DETAILED ACTION
2. This Non-Final office action is in response to application 18/127,228, RCE and amendment filed on 09/11/2026. In the amendment, Applicant has amended claims 1, 15 and 16. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kwag et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwag et al. (US PG Pub No. 2012/0322321).
7. With respect to claim 1, Kwag teaches:
A bicycle battery unit (see battery pack 200 as shown in Fig 2, including battery as shown mounted to battery housing/storage-device) configured to supply power to a bicycle component (battery of battery pack supplying power to the motor of the electric bicycle, para 30), the bicycle battery unit comprising:
a housing (see Fig 1 showing battery pack storage device acting as housing for mounted battery, para 16);
a battery accommodated in the housing (see battery 220/230 plugged into the housing/storage-device, as shown in Fig 3, para 15-20);
a first electrical connector provided to the housing (see electrical connectors 150, para 17-20; Fig 2) so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing being electrically connectable with the battery (see connectors 150 exposed out of housing/storage-device and connectable to battery 200, see Fig 2, para 16-20);
a second electrical connector provided to the housing (see second electrical connection 20 to provide connection from battery housing/storage-device to component so electrical circuit such as motor driving circuit, circuit board, etc, para 20-25) so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing separate from the first electrical connector (see Fig 4 wire/connection 20 protruding/exposed at opening 113a);
a communication circuit electrically connected to the second electrical connector and configured to perform communication via the second electrical connector (see controls and communications between battery 210/battery-housing/ and bike/motor, para 28-30; see second electrical connection 20 to provide connection from battery housing/storage-device to component so electrical circuit such as motor driving circuit, circuit board, etc, para 20-25);
the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector being accessible in a state in which the battery is accommodated in the housing (see electrical connection/disconnection of terminals to bicycle/motor/circuit based on whether battery is attached or removed from battery pack storage-device/housing, para 38).
8. With respect to claim 2, Kwag teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, further comprising a third electrical connector provided in the housing so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing and electrically connectable with the battery, the third electrical connector being separate from the first electrical connector and the second electrical connector (see multiple connectors 150 as shown in Fig 2 which are all connected to the battery and are separate connectors/terminals; see para 26 and 33 which describe control and communication lines corresponding to one of the terminals/connectors 150 of Fig 2).
9. With respect to claim 3, Kwag teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector and the third electrical connector are configured to supply power of the battery to the same bicycle component (see multiple connectors 150 as shown in Fig 2 which are all connected to the battery which can share connection for control/communications, para 26, 33 describe control and communication lines corresponding to one of the terminals/connectors 150 of Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 5-7, 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag et al. (US PG Pub No. 2012/0322321) in view of GAO (US PG Pub No. 2015/0352973).
12. With respect to claim 5, Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below,
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector is electrically connected to the battery so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector upon a charge level of the battery being greater than or equal to a predetermined level
However, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector is electrically connected to the battery so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector upon a charge level of the battery being greater than or equal to a predetermined level (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated GAO’s use of PLC on the battery unit into the bike battery system of Kwag in order to provide critical operational functionality including determining power levels and determining required power output and demand over time.
13. With respect to claim 6, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector from the battery in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining an external electrical connector is electrically connected to the third electrical connector (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
14. With respect to claim 7, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the third electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined first voltage is applied to the third electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining the housing is attached to a bicycle (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
15. With respect to claim 10, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the battery so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector from the battery upon a charge level of the battery being greater than or equal to a predetermined level (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
16. With respect to claim 11, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining an external electrical connector being connected to the second electrical connector (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
17. With respect to claim 12, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches::
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the second electrical connector and the battery are electrically connected so that a predetermined second voltage is applied to the second electrical connector in a case where a charge level of the battery is greater than or equal to a predetermined level upon determining the housing is attached to a bicycle (connection of applied battery output voltage when battery level of second battery is greater than prescribed level, para 53; see battery 50/52/58/59 attached to electric bicycle, Fig 1).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
18. With respect to claim 15, while Kwag appears to be silent regarding the limitations below, GAO teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, further comprising a connection switch that changes an electrical connection state of the first electrical connector and the battery in accordance with a communication result of the power line communication circuit (see PLC power line communication connected to PLC unit and connected to first/second battery line, Fig 4; see PLC unit connected to first/second battery and battery controller line, Fig 4, para 39-41).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 1 above).
19. Claim(s) 4, 8-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwag et al. (US PG Pub No. 2012/0322321) in view of GAO (US PG Pub No. 2015/0352973), and in further view of Lee (US PG Pub No. 2012/0256568).
20. With respect to claim 4, while Kwag/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector has an output voltage from the battery that is greater than an output voltage of the third electrical connector from the battery (see multi-port battery of Fig 15a, and the differential of output electrical connections for a battery that can be used to supply power to a electric bicycle, para 29, 136; difference between voltage outputs at different ports of the battery, one being higher than the other, para 136-140; second battery cells voltage may be lower/higher than the first battery cells voltage, para 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to have incorporated Lee’s voltage differential among voltage output ports/terminals/connectors into the invention of Kwag/GAO because Lee points out that the multiple port voltage configurations are needed to control a electric bicycle which potentially has multiple motors to actuate or power, and/or powering multiple electrical components of the electric bicycle (see Lee, para 111-125).
21. With respect to claim 8, while Kwag/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 2, wherein the first electrical connector includes a first positive terminal, the second electrical connector includes a second positive terminal, the third electrical connector includes a third positive terminal, and at least one of the first, second, and third electrical connectors includes a ground terminal (see positive terminals for first, second, nth battery, ground connections, para 133-135, par 200-215).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
22. With respect to claim 9, while Kwag/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector includes a first positive terminal, the second electrical connector includes a second positive terminal, and at least one of the first and second electrical connectors includes a ground terminal (see positive terminals for first, second, nth battery, ground connections, para 133-135, par 200-215).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
23. With respect to claim 13, while Kwag/GAO appear to be silent regarding the following limitations below, Lee teaches:
The bicycle battery unit according to according to claim 1, wherein the first electrical connector has an output voltage that is greater than an output voltage of the second electrical connector (see multi-port battery of Fig 15a, and the differential of output electrical connections for a battery that can be used to supply power to a electric bicycle, para 29, 136; difference between voltage outputs at different ports of the battery, one being higher than the other, para 136-140; second battery cells voltage may be lower/higher than the first battery cells voltage, para 105).
(For motivation to combine references, please see rejection of claim 4 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
24. Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
25. With respect to claim 14, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 14, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 14, as follows:
The bicycle battery unit according to claim 13, wherein the output voltage of the first electrical connector is greater than or equal to 20 V and less than 60 V, and the output voltage of the second electrical connector is greater than or equal to 1 V and less than 20 V.
26. Claim 16 is allowed over the prior art of record.
27. With respect to claim 16, the prior art made of record fails to teach the combination of steps recited in claim 16, including the following particular combination of steps as recited in claim 16, as follows:
a first electrical connector provided to the housing so as to be at least partially
exposed out of the housing being electrically connectable with the battery;
a second electrical connector provided to the housing so as to be at least partially exposed out of the housing separate from the first electrical connector; and
a communication circuit electrically connected to the second electrical
connector and configured to perform communication via the second electrical
connector, the first electrical connector having an output voltage that is greater than an output voltage of the second electrical connector,
the output voltage of the first electrical connector being greater than or equal to 20 V and less than 60 V, and
the output voltage of the second electrical connector being greater than or equal to 1V and less than 20 V.
Conclusion
/SUCHIN PARIHAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851