DETAILED ACTION
1. This is the initial office action of application number 18/128,032 filed on 03/29/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and considered below.
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I directed to claims 1-15 in the reply filed on December 9, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The drawings are missing the claimed ‘wireless transceiver’ as claimed in claim 10. Also, no reference number were given to ‘wireless transceiver’ in the specification. Therefore, the ‘wireless transceiver’ must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
4. The term “Spectrometer” recited in claim 1 is understood as any device that detects light for the purposes of compact prosecution.
The term “wireless transceiver” recited in claim 10 is understood as any device that receives wireless communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1)
Regarding Claim 11 and 12: Lin et al. (“Lin” hereinafter) teach a processing tool 500 that is comprised of a chamber 505, multiple in-situ optical sensor 520 (diagnostic device) integrated to chamber 505 [fig 5; para 45]. Lin teach in an embodiment of optical sensor 320 which is similar to optical sensor 20. The optical sensor 320 is used to measure things such as, wavelengths of plasma 343, film 306, properties of film 306 or materials being used in film 306. [para 37-42]. Lin teach that optical sensor 320 (an embodiment of sensor 120 or 520) can be used to measure properties of objects such as film 306. Reflected signals 342 may be used to find differences relative to the reference signal 341. The changes in the reflected signals include thickness of objects such as films [para 42; fig 3B]. Therefore, the apparatus by Lin is capable of measuring properties and thickness values of objects which recites the limitation in claims 11 and 12.
Alternatively, the limitations recited in claim 11, “wherein the integrated diagnostic devices are configured to provide layer thickness measurements, layer composition measurements, and/or plasma property measurements” and claim 12, “wherein the set of integrated diagnostic devices are configured to provide a spatial map of layer thickness, a spatial map of plasma properties, and/or a spatial map of layer composition within the chamber.” are directed to intended use of the claimed ‘processing tool’. Those limitation do not define any further structure of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 13 and 14: Lin teach that optical sensor 120 is comprised of source 137 (light source) and sensor 138 (spectrometer) [para 30 and para 32]. Fig 5 shows embodiment of optical sensor 120 labeled as 520 and they are similar structures [para 45]. Fig 5 also shows the chamber 505 of processing tool 500 has multiple optical sensors 520 which is comprised of multiple light source 137 and spectrometers 138.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 1, 2, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1) in view of Cafferty et al. (US 9535053 B1).
Regarding Claim 1: Lin et al. (“Lin” hereinafter) teach a processing tool 500 that is comprised of a chamber 505, in-situ optical sensor 520 (diagnostic device) integrated to the chamber 505 [fig 5; para 45]. Processing tool 500 including chamber 505, and optical sensor 520 is a similar embodiment of processing tool 100, chamber 105, and optical sensor 120 respectively [para 45; para 23]. Optical sensor 120 or 520 is comprised of a sensor 138, and the sensor is a spectrometer [para 32]
However, Lin specifically do not teach “a board; a spectrometer on the board; and a housing around the board.”
Cafferty et al. teach an apparatus 10 that is comprised of a spectrometer module 100 (diagnostic device) [para 29; fig 1]. The spectrometer module has a circuit board 112 (board) and a light-array detector 116 (spectrometer) on the circuit board [column 14, lines 55-67 and column 15, lines 1-26; fig 12, 13, 14]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate such module with a circuit board and a light-array detector into the invention of Lin because Cafferty teach that having such configuration eliminates the need to mount and position each structure (i.e. slit and detector) separately [column 15, lines 4-7].
Regarding Claim 2: Lin shows in fig 5 that optical sensor 520 is integrated within perimeter (wall or liner) of the chamber 505 [para 45]. Additionally, Lin suggest that optical sensor 120 may be positioned through any surface of chamber 105 [para 23].
Regarding Claim 4: Lin teach plurality of optical sensors 520 (diagnostic device) integrated within chamber 505 in fig 5 [para 45].
Regarding Claim 8: Lin teach a lens 125/325 within housing 124 and 125 of optical sensor 120 that acts a window and it appears transparent as light beams (341, 342, 343) are moving a straight path as shown in fig 3A.
Regarding Claim 10: Lin teach that a computer system 760 controls the processing of the processing tool 100. Lin also suggest that the computer system 760 (wireless transceiver) can be a cellphone or a tablet PC, a network router (wireless transceiver) which is connect to internet. [para 52]
7. Claim 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1) in view of Cafferty et al. (US 9535053 B1) and further in view of Frick et al. (US 20050052648 A1)
Regarding Claim 5: Lin and Cafferty teach their respective light sources. However, Lin and Cafferty do not specifically teach a light source on the board.
Frick teach an apparatus 30 which is comprised of a light source on a printed circuit board 15 (board) as shown in fig 1 [Abstract]. The apparatus also includes a photoreceptor 50 (spectrometer) on printed circuit board 15 as shown in fig 1 [para 41]. This configuration would have the photoreceptor and light source being on a printed circuit board. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light source and photoreceptor configuration into the invention of Lin and Cafferty because Frick teach that photoreceptor assists in capturing reflected light directly from measured object [para 41].
Regarding Claim 6: Lin already teach that the tool 100 can have multiple in-situ optical sensors 120 [para 23] and is also shown in fig 5 labeled as 520. Each of the sensors 120 or 520 will have a source 137 and sensor 138. Lin also teach the source 137 (light source) is connected with sensor 138 (spectrometer) through fiber optical cable 138 [para 30]. Therefore, in each of the multiple optical sensor 120 or 520, plurality of sensors 138 will be connected to plurality of source 137.
Regarding Claim 9: The combination of Lin and Cafferty teach an apparatus but do not specifically teach an internal power source. Frick teach an apparatus comprised of circuit 100 (power source) that is connected to light source 11 and the circuit controls the light source by providing power [Abstract; para 48]. It would have been obvious to include circuit 100 into the invention of Lin and Cafferty because Frick teach that the circuit controls illumination arrangement (light) [para 23].
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1) in view of Cafferty et al. (US 9535053 B1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240096713 A1)
Regarding Claim 3: The combination of Lin and Caffrey teach a processing tool with a spectrometer (diagnostic device) but they do not teach “diagnostic device is integrated into a gas line into or out of the chamber.”
Zhang et al. (“Zhang” hereinafter) teach an apparatus that is comprised of a spectral reflectometer system 200 (spectrometer/diagnostic device). The reflectometer has a collimator housing 184 that is connected with a gas inlet 182 (gas line). The gas inlet is connected to gas source 130. [para 70; fig 1].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a gas source 130 and fluidly connected it to the reflectometer because Zhang teach that the gas lines help producing a tunable gas injection profile leading to proper adjustment of gas flow (in or out) within multiple zones during plasma process. [para 67].
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1) in view of Cafferty et al. (US 9535053 B1) and further in view of Jang et al. (US 10551312 B2)
Regarding Claim 7: Lin teach an apparatus comprised of a plurality of sensor (spectrometer) as part of the optical sensor (520) in fig 5. However, Lin and Cafferty do not teach plurality of spectrometer being on a board.
Jang et al. teach an apparatus 300 comprised of multiple photodetectors 341, 342, 343, 344, and 345 (spectrometers) on a substrate (board) [fig 3; column 7, lines 42-67, column 8, lines 1-3]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of photodetector configuration into the invention of Lin because Jang teach that the photodetectors assist in measuring absorbance value of object be receiving a quantity of light [column 2, lines 4-32].
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20210398785 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240096713 A1)
Regarding Claim 15: Lin et al. teach a processing tool with multiple spectrometer (diagnostic device) as mentioned above in paragraph 6 but do not teach “the set of diagnostic devices comprises at least one diagnostic device along a gas inlet line and/or an exhaust line.”
Zhang et al. (“Zhang” hereinafter) teach an apparatus that is comprised of a spectral reflectometer system 200 (spectrometer/diagnostic device). The reflectometer has a collimator housing 184 that is connected with a gas inlet 182 (gas line). The gas inlet is connected to gas source 130. [para 70; fig 1].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a gas source 130 and fluidly connected it to the reflectometer using gas inlet because Zhang teach that the gas lines help producing a tunable gas injection profile leading to proper adjustment of gas flow (in or out) within multiple zones during plasma process. [para 67].
Conclusion
/WASIQUL HAQ/Examiner, Art Unit 1717 /Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717