Priority
The claim to priority to 63/324,294, filed on March 28, 2022 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on March 27, 2023, November 15, 2023 and July 3, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses phraseology that can be implied and refers to the purported merits. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b)&(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michaut (US Pub. 2013/0056524).
Regarding claim 1, Michaut discloses a method and device for controlling a thermal cycle of a weld joining ends of strips together comprising: receiving weld data about a weld (Abstract; Par. 21, 27-28, 39 and 70-74); analyzing (Fig. 4, analysis module C113), using a physical-based model (Par. 54, formula 1; Par. 67, mathematical model), the weld data to predict a formation of defect in the weld (Par. 33, “database”, Par. 53 “weld quality”, “embrittlement of the weld”, and Par. 73 and 75-77); and providing feedback to enable process optimization during a design sage or active control during welding to control a welding machine to correct for and estimate the formation of the defect in the weld (Par. 23, 27, 38-40, 53 and 70-73).
Regarding claim 2, Michaut discloses wherein receiving the weld data about the weld comprises capturing the weld data about the weld during component and process design (Par. 21, 27-28, 39 and 70-74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaut (US Pub. 2013/0056524) in view of Pesme et al. (US Pub. 2016/0193680).
Regarding claims 3, Michaut discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including a measurement of the energy available at the output of the welding energy source and/or a measurement of the welding device movement speed and/or a measurement of the time and temperature of said weld, based on the welding parameter values which can be measured in real time (Par. 39, 73 and 77) except wherein receiving the weld data about the weld comprises capturing the weld data about the weld using a sensor, wherein the sensor is one or more of camera, a pyrometer, or a spectrometer. Pesme et al. discloses wherein receiving the weld data about the weld comprises capturing the weld data about the weld using a sensor, wherein the sensor is one or more of camera (104) or a pyrometer (128) (Par. 14-15, 35 and 37-41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Michaut, wherein receiving the weld data about the weld comprises capturing the weld data about the weld using a sensor, wherein the sensor is one or more of camera, a pyrometer, or a spectrometer, as taught by Pesme et al., capturing the data and inputting to the control for controlling the welding process.
Regarding claim 4, Pesme et al. discloses wherein receiving the weld data about the weld comprises capturing the weld data about the weld from sensors (camera 104 and pyrometer 128) and controls within the welding machine (Fig. 1; Par. 14, 35 and 37-41).
Regarding claim 5, Pesme et al. discloses the sensors (camera 104 and pyrometer 128) and controls (via controller 122) within the welding machine (100) comprises a power input (Par. 35) or a travel sped (Par. 33-34, 39 and 41).
Claim(s) 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaut (US Pub. 2013/0056524) in view of Pesme et al. (US Pub. 2016/0193680) and further view of Mehr et al. (US Pub. 2020/0096970).
Regarding claims 6-7, Michaut/Pesme disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above except the weld data is computationally processed through a series of algorithm to predict steps in a welding process; and wherein the analyzing the weld data comprises analyzing the weld data using algorithm to predict a defect formation. Mehr et al. discloses the weld data is computationally processed through a series of algorithm to predict steps in a welding process; and wherein the analyzing the weld data comprises analyzing the weld data using algorithm to predict a defect formation (Abstract; Par. 27, 30-32, 34, 43, 109 and 126-134). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Michaut/Pesme, the weld data is computationally processed through a series of algorithm to predict steps in a welding process; and wherein the analyzing the weld data comprises analyzing the weld data using algorithm to predict a defect formation, as taught by Mehr et al., for the purpose of improving the efficiency of the process and/or the quality of the part being fabricated.
Regarding claim 8, Mehr et al. discloses the predict defect formation provides input to steps of a design optimization or active control inputs (Abstract; Par. 3-5, 8, 27-28 and 43).
Regarding claims 9-10, Mehr et al. discloses wherein the design optimization is conducted by automated routines or by manual assessment of parameters based on a design and process constraint; and wherein the design and process constraint comprises one or more a weld joint geometry, power setting, and a total power input (Par. 3-5, 27-28, 32, 34 and 55-56; Claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Mehr et al. discloses the active control during welding is conducted by analysis of instantaneous sensor measurement and prediction of weld stability (Abstract; Par. 27, 43, 114-116, 122, 127 and 130-133).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaut (US Pub. 2013/0056524) in view of Di Stefano et al. (US Pub. 2023/0040619).
Regarding claim 12, Michaut discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the welding machine (M11) (Fig. 4) except the welding machine is a robot welding machine. Di Stefano et al. discloses the welding machine is a robot welding machine (Fig. 3; Par. 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Michaut, the welding machine is a robot welding machine, as taught by Di Stefano et al., for the purpose of suitable to the user application to have an actuators/robot in order to move the beam emitted by the welding head along the welding path.
Regarding claim 13, Di Stefano discloses the robotic welding machine (via 2, Fig. 3) includes control system algorithms (20) to perform defect prediction based on sensor data (via thermal camera 3) (Fig. 3; Par. 82, 98-100 and 102).
Regarding claim 14, Di Stefano discloses the robotic welding machine (2) actively calculates stability of instantaneous weld conditions and autonomously adjusts parameters to maintain stability and defect-free welds (Par. 22, 94-96 and 98-99).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaut (US Pub. 2013/0056524) in view of Brescoe et al. (US Pub. 2020/0254562).
Regarding claims 15-16, Michaut discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including a laser power (Par. 46) except the laser power at a weld start is gradually increase, and wherein the laser power at a weld stop is gradually decrease. Brescoe et al. discloses the laser power at a weld start is gradually increase, and wherein the laser power at a weld stop is gradually decrease (Fig. 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Michaut, the laser power at a weld start is gradually increase, and wherein the laser power at a weld stop is gradually decrease, as taught by Bresco et al., for the purpose of preventing undesirable cracking.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761