DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 02a-01, Claims 1-3 and 6, in the reply filed on December 24, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 5, and 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 24, 2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “energy device” in claims 1-3 and 6 defined as capably “subjects the subject to thermal treatment’ in Page 10 the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sarvazyan (U.S. Publication 2015/0141847).
As to Claim 1, Sarvazyan discloses an assistant device (100) in [0047] and Fig. 1A comprising
a processor (140) in [0047] and Fig. 1A configured to:
generate a first image “Step 425” in [0070] and Fig. 4A including one or more characteristic regions requiring excision “unablated” in [0067] and Fig. 4A by a surgical operator;
generate a second image “Step 425” in [0070] and Fig. 4A including one or more cauterized regions cauterized “ablated” in [0067] and Fig. 4A by an energy device “ablation device” in [0069];
generate information “spectral differences” in [0068] regarding presence or absence of a first region (any arbitrary portion of anatomy that is unablated) that is included in the characteristic regions and that is not included in the cauterized region based on the first image and the second image; and
output information “classifying spectra” in [0074] and Fig. 4B indicating the presence of the characteristic regions that requires to be cauterized when the first region is present.
As to Claim 2, Sarvazyan discloses the assistant device according to claim 1, wherein
the processor is configured to:
extract a pixel corresponding to the characteristic regions from the first image “pixels corresponding to non-ablated areas” in [0073]-[0074] and Fig. 4B;
extract a pixel corresponding to the cauterized region from the second image “pixels corresponding to ablated tissue regions” in [0073]-[0074] and Fig. 4B;
superimpose the first image on the second image via “composite image” in [0075];
compare “classifying” in [0074] the pixel corresponding to the characteristic regions with the pixel corresponding to the cauterized region;
determine “distinguish” in [0074] whether or not the characteristic region not included in the cauterized regions is present; and
output the information via “abundance map” in [0075] indicating the presence of the characteristic region that requires to be cauterized when the characteristic region not included in the cauterized regions is present.
As to Claim 3, Sarvazyan discloses the assistant device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate the second image based on an imaging signal obtained by capturing fluorescence produced by excitation light “fluorescence” in [0061]-[0063] and [0079]-[0082], the excitation light being applied to excite advanced glycation end products produced by subjecting a living tissue to thermal treatment (during normal operation when anatomy is subject to the excitation light and the anatomy capable of containing glycation end products).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 2(a)(1) as being unpatentable over and in further view of Azizian (U.S. Publication 2023/0225804).
As to Claim 6, Sarvazyan discloses the assistant device according to claim 1 wherein the processor is configured to generate the first image based on an imaging signal, the imaging signal being obtained by capturing a reflected light beam when a living tissue is irradiated with white light “white light” in [0035]-[0036] and Figs. 9A-10D and by capturing a return light beam “reflected light light” in [0035]-[0036] and Figs. 9A-10D from the living tissue however does not specifically disclose annotation operation information. Azizian teaches in the analogous field of endoscopy wherein a processor is configured to generate an imaging signal and annotation operation information “annotation” in [0129], the annotation operation information indicating that a surgical operator performs annotation (802) in [0112]-[0113] on a tumor region as shown in Fig. 8 in an image corresponding to the imaging signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of Sarvazyan with annotation means as taught by Azizian in order to fulfill the same function of graphical user interface display of relevant surgical information with predictable results (Azizian, [0111]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the enclosed 892 form. 20210386270 is cited to show similar pixel analysis means. The prior art should be considered to define the claims over the art of record.
/WILLIAM CHOU/
Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795