DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1 and 8 are amended in the current application.
Claim 4 is canceled in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and remarks filed December 17, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objections over the drawings set forth in the previous office action.
The objections over the drawings set forth in the previous office action are withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
Applicant argues that Ogawa and Zhang, either singly or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest all the recited features of claim 1, specifically, the liquid crystal compound having at least one of a partial structure represented by general formulae (L1)-(L4) or (L6).
This is not persuasive for the following reasons. The grounds of rejection have been changed as necessitated by the present claim amendments, where Ogawa alone renders obvious the invention of the present claims and Zhang is no longer relied upon. Ogawa teaches a liquid crystal layer composed of a liquid crystal composition comprising several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) below (Ogawa, [0019]-[0048]). Ogawa’s General Formula (II-2) has a B group that is a 1,4-phenylene group that can be substituted with a fluorine atom attached to a Z4 group that can be a -CH=CH- or a -C≡C- conjugated bond group attached to form a continuous conjugated system that satisfies the general formulae partial structures of (L1) or (L2), respectively (Ogawa, [0019], General Formula (II-2)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and to have tried 1,4-phenylene groups substituted with a fluorine atom as B groups and -CH=CH- or a -C≡C- conjugated bond groups as Z4 groups from the finite list of options disclosed by Ogawa with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143). Therefore, Ogawa teaches that it is well known and well within the abilities of those skilled in the art to arrive at a liquid crystal layer composition rendering obvious the partial structures of (L1) and/or (L2) as claimed with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (EP 2960711 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ogawa teaches a liquid crystal display device comprising in sequence: a backlight (not depicted), a first substrate 1, a color filter layer 2a, a liquid crystal layer 5a, and a second substrate 1 (Ogawa, [0016]-[0018], [0153], Figs 1-2). Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal layer is composed of a liquid crystal composition comprising several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) below (Ogawa, [0019]-[0048]). Ogawa’s General Formula (II-2) has a B group that is a 1,4-phenylene group that can be substituted with a fluorine atom attached to a Z4 group that can be a -CH=CH- or a -C≡C- conjugated bond group attached to form a continuous conjugated system that satisfies the general formulae partial structures of (L1) or (L2), respectively (Ogawa, [0019], General Formula (II-2)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected and to have tried 1,4-phenylene groups substituted with a fluorine atom as B groups and -CH=CH- or a -C≡C- conjugated bond groups as Z4 groups from the finite list of options disclosed by Ogawa with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143).
Ogawa – Figure 2
Ogawa – General Formula (I), (II-1), & (II-2)
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Ogawa teaches the compounds represented General Formula (II-2) are included in amount of 25-45% by mass (Ogawa, [0019], [0039], [0154]). Ogawa’s range falls within the claimed ranges (3% or more by weight of claim 2, and 10% or more by weight of claim 3), and therefore, satisfies the claimed ranges (MPEP 2131.03).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal composition comprising the several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) above, where General Formula (II-2) represents a first liquid crystal compound as claimed, and General Formulae (I) and (II-1) represent a second liquid crystal compound as claimed (Ogawa, [0019]). Ogawa’s General Formulae (I) and (II-1) both have an alkenyl group (R1 for General Formula (I) and R3 for General Formula (II-1)) that does not form a conjugated system as depicted above (Ogawa , [0019]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ogawa teaches the second liquid compounds (compounds of General Formula (I) 30-50% by mass + compounds of General Formula (II-1) 5-30% by mass) are included in amount of 35-80% by mass (Ogawa, [0019]). Ogawa’s range overlaps the claimed range of 51% or more by weight, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogawa teaches the second liquid compounds (compounds of General Formula (I) 30-50% by mass + compounds of General Formula (II-1) 5-30% by mass) are included in amount of 35-80% by mass (Ogawa, [0019]). Ogawa’s range overlaps the claimed range of 70% or more by weight, and therefore, renders obvious the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 8, Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal composition comprising the several liquid crystal compounds that include structures depicted by General Formulae (I), (II-1), and (II-2) above, where Ogawa’s General Formula (I) includes General Formulae (Ib) and (Ic) as second liquid crystal compounds that satisfy (L7) and (L8) of claim 8 (Ogawa, [0026]).
Ogawa – General Formula (Ib) & (Ic)
Regarding Claim 9, Ogawa teaches the liquid crystal display device further comprises a sealant (sealing member) placed at the peripheries to attach the two substrates, and therefore, enclose the liquid crystal layer (Ogawa, [0017]-[0018]). Although Ogawa does not explicitly recite no sealing port is utilized, Ogawa also does not explicitly require a sealing port or discuss including a sealing port. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably conclude that Ogawa’s does not include additional features, such as a sealing port with a predictable and reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eli D. Strah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782