DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/127,228, application filed on 03/28/2023. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latzke (US PG Pub No. 2016/0280300) in view of GAO (US PG Pub No. 2015/0352973).
7. With respect to claim 1, Latzke teaches:
A bicycle battery unit (batter pack mounted on bicycle, Abstract; see Fig 14 showing battery unit and battery housing mounted on bicycle, para 65, 86) configured to supply power to a bicycle component (see power output jack, Abstract; providing multiple voltages allows for charging of and providing power to attachable devices, external lights etc, para 32), the bicycle battery unit comprising:
a housing (see main housing 30 for battery pack, as shown in Fig 3, para 56);
a battery accommodated in the housing (see Fig 2, which clearly shows battery 40 to be accommodated in main housing 30, para 38, 55);
a first electrical connector provided to the housing (see first of multiple battery contacts 33 on the housing 30, Fig 3, para 39, 56) so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing being electrically connectable with the battery (see three exposed battery contacts 33 as shown in Fig 3);
a second electrical connector provided to the housing (see second of multiple battery contacts 33 on the housing 30, Fig 3, para 39, 56) so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing separate from the first electrical connector (see three exposed battery contacts 33 as shown in Fig 3).
Latzke appears to be silent regarding:
a power line communication circuit electrically connected to the second electrical connector and configured to perform power line communication via the second electrical connector.
However, GAO teaches:
a power line communication circuit electrically connected to the second electrical connector (see PLC power line communication connected to PLC unit and connected to first/second battery line, Fig 4) and configured to perform power line communication via the second electrical connector (see PLC unit connected to first/second battery and battery controller line, Fig 4, para 39-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated GAO’s use of PLC on the battery unit in order to provide critical operational functionality including determining power levels and determining required power output and demand over time.
8. With respect to claim 2, Latzke teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, further comprising a third electrical connector provided in the housing so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing and electrically connectable with the battery, the third electrical connector being separate from the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector (see third of multiple battery contacts 33 on the housing 30, Fig 3, para 39, 56).
9. With respect to claim 3, Latzke teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector and the third electrical connector are configured to supply power of the battery to the same bicycle component (see battery connection pins of housing and the supply of power to a power output, para 77).
10. With respect to claim 5, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector is electrically connected to the battery so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector upon a charge level of the battery being greater than or equal to a predetermined level (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
11. With respect to claim 6, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector from the battery in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining an external electrical connector is electrically connected to the third electrical connector (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
12. With respect to claim 7, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining the housing is attached to a bicycle (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
13. With respect to claim 10, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the battery so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector from the battery upon a charge level of the battery being greater than or equal to a predetermined level (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
14. With respect to claim 11, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining an external electrical connector being connected to the second electrical connector (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
15. With respect to claim 12, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches::
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining the housing is attached to a bicycle (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
16. With respect to claim 15, while Latzke appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, further comprising a connection switch that changes an electrical connection state of the first electrical connector and the battery in accordance with a communication result of the power line communication circuit (see PLC power line communication connected to PLC unit and connected to first/second battery line, Fig 4; see PLC unit connected to first/second battery and battery controller line, Fig 4, para 39-41).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
17. Claim(s) 4, 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latzke (US PG Pub No. 2016/0280300) in view of GAO (US PG Pub No. 2015/0352973), and in further view of Lee (US PG Pub No. 2012/0256568).
18. With respect to claim 4, while Latzke/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector has an output voltage from the battery that is greater than an output voltage of the third electrical connector from the battery (see multi-port battery of Fig 15a, and the differential of output electrical connections for a battery that can be used to supply power to a electric bicycle, para 29, 136; difference between voltage outputs at different ports of the battery, one being higher than the other, para 136-140; second battery cells voltage may be lower/higher than the first battery cells voltage, para 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Lee’s voltage differential among voltage output ports/terminals/connectors into the invention of Latzke/GAO because Lee points out that the multiple port voltage configurations are needed to control a electric bicycle which potentially has multiple motors to actuate or power, and/or powering multiple electrical components of the electric bicycle (see Lee, para 111-125).
19. With respect to claim 8, while Latzke/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector includes a first positive terminal, the second electrical connector includes a second positive terminal, the third electrical connector includes a third positive terminal, and at least one of the first, second, and third electrical connectors includes a ground terminal (see positive terminals for first, second, nth battery, ground connections, para 133-135, par 200-215).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
20. With respect to claim 9, while Latzke/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector includes a first positive terminal, the second electrical connector includes a second positive terminal, and at least one of the first and second electrical connectors includes a ground terminal (see positive terminals for first, second, nth battery, ground connections, para 133-135, par 200-215).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
21. With respect to claim 13, while Latzke/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to according to claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector has an output voltage that is greater than an output voltage of the second electrical connector (see multi-port battery of Fig 15a, and the differential of output electrical connections for a battery that can be used to supply power to a electric bicycle, para 29, 136; difference between voltage outputs at different ports of the battery, one being higher than the other, para 136-140; second battery cells voltage may be lower/higher than the first battery cells voltage, para 105).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
22. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
23. With respect to claim 14, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 14, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 14, as follows:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 13, wherein the output voltage of the first electrical connector is greater than or equal to 20 V and less than 60 V, and the output voltage of the second electrical connector is greater than or equal to 1 V and less than 20 V.
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851