG. 9 on pg. 1140 shows multiple channels formed by the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
FIG. 17(b) on pg. 1142 shows an upper inlet is formed on a top surface of the aluminum plate using the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the first cooling channel 255a, the first connecting channel 255a, the second connecting channel 255a, the second cooling channel 255a, and the supply channel 264a with a friction stir channeling method performed on an aluminum plate as taught by Di Pietro in order to consolidate multiple manufacturing operations and simplify manufacturing.
Further, the first FSC method and the second FSC method are not necessarily different as claimed. Accordingly, under a broad reasonable interpretation, the first and second FSC methods are the same.
In the same field of endeavor, Schon discloses heat exchangers such as a cooling unit or a condenser, which may be of any suitable configuration, may be located in any external location relative to the electronics enclosure. If elevated above, cold plates and air coolers operate in the evaporative cooling mode. The condensed liquid coolant can be returned by gravity, obviating the need for pumps, [0022].
Schon further discloses While the coolant may be any suitable single-phase or evaporable liquid, it is preferably a dielectric material, and most preferably a fluid, such as a refrigerant, whose normal boiling is below the temperature of the external heat exchanger cooling media, so that the coolant operates in the evaporating (2-phase) mode, at above-ambient pressures, [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cooling channel structure 255a for evaporative cooling in the 2-phase mode as taught by Schon in order to obviate the need for pumps.
In the same field of endeavor, Bitz discloses As the working fluid 122 condenses, its latent heat is transferred to the outer wall 462 of the condenser 405, which in turn transfers the latent heat to the external environment outside of the assembly 400, [0025]. Accordingly, the condenser 405 functions as a heat exchanger for cooling, with at least one channel therethrough.
Bitz further discloses the outer wall 462 can include an inlet 470 having an opening 472 through which the working fluid 122 is dispensed into the compartment 467 and the channel 150 in the encapsulant 110. The fluid inlet 470 can be capped with a plug 474 (e.g., a metal or plastic plug) that seals (e.g., hermetically seals) the interior cavity of the TTD 408. In some embodiments, the plug 474 may be removable from the opening 472 so that the working fluid 122 can be replenished through the inlet 470, [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a removable plug to seal the inlet 264a in order to prevent contamination of the cooling fluid and/or prevent it from escaping the channel structure, which would improve heat exchange. As a result, the first and second cooling channels 255a and the first and second connecting channels 255a would form a closed cooling channel structure.
(Annotated FIG. 2A of Jain)
RE: Claim 3, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first cooling channel or the second cooling channel, or both, extend substantially parallel to the surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A above shows the first cooling channel 255a and the second cooling channel 255a extend substantially parallel to the surface of the metal body).
RE: Claim 8, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second cooling channels has a meandering shape (Annotated FIG. 2A above shows at least one of the first and second cooling channels 255a has a meandering shape).
RE: Claim 10, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The method of claim 9, wherein the cooling channel structure is configured with the heat transfer fluid for two-phase cooling (As modified, the cooling channel structure 255a is configured for evaporative cooling, i.e., two phase cooling as taught by Schon).
RE: Claim 11, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the metal body is constructed from aluminum, copper or an alloy of aluminum and copper (Jain discloses metal channel layer is aluminum, [0043]).
RE: Claim 12, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the surface of the metal body is planar (Annotated FIG. 2A above shows the surface of the metal body is planar).
RE: Claim 13, Jain discloses an Apparatus for cooling a semiconductor arrangement (metal channel layer 250a in FIG. 2A, [0063]; metal channel layer is on packaged assembly, [0033]; the packaged assembly includes an integrated circuit with exposed silicon, [0034]), the apparatus comprising:
a metal body (250a in FIG. 2A; 250a is a metal channel layer, [0063]); and
a cooling channel structure (255a, [0063]) comprising a first cooling channel extending in the metal body at a first depth from a surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows first cooling channel 255a extending at first depth from a surface of the metal body), a second cooling channel extending in the metal body at a second depth from the surface (Annotated FIG. 2A shows a second cooling channel 255a extending at a second depth from the surface of the metal body smaller than the first depth),
a first connecting channel and a second connecting channel extending in the metal body from the first cooling channel to the surface substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel and to the surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows a first connecting channel 255a and a second connecting channel 255a extending from the first cooling channel 255a to the surface of the metal body substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel 255a and to the surface of the metal body), said first and second connecting channel connecting the first cooling channel in a fluidic manner to the second cooling channel (there are multiple flow paths of the cooling liquid through the plurality of channels 255a, [0063]),
a supply channel (264a, [0063]) extending from the second cooling channel to the surface of the metal body.
Jain does not explicitly disclose:
the first cooling channel was produced by using a first FSC method;
the second cooling channel was produced by using a second FSC method;
the first connecting channel and the second connecting channel were produced by using the first FSC method;
the supply channel was produced by using a second FSC method;
a removable closure element configured to close the supply channel, with the first and second connecting channels and the first and the second cooling channels forming a closed cooling channel structure.
However, Jain discloses a top seal 160 can be aluminum, [0054].
Jain further discloses a metal channel layer can be aluminum, [0043].
Jain shows in FIG. 1A an inlet 164 is formed in a top surface of the top seal 160.
In the same field of endeavor, Di Pietro discloses:
TWI Ltd has recently invented a new sub-surface machining technique called CoreFlow™. This new solid-state process is a derivative from friction stir welding that allows for sub-surface networks of channels to be machined within monolithic metallic parts in a single step. CoreFlow™ has been recently developed as an alternative and efficient manufacturing process for thermal management systems. These include applications such as cold plates for dissipating heat produced by electronic components (e.g. IGBTs, LEDs, CPUs/GPUs) or electric systems (e.g. motors, batteries, power supplies), pg. 1138, abstract.
Di Pietro further discloses: Derived from friction stir welding (FSW), friction stir channelling (FSC) is an innovative solid-state process that integrates sub-surface networks within metal structural elements, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” second paragraph under the title “Introduction.”
TWI has invented and patented a variant of FSC, i.e., friction stir channeling to form a CoreFlow™ channel, see FIG. 2 and pg. 1138, last two lines of lefthand column, and remaining part of paragraph in righthand column.
Di Pietro further discloses: As the tool assembly traverses along a pre-defined path, the process of extracting the material leads to the formation of a closed channel within the workpiece, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” righthand column, upper paragraph.
FIGs. 1-2 on pp. 1138-1139 each show a channel is produced with a friction stir channeling method.
Di Pietro further discloses Aluminium AA6082-T6 and AA1050-H14 plates with a thickness from 5 to 50 mm have been successfully processed, pg. 1140, righthand column, paragraph immediately under “Manufactured demonstrators”;
Di Pietro further discloses Fig. 16 shows a sequence of thermal images of a demonstrator plate in AA6082-T6 with a starting temperature of 120 °C, which was rapidly reduced to 40 °C by pumping chilled water through the CoreFlow™ channel, pg. 1142, lefthand column, paragraph immediately below the heading “Thermal performance demonstrators.”
Di Pietro further discloses CoreFlow™ has overcome challenges by machining the cooling channels in a single step (Fig. 17-b). By creating a channel below the surface of a structure, CoreFlow™ provides an integrated method to dissipate heat from a part without having to add pipework or other complex and costly solutions, pg. 1142, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, second paragraph above FIG. 17.
Di Pietro further discloses This creates a simpler, more efficient manufacturing method, using approximately 20% less raw material, producing almost 80% less waste pp. 1142-1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, last paragraph on pg. 1142 to first paragraph on pg. 1143.
Di Pietro further discloses By machining and re-sealing the cooling channels in a single step, CoreFlow™ consolidates multiple manufacturing operations, inherently offering an advantage compared to traditional technologies, pg. 1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” lefthand column, last paragraph in the section.
FIG. 9 on pg. 1140 shows multiple channels formed by the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
FIG. 17(b) on pg. 1142 shows an upper inlet is formed on a top surface of the aluminum plate using the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the first cooling channel 255a, the first connecting channel 255a, the second connecting channel 255a, the second cooling channel 255a, and the supply channel 264a with a friction stir channeling method performed on an aluminum plate as taught by Di Pietro in order to consolidate multiple manufacturing operations and simplify manufacturing.
Further, the first FSC method and the second FSC method are not necessarily different as claimed. Accordingly, under a broad reasonable interpretation, the first and second FSC methods are the same.
In the same field of endeavor, Schon discloses heat exchangers such as a cooling unit or a condenser, which may be of any suitable configuration, may be located in any external location relative to the electronics enclosure. If elevated above, cold plates and air coolers operate in the evaporative cooling mode. The condensed liquid coolant can be returned by gravity, obviating the need for pumps, [0022].
Schon further discloses While the coolant may be any suitable single-phase or evaporable liquid, it is preferably a dielectric material, and most preferably a fluid, such as a refrigerant, whose normal boiling is below the temperature of the external heat exchanger cooling media, so that the coolant operates in the evaporating (2-phase) mode, at above-ambient pressures, [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cooling channel structure 255a for evaporative cooling in the 2-phase mode as taught by Schon in order to obviate the need for pumps.
In the same field of endeavor, Bitz discloses As the working fluid 122 condenses, its latent heat is transferred to the outer wall 462 of the condenser 405, which in turn transfers the latent heat to the external environment outside of the assembly 400, [0025]. Accordingly, the condenser 405 functions as a heat exchanger for cooling, with at least one channel therethrough.
Bitz further discloses the outer wall 462 can include an inlet 470 having an opening 472 through which the working fluid 122 is dispensed into the compartment 467 and the channel 150 in the encapsulant 110. The fluid inlet 470 can be capped with a plug 474 (e.g., a metal or plastic plug) that seals (e.g., hermetically seals) the interior cavity of the TTD 408. In some embodiments, the plug 474 may be removable from the opening 472 so that the working fluid 122 can be replenished through the inlet 470, [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a removable plug to seal the inlet 264a in order to prevent contamination of the cooling fluid and/or prevent the cooling fluid from escaping the channel structure, which would improve heat exchange. As a result, the first and second cooling channels 255a and the first and second connecting channels 255a would form a closed cooling channel structure.
(Annotated FIG. 2A of Jain)
RE: Claim 15, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The apparatus of claim 13, wherein at least one of the first cooling channel and the second cooling channel is arranged substantially parallel to the surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A above shows the first cooling channel 255a and the second cooling channel 255a arranged substantially parallel to the surface of the metal body).
RE: Claim 16, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the cooling channel structure comprises a heat transfer fluid and is configured for two-phase cooling (As modified, the cooling channel structure 255a is configured for two-phase cooling as taught by Schon).
RE: Claim 17, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the surface of the metal body is planar (Annotated FIG. 2A above shows the surface of the metal body is planar).
RE: Claim 18, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz discloses A semiconductor arrangement, comprising:
an apparatus as set forth in claim 13 (metal channel layer 250a in FIG. 2A Jain, [0063], as modified by Di Pietro, Schon, and Bitz for claim 13); and
a semiconductor element (In Jain: packaged assembly, [0033]; metal channel layer is on packaged assembly, [0033]; the packaged assembly includes an integrated circuit with exposed silicon, [0034]; Accordingly, the metal channel layer 250a would be on a package assembly and therefore be connected to the package assembly in a thermally conductive) connected to the apparatus in a thermally conductive manner.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Di Pietro, further in view of Schon, further in view of Bitz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20090123778 A1 (“Russell”).
RE Claim 4, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, wherein the first cooling channel is produced with a first tool having a first welding mandrel, and the second cooling channel is produced with a second tool having a second welding mandrel, with the first welding mandrel sized longer than the second welding mandrel.
However, Di Pietro discloses the probe used is threaded probe made from a cylindrical proprietary alloy. The shoulder has a flat surface with four orthogonally-positioned, radial apertures to allow the expulsion of plasticised material, pg. 1138, righthand column, last paragraph; see FIGs. 1-2.
In the same field of endeavor, Russell discloses As well as friction stir welding (FSW), the invention is applicable to other friction stir applications, including friction stir processing, friction stir spot welding, friction stir channeling and any other application using high temperature materials. However; the invention will be described primarily with reference to FSW although it will be readily understood that the preferred features are also applicable to the other applications, [0027].
Russell further discloses A twin probe approach could be used to reduce the lateral forces generated and to improve weld quality and tool lifetime. In this case, two rotating probes could be provided extending through respective apertures in a single shoulder, the probes either being in line with the direction of movement of the probe or slightly offset, [0034].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first cooling channel 255a, the second cooling channel 255a, and the first and second connecting channels 255a using two rotating probes as taught by Russell in order to improve tool lifetime.
Further, Di Pietro discloses by changing the probe depth dynamically or in steps, 3D geometries might be achieved and channels might be created at several depth levels allowing for crossing and more complex patterns, pg. 1140, lefthand column, lines 8-12.
Further, Russell discloses In this case, two rotating probes could be provided extending through respective apertures in a single shoulder, the probes either being in line with the direction of movement of the probe or slightly offset. The probes could have different sizes (length and/or width) and could be contra-rotating, [0034].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first cooling channel 255a, the second cooling channel 255a, and the first and second connecting channels 255a using two rotating probes with one probe having a different length than the other probe as taught by Russell which would improve tool lifetime while introducing more depth levels of the channels which would improve heat dissipation of the plate. As a result, one probe would be sized longer than the other probe.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Di Pietro, further in view of Schon, further in view of Bitz, further in view of Russell as applied to claim 4, further in view of N. Balasubramanian, et al., Friction stir channeling: Characterization of the channels, Journal of Materials Processing Technology, Volume 209, Issue 8, 2009 (“Balasubramanian” – previously cited).
RE Claim 5, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz, Russell does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 4, further comprising modifying a channel height of the first cooling channel by varying a rotational speed of the first tool or by varying a traversing speed of the first tool.
However, Di Pietro discloses Increasing the probe rotation speed, for example, will increase the extrusion rate, leaving less material behind in the channel and therefore creating a thinner channel ceiling, pg. 1140, lines 2-5.
In the same field of endeavor, Balasubramanian discloses The channel shape during FSC can be modified by changing the processing parameters and thereby control the volume of material getting displaced from the pin base. The channel size increases with an increase in the traverse speed and decrease in the rotational rate. The hydraulic diameters of the channels vary from 0.2mm to 1.2mm, classifying them as minichannels, pg. 3704, Conclusion paragraph. FIG. 2 shows that the channel height increases when the tool transverse speed increases from 2.11 mm/s to 2.96 mm/s. See pg. 3698, first paragraph under Channel shape. FIG. 7 on pg. 3701 shows the channel height increasing when the rotational speed of the probe decreases from 1200 rpm to 800 rpm. Balasubramanian identifies FSC as an acronym for friction stir channeling (see abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the channel height of the first cooling channel 255a during friction stir channeling by increasing the transverse speed of the first and second probes and/or by decreasing the rotational speed of the first and second probes as taught by Balasubramanian which would result in larger channels and therefore allow a larger volume of fluid to flow therethrough to improve heat dissipation.
RE Claim 6, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz, Russell does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 4, further comprising modifying a channel height of the second cooling channel by varying a rotational speed of the second tool or by varying a traversing speed of the second tool.
However, Di Pietro discloses Increasing the probe rotation speed, for example, will increase the extrusion rate, leaving less material behind in the channel and therefore creating a thinner channel ceiling, pg. 1140, lines 2-5.
In the same field of endeavor, Balasubramanian discloses The channel shape during FSC can be modified by changing the processing parameters and thereby control the volume of material getting displaced from the pin base. The channel size increases with an increase in the traverse speed and decrease in the rotational rate. The hydraulic diameters of the channels vary from 0.2mm to 1.2mm, classifying them as minichannels, pg. 3704, Conclusion paragraph. FIG. 2 shows that the channel height increases when the tool transverse speed increases from 2.11 mm/s to 2.96 mm/s. See pg. 3698, first paragraph under Channel shape. FIG. 7 on pg. 3701 shows the channel height increasing when the rotational speed of the probe decreases from 1200 rpm to 800 rpm. Balasubramanian identifies FSC as an acronym for friction stir channeling (see abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the channel height of the second cooling channel 255a during friction stir channeling by increasing the transverse speed of the first and second probes and/or by decreasing the rotational speed of the first and second probes as taught by Balasubramanian which would result in larger channels and therefore allow a larger volume of fluid to flow therethrough to improve heat dissipation.
RE Claim 7, Jain in view of Di Pietro, Schon, Bitz, Russell does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 4, further comprising modifying a channel width of the first connecting channel by gradually decreasing or increasing a rotational speed or a traversing speed of the first or second tool.
However, Di Pietro discloses Increasing the probe rotation speed, for example, will increase the extrusion rate, leaving less material behind in the channel and therefore creating a thinner channel ceiling, pg. 1140, lines 2-5.
In the same field of endeavor, Balasubramanian discloses The channel shape during FSC can be modified by changing the processing parameters and thereby control the volume of material getting displaced from the pin base. The channel size increases with an increase in the traverse speed and decrease in the rotational rate. The hydraulic diameters of the channels vary from 0.2mm to 1.2mm, classifying them as minichannels, pg. 3704, Conclusion paragraph. FIG. 2 shows that the channel width (measured along the vertical direction) increases when the tool transverse speed increases from 2.11 mm/s to 2.96 mm/s. See pg. 3698, first paragraph under Channel shape. FIG. 7 on pg. 3701 shows the channel width increasing when the rotational speed of the probe decreases from 1200 rpm to 800 rpm. FIG. 5 shows the channel area increasing gradually from 1 mm2 to 3.5 mm2 as rotational speed and/or traverse speed are varied gradually. Balasubramanian identifies FSC as an acronym for friction stir channeling (see abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the channel height of the first connecting channel during friction stir channeling by gradually increasing the transverse speed and/or decreasing rotational speed of the first and second probes as taught by Balasubramanian which would allow a larger volume of fluid to flow therethrough to improve heat dissipation. Note the term “gradually” is not defined in the specification. The term “gradual” is defined as “proceeding by steps or degrees,” see definition 2 by Merriam-Webster’s dictionary available at <https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/gradually>, accessed on Sept. 10, 2025. Accordingly, a stepwise change is also considered a gradual change under a broad reasonable interpretation.
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180309388A1 (“Jones”) in view of Jain, further in view of Di Pietro, further in Schon, further in view of Bitz.
RE: Claim 19, Jones discloses A converter (10 in FIGs. 1A-1B, [0039]), comprising:
an apparatus (125, [0041]; [0046]) for cooling a semiconductor arrangement;
a semiconductor arrangement (IGBTs 130, [0046]) connected to the apparatus in a thermally conductive manner.
Jones does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising
a metal body, and
a cooling channel structure comprising a first cooling channel extending in the metal body at a first depth from a surface of the metal body and produced by using a first FSC method,
a second cooling channel extending in the metal body at a second depth from the surface and produced by using a second FSC method,
a first connecting channel and a second connecting channel extending in the metal body from the first cooling channel to the surface substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel and to the surface of the metal body and produced by using the first FSC method, said first and second connecting channel connecting the first cooling channel in a fluidic manner to the second cooling channel,
a supply channel extending from the second cooling channel to the surface of the metal body and produced by using a second FSC method, and
a removable closure element configured to close the supply channel.
Jones discloses the cold plate 125 is preferably a cooling cold plate that provides a flow path, [0046].
In the same field of endeavor, Jain discloses:
an apparatus for cooling a semiconductor arrangement (metal channel layer 250a in FIG. 2A, [0063]; metal channel layer is on packaged assembly, [0033]; the packaged assembly includes an integrated circuit with exposed silicon, [0034]), the apparatus comprising:
a metal body (250a in FIG. 2A; 250a is a metal channel layer, [0063]); and
a cooling channel structure (255a, [0063]) comprising a first cooling channel extending in the metal body at a first depth from a surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows first cooling channel 255a extending at first depth from a surface of the metal body), a second cooling channel extending in the metal body at a second depth from the surface (Annotated FIG. 2A shows a second cooling channel 255a extending at a second depth from the surface of the metal body smaller than the first depth),
a first connecting channel and a second connecting channel extending in the metal body from the first cooling channel to the surface substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel and to the surface of the metal body (Annotated FIG. 2A below shows a first connecting channel 255a and a second connecting channel 255a extending from the first cooling channel 255a to the surface of the metal body substantially perpendicular to the first cooling channel 255a and to the surface of the metal body), said first and second connecting channel connecting the first cooling channel in a fluidic manner to the second cooling channel (there are multiple flow paths of the cooling liquid through the plurality of channels 255a, [0063]),
a supply channel (264a, [0063]) extending from the second cooling channel to the surface of the metal body.
Jain further discloses At least one aspect is directed to a device for direct liquid cooling. The device includes a packaged assembly disposed on a substrate. The device also includes a metal channel layer disposed on top of the packaged assembly, [0002].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cold plate 125 in Jones with the metal plate 250a in Jain as both function to cool semiconductor arrangements, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, see MPEP 2143.
Further, Jain discloses a top seal 160 can be aluminum, [0054].
Jain further discloses a metal channel layer can be aluminum, [0043].
Jain shows in FIG. 1A an inlet 164 is formed in a top surface of the top seal 160.
In the same field of endeavor, Di Pietro discloses:
TWI Ltd has recently invented a new sub-surface machining technique called CoreFlow™. This new solid-state process is a derivative from friction stir welding that allows for sub-surface networks of channels to be machined within monolithic metallic parts in a single step. CoreFlow™ has been recently developed as an alternative and efficient manufacturing process for thermal management systems. These include applications such as cold plates for dissipating heat produced by electronic components (e.g. IGBTs, LEDs, CPUs/GPUs) or electric systems (e.g. motors, batteries, power supplies), pg. 1138, abstract.
Di Pietro further discloses: Derived from friction stir welding (FSW), friction stir channelling (FSC) is an innovative solid-state process that integrates sub-surface networks within metal structural elements, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” second paragraph under the title “Introduction.”
TWI has invented and patented a variant of FSC, i.e., friction stir channeling to form a CoreFlow™ channel, see FIG. 2 and pg. 1138, last two lines of lefthand column, and remaining part of paragraph in righthand column.
Di Pietro further discloses: As the tool assembly traverses along a pre-defined path, the process of extracting the material leads to the formation of a closed channel within the workpiece, pg. 1138, section titled “Introduction,” righthand column, upper paragraph.
FIGs. 1-2 on pp. 1138-1139 each show a channel is produced with a friction stir channeling method.
Di Pietro further discloses Aluminium AA6082-T6 and AA1050-H14 plates with a thickness from 5 to 50 mm have been successfully processed, pg. 1140, righthand column, paragraph immediately under “Manufactured demonstrators”;
Di Pietro further discloses Fig. 16 shows a sequence of thermal images of a demonstrator plate in AA6082-T6 with a starting temperature of 120 °C, which was rapidly reduced to 40 °C by pumping chilled water through the CoreFlow™ channel, pg. 1142, lefthand column, paragraph immediately below the heading “Thermal performance demonstrators.”
Di Pietro further discloses CoreFlow™ has overcome challenges by machining the cooling channels in a single step (Fig. 17-b). By creating a channel below the surface of a structure, CoreFlow™ provides an integrated method to dissipate heat from a part without having to add pipework or other complex and costly solutions, pg. 1142, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, second paragraph above FIG. 17.
Di Pietro further discloses This creates a simpler, more efficient manufacturing method, using approximately 20% less raw material, producing almost 80% less waste pp. 1142-1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” righthand column, last paragraph on pg. 1142 to first paragraph on pg. 1143.
Di Pietro further discloses By machining and re-sealing the cooling channels in a single step, CoreFlow™ consolidates multiple manufacturing operations, inherently offering an advantage compared to traditional technologies, pg. 1143, section titled “Comparison with conventional technologies,” lefthand column, last paragraph in the section.
FIG. 9 on pg. 1140 shows multiple channels formed by the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
FIG. 17(b) on pg. 1142 shows an upper inlet is formed on a top surface of the aluminum plate using the CoreFlow approach, i.e., a friction stir channeling method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the first cooling channel 255a, the first connecting channel 255a, the second connecting channel 255a, the second cooling channel 255a, and the supply channel 264a with a friction stir channeling method performed on an aluminum plate as taught by Di Pietro in order to consolidate multiple manufacturing operations and simplify manufacturing.
Further, the first FSC method and the second FSC method are not necessarily different as claimed. Accordingly, under a broad reasonable interpretation, the first and second FSC methods are the same.
In the same field of endeavor, Schon discloses heat exchangers such as a cooling unit or a condenser, which may be of any suitable configuration, may be located in any external location relative to the electronics enclosure. If elevated above, cold plates and air coolers operate in the evaporative cooling mode. The condensed liquid coolant can be returned by gravity, obviating the need for pumps, [0022].
Schon further discloses While the coolant may be any suitable single-phase or evaporable liquid, it is preferably a dielectric material, and most preferably a fluid, such as a refrigerant, whose normal boiling is below the temperature of the external heat exchanger cooling media, so that the coolant operates in the evaporating (2-phase) mode, at above-ambient pressures, [0011].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cooling channel structure 255a for evaporative cooling in the 2-phase mode as taught by Schon in order to obviate the need for pumps.
In the same field of endeavor, Bitz discloses As the working fluid 122 condenses, its latent heat is transferred to the outer wall 462 of the condenser 405, which in turn transfers the latent heat to the external environment outside of the assembly 400, [0025]. Accordingly, the condenser 405 functions as a heat exchanger for cooling, with at least one channel therethrough.
Bitz further discloses the outer wall 462 can include an inlet 470 having an opening 472 through which the working fluid 122 is dispensed into the compartment 467 and the channel 150 in the encapsulant 110. The fluid inlet 470 can be capped with a plug 474 (e.g., a metal or plastic plug) that seals (e.g., hermetically seals) the interior cavity of the TTD 408. In some embodiments, the plug 474 may be removable from the opening 472 so that the working fluid 122 can be replenished through the inlet 470, [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a removable plug to seal the inlet 264a in order to prevent contamination of the cooling fluid and/or prevent the cooling fluid from escaping the channel structure, which would improve heat exchange. As a result, the first and second cooling channels 255a and the first and second connecting channels 255a would form a closed cooling channel structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899