Response to Restriction
1. Claims 22-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 11, 2025.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. (18/909,181). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independents 1 and 12 of the present application are similar in scope to claims 1 and 13 of (‘181).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent (10,383,499) to Fox et al. (cited by Applicant)
Regarding independent claim 1, Fox et al. discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC) (102) and a charging system (104) for the APC with the APC (102) includes a first electrical contact (306a) and the charging system (104) includes a second electrical contact (116a), and wherein at least one of the first electrical contact (306a) of the second electrical contact comprises a corrosion- mitigating feature (See Col. 6 lines 3-20 and FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Fox et al. discloses that both the first electrical contact (306a) and the second electrical contact (116a) comprise the corrosion-mitigating feature (See Col. 6 lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 3, Fox et al. discloses that the corrosion- mitigating feature comprises at least one of a material of the electrical contact or a surface treatment (See Col. 6 lines 3-20).
Regarding claim 4, Fox et al. discloses that the corrosion-mitigating feature further comprises a material of the electrical contact, and wherein the material comprises at least one of titanium or an electrically conductive plastic (See paragraph 0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Fox et al. discloses the corrosion-mitigating feature includes the surface treatment (302d), and with the surface treatment comprises surface geometry (See FIG. 3), surface features, surface structures, surface textures, a drying treatment, nitrate, passivation, nitruration, and/or ruthenium.
Regarding claim 7, Fox et al. discloses that the corrosion-mitigating feature includes the surface treatment, and wherein the surface treatment comprises a boss (302d) on at least one of the first electrical contact (306a) or the second electrical contact.
Regarding independent claim 12, Fox et al. discloses an electrical contact (306a) enabling charging of an automatic swimming pool cleaner (102) with a charging system (104) with the electrical contact (306) comprises a corrosion-mitigating feature (nickel), and wherein the corrosion- mitigating feature comprises a surface treatment (silver or gold) (See Col. 6 lines 5-20 and FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Fox et al. discloses that the corrosion-mitigating feature further comprises a material of the electrical contact, and wherein the material comprises at least one of titanium or an electrically conductive plastic (See paragraph 0073]).
Regarding claim 14, Fox et al. discloses that the surface treatment comprises a boss (302d) on the electrical contact (306a).
Regarding claim 15, Fox et al. discloses the surface treatment (silver or gold) is configured to at least one of (i) reduce a contact surface in order to increase local pressure with another electrical contact during charging or (ii) increase a contact pressure with another electrical contact during charging.
Claims 17, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2022/0268045) to Lancry et al.
Regarding independent claim 17, Lancry et al. discloses an automatic swimming pool cleaner (102), a charging system (324) for selectively charging or recharging the APC, and a charging control system (See claim 14) for controlling charging or recharging of the APC using the charging system based on a detection of water (See paragraph [0073] and claim 8).
Regarding claim 18, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging control system (See claim 14) is configured to control charging of the APC (102) based on the detection of water on an electrical contact of the APC or the charging system (324) (See paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 20, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging control system (See claim 14 and FIG. 3) is configured to detect water based on resistance between two electrical contacts (See paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 21, Lancry et al. discloses that the charging system (See FIG. 3) further includes a base (326) for supporting the APC (102); and one or more feet (334) supporting the base (326) with that the one or more feet (334) support the base (326) such that the base (326) is inclined upwards and at an angle (See paragraph [0068] and FIG. 3) .
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723