DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-23 are currently pending.
Independent claim(s) 1, 13, 22-23 and dependent claims 2, 5-7, 11, 14, and 18-19 have been amended by applicant’s amendments received 22 June 2026.
Prior objections of the drawings have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Prior objections of the specification have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Prior objections of claims 6-7, 11 and 18-19 have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The examiner wishes to note in response to applicant’s discussion (Remarks, pg. 16-17) in regard to the ‘Excessive Information Disclosure Statement’ which was included in the prior office action, that as discussed this was only included as a formality to note that not all of the cited references could be given due diligence, and thanks the applicant for their understanding. The examiner is further appreciative of the applicant’s noting of specific references.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13 and 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific combination of reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. An updated rejection for these claims may be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amendments submitted on 22 June 2026 introduce a new limitation which reads “determining, based on statistical characteristics of the ADC data, a multiple-point time window;”. There is no support in the specification for the use of the generic term “statistical characteristic”, however there is support for more specific data-based determinations such as use of mean, median and a weighted value in the specification ([0120] – [0121]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there are “statistical characteristics” of data, such as skew, which are not included in the current disclosure. As such, this limitation within the independent claims (1, 13, 22 and 23) will be interpreted to read “determining, based on intensity information of the ADC data…”, wherein ‘intensity information’ is given the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) in line with the specification to mean a median value, a mean value, a weighted mean value, or a mode.
Claims 2-12 and 14-21 are rejected as being dependent on independent claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 13-20 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein et al. (hereinafter Finkelstein, US 20190250257 A1) in view of Koseki et al. (hereinafter Koseki, US 20110205386 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, 22 and 23, Finkelstein teaches a LIDAR system, method of operation ([0070]), a non-transitory computer readable medium storing processor-executable instructions ([0214]) and a vehicle comprising a LIDAR system ([0106]), respectively, comprising:
a light source configured to provide transmission light signals in a plurality of firing cycles ([0101]; Fig. 1, emitter array (115) controlled by timing circuit (106));
a detector configured to detect return signals formed based on the transmission light signals ([0101]; Fig. 1, detector array (110) controlled by timing circuit (106));
an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to obtain ADC data representing the detected return signals ([0011], [0168]; where readout voltages of pixels within detector are digitized by an analog-to-digital converter (ADC));
and one or more processors and memory device, and processor-executable instructions stored in the memory device, the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform, for at least one firing cycle of the plurality of firing cycles ([0098], [0103]; Fig. 1 where control circuit (105) is one of possible processors/controllers within system which control operations):
determining a multiple-point time window using the ADC data ([0121], [0142], [0180] - [0183], [0188]; where background/uncorrelated photons may be recorded during a time gate without signal photons, or during frames/sub-frames between pulses);
based on the multiple-point time window, determining an offset of the ADC data ([0142], [0194], where the uncorrelated photon count level is monitored within a frame or sub-frames);
at least partially correcting the ADC data based on the offset ([0192] - [0195], [0215]; where system corrects detector readout signals for background signals);
and providing the corrected ADC data for constructing a point cloud representing an external environment of the LiDAR system ([0103]).
Finkelstein does not explicitly discuss determining the multiple-point time window based on statistical characteristics, or intensity information, such as an average. Koseki teaches a solid-state imaging device, wherein the sensor includes a plurality of ADCs, where pixel readout information such as average values are determined and used to further analyze the data ([0074] - [0075], [0149]; where the output data from a solid-state imaging sensor and ADC is averaged from pixels, and may be used to adjust an input offset range).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Koseki to use intensity information, such as an average of values, to inform background information and signals in order to determine a multiple-point window of with a reasonable expectation of success. Finkelstein further teaches embodiments which use a reference channel to determine intensity information/statistics of background information ([0181]) but does not explicitly disclose use of weighted values, medians, modes or averages.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
determining, based on statistical characteristics of the ADC data, the multiple-point time window comprises positioning the multiple-point time window based on time positions of digital signals representing one or more of the detected return signals that are represented by the ADC data ([0180] - [0183], [0188], [0202], [0213] - [0214]; where background/uncorrelated photons may be recorded during time gates without signal photons, or during passive frames/sub-frames situated during or between frames/sub-frames with emitted and returned pulses).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 2, wherein
the multiple-point time window is positioned within a previous firing cycle before a time position associated with a triggering of a current firing cycle ([0180] - [0183], [0188], [0202], [0213] - [0214]; where background/uncorrelated photons may be recorded during time gates without signal photons, or during passive frames/sub-frames situated during or between frames/sub-frames with emitted and returned pulses, such as during a previous firing cycle within a sub-frame).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 2, wherein
the multiple-point time window is positioned between a previous firing cycle and a current firing cycle or within the current firing cycle ([0180] - [0183], [0188], [0202], [0213] - [0214]; where background/uncorrelated photons may be recorded during time gates without signal photons, or during passive frames/sub-frames situated during or between frames/sub-frames with emitted and returned pulses, such as during a current firing cycle within a sub-frame).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 2, wherein
the multiple-point time window is positioned before a time position associated with digital signals representing a first pulse of the detected return signals in a current firing cycle ([0180] - [0183], [0188], [0202], [0213] - [0214]; where background/uncorrelated photons may be recorded during time gates without signal photons, or during passive frames/sub-frames situated during or between frames/sub-frames with emitted and returned pulses, such as during a current firing cycle within a sub-frame).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein based on the multiple-point time window, determining the offset of the ADC data comprises:
obtaining time positions of the determined multiple-point time window ([0202] - [0207]; where the time bin is recorded for photon arrival time);
obtaining signal intensities of the ADC data corresponding to the time positions of the multiple-point time window ([0202] - [0207]; where the number of avalanches/photons is recorded per time bin);
and computing the offset based on the signal intensities of the ADC data corresponding to the time positions of the multiple-point time window ([0202] - [0207]; where errors, offsets, and /or correlation times are determined based on received signals and background signal information).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 6, wherein computing the offset based on the signal intensities of the ADC data corresponding to the time positions of the multiple-point time window comprises computing at least one of:
a mean value of the signal intensities ([0186]; where system may find an average background intensity);
a weighted mean value of the signal intensities;
a median value of the signal intensities;
and a mode of the signal intensities.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 6, wherein
computing the offset is further based on a preset initial value of the offset ([0195]; where background may be determined based on a threshold based on a predetermined background level).
Regarding claim 10, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform:
obtaining offsets associated with a group of firing cycles of the plurality of firing cycles, the group of firing cycles being associated with a frame of the point cloud ([0141] - [0144]; Fig. 7, where each point cloud/frame is formed of a set of sub-frames, where each sub-frame includes alternating cycles of laser pulses and strobe windows, and the processor is configured to dynamically adjust background subtraction/correction);
determining a plurality of lowest offsets associated with the group of firing cycles associated with the frame ([0205] - [0215]; where a total number of uncorrelated (background) events per passive subframe are included in determining an accurate time of flight and signal);
computing a frame offset value based on the plurality of the lowest offsets, the frame offset representing an offset of the ADC data representing the frame ([0205] - [0215]; passive sub-frame values are used to extrapolate and apply background counts to active sub-frames within a frame and where passive sub-frames will have lowest background/offset counts);
and at least partially correcting the ADC data representing the frame based on the frame offset ([0205] - [0215]; wherein background /passive sub-frame values are used to correct active-subframes).
Claim(s) 9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein et al. (hereinafter Finkelstein, US 20190250257 A1) in view of Koseki et al. (hereinafter Koseki, US 20110205386 A1) and further in view of Heinonen (US 20210116562 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Finkelstein teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least partially correcting the ADC data based on the offset includes background subtraction, but is silent on subtracting a prior firing cycle’s offset from a current firing cycle.
Heinonen teaches a method of operating a LIDAR device, which includes determining an offset, or background information, which includes subtracting the offset from the ADC data representing detected return signals in a first firing cycle from the ADC data representing detected return signals in a second firing cycle, the first firing cycle preceding the second firing cycle ([0051], [0061] - [0062]; where noise signals are detected in passive periods between emissions and are used to correct subsequent scans' intensity values.).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Heinonen to use offset, or background, data from a prior firing cycle to correct a current firing cycle’s data with a reasonable expectation of success. Finkelstein mentions that background subtraction methods may be used to correct intensity data collected ([0100], [0144], [0199]), and Heinonen discusses that offsets and time delays in LIDAR data can lead to intensity/pulse errors in resulting received pulse profiles, and offset subtraction is one avenue to compensate for these errors ([0051]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein et al. (hereinafter Finkelstein, US 20190250257 A1) in view of Koseki et al. (hereinafter Koseki, US 20110205386 A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang, US 20220355926 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform, for a group of firing cycles of the plurality of firing cycles, the group of firing cycles being associated with a frame of the point cloud ([0141] - [0144]; Fig. 7, where each point cloud/frame is formed of a set of sub-frames, where each sub-frame includes alternating cycles of laser pulses and strobe windows and the processor is configured to dynamically adjust background subtraction/correction), where the processor further performs:
identifying, from multiple-point time windows associated with the group of firing cycles, a group of multiple-point time windows corresponding to the plurality of the smallest standard deviations of the signal intensities of the ADC data associated with the group of firing cycles ([0205] - [0215]; where passive sub-frame values are used to extrapolate and apply background counts to active sub-frames within a frame and where passive sub-frames will have lowest background/offset counts, and a total number of uncorrelated (background) events per passive subframe are included in determining an accurate time of flight and signal);
determining offsets of the ADC data associated with the identified group of multiple- point time windows ([0205] - [0215]; where a total number of uncorrelated (background) events per passive subframe are included in determining an accurate time of flight and signal);
computing a frame offset based on the offsets of the ADC data associated with the identified group of multiple-point time windows, the frame offset representing an offset of the ADC data representing the frame ([0205] - [0215]; passive sub-frame values are used to extrapolate and apply background counts to active sub-frames within a frame and where passive sub-frames will have lowest background/offset counts);
and at least partially correcting the ADC data representing the frame based on the frame offset ([0205] - [0215]; wherein background /passive sub-frame values are used to correct active-subframes).
Finkelstein does not explicitly teach computing standard deviations for signal intensities, or selecting a plurality of firing cycles based on a lowest subset of standard deviations.
Zhang teaches a vision system for an autonomous aerial vehicle which is equipped for object collection from water, where to minimize glare in the collected images/frames, the system executes computing standard deviations of signal intensities of the ADC data associated with the group of firing cycles; and
selecting, from the computed standard deviations, a plurality of smallest standard deviations of signal intensities of the ADC data associated with the group of firing cycles ([0037] - [0039]; Claim 8, where the system finds the standard deviation of intensity values of pixels above a threshold in a minimum number of frames, where an offset is then determined based on minimum values and the offset subtracted from an intensity threshold).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to find groups of firing cycles with a lowest standard deviation in intensity to determine signal offsets with a reasonable expectation of success. To one of ordinary skill in the art, it would be known that scans, or segments of scans, with a small standard deviation will have a more uniform intensity value, thus being far more likely to represent a portion of data where there are limited (or no) return pulses, as these would increase the standard deviation. These lowest standard deviation scans/segments would therefore much more likely represent background or offset values. Inclusion of use of standard deviations in the calculations of Finkelstein would have a predictable result of reducing calculation resources by focusing on frames with smallest standard deviations to determine offsets/background values, as these would be best representative of the offset/background values.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein et al. (hereinafter Finkelstein, US 20190250257 A1) in view of Koseki et al. (hereinafter Koseki, US 20110205386 A1) and further in view of Shu et al. (hereinafter Shu, US 20180259645 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Finkelstein as modified above teaches the system of claim 1, but is silent on the exact number of points used for determining an offset/background value.
Shu teaches a LIDAR system, in which a different number of photodetectors and time bins can be used for determining echo signals and background signals, where a multiple-point time window comprises a 16-point time window ([0371], where a system's detectors may use background threshold criteria and a specific number of time bins, for example between 2 and 20 during a detection interval, specifically when dealing with a strong source of background signal).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Shu to specifically use a 16-point set of time bins to determine data offset with a reasonable expectation of success. As Shu explains, use of variable detection intervals, detector numbers, gains, thresholds and number of time bins all work to modify received light so to avoid overloading detectors such as SPADs and reducing distortion of collected signals ([0355], [0371] – [0373]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okada et al. (US 20150281623 A1) teaches an image sensor which utilizes column ADCs to analyze and correct image sensor pixel data, wherein the pixel values may be corrected by weighting the pixel signals with an average, a minimum or maximum value of offsets.
Shanan (US 20100075624 A1) teaches a DC offset correction system for receivers, where an offset in a receiver which includes an ADC may compute an average signal to determine an off-set correction value.
LaChapelle et al. (US 20180284245 A1) teaches a method for calibrating LIDAR systems operating in vehicles which includes noise or background removal based on the amount of noise detected during a calibration period.
Moch (US 6594612 B2) teaches a digitizer for use in a measurement system, which operates to calibrate the system taking into account voltage offsets, gain errors, and utilizes a scan list which may include timing parameters, gain, and looping specifications.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645