DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Independent claims 1 and 12 and claims 2-10, 13-14, 16-19 and 21-23 due to their dependency from rejected Independent claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea determining cooking instructions as is type of paper cook books.
With respect to step 1, Independent claims 1 and 12 recite “an electronic apparatus” thus satisfying Step 1 of the Patent Office’s eligibility guidance test.
However the process does not satisfy Step 2 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance since a general purpose programed computer, in the instant case a processor, with a display and the act of displaying a plurality of recipes to cook according to a plurality of cooking apparatus is not sufficient “to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application”. (Current standard). The Independent claims solely require a manner of determining, the claims do not require an actual cooking step and or transformation as Claim 1 is a processor “configured to”, where the method of claim 12 is “an electronic apparatus configured to”.
It is important to note that a general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755-56 (Fed. Cir. 2014). See also TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of concrete or tangible components is not an inventive concept); Eon Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 623, 114 USPQ2d 1711, 1715 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (noting that Alappat’s rationale that an otherwise ineligible algorithm or software could be made patent-eligible by merely adding a generic computer to the claim was superseded by the Supreme Court’s Bilski and Alice Corp. decisions). If applicant amends a claim to add a generic computer or generic computer components and asserts that the claim recites significantly more because the generic computer is 'specially programmed' (as in Alappat, now considered superseded) or is a 'particular machine' (as in Bilski), the examiner should look at whether the added elements provide significantly more than the judicial exception. Merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014).
With respect to Step 2A of the eligibility test whether the claims are directed to a judicial exception (Prong 1) and whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application (Prong 2). The examiner notes that judicial exception may comprise mental processes, i.e. concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). It is noted the recitation of generic computer components, in the instant case a processor of claim 1, in a claim does not preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea. In the instant case, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, thus it is still in the mental processes grouping unless the claim limitation cannot practically be performed in the mind.
In the instant case applicants claims fail the eligibility test of Step 2A, Prong 1. The claim recites the field of use as “providing” information regarding cooking prediction results but in this case imposes no limits on the process of cooking. Importantly the claims are silent to a cooking device and merely obtaining cooking information and “cook the object based on the cooking setting information or the adjusted cooking setting”. The claims require mere data gathering steps and providing guide information for adjusting cooking settings and merely provides additional information to the user and do not add any meaningful limits of cooking. The process and “electronic apparatus” are used in their conventional way for a comprehensive recipe guide. The claims merely encompass the abstract ideas of comparing new and stored information and using a display to identify options and/or using categories to organize, store and display information such as is known with paper cook books. More specifically the claimed “identify identification information corresponding to a cooking object to be cooked from among a plurality of cooking objects” encompasses a user manually identifying a desired cooking object to be cooked and manually accessing a cookbook which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346).
The claimed “based on the identification information and cooking setting information corresponding to a user input” encompasses a user manually accessing a paper cook book corresponding to a user desired cooking” which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346)
The claimed “identify a cooking history corresponding to the cooking setting information from among the plurality of cooking histories” encompasses a user manually accessing a paper cook book where the cooking history is a desired recipe or type of cooking relative different cooking objects and/or cooking types and which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346)
The claimed “obtain a cooking prediction result corresponding to the cooking setting information based on the cooking history” encompasses a user manually accessing a paper cook book to obtain a desired cooking result, i.e. a cooking prediction based on cooking history, as is the purpose and intent of paper cook books which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346)
The claimed “indicating a degree of cooking among a plurality of degrees of cooking or roasting regarding the cooking object” encompasses a user manually accessing a paper cook book and manually determining a desired degree of cooking or type of cooking.
The claimed before starting to cook the cooking object, provide, to a user information regarding the cooking prediction result and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information encompasses a user manually accessing a paper cook book and following a paper recipe which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346).
In addition, with respect to the claimed “identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user” additionally encompasses mental steps since it is the user that provides the user input and thus manually determine if a cooking setting is adjusted.
The claims cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, thus it is still in the mental processes grouping since the claim limitation can be performed in the mind. The data gathering steps are insignificant extra-solution activity and thus the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application since mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer and merely uses a processor and/or electronic apparatus as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
In addition, the mere nominal recitation of the generic processor does not take the claim limitations out of the mental process because in this case imposes no limits on a specific parameter, the claims require mere data gathering steps to identify a variable and do not add any meaningful limits and merely encompasses the user determining the desired cooking type and food type which is a step not outside that of a mental process which a person of ordinary skill in the art could perform using a paper cook book which are known to provide a same information for determining cooking parameters and detail how long and under what conditions different food items should be cooked to obtain the user desired result as taught by Luo et al. (WO2017178346) per the January 2019 PEG and October 2019 Update.
The processor is used in their conventional way of gathering data and comparing, i.e. determining which can be performed mentally and is a step not outside that of a mental process which a person of ordinary skill in the art could perform using a paper cookbook per the January 2019 PEG and October 2019 Update.
With regard to Prong 2A, the Guidance states that a judicial exception in conjunction with an improvements to the functioning of a computer is eligible. However mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea are not indicative of integration into a practical application.
With respect to step 2B, the element is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) and fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application, thereby failing the eligibility test of Step 2, Prong 2.
In addition with respect to Step 2B, the Examiner evaluates whether the claim provides an inventive concept. While the application of a judicial exception by or with a particular machine is an important clue in determining claim eligibility, it is not a transformative test. See MPEP 2106.05(b). In Parker v. Flook, the Supreme Court held that “a claim for an improved method of calculation, even when tied to a specific end use, is unpatentable subject matter under § 101.” Parker v. Flook, 427 U.S. 584, 595, n18 (1978). The MPEP sets forth some relevant factors in determining whether a machine-implemented method satisfies subject matter eligibility: the particularity of the machine, whether the machine implements the steps of the method, and whether the involvement of the machine is extra-solution activity or a field of use. See MPEP 2106.05(b).
With respect to step 2B, the claim elements are conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application, thereby failing the eligibility test of Step 2, Prong 2.
For example, when evaluating the claim reciting an abstract idea and a series of data gathering steps the claims recite the abstract ideas of comparing new and stored information and using a display to identify options and/or using categories to organize, store and display information. The combination of steps gather and display data in a conventional manner as Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
In addition with respect to the claimed “cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjusted cooking setting”. Initially it is noted the option includes cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information which is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application, thereby failing the eligibility test of Step 2, Prong 2.
It is further noted with respect to the claimed “cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjusted cooking setting”. This type of limitation would be considered adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent with the judicial exception or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, adding an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the cooking setting information (obtained by an evaluation) and cooking based on the cooking setting information. This is similar to merely applying the cooking setting information, "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. This would be similar to the insignificant application since the cooking step is stated with a HIGH degree of generality including any type of cooking. This could literally mean any cooking process out there.
2106.05(f)
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
With regard to the particularity of the machine, the claims are silent to any type of associated apparatus which is insufficient to provide an inventive concept. Namely the “electronic apparatus” encompasses both wired and wireless devices separate from cooking devices, including smart phones, while simultaneously encompassing any cooking device itself. The claims, though claim “cooking objects” the objects themselves are not even limited by type and or food or non-food and importantly do not require a cooking device merely “cook(ing)”. The claimed apparatus encompasses several different types of cooking appliances both food and non-food, where numerous cooking apparatus are known leading one to determine that the recitation of a “an electronic apparatus” is insufficient to provide particularity to the claimed machine.
While use of a machine to accomplish a claimed method may provide an inventive concept, Appellant’s claims are silent to any machine and is merely a machine on which the method operates. In addition, the claims are silent to any food perfecting, i.e. cooking or actually use of the obtained information that directs the operation of the appliance and is merely “configured to”. Being silent to such, where different cooking apparatuses perform vastly different operations with different methods and outcomes. Application of the same “configured to” control the plurality of cooking apparatuses shows that the cooking apparatuses is merely a machine on which the control method operates, failing to provide significantly more than an abstract idea.
The examiner evaluates whether the claims provide additional element(s) or combination of elements amount(s) to no more than:
In the instant case the claimed additional element of a memory and a user interface are mere instructions to implement the idea as known in the art as evident by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734). The memory and user interface provide post‐solution activity, i.e. user choose that could be attached to any cooking device using known pre-stored data. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself since the claims are mere instructions and choices of known cooking recipes. The claims merely encompass the abstract ideas of comparing new and stored information and using a display to identify options and/or using categories to organize, store and display information. The claim fails to improve the recited technological field. The steps merely display options and do not add any meaningful limits on cooking a food.
Claims 2-7, 9, 13-14, 16-17, 19 and 21-23 are taken as above to further encompass mental steps. With respect to claims 8, 10 and 18 the claimed camera is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) and fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application and with respect to claim 21, microwave induction ovens as further taught by Hur (par. 0163) and Bhogal is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught and fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application
In addition, the claims automate the mental process of comparing recipes for cooking and merely encompass the abstract ideas of comparing new and stored information and using a display to identify options and/or using categories to organize, store and display information.
Claims drawn to judicial exceptions are not made patent eligible “simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192, n14 (1981). Applicant’s recitation of a patent ineligible abstract idea of “to control a plurality of cooking apparatuses” is an attempt to limit the use of an abstract idea to a particular field of use, rendering the claims ineligible for patent protection. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Following the Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance from the Office, Applicant’s invention is unpatentable under § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-14, 17-19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hur et al. (20200018551).
Hur teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory storing instructions (par. 0269), a plurality of cooking histories (par. 0365, .366), corresponding to a plurality of cooking objects (par. 0285, 0308); and
a processor (par. 0373) configured to execute the instructions to:
identify identification information corresponding to a cooking object to be cooked from among the plurality of cooking objects (par. 0285, 0308);
based on the identification information and cooking setting information corresponding to a user input (par. 0144, 0155, 0156, 0364), identify a cooking history corresponding to the cooking setting information from among the plurality of cooking histories stored in the memory (par. 0286, par. 0269; par. 0365 stored);
obtain a cooking prediction result corresponding to the cooking setting information based on the cooking history (par. 0269, 0286; par. 0365) and indicating a degree of cooking among a plurality of degrees of cooking regarding the cooking object (par. 0365 more heating; par. 0366 less heating) and
before starting to cook the cooking object (par. 0167; par. 0347, par. 0156), provide, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface that indicates information regarding the cooking prediction result (par. 0145, 0160, par. 0347 notice; par. 0364-0365 relative previous feedback) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information (par. 0167 food type, weight; par. 0364-0365 previous feedback) and receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (par. 0156)
Identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjust cooking setting information (0156 predetermined information or Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific).
Claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: provide, to the user, guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information based on at least one of context information regarding the cooking object and user preference information (par. 0364-0366), and wherein the context information regarding the cooking object comprises at least one of a weight of the cooking object (par. 0364 set course weight), temperature information of an interior of a cooking chamber (par. 0365, 0366 cooking temp.), and state information of the cooking object (par. 0365, 0366, more less heat).
Claim 3, wherein the guide information comprises a recommended adjustment range of at least one of a cooking time and a cooking temperature comprised by the cooking setting information (par. 0365, 0366).
Claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive a user command indicating a selection of a degree of cooking (par. 0365, 0366) regarding the cooking object and obtain the user command as the user preference information (par. 0364 modify course for future).
Claim 6, further comprising: a communication interface (par. 0156), wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive, via the communication interface, information regarding whether a specific function has been executed in an external device (par. 0156 preheat); and obtain, based on the information regarding whether the specific function has been executed, the context information regarding the cooking object (par. 0155, 0160), and wherein the specific function comprises at least one of a pre-cooking function (par. 0155) and a defrosting function regarding the cooking object (par. 0370, 0371).
Claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: identify, using a neural network model (par. 0284), the cooking prediction result by inputting the cooking object (par. 0286) and the cooking setting information to the neural network model (par. 0284), and wherein the neural network model is trained to output the cooking prediction result regarding the cooking object based on at least one of a cooking time (par. 0290) and a cooking temperature (par. 0290) comprised by the cooking setting information (par. 0286, 0290).
Claim 8, further comprising: a camera (par. 0152), wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain an image capturing an interior of a cooking chamber through the camera (par. 0152) and obtain the identification information regarding the cooking object based on the image (par. 0157).
Claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain a cooking result regarding the cooking object after the cooking of the cooking object is completed (par. 0364 feedback) and add the cooking result to the plurality of cooking histories (par. 0365-0366 store).
With respect to Independent claim 12, a controlling method of an electronic apparatus, the controlling method comprising:
identifying identification information corresponding to a cooking object to be cooked from among the plurality of cooking objects (par. 0285, 0308; par. 0167);
based on the identification information and cooking setting information corresponding to a user input (par. 0144, 0155, 0156, 0364), identify a cooking history corresponding to the cooking setting information from among the plurality of cooking histories stored in the memory (par. 0286, par. 0269; par. 0365 stored);
obtain a cooking prediction result corresponding to the cooking setting information based on the cooking history (par. 0269, 0286; par. 0365) and indicating a degree of cooking among a plurality of degrees of cooking regarding the cooking object (par. 0365 more heating; par. 0366 less heating) and
before starting to cook the cooking object (par. 0167; par. 0347, par. 0156), providing, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface that includes information regarding the cooking prediction result (par. 0145, 0160, par. 0347 notice; par. 0364-0365) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information (par. 0364-0365 feedback) receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (par. 0156)
Identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjust cooking setting information (0156 predetermined information or Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific).
Claim 13, provide, to the user, guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information based on at least one of context information regarding the cooking object and user preference information (par. 0364-0366), and wherein the context information regarding the cooking object comprises at least one of a weight of the cooking object (par. 0364 set course weight), temperature information of an interior of a cooking chamber (par. 0365, 0366 cooking temp.), and state information of the cooking object (par. 0365, 0366, more less heat).
Claim 14, wherein the guide information comprises a recommended adjustment range of at least one of a cooking time and a cooking temperature comprised by the cooking setting information (par. 0365, 0366).
Claim 17, identify, using a neural network model (par. 0284), the cooking prediction result by inputting the cooking object (par. 0286) and the cooking setting information to the neural network model (par. 0284), and wherein the neural network model is trained to output the cooking prediction result regarding the cooking object based on at least one of a cooking time (par. 0290) and a cooking temperature (par. 0290) comprised by the cooking setting information (par. 0286, 0290).
Claim 18, further comprising: obtaining, using a camera of the electronic apparatus an image capturing an interior of a cooking chamber (par. 0152) and obtaining the identification information regarding the cooking object based on the image (par. 0157).
Claim 19, obtaining a cooking result regarding the cooking object after the cooking of the cooking object is completed (par. 0364 feedback) and adding the cooking result to the plurality of cooking histories (par. 0365-0366 store).
Claim 21, wherein the user input comprises at least one of a cooking time (par. 0144) during which and a cooking temperature (par. 0144) at which the user input instructs the electronic apparatus to cook the cooking object, the electronic apparatus is configured to receive the user input through a panel of the electronic apparatus (fig. 4 panel relative ref. 14, 15, 16), the electronic apparatus comprises a microwave induction oven (par. 0140), and the panel of the electronic apparatus is on the microwave indication oven and is configured to receive the user input (fig. 4; par. 0143-0144).
Claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, based on receiving cooking setting information adjusted by the user after providing the guide information (par. 0364-0366), obtain an updated cooking prediction result (par. 0364, 0365 store).
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhogal et al. (10801734).
Bhogal teaches an electronic apparatus comprising:
a memory storing instructions (col. 19 lines 17-19), a plurality of cooking histories (col. 19 lines 35-37), and a plurality of cooking objects (col. 19 lines 41-46; col. 23 lines 30-40); and
a processor (col. 17 line 65) configured to execute the instructions to:
identify identification information (col. 19 lines 9-15) corresponding to a cooking object, to be cooked from among the plurality of cooking objects (col. 18 lines 30-33);
based on the identification and cooking setting information corresponding to a user input (col. 19 lines 8-10 input parameters, lines 25-31), identify a cooking history corresponding to the cooking setting information from among the plurality of cooking histories stored in the memory (col. 19 lines 35-41);
obtain a cooking prediction result corresponding to the cooking setting information based on the cooking history (col. 19 line 35-36) and indicating a degree of cooking among a plurality of degrees of cooking regarding the cooking object (col. 19 lines 28-30; browner; col. 19 lines 43-48 doneness)
before starting to cook the cooking object (col. 19 lines 8-29), provide, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface (col. 14 lines 30-36) that includes information regarding the cooking prediction result (col. 18 lines 34-38; col. 34 lines 37-45; col. 32 lines 22-23 during cooking) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting (col. 19 line 9, lines 24-30, col. 32 lines 28-30; crispier) and receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (col. 18 lines 66-67)
identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, col. 19 lines 24-32) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 8-29) or the adjust cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 24-32).
Claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: provide, to the user, guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information based on at least one of context information regarding the cooking object and user preference information and wherein the context information regarding the cooking object comprises at least one of a weight of the cooking object (col. 18 lines 30-2), temperature information of an interior of a cooking chamber and state information of the cooking object (col. 19 lines 26-29).
Claim 3, wherein the guide information comprises a recommended adjustment range of at least one of a cooking time and a cooking temperature comprised by the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 24-28, col. 19 lines 27-31).
Claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive a user command indicating a selection of the degree of cooking (col. 19 line 29) regarding the cooking object and obtain the user command as the user preference information (col. 19 lines 29-35).
Claims 5, further comprising: a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the cooking object (col. 33 lines 39-44, col. 34 lines 14-15), wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to identify, based on the temperature of the cooking object, at least one of temperature information of an interior of the cooking chamber and the state information of the cooking object (col. 34 lines 48-50).
Claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: identify, using a neural network model (col. 19 line 51), the cooking prediction result by inputting the cooking object and the cooking setting information to the neural network model (col. 19 lines 41-51), and wherein the neural network model is trained to output the cooking prediction result regarding the cooking object based on at least one of a cooking time (col. 19 lines 20-24) and a cooking temperature (col. 19 lines 20-24) comprised by the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 20-24).
Claim 8, further comprising: a camera (col. 10 lines 59-65), wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain an image capturing an interior of a cooking chamber through the camera (col. 10 lines 59-65) and obtain the identification information regarding the cooking object based on the image (col. 10 lines 59-65).
Claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: obtain a cooking result regarding the cooking object after the cooking of the cooking object is completed (col. 19 lines 24-30) and add the cooking result to the plurality of cooking histories (col. 19 lines 24-30).
Claim 10, further comprising: a camera (col. 10 lines 59-65), wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain an image capturing an interior of a cooking chamber through the camera after the cooking of the cooking object is completed (col. 10 lines 59-65), and
obtain the cooking result regarding the cooking object by analyzing the image (col. 10 lines 59-65).
With respect to Independent claim 12, a controlling method of an electronic apparatus, the controlling method comprising:
identifying identification information (col. 19 lines 9-15) corresponding to a cooking object, to be cooked from among the plurality of cooking objects (col. 18 lines 30-33);
based on the identification and cooking setting information corresponding to a user input (col. 19 lines 8-10 input parameters, lines 25-31), identify a cooking history corresponding to the cooking setting information from among the plurality of cooking histories stored in the memory (col. 19 lines 35-41);
obtain a cooking prediction result corresponding to the cooking setting information based on the cooking history (col. 19 line 35-36) and indicating a degree of cooking among a plurality of degrees of cooking regarding the cooking object (col. 19 lines 28-30; browner; col. 19 lines 43-48 doneness) and
before starting to cook the cooking object (col. 19 lines 8-29), provide, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface (col. 14 lines 30-36) that includes information regarding the cooking prediction result (col. 18 lines 34-38; col. 34 lines 37-45; col. 32 lines 22-23 during cooking) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting (col. 19 line 9, lines 24-30, col. 32 lines 28-30; crispier) and receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (col. 18 lines 66-67)
identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, col. 19 lines 24-32) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 8-29) or the adjust cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 24-32).
Claim 13, provide, to the user, guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information based on at least one of context information regarding the cooking object and user preference information and wherein the context information regarding the cooking object comprises at least one of a weight of the cooking object (col. 18 lines 30-2), temperature information of an interior of a cooking chamber and state information of the cooking object (col. 19 lines 26-29).
Claim 14 wherein the guide information comprises a recommended adjustment range of at least one of a cooking time and a cooking temperature comprised by the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 24-28, col. 19 lines 27-31).
Claim 16, identify, based on the temperature of the cooking object, at least one of temperature information of an interior of the cooking chamber and the state information of the cooking object (col. 34 lines 48-50).
Claim 17, identify, using a neural network model (col. 19 line 51), the cooking prediction result by inputting the cooking object and the cooking setting information to the neural network model (col. 19 lines 41-51), and wherein the neural network model is trained to output the cooking prediction result regarding the cooking object based on at least one of a cooking time (col. 19 lines 20-24) and a cooking temperature (col. 19 lines 20-24) comprised by the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 20-24).
Claim 18, further comprising: obtain an image capturing an interior of a cooking chamber through the camera (col. 10 lines 59-65) and obtain the identification information regarding the cooking object based on the image (col. 10 lines 59-65).
Claim 19, obtain a cooking result regarding the cooking object after the cooking of the cooking object is completed (col. 19 lines 24-30) and add the cooking result to the plurality of cooking histories (col. 19 lines 24-30).
Claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to, based on receiving cooking setting information adjusted by the user after providing the guide information (col. 19 lines 24-26), obtain an updated cooking prediction result (col. 19 lines 25-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhogal et al. (10801734).
Bhogal teaches with respect to claim 21, user input including cooking parameters (col. 19 lines 8-10) at which the user input instructs the electronic apparatus to cook the cooking object (col. 18 line 66), the electronic apparatus is configured to receive the user input through a panel of the electronic apparatus (col. 14 lines 44-59), the electronic apparatus comprises an oven (col. 17 line 1), and the panel of the electronic apparatus is on the oven and is configured to receive the user input (col. 14 lines 30-35).
Though Bhogal is silent to explicitly teaching input of cooking time and cooking temperature. Since Bhogal teaches cooking time and a user interface for input of cooking parameters (col. 19 lines 8-10) and cooking temperature as controlling factors for cooking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach input of cooking parameters as taught by Bhogal such as time and temperature for its art recognized and applicants intended purpose of instructs the electronic apparatus to cook the cooking object as taught by Bhogal.
Bhogal teaches an oven. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach the electronic apparatus used to control a cooking device as taught by Bhogal being a microwave induction oven since the cooking parameters are not dependent on the device itself and thus achieving a same controlled cooking as taught by Bhogal.
With respect to claim 22, Bhogal teaches the cooking prediction including a determination that the food target parameter may comprise differences during cooking including drying out (col. 33 lines 46-54). Thus since Bhogal teaches a same cooking prediction with respect to the food during cooking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to teach based on a likelihood of the cooking object being burnt, with respect to the teaching of the food drying out as taught by Bhogal, the cooking prediction result includes information indicating that the cooking object is likely to be burnt due to the food drying out as taught by Bhogal and the cooking object is food (col. 33 line 42-44).
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicants urging directed to the 101 rejection the claimed “cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjusted cooking setting”. Initially it is noted the option includes cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information which is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application, thereby failing the eligibility test of Step 2, Prong 2.
It is further noted with respect to the claimed “cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjusted cooking setting”. This type of limitation would be considered adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent with the judicial exception or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea MPEP 2106.05(f), adding an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception MPEP2106.05(g) and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use 2106.05(h). More specifically, 2106.05(f) – here we are taking the cooking setting information (obtained by an evaluation) and cooking based on the cooking setting information. This is similar to merely applying the cooking setting information. 2106.05(g) - The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. This would be similar to the insignificant application - Cutting hair after first determining the hair style, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1016-1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential). 2106.05(h) – the cooking step is stated with a HIGH degree of generality. Cooked how? This could literally mean any cooking process out there.
2106.05(f)
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
With respect to applicants urging directed to the 101 rejection and the dependent claims. Claims 2-7, 9, 13-14, 16-17, 19 and 21-23 are taken as above to further encompass mental steps. With respect to claims 8, 10 and 18 the claimed camera is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught by Hur et al. (20200018551) and Bhogal (10801734) and fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application and with respect to claim 21, microwave induction ovens as further taught by Hur (par. 0163) and Bhogal is conventional, well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field as taught and fails to provide sufficient specificity to be integrated into a practical application
With respect to applicants urging direct to Hur, Hur is taken to teach
before starting to cook the cooking object (par. 0167; par. 0347, par. 0156), provide, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface that indicates information regarding the cooking prediction result (par. 0145, 0160, par. 0347 notice; par. 0364-0365 relative previous feedback) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting information (par. 0167 food type, weight; par. 0364-0365 previous feedback) and receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (par. 0156)
Identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information or the adjust cooking setting information (0156 predetermined information or Alternatively, par. par. 0364-365 previous feedback; par. 0167 food, weight specific).
It is further noted with respect to applicants urging directed to cooking based on the adjust cooking setting, the limitation is an option, where Hur teaches setting a cooking course on predetermined information (par. 0167).
With respect to applicants urging the feedback of Hur is silent to before cooking, importantly Hur teaches the request and associated information being stored (par. 0365) for future cooking course.
With respect to Bhogal, Bhogal teaches before starting to cook the cooking object (col. 19 lines 8-29), provide, to a user of the electronic apparatus, a user interface (col. 14 lines 30-36) that includes information regarding the cooking prediction result (col. 18 lines 34-38; col. 34 lines 37-45; col. 32 lines 22-23 during cooking) and guide information for adjusting the cooking setting (col. 19 line 9, lines 24-30, col. 32 lines 28-30; crispier) and receive a cooking command based on providing the user interface (col. 18 lines 66-67)
identify whether the cooking command includes the cooking setting information adjusted by the user, first instance “no”, predetermined. Alternatively, col. 19 lines 24-32) and
Cook the cooking object based on the cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 8-29) or the adjust cooking setting information (col. 19 lines 24-32).
Conclusion
/STEVEN N LEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792