DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed 4/10/26. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) status: 1-8, 17-19, 21-23 pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-18, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0392909 ‒hereinafter Yang) in view of Lee (US 2019/0115081).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a memory device (fig. 12, 13), comprising:
a memory array (para 0367) including memory cells (MC(s); fig. 12);
bit lines (BL1-BLm; fig. 6) coupled to the memory cells;
word lines (WLL1-WLL48; fig. 6) coupled to the memory cells;
a column decoder (618; fig. 6) coupled to the bit lines (BLm);
a sensing circuit (620; fig. 6) coupled to the column decoder (618); and
a controller (600; fig. 6) coupled to the memory array and configured to:
perform a first verify operation (1st Verify Stage for a word line WLL1(s); fig. 12, 13) on a first memory cell (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL1(s)) of the memory cells; and
after performing the first verify operation (after the 1st Verify Stage for the word line WLL1(s) is completed; fig. 13), perform a second verify operation (2nd Verify Stage for another word line WLL2(s); fig. 12, 13) on a second memory cell (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL2(s)) of the memory cells,
wherein the first memory cell and the second memory cell are in a same block of the memory array (i.e. in a same sub-block of the array; fig. 12).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to a first develop time; according to a second develop time, wherein the second develop time is larger than the first develop time.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to a first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to a second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24), wherein the second develop time is larger than the first develop time (second develop time DVL2 may be longer than the first develop time DVL1; para 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the memory device (fig. 12, 13), wherein the first verify operation (1st Verify Stage for the word line WLL1(s)) comprises a first coarse verify operation (i.e. for the 1st Verify Stage, any verify sub-stage VvC/VvB is considered a coarse verify operation, prior to a final verify VvA), and the second verify operation (2nd Verify Stage for the word line WLL2(s)) comprises a second coarse verify operation (i.e. for the 2nd Verify Stage, any verify sub-stage VvC/VvB is considered a coarse verify operation, prior to a final verify VvA).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the memory device (fig. 12, 13), wherein the memory array further comprises a memory string (para 0178), the memory string comprises the first memory cell corresponding to a first word line (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL1(s)) and the second memory cell corresponding to a second word line (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL2(s)).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the memory device (fig. 12, 13), wherein the controller is further configured to: perform the first verify operation on the first memory cell of the memory cells by applying a first verify voltage to the first word line coupled to the first memory cell (any of verify voltage(s) VvC-VvA to WLL1(s)); and perform the second verify operation on the second memory cell of the memory cells by applying a second verify voltage to the second word line coupled to the second memory cell (any of verify voltage(s) VvC-VvA to WLL2(s)).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to the first develop time; according to the second develop time.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to a first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to a second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses a method for operating a memory device (fig. 12, 13), comprising:
performing a first verify operation (1st Verify Stage for a word line WLL1(s); fig. 12, 13) on a first memory cell of memory cells (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL1(s)) of a memory array (para 0367); and
after performing the first verify operation (after the 1st Verify Stage for the word line WLL1(s) is completed; fig. 13), performing a second verify operation (2nd Verify Stage for another word line WLL2(s); fig. 12, 13) on a second memory cell of the memory cells (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL2(s)), wherein the first memory cell and the second memory cell are in a same block of the memory array (i.e. in a same sub-block of the array; fig. 12).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to a first develop time; according to a second develop time, wherein the second develop time is larger than the first develop time.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to a first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to a second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24), wherein the second develop time is larger than the first develop time (second develop time DVL2 may be longer than the first develop time DVL1; para 0125).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the method, wherein the memory array further comprises a memory string (para 0178), the memory string comprises the first memory cell corresponding to a first word line (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL1(s)), and the second memory cell corresponding to a second word line (any memory cell of the MC(s) connected to WLL2(s)), wherein the method further comprises: performing the first verify operation on the first memory cell of the memory cells by applying a first verify voltage to the first word line coupled to the first memory cell (any of verify voltage(s) VvC-VvA to WLL1(s)); and performing the second verify operation on the second memory cell of the memory cells by applying a second verify voltage to the second word line coupled to the second memory cell (any of verify voltage(s) VvC-VvA to WLL2(s)).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to the first develop time; according to the second develop time.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to a first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to a second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses the memory device, wherein the memory array comprises a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks comprises a common source line (SL; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 22, Yang discloses the memory device, wherein the first memory cell and the second memory cell on the same block are configured to be erased at the same time (para 0085).
Regarding claim 23, Yang discloses the memory device, wherein the first memory cell and the second memory cell are in different groups of word lines on the same block (fig. 12).
Claim(s) 5-6, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0392909 ‒hereinafter Yang) in view of Lee (US 2019/0115081), and further in view of Sim et al. (US 2013/0194872 ‒hereinafter Sim).
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the memory device (fig. 12, 13), wherein performing the first verify operation on the first memory cell of the memory cells (i.e. of WLL1(s)), and performing the second verify operation on the second memory cell of the memory cells (i.e. of WLL2(s)).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to the first develop time is under a first temperature; according to the second develop time is under a second temperature, wherein the first temperature is different from the second temperature.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to the first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to the second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Sim discloses [the first develop time] is under a first temperature (low temperature sensing having first develop time tDEV_L; fig. 4B), and [the second develop time] is under a second temperature (high temperature sensing having first develop time tDEV_H; fig. 4A), wherein the first temperature is different from the second temperature (para 0068).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is further modifiable as taught by Sim for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by in which disturbances due to temperature fluctuations may be minimized (para 0077-0079 of Sim), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of securing the integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 6, Sim discloses the memory device, wherein the first develop time is longer than the second develop time, and the first temperature is lower than the second temperature (para 0077, 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is further modifiable as taught by Sim for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by in which disturbances due to temperature fluctuations may be minimized (para 0077-0079 of Sim), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of securing the integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses the memory device (fig. 12, 13), wherein performing the first verify operation on the first memory cell of the memory cells (i.e. of WLL1(s)), and performing the second verify operation on the second memory cell of the memory cells (i.e. of WLL2(s)).
Yang does not expressly disclose according to the first develop time is under a first temperature; according to the second develop time is under a second temperature, wherein the first develop time is longer than the second develop time, and the first temperature is lower than the second temperature.
Lee discloses (in a verify interval; para 0124) according to the first develop time (DVL1 for a memory cell; fig. 24); according to the second develop time (DVL2 for another memory cell; fig. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is modifiable as taught by Lee for the purpose of checking word lines and memory blocks for defects using separate develop times while performing a write operation (para 0129-0130 of Lee), which is common and well known in the art for facilitating data accessing schemes by improving the overall performance speed to achieve a robust memory system.
Sim discloses [the first develop time] is under a first temperature (low temperature sensing having first develop time tDEV_L; fig. 4B), and [the second develop time] is under a second temperature (high temperature sensing having first develop time tDEV_H; fig. 4A), wherein the first temperature is different from the second temperature (para 0068), wherein the first develop time is longer than the second develop time, and the first temperature is lower than the second temperature (para 0077, 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is further modifiable as taught by Sim for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by in which disturbances due to temperature fluctuations may be minimized (para 0077-0079 of Sim), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of securing the integrity of data storage.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0392909 ‒hereinafter Yang) in view of Lee (US 2019/0115081), and further in view of Lee (US 2012/0069674 ‒hereinafter Lee ‘9674).
Regarding claim 8, Yang, as modified, does not expressly disclose the memory device, wherein the first verify operation comprises a 3 bit line (3BL) coarse verify operation, and the second verify operation comprises a 3BL fine verify operation.
Lee ‘9674 discloses first verify operation comprises a 3 bit line (3BL) coarse verify operation (“coarse sensing operation, a precharge voltage is applied to all of the selected bit lines” para 0034, which may essentially comprises at least 3 bit lines BL0-BL3; fig. 3), and the second verify operation comprises a 3BL fine verify operation (“fine sensing scheme according to some embodiments, a predetermined voltage is applied to a selected word line and a precharge voltage is applied to all bit lines connected to the selected memory cells” para 0033, which essentially comprises at least 3 bit lines BL0-BL3; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Yang is further modifiable as taught by Lee ‘9674 for the purpose of improving the overall reliability of the device by reducing noise and disturbances (para 0010 of Lee ‘9674), and to try the modification for the additional purpose of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/UYEN SMET/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824