CTNF 18/126,134 CTNF 89551 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of Prosecution This office action considers claims 1-20, in Claims - 03/24/2023, pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Notes : when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as ( 100 ; Fig 1A; [0022] or C 18, L 18-37)= (element 100 ; Figure No. 1; Paragraph No. [0022]) or Column No 18, Line Nos. 18-17. For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” or “Column No, Line Nos" shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a) (1 ) as being unpatentable by Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1) hereinafter Ma’055 . Regarding Claim 1. Ma’055 teaches a package substrate ( 100 ; Figs 1A-1B; [0033]), comprising ( See the entire document Figs 1E, 4F, 11A-11B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below ): PNG media_image1.png 258 883 media_image1.png Greyscale Ma’055 Figure 4F Figure 1E a core ( 410 ; Fig 4F; [0070]; first cited as 150 ; Fig 1B,1E [0035]), wherein the core comprises glass ([0059, 0033]: 410 or 150 comprised of glass ]; an insert ( 430 ; wetting layer ; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D ) in the core ( 410/150 ), wherein the insert is a different material ( metal ) than the core ( glass ); a first layer ( 450/130 ) over the core ( 410/150 ); a second layer ( 460/140 ) under the core; and a notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]), through the first layer ( 450/130 ), the core ( 410/150 ), and the second layer ( 460/140 ), wherein the notch ( 1160) passes through the insert ( 430; depicted in Fig 1E, 11B, 4E ) in the core ( 410 ). PNG media_image2.png 414 720 media_image2.png Greyscale Ma’055 Figure 11A 11B (depicting Notches and layout Regarding Claim 2. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core ; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has substantially vertical ( 165/425 ; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B) sidewalls ( 165/425) . Regarding Claim 3. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert ( 430 ; wetting layer ; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D ) has substantially vertical ( 165/425 ; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B) sidewalls ( 165/425) Regarding Claim 4. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert ( 430 ; wetting layer ; Fig 4F; [0068]: wetting material 430 remains only on the walls 425 of vias 420, as shown in FIG. 4D ) has tapered( depicted by 167; Fig 1E [0050]) sidewalls ( 165/425 ). Regarding Claim 6. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the insert comprises a polymer ([0037]). Regarding Claim 7. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 6, further teaches, wherein the polymer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is within ten percent ( construed from [0085] : a CTE approximately the same as the glass material ) of a CTE of the core (410/150). Regarding Claim 8. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the notch (1160) is at an edge (depicted in Fig 11B; [0084]) of the package substrate ( 100 ). Regarding Claim 10. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the first layer ( 450/130 labeled as first build-up structure in [0040] ) and the second layer ( 460/140 labeled as second build-up structure in [0040] ) comprise organic buildup films ([0037]), and wherein conductive routing ([0042] metal layers 136a-c may each be patterned to form any suitable number and configuration of traces, power planes, ground planes, and other conductors to facilitate the routing of power and I/O signals ) (depicted in Fig 1E; [0042]) is provided in the first layer and the second layer. Regarding Claim 11. Ma’055 teaches a package substrate ( 100 ; Figs 1A-1B; [0033]), comprising ( See the entire document Figs 1E, 4F, 11A-B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below ): a glass ([0059, 0033]: 410 or 150 comprised of glass ) core ( 410 in Fig 4F;[0070]; first cited as 150 ; Fig 1B,1E,4F [0035]); buildup layers ( 450/130 labeled as first build-up structure in [0040] ) over and under ( 460/140 labeled as second build-up structure in [0040] ) the glass core ( 410/150 ); and a notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) that passes through the buildup layers ( 450/130 ; 460/140 ) and the glass core ( 410/150 ), wherein the portion of the notch that passes through the glass core is lined by a polymer ([0037]). Regarding Claim 12. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has vertical sidewalls ( 165/425 ; depicted in Fig 1E, 4A-4F,11B) Regarding Claim 13. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the polymer ([0037]) has tapered ( depicted by 167; Fig 1E [0050]) sidewalls ( 165/425 ). Regarding Claim 14. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the polymer has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is within ten percent( construed from [0085] : a CTE approximately the same as the glass material ) of a CTE of the core (410/150) Regarding Claim 16. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch is at an edge of the package substrate. Regarding Claim 17. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 11, further teaches, wherein the notch is a partial circle ([0089] semi-circular notch ), a rectangle, or a triangle. Regarding Claim 18. Ma’055 teaches an electronic system, comprising ( See the entire document Figs 2, 1E, 4F, 11A-B along with other figures and relevant disclosures, specifically; as cited below ):: PNG media_image3.png 314 442 media_image3.png Greyscale Ma’055 Figure 2 a board ( 200 ; Fig 2; [0052]); a package substrate ( 100 ; Figs 2; 1A-1B,; [0033]) coupled to the board ( 200 ), wherein a notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) passes through the package substrate ( 100 ), and wherein a portion of the notch passing through a glass core (410/150; Figs 4F, 1E) of the package substrate ( 100 ) is lined by a polymer ([0037]); and a die ( 210 ) coupled to the package substrate ( 100 ). Regarding Claim 19. Ma’055 as applied to the electronic system of claim 18, further comprising: an attachment device (139a-139c; Fig 1E; [0049]) passing through the notch and coupled to the board. Regarding Claim 20. Ma’055 as applied to the electronic system of claim 18, wherein (00057) the electronic system is part of a personal computer, a server, a mobile device, a tablet, or an automobile . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1) hereinafter Ma’055 in view of Jeon; Jaeseok et al. (US 20210391228 A1); hereinafter Jeon ) . Regarding Claim 5. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 4, while further teaches, wherein the tapered sidewalls (165/465 ), but does not expressly disclose “form an hourglass shaped insert” . However, in the analogous art, Jeon teaches through-glass via (TGV) formed in a glass substrate may comprise a metal plating layer formed in the TGV (abstract), wherein (Fig 1B; [0031]) illustrates an example hourglass-shaped TGV lined with an adhesion layer 120 , a metal seed layer 122 , and a metal plating layer 124 . This example TGV is shown in FIG. 3 with one or more metal films deposited on the top and/or bottom surfaces of the glass substrate, using, for example, a physical vapor deposition (PVD) technique. Appropriate surface passivation for metal-filled TGVs may reduce or prevent metal diffusion and interaction with O.sub.2 and hence prevent unwanted metal-oxide particle formation. PNG media_image4.png 250 306 media_image4.png Greyscale Jeon Figure 1B Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to adapt Jeon ’s TGVs have hourglass shaped cross-sections for Ma’055’s tapered sidewalls (165/465 ) form an hourglass shaped insert in the device of the combination of ( Ma’055’s and Stamper), since such modification would have TGVs reduce or prevent metal diffusion and interaction with glass and hence prevent unwanted metal-oxide particle formation ( Jeon [0031]) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma; Qing et al. (US 20110147055 A1) hereinafter Ma’055 in view of Chiba, Teiichirou et al. (US 20030015806 A1); hereinafter Chiba ) . Regarding Claim 9,15. Ma’055 as applied to the package substrate of claim 1 and/or claim 11, does not expressly disclose, wherein the notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has a diameter that is up to approximately 5 mm.. However, in the analogous art, Chiba teaches a semiconductor wafer having dot marks ((0002]), wherein (figs 1-2; [0018] [0018] a notch is opened to an outer side from a peripheral side face of a wafer comprises a circular arc having a radius of curvature equal to or larger than 0.9 mm and a depth from the wafer peripheral side face is set to 1+0.25 mm. PNG media_image5.png 378 448 media_image5.png Greyscale Chiba Figure 1 Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention, to adapt Chiba ’s notch diameter for Ma’055’s notch (1160), thereby the combination of ( Ma’055’s and Chiba) comprises wherein the notch ( 1160 ; Fig 11A-11B, 4,1E [0084]; labelled as 160 in Figs 1B-1E [0035] within core; as 440 in Fig 4; [0070]) has a diameter that is up to approximately 5 mm. , since such modification, at least, would , even when the slenderest pin is inserted thereinto, the pin does not interfere with the circular arc face constituting the inner wall face of the bottom portion of the notch.( Chiba [0018]) Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOAZZAM HOSSAIN whose telephone number is (571)270-7960. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8:30AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio J. Maldonado can be reached on 571-272-1864 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 April 21, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/126,134 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898