DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 15-20, in the reply filed on November 21, 2025 is acknowledged. Group II, c laims 9-14 , is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “ gaps between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the showerheads” (at lines 6-7; with emphasis added) lacks proper positive antecedent basis. In particular, t he claim initially recites “a set of showerheads” (at line 4), wherein the scope of the claim term “set” includes two showerheads (or one pair of showerheads) , such that a single gap is formed between the sidewalls of the two showerheads . However, the subsequent recitation of “gaps” (plural) and “ adjacent pairs ” (plural) suggests that the set of showerheads requires at least two pairs of showerheads ( or an even number of at least four showerheads, where two showerheads define a pair of showerheads ) . The remaining claims are also rejected because they depend from a rejected base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim 1-4, 6-8, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McInerney et al. (US 6,143,082 A ) in view of Ryu (KR 10-2009-005739 A). Regarding claim 1, McInerney et al. discloses a reactor system (i.e., a processing chamber 100 used as a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) chamber for processing semiconductor wafers 156 , 158 ; see FIG. 1-3 ; column 1, lines 6-19 ; column 3, line 5, to column 5, line 56 ) , the reactor system 100 comprising: a multi-chamber module (i.e., a chamber base 102 with multiple wells (chambers) 122 , 124 , 126 , 128 ); a lid (i.e., a chamber top 106 ) for the multi-chamber module; a set of showerheads (i.e., four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 ) supported on the lid, wherein each of the showerheads include a body with a sidewall extending a distance outward from an outer surface of the lid 106 ( see FIG. 3); and a channel comprising gaps between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the showerheads (i.e., the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 are spaced apart from one another , such that spaces (gaps) are formed between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the showerheads , wherein each pair is defined by two of the showerheads ). McInerney et al. fails to disclose that the reactor system 100 is “ adapted for forced convection cooling ” of the multi-chamber module 102 , wherein the forced convection cooling is provided by a fan assembly with a fan housing enclosing an impeller and a motor and defining a fan inlet and a fan outlet, wherein, when the motor operates , cooling air is drawn into the fan inlet from a space exterior to the lid and forced out of the fan outlet into the channel to flow through the gaps, s o that the channel functions as a cooling channel. Ryu discloses a reactor system (i.e., a CVD apparatus 100 for depositing a thin film on semiconductor substrates S ; see FIG. 2 , 3, 5, 6 ; translation) adapted for forced convection cooling ( i.e., forced air cooling) of a chamber module (i.e., a chamber body 111 ), compris ing : a lid (i.e., a chamber lid 112 ) for the chamber module; a plurality of gas injectors 130 connected radially to a rotating shaft 140 ; a cooling channel (i.e., a channel through which cooling air flows , the channel being defined between the chamber lid 112 and a support member 150 ); and a fan assembly with a fan housing (i.e., a housing defined by the support member 150 ) enclosing an impeller (i.e., a cooling fan 160 ) and defining a fan inlet and a fan outlet ( see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air ) . While Ryu does not specifically mention a motor , the fan assembly inherently comprises a motor . In particular , a fan motor would be required to enable the disclosed operation of the impeller (fan) 160 at a n adjustable rotation speed , as controlled by an electrically connected device controller 200 (see FIG. 5 ; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs ). When the motor is operat es , the cooling air is drawn into the fan inlet from a space exterior to the lid and forced into the cooling channel (see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air) . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reactor system of McInerney et al. for forced convection cooling of the multi-chamber module in the manner taught by Ryu, with the forced convection cooling being provided by the claimed fan assembly which draw s in cooling air from a space exterior to the lid and forc es the cooling air into the (cooling) channel to flow through the gaps, because CVD apparatus are known to operate at high temperatures and require cooling systems , and the provision of the fan assembly for enabling the forced convection cooling of the multi-chamber module would greatly reduce cost and simplify the cooling system, and furthermore, the use of polluting refrigerants would be prevented , as tau ght by Ryu (see translation at page 4, under Advantageous-Effects ). Regarding claim 2, McInerney et al. discloses that the set of showerheads comprises four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 ; wherein the showerheads are arranged on the lid 106 to define a center portion on the outer surface of the lid, with the center portion being located centrally among the four showerheads (see FIG. 1-3). Therefore, i n the modified reactor system of McInerney et al., the cooling channel would further comprise a center space enclosed by the fan housing (i.e., a center space enclosed by the supporting member 150 of Ryu), the center portion of the outer surface of the lid 106 , and adjacent portions of the sidewalls of the bodies of the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 . Ryu (see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6) further discloses that the gas injectors 130 are connected to a gas supply (not shown) through gas piping located in side of the rotating shaft 140 . Th us , the cooling fan 160 must be positioned at a distance away from the rotating shaft 140 , and , accordingly, the fan outlet is configured to direct the cooling air forced out of the fan outlet into a space that is not obstructed by the rotating shaft 140 . McInerney et al. (see FIG. 3) discloses that the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 are connected to gas suppl ies 146 , 148 through gas piping. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the fan outlet to direct the cooling air forced out of the fan outlet into the center space in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the center space would not be not obstructed by the gas piping that is connected to the four showerheads . Regarding claim 3, Ryu further discloses a heat sink positioned within the space and integrally formed with the lid (i.e., a heat-radiation portion 114 as a heat sink integrally formed with the lid 112 , FIG. 2) or in contact with the outer surface of the lid (i.e., a heat sink 180 attached to the outer surface of the lid 112 , FIG. 3), wherein the heat sink includes a plurality of fins extending outward away from the lid 112 . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited heat sink within the center space in the modified reactor system of McInerny et al. because the heat sink would enhance the cooling efficiency of the cooling system, as taught by Ryu (see translation at page 5, last paragraph, to page 6, second paragraph). Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above, McInerney et al. (see FIG. 3) discloses that the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 are connected to gas supplies 146 , 148 through gas piping , and, as such, the impeller must be positioned at a distance away from the gas piping. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the fan assembly such that a center axis of the fan assembly coincided with a center of the center space and a center of the lid in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the center of the center space and the center of the lid would not be obstructed by the gas pip ing that is connected to the four showerheads. Regarding claim 6, Ryu et al. discloses that the motor is a variable speed motor operable over a range of speeds (i.e., the rotation speed of the cooling fan 160 is adjustable; see translation at page 7, third paragraph ). Ryu also discloses a controller (i.e., a device control unit 200 ; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, second and third paragraphs) configured to generate control signals to operate the motor at a first speed and at a second speed higher than the first speed. I t would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited variable speed motor and controller in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the rotation speed of the impeller could then be automatically adjusted by the controller in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al. Regarding claim 7, Ryu further discloses a temperature sensor (i.e., a thermocouple 190 ; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs ) adapted to sense a temperature of the lid 112 ; wherein the controller 200 generates the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds based on the sensed temperature of the lid. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited temperature sensor in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the rotation speed of the impeller could then be automatically adjusted by the controller based on the lid temperature detected by the temperature sensor, in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al. Regarding claim 8, McInerney et al. discloses that the deposition process include s several different process steps, such as preheating, initiation, nucleation, and reduction step s , wherein each process step is dependent on certain process parameters, such as temperature (see column 11, lines 1-7). Therefore, a change in processes performed in the multi-chamber module can result in a change in the temperature of the multi-chamber module . Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controller in the modified reaction system of McInerney et al. to generate the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds due to a change in the lid temperature , caused by a change in processes performed in the multi-chamber module, in order to provide an adequate amount of cool ing to the module . Regarding claim 15, McInerney et al. discloses a reactor system (i.e., a processing chamber 100 used as a CVD chamber for processing semiconductor wafers 156 , 158 ; see FIG. 1- 3; column 1, lines 6-19 ; column 3, line 5, to column 5, line 56 ), the reactor system comprising: a quad chamber module (i.e., a chamber base 102 comprising four wells (chambers) 122 , 124 , 126 , 128 ); a chamber lid (i.e., a chamber top 106 ) for the quad chamber module; and four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 , each with a body with a sidewall extending from an outer surface of the chamber lid 106 ( see FIG. 3) ; wherein a center space is located centrally among the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 (see FIG. 1-3). McInerney et al. fails to disclose that the reactor system is “ adapted for cooling ” the chamber lid 106 of the quad chamber module 102 , wherein the cooling is provided by a fan operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid and onto the outer surface within the center space. Ryu discloses a reactor system (i.e., a CVD apparatus 100 for depositing a thin film on semiconductor substrates S ; see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6; translation) adapted for cooling a chamber lid 112 of a chamber module (i.e., a chamber body 111 ), the reactor system comprising: the chamber lid 112 ; a plurality of gas injectors 130 connected radially to a rotating shaft 140 ; and a fan (i.e., a cooling fan 160 ) operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid 112 (see arrows showing the flow direction of the cooling air ) and onto the outer surface of the chamber lid 112 . It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reactor system of McInerney et al. for cooling the chamber lid of the quad chamber module in the manner taught by Ryu, with the cooling being provided by a fan operable to provide a flow of air transverse to the chamber lid and onto the outer surface of the chamber lid, because CVD apparatus are known to operate at high temperatures and require cooling systems, and the provision of the fan for creating the transverse flow of air for cooling the chamber lid of the quad chamber module would greatly reduce cost and simplify the cooling system, and furthermore, the use of polluting refrigerants would be prevented, as tau ght by Ryu (see translation at page 4, under Advantageous-Effects). Ryu (see FIG. 2, 3, 5, 6) further discloses that the gas injectors 130 are connected to a gas supply (not shown) through gas piping located inside of the rotating shaft 140 . Th us , the fan 160 must be positioned at a distance away from the rotating shaft 140 , and , accordingly , the fan provides the flow of air transverse to the chamber lid 112 and onto the outer surface within a space that is not obstructed by the rotating shaft 140 . McInerney et al. (see FIG. 3) further discloses that the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 are connected to gas supplies 146 , 148 through gas piping. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further configure the fan to provide the flow of air transverse to the chamber lid and onto the outer surface within the center space located centrally among the four showerheads in the reactor system of McInerney et al. because the center space would not be obstructed by the gas piping that is connected to the four showerheads. Regarding claim 16, McInerney et al. discloses that the reactor system comprises gaps between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the four showerheads (i.e., the four showerheads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 are spaced apart from one another , such that spaces (gaps) are formed between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the showerheads; see FIG. 1-3). Ryu further discloses a fan housing (i.e., a support member 150 ) enclosing the fan 160 and the space through which the cooling air flows. Accordingly, in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al., the flow of air would be directed from the center space to the gaps between the sidewalls of adjacent pairs of the four shower heads 132 , 134 , 136 , 138 . Regarding claim 17, Ryu further discloses a finned heat sink on the outer surface of the lid 112 within the space (i.e., a heat-radiation portion 114 as a heat sink integrally formed with the lid 112 , FIG. 2; or a heat sink 180 attached to the outer surface of the lid 112 , FIG. 3 ). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a finned heat sink on the outer surface of the lid within the center space in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the heat sink would enhance the cooling efficiency of the cooling system, as taught by Ryu. Regarding claim 18, Ryu further discloses a controller (i.e., a device control unit 200 ; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, second and third paragraphs) configured to generate control signals to operate the fan 160 at a first speed and at a second speed higher than the first speed to provide first and second amounts of cooling of the chamber lid 112 with the flow of air ( i.e., the rotation speed of the cooling fan 160 is adjustable by the device control unit 200 ). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the recited controller in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the rotation speed of the fan could then be automatically adjusted by the controller in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al. Regarding claim 19 , Ryu further discloses a temperature sensor (i.e., a thermocouple 190 ; see FIG. 5; translation at page 7, first to third paragraphs) adapted to sense a temperature of the chamber lid 112 ; wherein the controller 200 generates the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds based on the sensed temperature of the lid. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide the recited temperature sensor in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the rotation speed of the fan could then be automatically adjusted by the controller based on the lid temperature detected by the temperature sensor, in order to more precisely control the temperature of the lid, as taught by Ryu et al. Regarding claim 20 , McInerney et al. discloses that the deposition process includes several different process steps, such as preheating, initiation, nucleation, and reduction step s , wherein each process step is dependent on certain process parameters, including temperature (see column 11, lines 1-7). Thus, a change in processes performed in the quad chamber module can result in a change in the temperature of the chamber lid . Therefore , it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the controller in the modified reaction system of McInerney et al. to generate the control signals to switch between the first and second speeds due to a change in the lid temperature, caused by a change in processes performed in the quad chamber module, in order to provide an adequate amount of cooling to the chamber lid . Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McInerney et al. (US 6,143,082 A ) in view of Ryu (KR 10-2009-0005739 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leeser (US 2013/0269609 A ). McInerney et al. fails to disclose a set of module hardware extending over and at least partially enclosing the gaps . Leeser discloses a reactor system (i.e., a substrate processing system, see FIG. 5- 7 and paragraphs [0054]-[006 5 ] , such as a chemical vapor deposition (CVD) system for processing semiconductor substrates , see paragraphs [0004], [0053]) comprising: a chamber module (i.e., a lower housing portion 214 ); a lid (i.e., an upper housing portion 210 ) for the chamber module; and a set of showerheads (i.e., showerheads 295 ) supported by the lid . As shown in FIG. 5, the reactor system comprises four processing stations 204-1 , 204-2 , 204-3 , 204-4 , w ith each processing station adapted to include a showerhead 295 . G aps are formed on the lid 210 between adjacent pairs of the processing stations 204-1 , 204-2 , 204-3 , 204-4 , and a set of module hardware ( illustrated ) extends over and at least partially encloses the gaps. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further provide a set of module hardware extending over and at least partially enclosing the gaps in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al. because the gaps would have been considered a suitable location (available space s on the lid ) for the placement of module hardware , as taught by Leeser. Accordingly, in the modified reactor system of McInerney et al., the cooling air would be directed to flow between adjacent pairs of the showerheads. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ikedo et al. (JP 07-302765 A) , Iizuka (US 2007/0022954 A ; see FIG. 29 ) , and Tanaka (US 2019/0035698 A ) are cited to further illustrate the state of the art. In particular, t he cited references disclose air cooling system s for cooling the chamber lid of a chamber module used for processing substrates . * * * Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JENNIFER A LEUNG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1449 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT CLAIRE X WANG can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1051 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JENNIFER A LEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774