This action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment/remarks filed 21 October 2026.
The rejection of claims 1 and 7-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kwon (WO 2021261758 A1) in view of “Mono-terminal Silaplane for Filler Dispersant Product...” JNC et al. is withdrawn in view of amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 30 September 2026. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Response to Arguments & Amendments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 29 with respect to the prior rejections have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection. The current rejection utilizes a new combination of Bhagwagar (US-20150183951-A1) in view of JNC et al. “Mono-terminal Silaplane for Filler Dispersant Product Line Brochure” under new ground(s) of rejection which renders obvious the instant claims.
Applicant argues JNC et al. fails to provide a basis for the issue relating to reaction rate, storability, or cured product hardness in a condensation reaction curable silicone resin system.
In response to applicant's argument that the reference fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., reaction rate, storability, cured-product hardness) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, it is noted that a prima facie case of obviousness does not require the solution of the same problem or recognition of the same advantages as applicant’s invention . In re Dillion, 16 USPQ 2nd 1897.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagwagar (US-20150183951-A1) in view of JNC et al. “Mono-terminal Silaplane for Filler Dispersant Product Line Brochure”.
With regard to claim 1, Bhagwagar teaches a thermally conductive composition comprising (A) a condensation reaction catalyst;
(B) a polyorganosiloxane having an average of at least two hydrolysable substituents per molecule, wherein ingredient (B) may comprise a silicone resin with hydrolysable groups (such as hydroxyl groups directly bonded to the silicon atom) (para. [0035]), and wherein the component is prepared by condensation, exhibits a viscosity of at least 75 mPa·s at 25 °C, and is present in an amount ranging from 0.01 to 50 wt.% (paras. [0025] and [0029]), thereby disclosing the claimed silicone resin and viscosity, which reads on the claimed silicone resin and viscosity;
(C) a crosslinker; and
(D) a thermally conductive filler (Abstract), wherein the filler (D) range may be 10 to 80 vol.% (para [0071]). Bhagwagar exemplifies teaches a composition containing 96.4 parts mass of ingredient D1 per 10.4 parts by mass of B1 (Table 1, composition 5) Scaled to 100 parts by mass of the resin composition, this equates to 926.92 parts by mass of filler, which falls in the claimed range.
Furthermore, Bhagwagar teaches that the composition further comprises ingredient (G), a treating agent such as an organosilicon filler agent ranging from 0.01 to 20 wt.%, and ingredient (H), an adhesion promoter such as an polyorganosiloxane ranging from 0.01 to 50 wt.% (paras [0076-0077, 0081, and 0087]), These concentrations establish an overlapping mass ratio of ingredient (B) to ingredient (G) or (H) relative to the claimed ratio.
Additionally, Bhagwagar teaches that the resulting cured product exhibits a thermal conductivity of 1.7 W/m·K or greater (para [0104] and Table 2), which reads on the claimed thermal conductivity.
With regard to the specific instruments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, that equivalent testing instruments would yield consistent, reproducible results for substantially identical compositions. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect such instruments would render the same results.
Bhagwagar also does not explicitly teach the polysiloxane compound of general formula (1). However, Bhagwagar teaches that silanol-terminated polydimethylsiloxanes may be used (para [0029]).
In the same field of endeavor, JNC et al. teaches a mono-terminal Silaplane for filler dispersant stabilization of the following structure:
Wherein n can range from 10 to 200 with regards to the provided molecular weight. This compound reads on the claimed polysiloxane compound of general formula (1).
Furthermore, JNC et al. teaches the products are reactive polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) that impart silicone-like properties to non-silicone materials across various applications, including electronics and semiconductors. JNC et al. further establishes that these products enhance filler surface adsorption, dispersion stability, and lower viscosity, alongside imparting water repellency, mold releasability, and anti-fouling resistance.
With regard to the polysiloxane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Bhagwagar. Specifically, to incorporate a polydimethylsiloxane compound established in JNC et al. JNC et al. would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to employ the reactive silicone to improve filler interactions, dispersion stability, and lower viscosity, as well as water repellency, and anti-fouling resistance. Bhagwagar would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to employ silanol-terminated polydimethylsiloxanes and other silicone compounds for treating agents and adhesion promoters (paras [0029, 0077, and 0087]). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve the recognized properties established in JNC et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve the predictable result of incorporating the polydimethylsiloxane of JNC et al. because Bhagwagar can be provided with a polydimethylsiloxane. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claim 7, Bhagwagar teaches that the filler (D) range may be 10 to 80 vol.% (para [0071]). Bhagwagar further exemplifies teaches a composition containing 96.4 parts mass of ingredient D1 per 10.4 parts by mass of B1 (Table 1, composition 5) Scaled to 100 parts by mass of the resin composition, this equates to 926.92 parts by mass of filler, which falls in the claimed range of less than 3,000 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the resin composition.
With regard to claims 8 and 13, Bhagwagar teaches that the polydiorganosiloxane (B) exhibits a viscosity of at least 75 mPa·s at 25° C (para [0025]), which falls within the claimed range.
With regard to claim 9, Bhagwagar teaches that the curable composition is suitable for electronic components, heat dissipation devices, and thermally conductive adhesives for substrates (paras. [0100]–[0101]).
With regard to the semiconductor package, as the composition would contain substantially the same components, it would necessarily follow that the composition would be useful for the same purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have used a composition for a semiconductor package, as electronic components and heat dissipation devices are an application where electricity is to be conducted.
Please note, the intended use of the above claimed composition (i.e. for a semiconductor package) does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition.
In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting (see, e.g., MPEP 2112).
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 November 6, 2026