DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on March 23, 2026 has been received. Claims 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 23, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-8, and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McInerney et al. (US 6,143,082 A) in view of Ryu (KR 10-2009-005739 A) and the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McInerney et al. in view of Ryu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leeser (US 2013/0269609 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, Applicant argues that McInerney et al. discloses “… showerheads 136 and 138 that are within chamber top 107, with no part thereof “extending a distance outward from an outer surface of the lid”, as required by Applicant’s claim 1, and similarly by claim 15.” Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered prior art reference to Leeser et al. (US 2023/0420289 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeser et al. (US 2023/0420289 A1) in view of Ryu (KR 10-2009-005739 A).
Regarding claim 1, Leeser et al. discloses a reactor system (i.e., a semiconductor processing apparatus; see FIG. 1-9), comprising:
a lid for a multi-chamber module (i.e., a top plate 118 (lid) for a multi-station processing chamber module comprising a chamber housing 104, see FIG. 1-6; e.g., a top plate 718 for a quad-station module (QSM), see FIG. 7-9; see also paragraphs [0095], [0105]);
at least two showerheads supported on the lid (i.e., multiple gas distribution plates 124, referred to as showerheads, supported on the top plate 118, each gas distribution plate having an internal plenum(s) that provides processing gas(es) to gas distribution ports 128 for directing the gas(es) toward a wafer 110, see paragraph [0095]; e.g., four gas distribution plates 724 supported on the top plate 718 for the QSM), each showerhead 124 including a body with a sidewall (shown) extending a distance outward from an outer surface of the lid 118; and
a channel between sidewalls of the at least two showerheads (i.e., a channel defined by open spaces on the outer surface of the top plate 118, between the gas distribution plates 124).
Leeser et al. fails to disclose that the reactor system is “adapted for convection cooling” of the multi-chamber module, wherein the convection cooling is provided by a fan assembly coupled to the lid and at least partially capping the channel, the fan assembly having a fan housing enclosing an impeller and a motor and defining a fan inlet and a fan outlet, wherein, when the motor operates, cooling air is drawn into the fan inlet from a space exterior to the lid and forced out of the fan outlet into and through the channel, so that the channel can function as a cooling channel.
Ryu discloses a reactor system (i.e., a substrate processing apparatus 100 for processing semiconductor substrates S; see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6; translation) adapted for convection cooling (i.e., forced air cooling) of a chamber module (i.e., defined by a chamber body 111), comprising:
a lid (i.e., a chamber lid 112) for the chamber module;
a plurality of gas injectors 130 connected radially to a rotating shaft 140;
a cooling channel (i.e., a channel through which cooling air flows, the channel being defined between the chamber lid 112 and a support member 150); and
a fan assembly coupled to the lid 112 and at least partially capping the cooling channel, the fan assembly having a fan housing (i.e., a housing defined by the support member 150) enclosing an impeller (i.e., a cooling fan 160) and defining a fan inlet and a fan outlet (see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air).
While Ryu does not specifically mention a motor, the fan assembly inherently comprises a motor. In particular, a fan motor would be required to enable the disclosed operation of the impeller (fan) 160 at an adjustable rotation speed, as controlled by an electrically connected device controller 200 (see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs). When the motor operates, the cooling air is drawn into the fan inlet from a space exterior to the lid and forced into the cooling channel (see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reactor system of Leeser et al. for convection cooling of the multi-chamber module in the manner taught by Ryu, with the convection cooling being provided by the claimed fan assembly which draws in cooling air from a space exterior to the lid and forces the cooling air into the channel to flow through the gaps, because semiconductor processing apparatus are known to operate at high temperatures and require cooling systems, and the provision of the fan assembly for enabling convection cooling of the module would greatly reduce cost and simplify the cooling system, and the use of polluting refrigerants would be prevented, as taught by Ryu (see translation at page 4, under Advantageous-Effects).
Regarding claim 2, Leeser et al. discloses four shower heads (i.e., four gas distribution plates 724 supported by the top plate 718 of the QSM; see FIG. 7-9, paragraph [0108]), wherein the channel comprises a center portion of the outer surface of the lid (i.e., an empty space at the center of the top plate 718, not occupied by the gas distribution plates 724) and adjacent portions of the sidewalls (see FIG. 1-6) of the bodies of the four showerheads. In the modified reactor system of Leeser et al., the cooling channel would comprise a center space enclosed by the fan housing (i.e., a center space enclosed by a supporting member 150 taught by Ryu), the center portion of the outer surface of the lid 718, and adjacent portions of the sidewalls of the bodies of the four showerheads 724.
Ryu (see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6) further discloses that the gas injectors 130 are connected to a gas supply (not shown) through gas piping located inside of the rotating shaft 140. Thus, the cooling fan 160 must be positioned at a distance away from the rotating shaft 140, and, accordingly, the fan outlet is configured to direct the cooling air forced out of the fan outlet into a space that is not obstructed by the rotating shaft 140. In the reactor system of Leeser et al., the four showerheads 124,724 are also connected to a gas distribution system 142 through gas piping and valves 130 (see FIG. 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the fan outlet to direct the cooling air into the center space in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the center space would not be not obstructed by the gas piping and the valves that respectively connect the four showerheads 124,724 to gas distribution system 142.
Regarding claim 3, Ryu further discloses a heat sink positioned within the space and integrally formed with the lid (i.e., a heat-radiation portion 114 as a heat sink integrally formed with the lid 112, FIG. 2) or in contact with the outer surface of the lid (i.e., a heat sink 180 attached to the outer surface of the lid 112, FIG. 3), wherein the heat sink includes a plurality of fins extending outward away from the lid 112. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited heat sink within the center space in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the heat sink would have enhanced the cooling efficiency of the cooling system, as taught by Ryu (see translation at page 5, last paragraph, to page 6, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, Leeser et al. (see FIG. 1-7) discloses that the four showerheads 124,724 are connected to the gas distribution system 142 through gas piping and valves 130, and, as such, the impeller must be positioned at a distance away from the gas piping. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the fan assembly such that a center axis of the fan assembly coincided with a center of the center space and a center of the lid in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the center of the center space and the center of the lid would not be obstructed by the gas piping and the valves that respectively connect the four showerheads 124,724 to the gas distribution system 142.
Regarding claim 6, Ryu et al. discloses that the motor is a variable speed motor operable over a range of speeds (i.e., the rotation speed of the cooling fan 160 is adjustable; see translation at page 7, third paragraph). Ryu also discloses a controller (i.e., a device control unit 200; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, second and third paragraphs) configured to generate control signals to operate the motor at a first speed and at a second speed higher than the first speed. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited variable speed motor and controller in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the rotation speed of the impeller could then be automatically adjusted by the controller in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al.
Regarding claim 7, Ryu further discloses a temperature sensor (i.e., a thermocouple 190; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs) adapted to sense a temperature of the lid 112; wherein the controller 200 generates the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds based on the sensed temperature of the lid. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited temperature sensor in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the rotation speed of the impeller could then be automatically adjusted by the controller based on the lid temperature detected by the temperature sensor, in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al.
Regarding claim 8, Leeser et al. discloses that a variety of semiconductor processing processes can be carried out by the multi-chamber module, with each process having one or more processing steps and process parameters controlled by a controller (see paragraphs [0188]-[0191]). Thus, a change in the processes performed in the multi-chamber module can result in a temperature change of the multi-chamber module. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the controller in the modified reaction system of Leeser et al. to generate the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds due to a change in the lid temperature, caused by a change in the processes performed in the multi-chamber module, in order to provide an adequate amount of cooling to the multi-chamber module.
Regarding claim 15, Leeser et al. discloses a reactor system (i.e., a semiconductor processing apparatus; see FIG. 1-9), comprising:
a chamber lid for a quad chamber module (i.e., a top plate 118 (lid) for a multi-station processing chamber module comprising a chamber housing 104, see FIG. 1-6; which is specifically configured as a top plate 718 (lid) for a quad-station module (QSM) as shown in FIG. 7-9; see paragraphs [0095], [0105]); and
four showerheads (i.e., multiple gas distribution plates 124, referred to as showerheads, each having an internal plenum(s) that provides processing gas(es) to gas distribution ports 128 for directing the gas(es) towards a wafer 110 positioned therebeneath, see paragraph [0095]; wherein four gas distribution plates 724 are supported on the top plate 718 of the QSM), wherein each of the showerheads 124,724 includes a body with a sidewall (shown; see FIG. 1-6) extending a distance outward from an outer surface of the lid 118,718;
wherein a center space is located centrally among the four showerheads (i.e., an empty space at the center of the top plate 118,718, not occupied by the gas distribution plates 124,724; see FIG. 7-9).
Leeser et al. fails to disclose that the reactor system is “adapted for cooling” of the chamber lid 718 of the quad chamber module, wherein the cooling is provided by means of a fan operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid 718 and onto the outer surface within the center space.
Ryu discloses a reactor system (i.e., a semiconductor processing apparatus 100 for processing semiconductor substrates S; see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6; translation) adapted for cooling a chamber lid 112 of a chamber module (i.e., defined by a chamber body 111), comprising:
the chamber lid 112; a plurality of gas injectors 130 connected radially to a rotating shaft 140; and, specifically, a fan (i.e., a cooling fan 160) operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid 112 (see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air) and onto the outer surface of the chamber lid 112.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reactor system of Leeser et al. for cooling the chamber lid of the quad chamber module in the manner taught by Ryu, with the cooling being provided by a fan operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid and onto the outer surface of the chamber lid, because semiconductor processing apparatus are known to operate at high temperatures and require cooling systems, and the provision of the fan for creating the transverse flow of air for cooling the chamber lid of the quad chamber module would greatly reduce cost and simplify the cooling system, and the use of polluting refrigerants would be prevented, as taught by Ryu (see translation at page 4, under Advantageous-Effects).
Ryu (see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6) further discloses that the gas injectors 130 are connected to a gas supply (not shown) through gas piping located inside of the rotating shaft 140. Thus, the fan 160 must be positioned at a distance away from the rotating shaft 140, and, accordingly, the fan provides the flow of air transverse to the chamber lid 112 and onto the outer surface within a space that is not obstructed by the rotating shaft 140. In the reactor system of Leeser et al., the four showerheads 124,724 are also connected to a gas distribution system 142 through gas piping and valves 130. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the fan to provide the flow of air transverse to the chamber lid and onto the outer surface within the center space located centrally among the four showerheads in the reactor system of Leeser et al. because the center space would not be obstructed by the gas piping and valves that that respectively connect the four showerheads 124,724 to the gas delivery system 142.
Regarding claim 16, Leeser et al. discloses that gaps are located between the sidewalls (i.e., sidewalls (shown) of the gas distribution plates 124, see FIG. 1-6) of adjacent pairs of the four shower heads 724 (see FIG. 7-9). Ryu further discloses a fan housing (i.e., a support member 150) enclosing the fan 160 and the space through which the cooling air flows. Thus, in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al., the flow of air would be directed from the center space to the gaps located between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the four shower heads.
Regarding claim 17, Ryu further discloses a finned heat sink on the outer surface of the lid 112 within the space (i.e., a heat-radiation portion 114 as a heat sink integrally formed with the lid 112, FIG. 2; or a heat sink 180 attached to the outer surface of the lid 112, FIG. 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a finned heat sink on the outer surface of the lid within the center space in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the heat sink would have enhanced the cooling efficiency of the cooling system, as taught by Ryu.
Regarding claim 18, Ryu further discloses a controller (i.e., a device control unit 200; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, second and third paragraphs) configured to generate control signals to operate the fan 160 at a first speed and at a second speed higher than the first speed to provide first and second amounts of cooling of the chamber lid 112 with the flow of air (i.e., the rotation speed of the cooling fan 160 is adjustable by the device control unit 200). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited controller in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the rotation speed of the fan could then be automatically adjusted by the controller in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al.
Regarding claim 19, Ryu further discloses a temperature sensor (i.e., a thermocouple 190; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs) adapted to sense a temperature of the chamber lid 112; wherein the controller 200 generates the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds based on the sensed temperature of the lid. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited temperature sensor in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the rotation speed of the fan could then be automatically adjusted by the controller based on the lid temperature detected by the temperature sensor, in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al.
Regarding claim 20, Leeser et al. discloses that a variety of semiconductor processing processes can be carried out by the multi-chamber module, with each process having one or more processing steps and process parameters controlled by a controller (see paragraphs [0188]-[0191]). Thus, a change in the processes performed in the multi-chamber module can result in a change in a temperature of the multi-chamber module. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the controller in the modified reaction system of Leeser et al. to generate the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds due to a change in the lid temperature, caused by a change in the processes being performed in the quad-chamber module, in order to provide adequate cooling to the chamber lid of the quad-chamber module.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeser et al. (US 2023/0420489 A1) in view of Ryu (KR 10-2009-0005739 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leeser (US 2013/0269609 A1).
Leeser et al. fails to specifically disclose a set of module hardware extending over and at least partially enclosing the gaps.
Leeser discloses a reactor system (i.e., a substrate processing system, see FIG. 5-7 and paragraphs [0054]-[0065]) comprising: a chamber module (i.e., a lower housing portion 214); a lid (i.e., an upper housing portion 210) for the chamber module; and a set of showerheads (i.e., showerheads 295) supported by the lid. As shown in FIG. 5, the reactor system comprises four processing stations 204-1, 204-2, 204-3, 204-4, with each processing station adapted to include a showerhead 295. Gaps are formed on the lid 210 between adjacent pairs of the processing stations 204-1, 204-2, 204-3, 204-4, and a set of module hardware (illustrated) extends over and at least partially encloses the gaps.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a set of module hardware extending over and at least partially enclosing the gaps in the modified reactor system of Leeser et al. because the gaps would have been considered a suitable location (available space on the lid, which was not occupied by the gas distribution plates) for the placement of module hardware required by the semiconductor processing process, as taught by Leeser. In the modified reactor system of Leeser et al., the cooling air would then flow between adjacent pairs of the showerheads.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hwang et al. (KR 2001-0080816 A) is cited to further illustrate the state of the art of showerheads used for distributing gases in a semiconductor processing apparatus.
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774