RCE
Objections to the Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the trolley must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Since the drawings never show the trolley as required in independent claim 1, it is not clear how the reflective surface (24) is placed on the trolley or where it is placed on the trolley since the trolley is not depicted in the drawings. Further, the specification states that the trolley includes a reflective surface is configured to reflect visual information about the APC. However, since the trolley is not depicted one of ordinary skill in the art would not where the reflective surface is relative to the surface of the trolley.
Claims 2-8 and 21-23 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-2, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Publication (2017/046808) to Witelson et al.
Regarding independent claim 1, Witelson et al. teaches most of the elements of claim 1 including a reflective surface (405) (See paragraphs [0016] and [00220]-[0221]) configured to reflect visual information. However, Witelson et al. is silent regarding that that the reflective surface (405) is on the APC (800), a trolley for the APC or a docking station for the APC. Witelson et al. teaches that the reflective surface (405) is including with a spectroscopic device (400) (See paragraphs [0228]). Wiltelson et al. teaches that the spectroscopic device may be included within, attached to or coupled to a pool maintenance system, which including a pool cleaning robot or a skimmer (See paragraph [0098] of Witelson et al.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Witelson et al. to include the spectroscopic device (400) including the reflective surface on the APC (800) since Wiltelson et al. suggests such modifications in order to provide proper analysis of the water.
Moreover, Witelson et al. as modified teaches that the reflective surface (405) is an external surface as arranged in the spectroscopic device (400), which is placed on the automatic swimming pool cleaner (800), a trolley for the APC, or a docking station for the APC (deck) (See paragraph [00220] and claim 4) to reflect the light as the visual information (See claim 4).
Regarding claim 2, Witelson et al. as modified above teaches that the reflective surface (405) is on the APC (800), and that the reflective surface (405) is configured to reflect visual information from a first location to a second location (See claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Witelson et al. as modified above teaches that the reflective surface includes at least one of a scratch-resistant material (battery material) or a fog-resistant material.
Regarding claim 8, Witelson et al. teaches that the reflective surface (405) is backlit (seen from the bottom or back; See paragraph [0220]).
Response to the Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant at page 3 of the remarks, alleges that WIPO Publication (2017/046808) to Witelson et al. that since spectroscopic device (e.g., mirror (405) are completely within the housing (401) any reflective surfaces of the spectroscopic device are not and cannot be “external surface arranged on the APC”; therefore, even if the housing (401) may extend from the pool cleaner the reflective surface is not on an external surface of the cleaner. However, Witelson et al. as modified the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 if the spectroscopic device (400) includes the reflective surface (405) and is attached to or external to the pool cleaner (800), then the reflective surface (405) would be an external surface to the pool cleaner since it is part of the spectroscopic device (400).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723