DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinto (JP 2009/185362 A, with the attached citations taken from the included Google translated document)
As to claim 1, Shinto teaches a mask processing method (abstract), the method comprising: (a) forming a sacrificial layer on a mask in a first chamber (film forming chamber, p2); (b) transferring the mask to a second chamber (processing chamber, p2) in which a substrate is disposed (support substrate p3), and then processing the substrate using the mask; and (c) removing the sacrificial layer on the mask (Embodiments).
As to claim 2, the protective film is formed on the mask in the processing chamber (bottom of p 5).
As to claim 3, the protective film includes silicon (bottom of p 3).
As to claim 4, the film may be made by CVD (p2) which would inherently include a Si containing gas and reactant to make the films on p3.
As to claim 7, using the mask includes an organic deposition step in the film forming chamber (OLED formation) on p 3, also Embodiments, for example.
As to claim 8, oxygen plasma is used to remove organic impurities on p 5.
As to claim 9, the cleaning is a dry cleaning as on p 5.
As to claim 10, cleaning is affected by gases such as chlorine that react with elements such as Al where the salt would be removed on p 5. Fluorine is also used in the Embodiments.
As to claim 13, these limitations are taught as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinto in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0101752 A1)
Shinto does not teach the claimed ALD process for creating silicon oxide. Kim et al. teaches the claimed process in the abstract and paras 0007-0015. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the deposition process of Kim et al. in Shinto as Kim et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Claim(s) 5, 11-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinto in view of Tolle et al. (US 2015/0270122 A1)
As to claims 5 and 14, Shinto does not teach remote plasma generated outside of the chamber. Tolle et al. teaches remote plasma generation in paras 0051. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use remote plasma in Shinto as taught by Tolle et al. as it is a common alternative to in situ plasma and Tolle et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
As to claims 11-12 and 14, Shinto does not teach the particulars of the cleaning process, including heating. Tolle et al. teaches cleaning silicon oxide (abstract) using HF and ammonia in paras 0047-0050 with heating, that would inherently create the claimed reactions as the same materials are used (this is also described in para 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Shinto to include the cleaning process of Tolle et al. as Tolle et al. teaches its process as effective at cleaning silicon oxide.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718