DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone (US 2008/0302391 A1) in view of Shinto (JP 2009/185362 A, with the attached citations taken from the previously included Google translated document)
As to claim 1, Sone teaches a process where organic impurities are attached to a mask after depositing an organic material (para 0002-0004) where the mask has to be removed from the deposition area for cleaning and the cleaning process degrades the mask. Shinto teaches a similar mask deposition method that solves these issues.
Shinto teaches a mask processing method (abstract), the method comprising: (a) forming a sacrificial layer on a mask in a first chamber (film forming chamber, p2); (b) transferring the mask to a second chamber (processing chamber, p2) in which a substrate is disposed (support substrate p3), and then processing the substrate using the mask; and (c) removing the sacrificial layer on the mask (Embodiments).
Shinto includes a protective or sacrificial layer that the deposition material/contaminants deposits on instead of the mask as in Sone, so that when it is cleaned, the protective layer is removed and the mask is not damaged (p3, Embodiments). Because the protective layer is removed with impurities attached to it in Shinto, the impurities are not being removed directly. Shinto’s process is a dry process that improves upon that of Sone as it does not require the removal of the mask from the deposition area for cleaning (p2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to modify Sone’s mask to include a protective layer and a dry-cleaning process as the protective layer to extend the life of the mask and not have to remove the mask from the deposition area for cleaning.
As to claim 2, the protective film is formed on the mask in the processing chamber (Shinto bottom of p 5).
As to claim 3, the protective film includes silicon (Shinto bottom of p 3).
As to claim 4, the film may be made by CVD (Shinto p2) which would inherently include a Si containing gas and reactant to make the films on Shinto p3.
As to claim 8, oxygen plasma is used to remove organic impurities on Shinto p 5.
As to claim 10, cleaning is affected by gases such as chlorine that react with elements such as Al where the salt would be removed on Shinto p 5. Fluorine is also used in the Embodiments.
As to claim 13, these limitations are taught as discussed above.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone and Shinto in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0101752 A1)
Shinto does not teach the claimed ALD process for creating silicon oxide. Kim et al. teaches the claimed process in the abstract and paras 0007-0015. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the deposition process of Kim et al. in Shinto as Kim et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 5, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sone and Shinto in view of Tolle et al. (US 2015/0270122 A1)
As to claims 5 and 14, Shinto does not teach remote plasma generated outside of the chamber. Tolle et al. teaches remote plasma generation in paras 0051. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use remote plasma in Shinto as taught by Tolle et al. as it is a common alternative to in situ plasma and Tolle et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claims 11-12 and 14, Shinto does not teach the particulars of the cleaning process, including heating. Tolle et al. teaches cleaning silicon oxide (abstract) using HF and ammonia in paras 0047-0050 with heating, that would inherently create the claimed reactions as the same materials are used (this is also described in para 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Shinto to include the cleaning process of Tolle et al. as Tolle et al. teaches its process as effective at cleaning silicon oxide.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718