DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed November 4th, 2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 08/05/2025 are noted. Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Specification have overcome the objection(s) to the Title previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 08/05/2025, so the objection(s) to the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1-26 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-26 have been fully considered in examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0350390A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180], comprising:
a substrate (BL) fig. 3 [0080] including:
a display portion (DP-DA) fig. 3 [0079]; and
a non-display portion (DP-NDA) fig. 3 [0079] at a periphery of the display portion (DP-DA) and including a pad area (NDA-PA) fig. 3 [0090] (see also fig. 4A);
a plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087] at the display portion (DP-DA) and the non-display portion (DP-NDA);
a plurality of pads (DP-PD, ISL-PD) fig. 4A [0090] respectively connected with the plurality of signal lines (SGL) in the pad area (NDA-PA); and
an insulation layer (comprising 60) fig. 10D [0180] on the substrate (BL) laterally between the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177],
wherein a top surface of the insulation layer (60) is a first distance (D1) away from the (top of) substrate (BL) at a lateral center portion (mid-section) of the insulation layer (60) between two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177], among the plurality of pads (DP-PDs), and a second distance (D2) away from the (bottom of) substrate (BL) at a periphery portion of the insulation layer (60) next to one of the of the two adjacent pads (DP-PDs), and the first distance (D1) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (as defined in annotated fig. 10D below).
[AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 60 = outline of 60 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D4)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (midpoint)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 10D of Kim
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein each of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] comprises:
a first pad pattern (CL1) fig. 10D [0177] connected with a corresponding signal line (DL) fig. 10D [0174] among the plurality of signal lines (SGL); and
a second pad pattern (comprising CL2) fig. 10D [0177] covering the first pad pattern (CL1), and wherein the periphery portion (top surface of 60) of the insulation layer (60) covers a periphery portion (top surface of CL2) of the second pad pattern (comprising CL2) (see annotated fig. 10D above).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches wherein an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the second pad pattern (comprising CL2 with CL3) fig. 10D [0177] is more upward than the periphery portion of the insulation layer.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 3. Kim also teaches wherein the first distance (D1) between the (top of) substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the top surface of the insulation layer (60) at the lateral center portion (midsection) of the insulation layer (60) is less than a third distance (D3) between the substrate (BL) and the uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the second pad pattern (comprising CL3) (see annotated fig. 10D above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] covering the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and the insulation layer (60) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 5. Kim also teaches wherein each of two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] further comprises a third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0180] connected with the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and covering a periphery portion (top) of each of the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 6. Kim also teaches wherein the periphery portion (top) of each of the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] is (vertically) between the periphery portion of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and a periphery portion (top) of the third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] are disposed at a certain interval along each of a first direction (DR3) fig. 10D [0059] and a second direction (DR2) fig. 10D [0059] intersecting with the first direction (DR3), and wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] comprises a plurality of insulation patterns (individual 60, 40, 30) respectively (laterally) surrounding the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 8. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising left and right 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] are (laterally) spaced apart from one another (left/right patterns of 60, 40, 30) respectively between the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] adjacent to each other along the second direction (DR3) (by intervening pad layers CL1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 8. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (partially) covering the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and each of the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113].
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 9. Kim also teaches wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60) fig. 10D [0180] further comprises one or more dummy patterns (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (serving as non-functional pad) between two of the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising left and right 60 patterns) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] adjacent to each other in the second direction (DR2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 11. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] (partially) covering each of the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177], the plurality of insulation patterns (60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113], and the one or more dummy patterns (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (serving as non-functional pad).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] each including a thin film transistor (T2) fig. 5A [0092, 0118] connected with a corresponding one of the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
an overcoat layer (50) fig. 5A [0113] covering the thin film transistor (T2);
a first electrode (AE) fig. 5A [0114] disposed on the overcoat layer (50) and connected [0107] with the thin film transistor (T2);
a bank layer (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] (partially) covering a periphery portion (top) of the first electrode (ANE);
a light emitting layer (EML) fig. 5A [0116] on the first electrode (AE); and
a second electrode (CE) fig. 5A [0117] on the light emitting layer (EML) and the bank layer (PDL), and wherein the insulation layer (60) fig. 5A [0114] comprises a same material as a material of the overcoat layer (50) (50 and 60 may both be formed of “organic” material [0113, 0114] such as polyimide resin [0127]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 5. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] each including a thin film transistor (T2) fig. 5A [0092, 0118] connected with a corresponding one of the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
an overcoat layer (50) fig. 5A [0113] covering the thin film transistor (T2);
a first electrode (AE) fig. 5A [0114] disposed on the overcoat layer (50) and connected [0107] with the thin film transistor (T2);
a bank layer (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] (partially) covering a periphery portion (top) of the first electrode (ANE);
a light emitting layer (EML) fig. 5A [0116] on the first electrode (AE); and
a second electrode (CE) fig. 5A [0117] on the light emitting layer (EML) and the bank layer (PDL);
an encapsulation portion (CPL of TFL) figs. 5A-5B [0118] on the second electrode (CE);
a touch insulation layer (TFE of TFL) fig. 5B, fig. 6A [0118, 0124] on the encapsulation portion (CPL) (see fig. 5B); and
a touch sensing portion (ISL comprising CL’s) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFE),
wherein the insulation layer (60) fig. 5A [0114] comprises a same material as a material of the overcoat layer (50) (50 and 60 may both be formed of “organic” material [0113, 0114] such as polyimide resin [0127]), and
wherein the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] comprise a same material [0127] (such as aluminum oxide [0127, 0121]) as a material of the touch insulation layer (TFE comprising IOL2) [0121].
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 14. Kim also teaches wherein the touch sensing portion (ISL comprising CL’s) fig. 6A [0123-0126] comprises:
a first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0125-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFE of TFL) fig. 5B, fig. 6A [0118, 0124];
an interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] covering the first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1); and
a second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) fig. 6A [0125-0126] on the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2), and wherein the one or more second insulation layer (ISL-IL1, ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0124-0127] comprises:
a lower insulation layer (ISL-IL1) including the same material (such as aluminum oxide) [0127, 0121] as the material of the touch insulation layer (IOL2 of TFE) fig. 5B, 6A [0121],
and an upper insulation layer (ISL-IL3) on the lower insulation layer (ISL-IL1) and including a same material (ISL-IL2-3 could both be inorganic layers comprising aluminum oxide [0127]) as a material of the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein each of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] comprises:
a first pad pattern (CL1) connected with a corresponding signal line (DL) fig. 10D [0174] among the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
a second pad pattern (CL2) (fully) covering the first pad pattern (CL1); and
a third pad pattern (CL3) (partially) covering the second pad pattern (CL2), and wherein the periphery portion (comprising outer surfaces) of the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] covers a periphery portion (outer, upper sidewall) of the third pad pattern (CL3).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches wherein an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the third pad pattern (CL3) is on (in direct contact with) the periphery portion of the insulation layer (comprising outer surface of ISL-IL3).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 17. Kim also teaches wherein the first distance (D1) between the (top of) substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the top surface of the insulation layer (60) at the lateral center portion (midsection) is (substantially) equal to a third distance (“D4”) (as defined in annotated fig. 10D above) between the (top of) substrate (BL) and an uppermost surface of the second pad pattern (CL2) [0180].
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
an encapsulation portion (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] on a plurality of pixels (PX comprising T2) fig. 4A, fig. 5A [0084];
a touch insulation layer (TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the encapsulation portion (PDL);
a touch sensing portion (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFL); and
a touch protection layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] on the touch sensing portion (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126], and wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] comprises a same material as a material of the touch protection layer (60 and ISL-IL1-3 could each comprise an organic material such as polyimide resin [0127, 0114]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (40) fig. 10D [0113] (vertically) between the substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 21, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 20. Kim also teaches wherein a periphery portion (uppermost surface) of each of the one or more second insulation (40) fig. 10D [0113] layers is (diagonally) between a periphery portion (comprising lowermost surface) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and a periphery portion (comprising lowermost surface) of the third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0177, 0181].
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 21. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
an encapsulation portion (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] on a plurality of pixels (PX comprising T2) fig. 4A, fig. 5A [0084];
a touch insulation layer (IOL1 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the encapsulation portion (PDL);
a first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFL);
an interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] covering the first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1);
a second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2); and
a touch protection layer (IOL2 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the (bottom of) second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) (IOL2 protects from foreign substances [0121]), wherein the insulation layer (ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] comprises a same material (aluminum oxide [0127, 0121] could be present in both ISL-IL1 [0127] and IOL2 [0121]) as a material of the touch protection layer (IOL2 of TFL), and wherein the one or more second insulation layer (comprising 40 with 30) fig. 10D [0113, 0112] comprises:
a lower insulation layer (30) including a same material as a material of the touch insulation layer (IOL1 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] (30 and IOL1 of TFL could both comprise silicon oxide); and
an upper insulation layer (40) on (top of) the lower insulation layer (30) and including a same material as a material of the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) (40 [0113] and ISL-IL2 [0127] could both comprise silicon oxide).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0350390A1) (of record) in view of Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1).
Regarding claim 23, Kim teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches further comprising a driving circuit (GDC) fig. 4A [0084] connected with the plurality of pads (DP-PD and ISL-PD) fig. 4A [0084] (through pixel connections [see fig. 4A, 0084-0087, 0091]),
wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 10D above) of the insulation layer (60) extends continuously between the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 10D above) of the insulation layer (60) slopes down from the periphery portion of the insulation layer (60) to the lateral center portion of the insulation layer (60).
Yoon teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 3, 0061] wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 3 below) of the insulation layer (130) fig. 3 [0062] slopes down from the periphery portion of the insulation layer (130) to the lateral center portion of the insulation layer (130).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Central portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 130 = peripheral outline of 130 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3 of Yoon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation layer between the pads in Kim’s display apparatus to comprise the protrusions of Yoon [0049-0051] in order to enhance the reliability of the display device by preventing adhesion failure and reducing contact resistance [0053] when connections with the pads are formed [0052-0054], as taught by Yoon.
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 23. Kim also teaches wherein the driving circuit (GDC) fig. 4A [0084] comprises a plurality of terminals (adjoining lines of GDC to plurality of pixels PX [see fig. 4A, 0087, 0091]) electrically connected with the plurality of pads (DP-PD and ISL-PD) fig. 4A [0084] through a plurality of conductive particles (metal atoms of the conductive lines and conductive patterns of pads, such as Ti/Al particles of CL3 of DP-PD [0156]) fig. 4A [0156], respectively.
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches a display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180], comprising:
a substrate (BL) fig. 3 [0080] including a display region (DP-DA) fig. 3 [0079] and a non-display region (DP-NDA) fig. 3 [0079] surrounding the display region (DP-DA);
a plurality of pads (DP-PD, ISL-PD) fig. 4A [0090] disposed in the non-display region (DP-NDA) respectively connected with a plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087] for supplying signals [0087] to a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] disposed in the display region portion (DP-DA); and
an insulation layer (comprising 40) fig. 10D [0180, 0113] disposed on the substrate (BL) and (directly) contacting with at least a portion of a side surface (sidewalls of CL1-2) of each of the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177],
and the insulation layer (60) extends contiguously between the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the insulation layer (40) increases progressively from a lateral center portion (portion of 40 bordering CNT2) of the insulation layer between two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177], among the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs), toward one of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs).
Yoon teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 3, 0061] wherein a thickness of the insulation layer (130) fig. 3 [0062] increases progressively from a lateral center portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) of the insulation layer between two adjacent pads (left/right 120s) fig. 3 [0052], among the plurality of pads (120s), toward one of the two adjacent pads (left/right 120s), and the insulation layer (60) extends contiguously between the two adjacent pads (left/right 120s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation layer between the pads in Kim’s display apparatus to comprise the protrusions of Yoon [0049-0051] in order to enhance the reliability of the display device by preventing adhesion failure and reducing contact resistance [0053] when connections with the pads are formed [0052-0054], as taught by Yoon.
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 25. Kim also teaches wherein the insulation layer (40) fig. 10D [0113, 0180] does not (directly) contact with an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0183] of any of the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/04/2025 with respect to claims 1-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because the new ground(s) of rejection relies upon a reinterpretation of the first and second distances such that the first distance (D1) is defined relative to the top surface of the substrate BL of fig. 10D of Kim – and the second distance (D2) is defined relative to the bottom surface of the substrate BL of fig. 10D of Kim – as applied in the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection using Kim above. Applicant could overcome this interpretation by defining the first and second distances as both relative to a same surface/point of the substrate, however, it is noted that newly-added Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1) could be used to remedy said deficiency of Kim.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3, filed 11/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 23-26 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1) under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature display devices with pads comprising a plurality of patterns.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 01/09/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892