Objections to the Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the piece of pool equipment must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, independent claim 1 is rejected since the specification is silent on a piece of pool equipment associated with an automatic swimming pool (APC) cleaner that includes the APC, a trolley or docking station. At first glance, the term “associated with” is vague since it is not even clear what the term “pool equipment” relates in the context of the APC since it is not defined in the specification as to be related to the battery, motor, etc. Further, the disclosure does not clearly delineate nor the do the drawings depict how this element is juxtaposed with APC, the trolley or the docking station.
In particular independent claim 6 is rejected since the specification does not define what material would constitute scratch resistant material since the phrase itself is relative and readily defined.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Publication (2017/046808) to Witelson et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Witelson et al. discloses a reflective surface (801) (See paragraphs [0016] and [00220]-[0221]) configured to reflect visual information, wherein the reflective surface (801) is on a piece of pool equipment (807) associated with an automatic swimming pool cleaner (800) with the piece of pool equipment (807) includes the APC (801), a trolley for the APC, or a docking station for the APC (deck) (See paragraph [00220] and claim 4) and the reflective surface is an external surface arranged on the piece of pool equipment (807) to reflect the light as the visual information (See claim 4).
Regarding claim 2, Witelson et al. discloses that the reflective surface (810) is on the APC (800), and that the reflective surface (810) is configured to reflect visual information from a first location to a second location (See claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Witelson et al. discloses that the reflective surface includes at least one of a scratch-resistant material (battery material) or a fog-resistant material.
Regarding claim 8, Witelson et al. discloses that the reflective surface (810) is backlit (seen from the bottom or back; See paragraph [0220]).
Response to the Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed April 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant at page 3 of the remarks, alleges that WIPO Publication (2017/046808) to Witelson et al. includes a spectroscopic device (801) lacks a reflective surface which is “an external surface arranged on the piece of equipment”. However, Witelson et al. discloses that the spectroscopic device (801) as being positioned on the bottom of the pool cleaner (800) and positioned on the navigation system (807). Witelson et al. discloses that the spectroscopic device (801) as further described in claim 4 includes a reflected radiation beam.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723