DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on November 10th 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 2 & 11-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Proctor et al. US 2013/0089769 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Proctor discloses a lithium secondary battery (electrochemical cell) [0101] comprising a positive electrode current collector (cathode current collector) [0102], a negative electrode free from active material (anode electrode unit comprising a single thin foil or mesh) [0108], and a separator disposed between the positive and negative electrodes [0106]. Proctor discloses a positive electrode disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the separator [0102] comprising a positive electrode active material [0102]. This is further illustrated in Proctor Annotated Figure 1 below:
Proctor Annotated Figure 1
Proctor further discloses an electrolyte solution (electrolyte body comprising electrolyte material Figure 1 Items 60 & 62 [0107]; the electrolyte can be in the form of a gel with a liquid base [0134]).
Proctor additionally discloses that the battery comprises a layer comprising an anion-absorbing conductive polymer (cathode can comprise a current collector sheet made of thin metal coated with a conductive polymer layer [0120-0126], wherein the conductive polymer layer can comprises polyaniline or polypyrrole [0124]). As disclosed in the instant specification, Applicant lists polyaniline and polypyrrole as suitable materials for use as the “anion-absorbing conductive polymer” [0056]. Thus, Proctor discloses a layer comprising an anion-absorbing conductive polymer (cathode current collector coated with conductive polymer layer made of polyaniline and polypyrrole) disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the separator.
Regarding Claim 3, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1, Proctor discloses that the anion-absorbing conductive polymer (conductive polymer containing polyaniline or polypyrrole) is coated on the cathode current collector [0124], and then the positive electrode (active material) is disposed on top [0126], therefore Proctor discloses that the polymer layer comprising the anion-absorbing conductive polymer is disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the positive electrode.
Regarding Claim 19, Proctor discloses a lithium secondary battery (electrochemical cell) [0101] comprising a positive electrode current collector (cathode current collector) [0102], a negative electrode (anode electrode unit) [0108], and a separator disposed between the positive and negative electrodes [0106]. Proctor discloses a positive electrode disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the separator [0102] comprising a positive electrode active material [0102]. This is further illustrated in Proctor Annotated Figure 1 below:
Proctor Annotated Figure 1
Proctor further discloses an electrolyte solution (electrolyte body comprising electrolyte material Figure 1 Items 60 & 62 [0107]; the electrolyte can be in the form of a gel with a liquid base [0134]).
Proctor additionally discloses that the battery comprises a layer comprising an anion-absorbing conductive polymer (cathode can comprise a current collector sheet made of thin metal coated with a conductive polymer layer [0120-0126], wherein the conductive polymer layer can comprises polyaniline or polypyrrole [0124]). As disclosed in the instant specification, Applicant lists polyaniline and polypyrrole as suitable materials for use as the “anion-absorbing conductive polymer” [0056]. Thus, Proctor discloses a layer comprising an anion-absorbing conductive polymer (cathode current collector coated with conductive polymer layer made of polyaniline and polypyrrole) disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the separator.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2021/0151754 A1.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery [0069] comprising a positive electrode current collector [0071], a negative electrode, and a separator [0070] disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode [0070]. Kim discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode active material) formed on the positive electrode current collector and comprises a positive electrode active material [0071], thus Kim discloses a positive electrode disposed between he positive electrode current collector and the separator. Kim additionally discloses an electrolyte solution [0086].
Kim discloses that the positive electrode comprises a sulfur-carbon composite [0024], and that the sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer layer [0016]. Kim discloses that the conductive polymer is polyaniline, polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyfluorene [0042], which Applicant lists are suitable for use as the anion-absorbing conductive polymer [0056]. Kim further discloses this in Example 1 in which a sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer containing polyaniline, and the coated sulfur-carbon composite is used as the positive electrode [0109-0118].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, & 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2021/0151754 A1, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 2016/261000 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery [0069] comprising a positive electrode current collector [0071], a negative electrode, and a separator [0070] disposed between the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode [0070]. Kim discloses a positive electrode (positive electrode active material) formed on the positive electrode current collector and comprises a positive electrode active material [0071], thus Kim discloses a positive electrode disposed between he positive electrode current collector and the separator. Kim additionally discloses an electrolyte solution [0086].
Kim discloses that the positive electrode comprises a sulfur-carbon composite [0024], and that the sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer layer [0016]. Kim discloses that the conductive polymer is polyaniline, polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyfluorene [0042], which Applicant lists are suitable for use as the anion-absorbing conductive polymer [0056]. Kim further discloses this in Example 1 in which a sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer containing polyaniline, and the coated sulfur-carbon composite is used as the positive electrode [0109-0118].
Kim fails to disclose that the negative electrode is free of a negative electrode active material.
Zhang discloses an anode-free rechargeable battery [Abstract], wherein the anode comprises a copper, nickel, or iron anode current collector [0039]. Zhang discloses more specifically in the examples the use of copper as the anode current collector [0044, 0045, 0046]. Zhang specifically discloses that the negative electrode (anode) is free from active material (active ions are stored in cathode initially) [0036].
Zhang discloses that a battery with this configuration improves the energy density of lithium based batteries, reduce the weight and volume of the battery, and allows for minimal loss of active ions during battery operation [0051].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the negative electrode of Kim with the “anode-free” negative electrode (current collector made of Cu, Ni, or Fe) of Zhang to provide a battery with improved energy density, reduced weight and volume, and minimal loss of active ions. Thus, modified Kim discloses a battery comprising a negative electrode that is free of a negative electrode active material.
Regarding Claim 4, as mentioned with regards to Claim 1 above, Kim discloses that the positive electrode comprises a sulfur-carbon composite [0024], and that the sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer layer [0016], which comprises polyaniline, polypyrrole, polythiophene, or polyfluorene [0042]. Kim further discloses this in Example 1 in which a sulfur-carbon composite is coated with a conductive polymer containing polyaniline, and the coated sulfur-carbon composite is used as the positive electrode [0109-0118]. Kim discloses that the polyaniline layer was formed on the surface of the sulfur-carbon composite [0126], thus Kim discloses a polymer layer (polyaniline layer) disposed on the surface of the positive electrode opposite to the positive electrode current collector.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery [Abstract], and discloses that lithium moves between the cathode and the anode [0004, 0029] therefore Kim discloses that the lithium secondary battery is capable of depositing lithium metal on a surface of the negative electrode and electrolytically dissolving the deposited lithium. Examiner notes that the claim limitation “charging and discharging are performed by depositing lithium metal on a surface of the negative electrode and electrolytically dissolving the deposited lithium” was treated as intended use and not given undue weight.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim, with the modification of Zhang, discloses that the negative electrode is an electrode consisting of Cu, Ni, or Fe [Zhang 0039].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim, with the modification of Zhang, discloses that the battery is assembled in a fully discharged state wherein all the active ions (lithium) are stored in the cathode before initial charge [Zhang 0036], thus modified Kim discloses that there is no lithium foil formed (no active ions) on the surface of the negative electrode before initial charging.
Claims 5 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proctor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayakawa et al. US 2013/0252102 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Proctor is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however is silent as to the positive electrode comprising the anion-absorbing conductive polymer (conductive polymer comprising polyaniline or polypyrrole).
Kobayakawa discloses a lithium secondary battery (rechargeable battery) comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the current collector and the negative electrode [0015]. Kobayakawa discloses a positive electrode comprises a positive electrolyte active material that further comprises a conductive polymer [0015], and further discloses that the conductive polymer is an aniline polymer (polyaniline) [0017, 0109], similar to that of Proctor.
Kobayakawa discloses that the conductive polymer contained in the positive electrode helps to bind the active material [0015], provides oxidation resistance which maintains the output characteristics of the electrode, and improves the overall cycle characteristics of the battery [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the conductive polymer of Kobayakawa in the positive electrode of Proctor to achieve a battery with a positive electrode comprising the anion-absorbing conductive polymer to provide a battery with improved binding of active material in the positive electrode and improved cycle characteristics.
Regarding Claim 6, Kobayawaka discloses that the positive electrode, which comprises the anion-absorbing conductive polymer (polyaniline Example 1) [0079], comprises 90wt% positive electrode active material and 3wt% anion-absorbing conductive polymer (LiFePO4 added in 90 parts by weight; polymer comprising polyaniline added in 3 parts by weight) [0079]. Kobayakawa discloses that the capacity per mass of the positive electrode mixture was 150 mAh/g [0090], thus Kobayakawa discloses that the capacity ratio of the anion-absorbing conductive polymer to the total positive electrode active material and anion-absorbing conductive polymer is 3%.
Claims 8 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Proctor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen US 2019/0379056 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, Proctor is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1, however is silent as to the energy density.
Chen discloses a lithium battery and components for a lithium battery [0002], more specifically Chen discloses making lithium-free anodes [0005, 0081]. Chen discloses that the substrate used for the lithium-free anodes can be copper [0005], nickel, titanium, or stainless steel [0083].
Chen discloses that the metal anode such as this has high energy density and great safety, are compatible with current manufacturing process, and are low cost [0005, 0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the negative electrode of Proctor with the metal anode of Chen to provide a battery with high energy density, great safety, compatibility with current manufacturing processes, and low cost.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses that the copper anode exhibits an energy density of over 500 Wh/g [0180]. Thus, modified Proctor with the modified negative electrode of Chen discloses an energy density within the claimed range.
Conclusion
/A.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 26 November 2025