DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are pending in the current application.
Claim 1 is amended in the current application.
Claims 10-12 are newly added in the current application.
Claim 4 is canceled in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed April 9, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that Ogawa fails to teach, disclose, or suggest all the recited features of amended claim 1 and newly added claims 10-12, specifically, the liquid crystal compound having at least one of a partial structure represented by general formulae (L1-2), (L1-4), (L1-5), (L3), (L4) or (L6).
Examiner acknowledges. Ogawa alone is insufficient to satisfy the recited features of amended claim 1 and newly added claims 10-12. However, new grounds of rejection have been established below as necessitated by the present claim amendments, where Ogawa is combined with the teachings of newly added Tomi et al. (EP 824141 A1) to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed invention. Tomi teaches that it is well known and well within the abilities of those skilled in the art to utilize liquid crystal compositions comprising compounds of formula (2-4-8) that satisfy the general formulae (L6) and (L6-1) of the claimed invention to yield display devices that exhibit high clearing point, low threshold voltage, small temperature dependency on threshold voltage, and less liability to deteriorate by heat and UV rays with a reasonable and predictable expectation of success (Tomi, Pgs 3, 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (EP 2960711 A1) in view of Tomi et al. (EP 0824141 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 10, 11, and 12, Ogawa teaches a liquid crystal display device comprising in sequence: a backlight (not depicted), a first substrate 1, a color filter layer 2a, a liquid crystal layer 5a, and a second substrate 1 (Ogawa, [0016]-[0018], [0088]-[0091], [0153], Figs 1-2). Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal layer is composed of a liquid crystal composition comprising several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) below; and can include other general, nematic, smectic, or cholesteric liquid crystals depending on the application (Ogawa, [0019]-[0048], [0073]).
Ogawa – Figure 2
Ogawa – General Formula (I), (II-1), & (II-2)
Ogawa remains silent regarding a liquid crystal compound having a partial structure of general formula (L1-2), (L1-4), (L1-5), (L3), (L4), or (L6) of claim 1; (L3), (L4), or (L6) of claim 10; (L6) of claim 11; or (L6-1) of claim 12.
Tomi, however, teaches a liquid crystal composition for a liquid crystal display device comprising a liquid crystal compound of formula (2-4-8) that satisfies general formula (L6) of claims 1, 10, and 11, and general formula (L6-1) of claim 12 (Tomi, Pgs 3-6, 8-11, 19-20, Formulae (2-4), (2-4-8)).
Tomi – Formula (2-4-8)
Since Ogawa and Tomi both disclose liquid crystal compositions for display devices, Ogawa discloses liquid crystal compounds having fluorine substitution, and Ogawa suggests including additional liquid crystal compounds as needed depending on the application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least added Tomi’s liquid crystal compound of formula (2-4) (more specifically of formula (2-4-8)) into Ogawa’s liquid crystal composition to yield a display that exhibits high clearing point, low threshold voltage, small temperature dependency on threshold voltage, and less liability to deteriorate by heat and UV rays as taught by Tomi (Tomi, Pgs 3, 11).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ogawa teaches the compounds represented Formula (2-4-8) are included in amount of 3-55% by mass (Tomi, Pgs 6, 11). Modified Ogawa’s range falls within the claimed range of 3% or more by weight, and therefore, satisfies the claimed range (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ogawa teaches the compounds represented Formula (2-4-8) are included in amount of 3-55% by mass (Tomi, Pgs 6, 11). Modified Ogawa’s range overlaps the claimed range of 10% or more by weight, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal composition comprising the several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by Formula (2-4-8), General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) above, where Formula (2-4-8) represents a first liquid crystal compound as claimed, and General Formulae (I) and (II-1) represent a second liquid crystal compound as claimed (Ogawa, [0019]; Tomi, Pgs 3-6, 8-11, 19-20). Modified Ogawa’s General Formulae (I) and (II-1) both have an alkenyl group (R1 for General Formula (I) and R3 for General Formula (II-1)) that does not form a conjugated system as depicted above (Ogawa , [0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ogawa teaches the second liquid compounds (compounds of General Formula (I) 30-50% by mass + compounds of General Formula (II-1) 5-30% by mass) are included in amount of 35-80% by mass (Ogawa, [0019]). Modified Ogawa’s range overlaps the claimed range of 51% or more by weight, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ogawa teaches the second liquid compounds (compounds of General Formula (I) 30-50% by mass + compounds of General Formula (II-1) 5-30% by mass) are included in amount of 35-80% by mass (Ogawa, [0019]). Modified Ogawa’s range overlaps the claimed range of 70% or more by weight, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal composition comprising the several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), (II-2), and (2-4-8) above, where modified Ogawa’s General Formula (I) includes General Formulae (Ib) and (Ic) as second liquid crystal compounds that satisfy (L7) and (L8) of claim 8 (Ogawa, [0026]).
Ogawa – General Formula (Ib) & (Ic)
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal display device further comprises a sealant (sealing member) placed at the peripheries to attach the two substrates, and therefore, enclose the liquid crystal layer (Ogawa, [0017]-[0018]). Although modified Ogawa does not explicitly recite no sealing port is utilized, modified Ogawa also does not explicitly require a sealing port or discuss including a sealing port. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that modified Ogawa’s does not include additional features, such as a sealing port with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782