DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 3, the applicant presents the following structure:
with an alkyl linker that is represented in the form CmH2m+1, however this linker structure would necessarily mean that one of the carbons in the linker would have 5 bonds, which exceeds the valence allowed on carbon, resulting in a structure that is not possible to exist.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-8 of copending Application No. 18/127720 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications require the use of siloxane compound with hydroxyl groups on one end of the molecule connected through an alkyl linker in compositions with similar amounts of filler that can be cured using organic peroxides and having components of closely overlapping viscosities and which lead to curable compositions which are thermally conductive that differ in a manner which would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art with the expectation of success in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4,
In claim 4, the applicant states that the polysiloxane is represented by the following general formula:
however a compound of the above formula would result in a carbon containing more than four bonds due to the CmH2m+1 notation in the alkyl linker. As such, no compound would be able to meet this criterion and therefore, the claim cannot be evaluated as currently constructed. The applicant is required to revise the claim to correct the structure to remove the requirement of a carbon with more than four bonds, keeping in mind that no new matter may be added.
Claim 4 is further indefinite as the applicant states that in the above structure that n can be a value from 5 to 250, however it is unclear how a value of 5 for n would meet the molecular weight requirement of 10,000 to 20,000 from claim 1 without further limiting the possible R substituents. Applicant is required to revise the claim to clarify the requirements to comply with the molecular weight range disclosed in claim 1. In the light of the ambiguities listed, claims 4-6 have not been further considered on the merits.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected based upon their dependency on Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proctor (GB 2474474).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8,
Proctor teaches a composition a composition that is comprised of silicones of the following structure:
where each R group may be an alkyl group of 1 to 6 carbons, alkenyl groups, or hydroxyl groups and where x is an integer while y and s are integers and may be zero (Paragraph 16). Proctor also teaches that two or more may be used (Paragraph 18), which would allow for the use of one polymer containing alkenyl units and one with hydroxyl units and where neither group would need to be present together in the same molecule. Further, Proctor teaches that the viscosity of the polymer may be in a range of 100 to 150,000 mPa·s for liquid silicones (Paragraph 14). While Proctor does not explicitly state the molecular weight range for the silicone, given the broad range of viscosities disclosed, this range would include silicone polymers within the 10,000 to 20,000 molecular weight range of the instant claim. Additionally, while Proctor does not explicitly state the range of incorporation between the two components, as Proctor discloses that the use of mixtures of two or more siloxanes, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have mixed them in any suitable ratio.
With regard to the thermal conductivity, Proctor teaches the use of thermally conductive fillers such as carbon black (Paragraph 22) as well as alumina and aluminum nitride (Paragraph 46). Proctor teaches that carbon black is to be the majority of filler and may be present in amounts to about 200 parts relative to 100 parts of resin (Paragraph 23). This would allow for the use of fillers such as alumina and aluminum nitride in amounts below 200 parts by weight, which would meet the requirement of thermally conductive filler greater than 300 parts by weight relative to the resin of the instant claim. While Proctor is silent on the thermal conductivity, it would logically follow that the thermal conductivity of a composition with levels of thermally conductive filler stated above that the composition would have thermal conductivity greater than 1 W/mk. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have set the thermal conductivity to be greater than 1 W/mk.
Regarding Claim 2,
Proctor teaches the use of siloxanes of the following structure:
where as mentioned above in regard to claim 1 both the R and R1 groups can be hydroxyl (Paragraph 16), indicating at least two hydroxyl groups may be present at the end of the siloxane, meeting the requirement of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 3,
Proctor teaches the use of catalysts such as organic peroxides (Paragraph 28).
Regarding Claim 7,
As Proctor teaches that carbon black is the majority of filler and is present in amounts up to about 200 parts by weight relative to 100 parts resin (Paragraph 23), the amount of filler would necessarily be less than 4,000 parts by weight, meeting the requirement of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 9,
Proctor is silent on the use of the composition for a heater element. However, as the composition would contain substantially the same components, it would necessarily follow that the composition would be useful for the same purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used a composition containing thermally conductive filler in an application where heat is to be conducted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura (US 20080004401) teaches siloxane structures similar to those represented by the structure found in claim 4 for use in polymeric compositions.
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765