DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0350390A1) (of record) in view of Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180], comprising:
a substrate (BL) fig. 3 [0080] including:
a display portion (DP-DA) fig. 3 [0079]; and
a non-display portion (DP-NDA) fig. 3 [0079] at a periphery of the display portion (DP-DA) and including a pad area (NDA-PA) fig. 3 [0090] (see also fig. 4A);
a plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087] at the display portion (DP-DA) and the non-display portion (DP-NDA);
a plurality of pads (comprising DP-PD) fig. 4A [0090] respectively connected with the plurality of signal lines (SGL) in the pad area (NDA-PA); and
an insulation layer (comprising 60) fig. 10D [0180] on the substrate (BL) laterally between the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177],
wherein a top surface of the insulation layer (60) is a first distance (D1) (see annotated fig. 10D below) away from an upper surface (top) of the substrate (BL) at a lateral center portion (mid-section) of the insulation layer (60) between two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177], among the plurality of pads (DP-PDs), and is a second distance (D2) away from the upper surface (top) of the substrate (BL) at a periphery portion of the insulation layer (60) next to one of the of the two adjacent pads (DP-PDs) (as defined in annotated fig. 10D below),
wherein each of the plurality of pads (DP-PD) includes a side surface (lower sidewall of CL2 of DP-PD) and a flat top surface (uppermost surface of CL3/DP-PD overall) [see annotated fig. 10D below], and
wherein an end (lower sidewall) of the insulation layer (60) is in (direct) contact with the side surface lower sidewall of CL2) of each of the plurality of pads (DP-PD) and is not in (direct) contact with (any portion of) the flat top surface (uppermost surface of CL3) of each of the plurality of pads (DP-PD) [see annotated fig. 10D below].
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side surface of DP-PD is lowermost side surface of CL2 against 60)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flat top surface of DP-PD = uppermost surface of CL3)][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 60 = outline of 60 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D4)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (midpoint)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 10D of Kim
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and wherein the first distance (D1) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (D1, D2 defined as substantially equal).
Yoon teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 3, 0061] wherein the first distance (D1) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at central portion of 130 to top of substrate 100) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at peripheral, protruding portion of 130 to top of substrate 100) (see annotated fig. 3 of Yoon below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1<D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Central portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 130 = peripheral outline of 130 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3 of Yoon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation layer between the pads in Kim’s display apparatus to comprise the protrusions of Yoon [0049-0051] in order to enhance the reliability of the display device by preventing adhesion failure and reducing contact resistance [0053] when connections with the pads are formed [0052-0054], as taught by Yoon.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein each of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] comprises:
a first pad pattern (CL1) fig. 10D [0177] connected with a corresponding signal line (DL) fig. 10D [0174] among the plurality of signal lines (SGL); and
a second pad pattern (comprising CL2) fig. 10D [0177] covering the first pad pattern (CL1), and wherein the periphery portion (top surface of 60) of the insulation layer (60) covers a periphery portion (top surface of CL2) of the second pad pattern (comprising CL2) (see annotated fig. 10D above).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches wherein an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the second pad pattern (comprising CL2 with CL3) fig. 10D [0177] is more upward than the periphery portion of the insulation layer.
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 3. Kim also teaches wherein the first distance (D1) between the (top of) substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the top surface of the insulation layer (60) at the lateral center portion (midsection) of the insulation layer (60) is less than a third distance (D3) between the substrate (BL) and the uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the second pad pattern (comprising CL3) (see annotated fig. 10D above).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] covering the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and the insulation layer (60) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 5. Kim also teaches wherein each of two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] further comprises a third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0180] connected with the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and covering a periphery portion (top) of each of the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 6. Kim also teaches wherein the periphery portion (top) of each of the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] is (vertically) between the periphery portion of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and a periphery portion (top) of the third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 2. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] are disposed at a certain interval along each of a first direction (DR3) fig. 10D [0059] and a second direction (DR2) fig. 10D [0059] intersecting with the first direction (DR3), and wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] comprises a plurality of insulation patterns (individual 60, 40, 30) respectively (laterally) surrounding the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 8. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising left and right 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] are (laterally) spaced apart from one another (left/right patterns of 60, 40, 30) respectively between the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] adjacent to each other along the second direction (DR3) (by intervening pad layers CL1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 8. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (partially) covering the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and each of the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising 60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113].
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 9. Kim also teaches wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60) fig. 10D [0180] further comprises one or more dummy patterns (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (serving as non-functional pad) between two of the plurality of insulation patterns (comprising left and right 60 patterns) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113] adjacent to each other in the second direction (DR2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 11. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] (partially) covering each of the periphery portion (top) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177], the plurality of insulation patterns (60, 40, 30) fig. 10D [0180, 0112-0113], and the one or more dummy patterns (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] (serving as non-functional pad).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] each including a thin film transistor (T2) fig. 5A [0092, 0118] connected with a corresponding one of the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
an overcoat layer (50) fig. 5A [0113] covering the thin film transistor (T2);
a first electrode (AE) fig. 5A [0114] disposed on the overcoat layer (50) and connected [0107] with the thin film transistor (T2);
a bank layer (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] (partially) covering a periphery portion (top) of the first electrode (ANE);
a light emitting layer (EML) fig. 5A [0116] on the first electrode (AE); and
a second electrode (CE) fig. 5A [0117] on the light emitting layer (EML) and the bank layer (PDL), and wherein the insulation layer (60) fig. 5A [0114] comprises a same material as a material of the overcoat layer (50) (50 and 60 may both be formed of “organic” material [0113, 0114] such as polyimide resin [0127]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 5. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] each including a thin film transistor (T2) fig. 5A [0092, 0118] connected with a corresponding one of the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
an overcoat layer (50) fig. 5A [0113] covering the thin film transistor (T2);
a first electrode (AE) fig. 5A [0114] disposed on the overcoat layer (50) and connected [0107] with the thin film transistor (T2);
a bank layer (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] (partially) covering a periphery portion (top) of the first electrode (ANE);
a light emitting layer (EML) fig. 5A [0116] on the first electrode (AE); and
a second electrode (CE) fig. 5A [0117] on the light emitting layer (EML) and the bank layer (PDL);
an encapsulation portion (CPL of TFL) figs. 5A-5B [0118] on the second electrode (CE);
a touch insulation layer (TFE of TFL) fig. 5B, fig. 6A [0118, 0124] on the encapsulation portion (CPL) (see fig. 5B); and
a touch sensing portion (ISL comprising CL’s) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFE),
wherein the insulation layer (60) fig. 5A [0114] comprises a same material as a material of the overcoat layer (50) (50 and 60 may both be formed of “organic” material [0113, 0114] such as polyimide resin [0127]), and
wherein the one or more second insulation layers (ISL-IL1) fig. 10D [0180] comprise a same material [0127] (such as aluminum oxide [0127, 0121]) as a material of the touch insulation layer (TFE comprising IOL2) [0121].
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 14. Kim also teaches wherein the touch sensing portion (ISL comprising CL’s) fig. 6A [0123-0126] comprises:
a first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0125-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFE of TFL) fig. 5B, fig. 6A [0118, 0124];
an interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] covering the first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1); and
a second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) fig. 6A [0125-0126] on the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2), and wherein the one or more second insulation layer (ISL-IL1, ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0124-0127] comprises:
a lower insulation layer (ISL-IL1) including the same material (such as aluminum oxide) [0127, 0121] as the material of the touch insulation layer (IOL2 of TFE) fig. 5B, 6A [0121],
and an upper insulation layer (ISL-IL3) on the lower insulation layer (ISL-IL1) and including a same material (ISL-IL2-3 could both be inorganic layers comprising aluminum oxide [0127]) as a material of the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein each of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177] comprises:
a first pad pattern (CL1) connected with a corresponding signal line (DL) fig. 10D [0174] among the plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087];
a second pad pattern (CL2) (fully) covering the first pad pattern (CL1); and
a third pad pattern (CL3) (partially) covering the second pad pattern (CL2), and wherein the periphery portion (comprising outer surfaces) of the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] covers a periphery portion (outer, upper sidewall) of the third pad pattern (CL3).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches wherein an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0181] of the third pad pattern (CL3) is on (in direct contact with) the periphery portion of the insulation layer (comprising outer surface of ISL-IL3).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 17. Kim also teaches wherein the first distance (D1) between the (top of) substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the top surface of the insulation layer (60) at the lateral center portion (midsection) is (substantially) equal to a third distance (“D4”) (as defined in annotated fig. 10D above) between the (top of) substrate (BL) and an uppermost surface of the second pad pattern (CL2) [0180].
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
an encapsulation portion (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] on a plurality of pixels (PX comprising T2) fig. 4A, fig. 5A [0084];
a touch insulation layer (TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the encapsulation portion (PDL);
a touch sensing portion (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFL); and
a touch protection layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] on the touch sensing portion (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126], and wherein the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] comprises a same material as a material of the touch protection layer (60 and ISL-IL1-3 could each comprise an organic material such as polyimide resin [0127, 0114]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 16. Kim also teaches further comprising one or more second insulation layers (40) fig. 10D [0113] (vertically) between the substrate (BL) fig. 10D [0080] and the insulation layer (comprising 60 with ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180].
Regarding claim 21, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 20. Kim also teaches wherein a periphery portion (uppermost surface) of each of the one or more second insulation (40) fig. 10D [0113] layers is (diagonally) between a periphery portion (comprising lowermost surface) of the second pad pattern (CL2) fig. 10D [0177] and a periphery portion (comprising lowermost surface) of the third pad pattern (CL3) fig. 10D [0177, 0181].
Regarding claim 22, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 21. Kim also teaches wherein the display portion (DP-DA) fig. 4A [0079] comprises:
an encapsulation portion (PDL) fig. 5A [0114] on a plurality of pixels (PX comprising T2) fig. 4A, fig. 5A [0084];
a touch insulation layer (IOL1 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the encapsulation portion (PDL);
a first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the touch insulation layer (TFL);
an interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) fig. 6A [0124-0127] covering the first touch electrode layer (ISL-CL1);
a second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) fig. 6A [0123-0126] on the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2); and
a touch protection layer (IOL2 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] on the (bottom of) second touch electrode layer (ISL-CL2) (IOL2 protects from foreign substances [0121]), wherein the insulation layer (ISL-IL1 with ISL-IL3) fig. 10D [0180] comprises a same material (aluminum oxide [0127, 0121] could be present in both ISL-IL1 [0127] and IOL2 [0121]) as a material of the touch protection layer (IOL2 of TFL), and wherein the one or more second insulation layer (comprising 40 with 30) fig. 10D [0113, 0112] comprises:
a lower insulation layer (30) including a same material as a material of the touch insulation layer (IOL1 of TFL) fig. 5A [0118] (30 and IOL1 of TFL could both comprise silicon oxide); and
an upper insulation layer (40) on (top of) the lower insulation layer (30) and including a same material as a material of the interlayer insulation layer (ISL-IL2) (40 [0113] and ISL-IL2 [0127] could both comprise silicon oxide).
Regarding claim 23, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 1. Kim also teaches further comprising a driving circuit (GDC) fig. 4A [0084] connected with the plurality of pads (comprising DP-PD) fig. 4A [0084] (through pixel connections [see fig. 4A, 0084-0087, 0091]),
wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 10D above) of the insulation layer (60) extends continuously between the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 10D above) of the insulation layer (60) slopes down from the periphery portion of the insulation layer (60) to the lateral center portion of the insulation layer (60).
Yoon teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 3, 0061] wherein the top surface (peripheral outline in area defined in annotated fig. 3 below) of the insulation layer (130) fig. 3 [0062] slopes down from the periphery portion of the insulation layer (130) to the lateral center portion of the insulation layer (130).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Central portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 130 = peripheral outline of 130 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3 of Yoon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation layer between the pads in Kim’s display apparatus to comprise the protrusions of Yoon [0049-0051] in order to enhance the reliability of the display device by preventing adhesion failure and reducing contact resistance [0053] when connections with the pads are formed [0052-0054], as taught by Yoon.
Regarding claim 24, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 23. Kim also teaches wherein the driving circuit (GDC) fig. 4A [0084] comprises a plurality of terminals (adjoining lines of GDC to plurality of pixels PX [see fig. 4A, 0087, 0091]) electrically connected with the plurality of pads (DP-PD) fig. 4A [0084] through a plurality of conductive particles (metal atoms of the conductive lines and conductive patterns of pads, such as Ti/Al particles of CL3 of DP-PD [0156]) fig. 4A [0156], respectively.
Regarding claim 25, Kim teaches a display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180], comprising:
a substrate (BL) fig. 3 [0080] including a display region (DP-DA) fig. 3 [0079] and a non-display region (DP-NDA) fig. 3 [0079] surrounding the display region (DP-DA);
a plurality of pads (comprising DP-PD) fig. 4A [0090] disposed in the non-display region (DP-NDA) respectively connected with a plurality of signal lines (SGL comprising DL’s) fig. 4A [0087] for supplying signals [0087] to a plurality of pixels (PX) fig. 4A [0084] disposed in the display region portion (DP-DA); and
an insulation layer (comprising 40) fig. 10D [0180, 0113] disposed on the substrate (BL) and (directly) contacting with at least a portion of a side surface (sidewalls of CL1-2) of each of the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177],
and the insulation layer (60) extends contiguously between the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177],
wherein a top surface of the insulation layer (60) is a first distance (D1) away from an upper surface (top) of the substrate (BL) at a lateral center portion (mid-section) of the insulation layer (60) between two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177], among the plurality of pads (DP-PDs), and is a second distance (D2) away from the upper surface (top) of the substrate (BL) at a periphery portion of the insulation layer (60) next to one of the of the two adjacent pads (DP-PDs), (as defined in annotated fig. 10D below),
wherein each of the plurality of pads (DP-PD) includes a flat top surface (uppermost surface of CL3/DP-PD overall) [see annotated fig. 10D below], and
wherein an end (no portion) of the insulation layer (60) is in (direct) contact with (any portion of) the flat top surface (uppermost surface of CL3) of each of the plurality of pads (DP-PD) [see annotated fig. 10D below].
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side surface of DP-PD is lowermost side surface of CL2 against 60)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flat top surface of DP-PD = uppermost surface of CL3)][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 60 = outline of 60 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D4)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (midpoint)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 10D of Kim
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the insulation layer (40) increases progressively from a lateral center portion (portion of 40 bordering CNT2) of the insulation layer between two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs) fig. 10D [0181, 0177], among the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs), toward one of the two adjacent pads (left/right DP-PDs),
and wherein the first distance (D1) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (D1, D2 defined as substantially equal) (see annotated fig. 10D of Kim above).
Yoon teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 3, 0061] wherein a thickness of the insulation layer (130) fig. 3 [0062] increases progressively from a lateral center portion (see annotated fig. 3 below) of the insulation layer between two adjacent pads (left/right 120s) fig. 3 [0052], among the plurality of pads (120s), toward one of the two adjacent pads (left/right 120s), and the insulation layer (60) extends contiguously between the two adjacent pads (left/right 120s), and
wherein the first distance (D1) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at central portion of 130 to top of substrate 100) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at peripheral, protruding portion of 130 to top of substrate 100) (see annotated fig. 3 of Yoon below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1<D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Central portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 130 = peripheral outline of 130 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3 of Yoon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the insulation layer between the pads in Kim’s display apparatus to comprise the protrusions of Yoon [0049-0051] in order to enhance the reliability of the display device by preventing adhesion failure and reducing contact resistance [0053] when connections with the pads are formed [0052-0054], as taught by Yoon.
Regarding claim 26, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the display apparatus (DP) [0078, 0084, 0180] of claim 25. Kim also teaches wherein the insulation layer (40) fig. 10D [0113, 0180] does not (directly) contact with an uppermost surface (CL3-UP) fig. 10D [0183] of any of the plurality of pads (left/right DP-PDs comprising CL1-3) fig. 10D [0181, 0177].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because they have not specifically addressed consideration of “a flat top surface” of each of the plurality of pads (one pad unit DP-PD each including CL1-CL3) as an uppermost, flat surface of each of the plurality of pads (top of CL3). It is emphasized that no portion of layer CL3 of pad DP-PD, having this flat top, is in direct contact with any portion of insulating layer 60 of Kim. The rejection of claims 1 and 25 with respect to Applicant’s newly added limitation(s) regarding “a/the side surface” and “a/the flat top surface” of each of the plurality of pads has been maintained in view of the side surface and flat top surface defined in annotated fig. 10D of primary reference Kim, reproduced below.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side surface of DP-PD is lowermost side surface of CL2 against 60)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Flat top surface of DP-PD = uppermost surface of CL3)][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 60 = outline of 60 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D4)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (midpoint)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 10D of Kim
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 25 that “Yoon discloses that a first distance between a top surface of the upper insulating layer 130 and an upper surface of the substrate 100 (the Office's alleged "substrate") at a lateral center portion of the upper insulating layer 130 is greater than a second distance between the top surface of the upper insulating layer 130 and the upper surface of the substrate 100 at a periphery portion of the upper insulating layer 130. Thus, Yoon also fails to disclose or render obvious that "a top surface of the insulation layer is a first distance away from an upper surface of the substrate at a lateral center portion of the insulation layer between two adjacent pads, among the plurality of pads, and is a second distance away from the upper surface of the substrate at a periphery portion of the insulation layer next to one of the two adjacent pads, and the first distance is smaller than the second distance" --- Applicant has not specifically provided any evidence showing or explaining why Yoon discloses that a first distance is greater than a second distance. Rather, as Examiner has explicitly presented in annotated fig. 3 of secondary reference Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1) (of record), reproduced below, Yoon teaches ‘wherein the first distance (D1) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at central portion of 130 to top of substrate 100) is smaller than the second distance (D2) (defined as distance from top of insulation layer 130 [0062] at peripheral, protruding portion of 130 to top of substrate 100)’. Therefore, the amended limitation(s) of “the first distance is smaller than the second distance” in the context of independent claims 1 and 25 has been rejected over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0350390A1) (of record) in view of Yoon (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0179437A1) (of record) under 35 U.S.C. 103.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1<D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Central portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral portion(s) of 130 )][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of 130 = peripheral outline of 130 in this area )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 3 of Yoon
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form (of record) are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature display devices with pads comprising a plurality of patterns.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 04/22/2026