Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 11/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 14, 16 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuno et al. US 2019/0310306.
Re Claim 1, Okuno teaches a semiconductor device (fig23 and 24), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (2, fig23, [158]) comprising an active area (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]) and an edge termination area (area around 92, fig24 and fig3, [60]) outside the active area;
a first implanted region (60, fig24, [144]) within the active area at a surface of the semiconductor layer; and
an integrated test area (area directly under probe needle 21 in 2, fig25, [147]) in the semiconductor layer, wherein the integrated test area comprises a second implanted region (3, fig25, [144]) in the semiconductor layer.
Re claim 2, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the integrated test area is within the active area (fig24 and 25).
Re claim 4, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer has a first conductivity type (2 n-, fig23, [58]) and wherein the first implanted region (60 p-type, fig24, [144]) and the second implanted region (3 p-type, fig25, [144]) have a second conductivity type opposite the first conductivity type;
Re claim 5, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising an anode contact (12 and 11, fig25, [158]) on the semiconductor layer in the active area, wherein the anode contact contacts the integrated test area (11 in contact with area in 2 under 21, fig25).
Re claim 7, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer has a first conductivity type (2 n-, fig23, [58]), wherein the active area comprises a first plurality of junction shielding regions (60 p-type, fig24, [144]) in the semiconductor layer, the first plurality of junction shielding regions having a second conductivity type (p-type, [144]) opposite the first conductivity type (n-type, [58]); wherein the anode contact contacts the semiconductor layer (11 in contact with 2, fig25), the first plurality of junction shielding regions (11 in contact with 60, fig25) and the integrated test area (11 in contact with area in side 92, fig24 and 25).
Re claim 8, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer has a first conductivity type (2 n-, fig23, [58]), and wherein the integrated test areas has the first conductivity type (part of 2 n- inside 92, fig23, [58]).
Re claim 9, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor layer has a first conductivity type (2 n-, fig23, [58]), and wherein the integrated test areas has a second conductivity type (60, 3 p-type, fig24, [144]) opposite the first conductivity type.
Re claim 10, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the active area has a generally rectangular shape (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]), and wherein the test active area is located near a center of the active area (area directly under 21 of layer in 2, fig25, [147]).
Re claim 14, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the integrated test area is square in shape (fig23 and 24).
Re claim 16, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the semiconductor device comprises a Schottky diode device (SBD, fig23 and 24, [141]), a bipolar junction transistor, or a metal-oxide semiconductor device
Re claim 38, Okuno teaches a semiconductor device (fig23 and 24), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (2, fig23, [158]) comprising an active area (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]) and an edge termination area (area around 92, fig24 and fig3, [60]) outside the active area;
a first implanted region (60, fig24, [144]) within the active area at a surface of the semiconductor layer; and
an integrated test area (area directly under 21 in 2, fig25, [147]) within the active area at the surface of the semiconductor layer,
wherein the integrated test area comprises a second implanted region (3, fig25, [144]) in the semiconductor layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 12, 17 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. US 2019/0310306 in view of Goerlach et al. CN107026140.
Re claim 3, Okuno does not explicitly show the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the integrated test area is outside the active area.
Goerlach teaches forming an integrated test area (103, fig1, [6, 26]) outside the active area (102, fig1, [26]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Goerlach to add in an extra isolated test pad region on side of the main active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]) and improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]).
Re claim 6, Okuno does not explicitly show the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the integrated test area has peripheral dimensions selected to permit a destructive material test to be performed on the semiconductor layer within the integrated test area.
Goerlach teaches wherein the integrated test area has peripheral dimensions (103, fig1, [6, 26]) selected to permit a destructive material test (stress test, [3, 4]) to be performed on the semiconductor layer within the integrated test area (103, fig1, [6, 26]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Goerlach to add in an extra isolated test pad region on side of the main active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]) and improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]).
Re claim 12, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the active area has a generally rectangular shape (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]).
Okuno does not explicitly show wherein the test area is located near a middle of a side of the active area.
Goerlach teaches forming an integrated test area (103, fig1, [6, 26]) is outside the active area (102, fig1, [26]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Goerlach to add in an extra isolated test pad region on side of the main active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]) and improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]).
Re claim 17, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising: a metal layer (11, fig23, [119]) on the semiconductor layer, wherein the metal layer contacts the first implanted region (60, fig23, [144]);
Okuno does not explicitly show an insulating layer on the second implanted region, wherein the second implanted region is insulated from the metal layer by the insulating layer.
Goerlach teaches an insulating layer (104, fig1, page2) on a second active region (103, fig1, [6, 26]), wherein the second implanted region is insulated from the metal layer by the insulating layer ([6]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Goerlach to add in an extra isolated test pad region on side of the main active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]) and improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]).
Re claim 39, Okuno teaches a semiconductor device (fig23 and 24), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (2, fig23, [158]) comprising an active area (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]) and an edge termination area (area around 92, fig24 and fig3, [60]) outside the active area;
a first implanted region (60, fig24, [144]) within the active area at a surface of the semiconductor layer;
an integrated test area (area directly under 21 in 2, fig25, [147]) within the active area, wherein the integrated test area comprises a second implanted region (3, fig25, [144]) in the semiconductor layer;
a metal layer (11, fig23, [119]) on the semiconductor layer,
wherein the metal layer (11, fig23, [119]) contacts the first implanted region (60, fig24, [144]); and
an insulating layer (92, fig24 and 3, [60]) on the second implanted region,
Okuno does not explicitly show wherein the second implanted region is insulated from the metal layer by the insulating layer.
Goerlach teaches an insulating layer (104, fig1, page2) on a second active region (103, fig1, [6, 26]), wherein the second implanted region is insulated from the metal layer by the insulating layer ([6]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Goerlach to add in an extra isolated test pad region on side of the main active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]) and improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. US 2019/0310306 in view of Goerlach et al. CN107026140 and Umemura et al. US 2003/0034558.
Re claim 11, Okuno teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the active area has a generally rectangular shape (area inside 92, fig24 and 3, [60]).
Okuno does not explicitly show wherein the test active area is located near a corner of the active area.
Goerlach teaches forming an integrated test area (103, fig1, [6, 26]) is outside the active area (102, fig1, [26]).
Umemura teaches the test active area (TEG region 21, fig5, [54]) is located near a corner of the active area (2, fig5, [53]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno, Goerlach and Umemura to add in an extra isolated test pad region at a corner of the active area. The motivation to do so is to prevent damage to the device during stress test (Goerlach, [4]), improve testability of the device (Goerlach, [11]) and easily detect defect in a short time (Umemura, [7]).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. US 2019/0310306 in view of Zhao et al. US 2011/0037139.
Re claim 13, Okuno does not explicitly show the semiconductor device of Claim 1, wherein the integrated test area has an area of at least about 2500 µm2.
Zhao teaches a SBD with p well width 1~3µm and spacing 4~8µm (fig1, [33]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Zhao to adjust the grid spacing and active area size. The motivation to do so is to avoid obstructing current flow (Zhao, [33]), operate at high temperature and low on-state voltage (Zhao, [7]).
Re claim 15, Okuno does not explicitly show the semiconductor device of Claim 14, wherein a side length of the integrated test area is from about 50 µm to about 150 µm.
Zhao teaches a SBD with p well width 1~3µm and spacing 4~8µm (fig1, [33]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okuno and Zhao to adjust the grid spacing and active area size. The motivation to do so is to avoid obstructing current flow (Zhao, [33]), operate at high temperature and low on-state voltage (Zhao, [7]).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. US 2019/0310306.
Re claim 18, Okuno fourth embodiment does not explicitly show teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1, further comprising: an isolation region in the semiconductor layer, wherein the isolation region surrounds the second implanted region.
Okuno first embodiment teaches an isolation region (91, fig3, [59]) in the semiconductor layer, wherein the isolation region surrounds the second implanted region (3, fig3, [144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a terminal breakdown voltage holding layer under the protective film. The motivation to do so is to alleviate electric field in the terminal region (Okuno, [59]).
Re claim 19, Okuno modified above teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 18, wherein the isolation region comprises a trench (91, fig3, [59]) in the semiconductor layer or a semi-insulating region in the semiconductor layer.
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812