Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 4, 8, 12, 13, 15, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent (10,383,499) to Fox et al. (cited by Applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Fox et al. discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) (102) with a first electrical contact (306a) and a charging system (104) for the APC with a second electrical contact (116b), and wherein at least one of the first electrical contact (306a) of the second electrical contact (116b) comprises a surface and at least one raised feature (500) protruding from the surface (504b), and with at least one raised feature (500) is configured as a point of contact between the first electrical contact (306a) and the second electrical contact (116b) (See Col. 6 lines 3-20; Col. 7 lines 20-35; and FIGS. 3-5A).
Regarding claim 4, Fox et al. discloses that the a material of the first electrical contact (306a) or the second electrical contract (116b) includes at least one of titanium or an electrically conductive plastic (See paragraph 0073]).
Regarding claim 8, Fox et al. discloses at least one raised feature (500) protruding from the surface of the electrical contract is configured to at least one of (i) reduce a contact surface in order to increase local pressure with another electrical contact during charging or (ii) increase a contact pressure with another electrical contact during charging.
Regarding independent claim 12, Fox et al. discloses an electrical contact (116b) enabling charging of an automatic swimming pool cleaner (102) with a charging system (104) with the electrical contact (116b) comprises a surface (504b) and at least one raised feature (500) protruding from the surface (504b) of the electrical contact (116b) (See Col. 6 lines 3-20; Col. 7 lines 20-35; and FIGS. 3-5A).
Regarding claim 13, Fox et al. discloses that the corrosion-mitigating feature further comprises a material of the electrical contact, and wherein the material comprises at least one of titanium or an electrically conductive plastic (See paragraph 0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Fox et al. discloses at least one raised feature (500) protruding from the surface of the electrical contract is configured to at least one of (i) reduce a contact surface in order to increase local pressure with another electrical contact during charging or (ii) increase a contact pressure with another electrical contact during charging.
Regarding claim 25, Fox et al. discloses that the electrical contact (306a) is on the APC (102) (note the top portion of the rectangular surface would be the raised surface; See Col. 6 lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 26, Fox et al. discloses that the electrical contact (116b) is on the charging system (104).
Claims 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0268045) to Lancry et al.
Regarding independent claim 17, Lancry et al. discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (102), a charging system (324) for selectively charging or recharging the APC, and a charging control system (See claim 14) for controlling charging or recharging of the APC using the charging system based on a detection of water (See paragraph [0073] and claim 8).
Regarding claim 18, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging control system (See claim 14) is configured to control charging of the APC (102) based on the detection of water on an electrical contact of the APC or the charging system (324) (See paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 20, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging control system (See claim 14 and FIG. 3) is configured to detect water based on resistance between two electrical contacts (See paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 21, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging system (See FIG. 3) further includes a base (326) for supporting the APC (102); and one or more feet (334) supporting the base (326) with that the one or more feet (334) support the base (326) such that the base (326) is inclined upwards and at an angle (See paragraph [0068] and FIG. 3) .
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on April 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 12 have overcome the Double Patenting Rejection. However, the Applicant argues at page 2 that U.S. Patent (10,383,499) to Fox et al. lacks at one raised feature protruding form the surface as required in independent claims 1 and 12. However, Fox et al. discloses that the electrical contact (116a) that includes at least one surface (504b) with a raised feature (500) is configured as a point of contact between the first electrical contact (306a) and the second electrical contact (116b) as shown in FIG. 5A (See Col. 6 lines 3-20; Col. 7 lines 20-35; and 5A).
With respect to independent claim 17, the Applicant argues that U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0268045) to Lancry et al. fails to teach or suggest “controlling charging or recharging of the APC using the charging system based on a detection of water”, as required in claim 17 as page 3 of the remarks. However, Lancry et al. discloses further a method of charging at paragraph [0085] at or near the waterline and further controlling and sensing based on the detection of water at paragraph [0095].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723